• USD ($)
  • English
High in the rugged mountains of northern Guerrero State, the elegant city of Taxco de Alarcon was once an isolated Spanish stronghold. Today it is known for its mines producing rich, gleaming silver, and the generations of artisans who create some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

That's the way to see the Mexico City. Though be prepared to stay stuck in traffic. Guides were really good. English was good too. Tour company is exceptional in service. Hotel Geneve is awesome. This is the way to visit Mexico City and the areas around.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We found this tour fabulous. Hotel Geneve was superb and in a great location. We had an American breakfast included in the price and that was very nice - eggs or fruit platter, fruit juice, toast, tea/coffee. When we arrived at the airport we were greeted by the tour representative. He was easy to recognise with his company uniform and he had our name on a message board. He drove us to our hotel and was very pleasant. He gave us our itinerary which was very detailed day by day what we would be doing and pickup times. The day tours were done in a slightly different order to that specified on the website, but that was not a problem. The daily tours were really interesting and we were picked up at the hotel within 15 mins of planned pickup times. All tours went according to plan, except for 1 which was estimated at 4 hours but we were away over 6 hours and we had to buy a pricey lunch that we weren't expecting. Each day we were phoned by a tour rep asking how the previous day went and reminding us about pickup time for the next day. They were very attentive. On the day of departure our driver arrived 30 mins early but we were ready and waiting so it was not a problem. The traffic in Mexico City is usually chronic congestion (except for Sunday morning when there wasn't much traffic about) and the tour company ensure they get people to the airport in plenty of time for their flight.The price of this tour was very good value and it is very well organised. I thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an excellent trip and very good value for the money. The hotel was well-equipped and conveniently located adjacent to the Zócalo. The dining area on the roof terrace provided stunning views of the cathedral and the surrounding area. With regard to the tours, they were excellent and the guides were well-informed and professional. The only criticism I have is that there are some long trips of 11 hours or more and if you have them back-to-back as we did it is grueling. In fact we missed the second trip to Cuernavaca because we were knot ready for a long day in the hot sun while we were on vacation. However, this is my only criticism and I would definitely use this tour company again.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Hotel Geneve excellent. Pablo a wonderful guide. However the day we visited the pyramids was a weekend and also a National holiday. We queued for 2 hrs and did not reach the top as our tour group had to leave. Very disappointing. May I suggest the Pyramid day tour be listed on a weekday and not a public holiday in future.? The tour to Taxco Silver City was particularly enjoyable. We did find after 3 very long 10-11 hour days we had to miss the City cultural shorter tour the next day to have a day of rest!! (But I must mention my sister and I are 80yrs - so can be forgiven!) We did the hop on/off bus the next day. Overall a wonderful few days in a lovely city. Thankyou Pablo.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Would give 5 stars but local tour company screwed up my name, itinerary and was completely unorganized! The tours in this package are GREAT! Lots of local, Indian and Spanish history to learn, beautiful 16th century churches to see and 4 different pyramid complexes to visit. The hotel location and amenities were superb - worth every penny!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide was great. The option of using email to confirm pick up time should be provided as tourists may not be able to find phone to contact the local agent. The option of using email to confirm pick up time should be provided as tourists may not be able to find phone to contact the local agent.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour commentator. Demonstrated time and time again patience and courtesy.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I was very pleased with my tour. The guide was English/Spanish bilingual and was very knowledgable, without sounding like a know-it-all. I highly recommend to small groups and individuals!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Taxco is BEAUTIFUL! Well worth the trip and money. My suggestion would be to buy the tour with lunch included option, as the restaurant they bring you too isn't cheap.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Beautiful towns and expect a long drive

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

It takes 3 hours from Mexico City to Taxco by bus but it is worth it. Taxco looks like the cities in southern Spain, something that you would not expect to find in Mexico. The stop in Cuernavaca is too short.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Edwin F
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Beautiful city. Extraordinary service from Viator

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide, Eduardo, was excellent guide. Knowledgeable, helpful and fun. Could not ask for better.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

For the price I paid, it was great. Do expect that just picking up and dropping off various clients from different hotels will clip at least 2 hours from the tour. I did not pay for a private tour and it was fun to meet new fellow travelers, so it was not a big deal for me.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful! I met the nicest people from Peru and we did the whole tour in Spanish which was great to be so immersed! I want to live in Taxco! So beautiful and the people were so nice. Had an amazing time and great tour leaders who explained everything along the way. Definitely recommend this trip!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message