High in the rugged mountains of northern Guerrero State, the elegant city of Taxco de Alarcon was once an isolated Spanish stronghold. Today it is known for its mines producing rich, gleaming silver, and the generations of artisans who create some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 177 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

caroline B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very beautiful cities ! Very good tour !

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Graeme R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Enjoyable trip to a town set in the mountains. Was a little too long spent looking around the town could have left early afternooon so as to get back to the city before dark.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Cory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fun and amazing

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Gary Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent tour. We highly recommend it, but it is a long day. Our guide, Scarlet, was exceptional and really looked after us in both places. We were the only English speakers in the group and she made certain we got al of the information, etc. we needed.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Cecilia C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful places...

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Santhi R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The guide's English was not the greatest and we only understand half of what she said. Nevertheless it was an enjoyable tour and the Mexican people on our bus were interesting and very friendly. We even belted out some karaoke on our way back! The traffic was horrible leaving Mexico City and we only got to Taxco at about 2pm. However our tour guide allowed us to stay in Taxco until 7pm and we got to watch the Easter Friday procession. Taxco was extremely beautiful and a must see.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Dennis B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Travelled in a car, guide/driver bilingual, traffic meant late return

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Linda W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The tour of Cuernavaca consisted of a visit to the main church. The tour deviated because 3 of the 4 members of the tour wanted to visit Maximilian's house which turned out to be closed. The guide told us where it was and we went on our own. The Taxco portion began with a visit to a silver shop so that we could spend money. We bought. We then went on to the center of Taxco and visited the beautiful church and then went to a restaurant for lunch. The view from the balcony was great. Afterwards we were free to wander about on our own. My friend and I spent most of our time in the plaza fending off pleas to buy item after item. We had both a guide and driver. On the way out of Mexico City the guide gave us information and answered questions. Instead of Spanish as we had expected the guide spoke English because two Germans signed up the the tour in Spanish but could not understand very much of it. I wishe we had taken a Taxco only tour.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Montserrat M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Mala planificación del día. Muchas paradas en tiendas y muy poco tiempo en los publos que queríamos visitar. La comida no estaba incluida y no pudimos elegir restaurante.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Beverly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Everything went smoothly from airport pickup to tour arrangements. Though the mix of tourists differed each day, we happened to get the same guide for the 4 escorted trips Miguel - and he was great. We liked the mixture of day trips and time to ourselves. Hotel Hampton Inn was excellent - and location perfect. Tour was an excellent value, costing little more than hotel alone if we had booked it separately.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

ruben f

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I recommend this tour. The town of Taxco is beautiful! We would not of visited this town if it wasn't for this tour. Cuernavaca was also nice, Didn't stay there too long. I would recommend elimination the silver stores visit. They try and get you to purchase their silver. I would rather do more site seeing than visit silver stores. They take you to two 2 stores. this trip was long and we didn't get beack to our hotel till after 10pm. If they eliminate the silver stores we would of been back earlier. That is my only complaint.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

HO K

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

It was a long bus ride, probably more than 5 hours in the road. Just very short time maybe less than an hour in Cuernavaca. A reasonable amount of time was spent in Taxco, with around a hour free walking time. The guide should have passed us some map for our walking.

It did not include lunch. The guide brought us to the restaurant next to the Church of Santa Prisca. The set lunch was not so good.

The guide did not explain the place and sites in very details.

The guide brought us to some silver workshops. Perhaps they could get some commission. More time should be spent on Cuernavaca instead.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Mark K United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Two stars at best not because of the lovely cities visited but because of our guide. I could not wait to return to Mexico City to be dropped off. Our lady guide was not accommodating, and was outright rude to some of the passengers. One man wanted to go elsewhere for his meal other than the one the guide selected for us and she just told him bye bye, take care. You had to be there. It was jaw dropping the way she addressed these nice people from all corners of the globe. Another woman who had an issue with her legs was told to hurry. And I cannot stop thinking about the guide's loud speaker blasting in my ear on the hours long ride to and from Taxco. She told me there was nothing she could do, however, she could have placed the speaker in a compartment above her, but she refused to do it. Her English was poor and honestly if I ever got on a bus and she was the guide, I would ask for my money back and find something else to do. Her attitude was not overshadowed by the lovely scenery and history. The only thing you get to see in Cuernavaca is the church and then you get corralled back into the bus. One tip. When in Taxco, take a taxi to the christ monument. The roller coaster ride down will be something you will remember for years on those bumpy stone narrow roads.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca Day Trip from Mexico City

LuMin L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

In deed a beautiful city that worth visit.
But it was really uncomfortable for 7 people fit into a small vent for this min. 6 hours drive, especially for the one who sat in the middle of the back seats that had little room for legs.
The time allowed to spend at the silver shop right before entering Taxco should be limited to 30mins. Should not allow one person who could not stop shopping make all the others wait and wait.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Hyung-Min K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Too wonderful trip. Guides introduced and escorted very kindly, so I could understand about Mexico.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Lorraine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

asp1983

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was a nice tour, Taxco is a lovely town and is definitley worh going. The stop at Cuernavaca was short in our opinion.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Craig T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Guide was very energetic and clearly enjoyed explaining the history of the sites. Was also more than helpful to a sole traveler on the trip unable to speak Spanish.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca Day Trip from Mexico City

Christina C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The cities are beautiful. A quick stop in Cuernavaca and a visit to the cathedral. Taxco is amazing. Lots of time here. Lots of travel. The lunch place is mediocre and no other choices unless you wait until Taxco. The van was cramped for 10 adults. Frank was very nice but hard to hear in the back.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Zehra R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Cuernavaca is a useless city in this tour. They take you to one cathedral and that is it. It is an add-on to charge you more for this tour, so dont fall for it. Taxco was interesting - very european and different than Mexico City. It is nice to explore if you have time, and no big exciting plans. Our guide was Roberto, who was awful and ruined the trip for us. He forgot half the group for lunch, barely spoke English and was not knowledgeable. He picked us up 2 hours late and dropped even later. I wouldn't recommend this trip if you have better plans

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca Day Trip from Mexico City

Jose C Rodriguez USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and fun trip. Guide was full of useful information and tips. Just a little too much on the shopping stops. Traffic on the return trip was terrible several accidents and road closures.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Luz L

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The scenery on the way to Taxco and the town itself make the tour worthwhile. Downsides-1) nearly 2 hrs to get going to Taxco after we were picked up from our hotel and 2) too much time spent at pre-selected silver shop/restaurant just before arriving to the town (bland food, slow service).

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca Day Trip from Mexico City

lucienne g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour! My daughter and I really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Rodrigo M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Even though traffic is really really bad in Mexico City and nearby cities, specially during the Day of the Dead celebration and a Formula1 race going on, I still recommend the tour.
There were a few mess ups like having had our hotel changed after it had already been confirmed, so we had to change hotels in the middle of the trip because we had already booked extra nights, having to wait 2 hours to be picked up upon arrival at the airport because the person of contact didn't show up, not to say the traffic related issues that could be avoided with better logistics planning.
Yet I must say the tour agency ended up making up for it with its assistance during the trip.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message