High in the rugged mountains of northern Guerrero State, the elegant city of Taxco de Alarcon was once an isolated Spanish stronghold. Today it is known for its mines producing rich, gleaming silver, and the generations of artisans who create some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Taxco is very beautiful and definitely worth going to. The guides brought us to some gorgeous places and a restaurant with an excellent view of the city. Everyone was very, very nice, but we were brought to three silver shops that day and some of us wondered if the tour company actually takes commissions from any purchases we made and the tips we gave to entertainers, etc. This might be an unfair assessment, but it could have been avoided with more professionalism. The company also took a long time to respond to emails so I had to call them twice (the first time they told me to call again the next day before 2pm) to confirm the pick up time and place.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The guide provided excellent 1:1 English explanation of everything on the tour. The church and grounds in Cuernavaca were amazing. The courtyard in the centre of Taxco City was lovely. Had time to explore around on own and shop which was perfect to pick up small gifts. Great day

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great tour, very beautiful place. I highly recommend it. If not some rude members of the team I would enjoy it more!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I and my husband recently came back from this tour. I highly recommend it as a family or a duo get away as it was very well organized, professional, friendly and fun. Daily tours are well balanced so that one can also wander around by themselves to explore the city. The best part of the trip was the friendly staff starting from being picked up at the airport to different tour guides. We could really tell they were all going out of their way to accommodate each and every one of us. We also liked that we were given tours not only inside the city itself, but taken out to other surrounding interesting places very well worth visiting giving us a chance to get a real feel of the country, the people and what it is all about. I am not going to lie we did come back exhausted and a little bit overwhelmed, but it was a good thing given you have only 5 days to a 20 million people populated city and its surroundings. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent hotel, excellent tours and guides, excellect drivers! I loved it! I will highly recommend Viator to all my friends. Thanks for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was outstanding and well worth the money. The cathedrals and pyramids were spectacular. Silver in Taxco was to die for because of quality and price. The chicken mole was scrumptious in Puebla. The Forklorica Ballet at the Bellas Artes was magnificent. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic! Best tour to Mexico I ever took! The tour guides were knowledgeable and courteous! Mexico City has lots to offer, the food was excellent and I definitely want to go back and see more of the cities we visited in detail at a later time! Loved it, loved it , loved it!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

That's the way to see the Mexico City. Though be prepared to stay stuck in traffic. Guides were really good. English was good too. Tour company is exceptional in service. Hotel Geneve is awesome. This is the way to visit Mexico City and the areas around.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We found this tour fabulous. Hotel Geneve was superb and in a great location. We had an American breakfast included in the price and that was very nice - eggs or fruit platter, fruit juice, toast, tea/coffee. When we arrived at the airport we were greeted by the tour representative. He was easy to recognise with his company uniform and he had our name on a message board. He drove us to our hotel and was very pleasant. He gave us our itinerary which was very detailed day by day what we would be doing and pickup times. The day tours were done in a slightly different order to that specified on the website, but that was not a problem. The daily tours were really interesting and we were picked up at the hotel within 15 mins of planned pickup times. All tours went according to plan, except for 1 which was estimated at 4 hours but we were away over 6 hours and we had to buy a pricey lunch that we weren't expecting. Each day we were phoned by a tour rep asking how the previous day went and reminding us about pickup time for the next day. They were very attentive. On the day of departure our driver arrived 30 mins early but we were ready and waiting so it was not a problem. The traffic in Mexico City is usually chronic congestion (except for Sunday morning when there wasn't much traffic about) and the tour company ensure they get people to the airport in plenty of time for their flight.The price of this tour was very good value and it is very well organised. I thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an excellent trip and very good value for the money. The hotel was well-equipped and conveniently located adjacent to the Zócalo. The dining area on the roof terrace provided stunning views of the cathedral and the surrounding area. With regard to the tours, they were excellent and the guides were well-informed and professional. The only criticism I have is that there are some long trips of 11 hours or more and if you have them back-to-back as we did it is grueling. In fact we missed the second trip to Cuernavaca because we were knot ready for a long day in the hot sun while we were on vacation. However, this is my only criticism and I would definitely use this tour company again.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Hotel Geneve excellent. Pablo a wonderful guide. However the day we visited the pyramids was a weekend and also a National holiday. We queued for 2 hrs and did not reach the top as our tour group had to leave. Very disappointing. May I suggest the Pyramid day tour be listed on a weekday and not a public holiday in future.? The tour to Taxco Silver City was particularly enjoyable. We did find after 3 very long 10-11 hour days we had to miss the City cultural shorter tour the next day to have a day of rest!! (But I must mention my sister and I are 80yrs - so can be forgiven!) We did the hop on/off bus the next day. Overall a wonderful few days in a lovely city. Thankyou Pablo.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Would give 5 stars but local tour company screwed up my name, itinerary and was completely unorganized! The tours in this package are GREAT! Lots of local, Indian and Spanish history to learn, beautiful 16th century churches to see and 4 different pyramid complexes to visit. The hotel location and amenities were superb - worth every penny!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide was great. The option of using email to confirm pick up time should be provided as tourists may not be able to find phone to contact the local agent. The option of using email to confirm pick up time should be provided as tourists may not be able to find phone to contact the local agent.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour commentator. Demonstrated time and time again patience and courtesy.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I was very pleased with my tour. The guide was English/Spanish bilingual and was very knowledgable, without sounding like a know-it-all. I highly recommend to small groups and individuals!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message