High in the rugged mountains of northern Guerrero State, the elegant city of Taxco de Alarcon was once an isolated Spanish stronghold. Today it is known for its mines producing rich, gleaming silver, and the generations of artisans who create some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Maureen S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an excellent tour. The guide, Francesco, was punctual, informative and very personable. We learned so much just on the drive to and from, the history. Time allowed at each stop was terrific and the whole experience could not have been improved upon. Taxco, in particular, was magic. I only wish I had Googled shopping in Taxco before I visited as there would certainly have been a few more shops I would have sought out to drop a few more dollars!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

I didnt get the hotel I booked. he tours suffered from the enormous traffic in and around Mexico City.
It was never enough time

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

I didnt get the hotel I booked. The tours never gave enough time due to traffic problems

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The tour of Central Mexico was good and gave us an excellent taste of the interior of Mexico. Expect very long days and long travel periods - 8 to 11 hours. However, the guide (while nice) did not have a command of the English language and was very difficult to understand causing the group to miss most of the wonderful history that supported the tour. The Galeria Plaza Hotel was modern and quiet. The breakfasts were terrible.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This trip was a disappointment. We were very late leaving the city. The van was very small and crowded. The whole purpose of this trip was to buy silver? I wish I would have known this, because I would have skipped this trip. What a disappointment.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

A long trip, feeding us through tourist shops. Towns pretty though lots of traffic made walking through them more difficult. Pick up variable - told to be ready at 8 am and then transport arrives at 9... Excellent guide with good English, very knowledgable and accommodating.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

tour guide in a hurry to get home just wanted to show us the shops he wanted to see he was rude and didnt want to answer questions

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Wasted too much time at one of those "lets explain silver mining" places which sold overpriced silver. It really took away from the amount of time we had to explore the town of Taxco. In addition they put us in a van which was not built to do the three plus hour drive back to Mexico City.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Cuernavaca was okay but Taxco was beautiful! Our tour guide George was an alder gentleman and he was very good. He explains a lot of things in the car ride to the sites so when you get there there's very little explaining needed to be done and he just shows you the important things as you walk other wise, he lets you walk around on your own.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was very good. All the guides / drivers were great. They were well organized and the time spent at each site was well used. Some great places to see! Hotel Geneve is fantastic. The only issue is the traffic whichever makes some of the days rather long.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent and very efficent. Alex and George our tour guides were very knowledgable and incredibly helpful. The only drawback is that there is little time to look around and interact with the environemnt and everything is a bit rushed. Great tour for those who wish to see a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

nice trip, well worth it--prob better to choose your own restaurant when you get to taxco, the pre-selected one looked fine, but after a 5 minute walk i found a hotel/restaurant with a georgeous view and decent mexican food (i'm a vegetarian, so i ate a lot of cheese while in mexico)

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was very good and the tour guide Fernando was excellent with his knowledge of each town. The only thing would be if you had a lunch included tour as it was a little expensive for what we got. I also had gone on the tour of the Pyramids and Shrine of Guadelupe that included lunch and was excellent. Please look into a tour including for the extra $10.00 per person. Thanks and say hi to Fernando for me. Glenda Sherlock

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much. We felt it was good value for themoney we spent. The Hotel Geneve was lovely. The tours were interesting and the guides were all very accomodating. We have recommended this tour to a number of our friends!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message