High in the rugged mountains of northern Guerrero State, the elegant city of Taxco de Alarcon was once an isolated Spanish stronghold. Today it is known for its mines producing rich, gleaming silver, and the generations of artisans who create some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beverly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Everything went smoothly from airport pickup to tour arrangements. Though the mix of tourists differed each day, we happened to get the same guide for the 4 escorted trips Miguel - and he was great. We liked the mixture of day trips and time to ourselves. Hotel Hampton Inn was excellent - and location perfect. Tour was an excellent value, costing little more than hotel alone if we had booked it separately.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Hyung-Min K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Too wonderful trip. Guides introduced and escorted very kindly, so I could understand about Mexico.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Lorraine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

asp1983

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was a nice tour, Taxco is a lovely town and is definitley worh going. The stop at Cuernavaca was short in our opinion.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Craig T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Guide was very energetic and clearly enjoyed explaining the history of the sites. Was also more than helpful to a sole traveler on the trip unable to speak Spanish.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca Day Trip from Mexico City

Christina C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The cities are beautiful. A quick stop in Cuernavaca and a visit to the cathedral. Taxco is amazing. Lots of time here. Lots of travel. The lunch place is mediocre and no other choices unless you wait until Taxco. The van was cramped for 10 adults. Frank was very nice but hard to hear in the back.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Zehra R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Cuernavaca is a useless city in this tour. They take you to one cathedral and that is it. It is an add-on to charge you more for this tour, so dont fall for it. Taxco was interesting - very european and different than Mexico City. It is nice to explore if you have time, and no big exciting plans. Our guide was Roberto, who was awful and ruined the trip for us. He forgot half the group for lunch, barely spoke English and was not knowledgeable. He picked us up 2 hours late and dropped even later. I wouldn't recommend this trip if you have better plans

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca Day Trip from Mexico City

Jose C Rodriguez USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and fun trip. Guide was full of useful information and tips. Just a little too much on the shopping stops. Traffic on the return trip was terrible several accidents and road closures.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Luz L

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The scenery on the way to Taxco and the town itself make the tour worthwhile. Downsides-1) nearly 2 hrs to get going to Taxco after we were picked up from our hotel and 2) too much time spent at pre-selected silver shop/restaurant just before arriving to the town (bland food, slow service).

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca Day Trip from Mexico City

lucienne g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour! My daughter and I really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Rodrigo M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Even though traffic is really really bad in Mexico City and nearby cities, specially during the Day of the Dead celebration and a Formula1 race going on, I still recommend the tour.
There were a few mess ups like having had our hotel changed after it had already been confirmed, so we had to change hotels in the middle of the trip because we had already booked extra nights, having to wait 2 hours to be picked up upon arrival at the airport because the person of contact didn't show up, not to say the traffic related issues that could be avoided with better logistics planning.
Yet I must say the tour agency ended up making up for it with its assistance during the trip.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Hans Guenter B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Too little time for sightseeing. Tour guide was more interested in his Sales than in showing us the sites.
In Cuernavaca we just had time for the Basilica, not for Maximilian's house, nor for the palace of Cortez.
A few years ago I did the same tour and the tour guide let us see all these sites. He gave us an hour and we could choose between these three: Basilica, Maximilian's house or Cortez's palace and we still had time for a cup of coffee at the Plaza afterwards. Same in Taxco. Sales was Nr. 1 but at least we had the time to stroll around the Plaza on our own. The only thing we were shown: The Basilica.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Jose C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Muy regular. El guia no hacia tour ni paseo por los puntos turísticos. Solamente pasaba por sitios de compras. Falta de conocimiento del guía en temas históricos. El manejo del grupo muy malo. El guía muy mal presentado, sin autoridad, nada agradable. En los recorridos de bus no ponen buena músico ni hablan nada durante los trayectos.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a fantastic tour. It was interesting to drive out of Mexico through the suburbs Cuernavaca was an interesting stop

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Dot

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We stopped first in the cathedral in Cuernavaca where the guide gave us a short history of the cathedral and gave us some time to go around on our own. Then we proceeded to a silver shop in Taxco where the owners explained the different types of silver products and ways of processing silver. We had lunch in a restaurant in Taxco and thereafter, walked leisurely to the Cathedral. The guide gave us a short history not only of the Cathedral but also of Taxco. We were given an hour of free time, which was great because Taxco is so beautiful that you want to go around and explore the place as much as possible.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

murielrosenfeld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

great jewelry selection, private tour guide was very polite and accomodating

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fidel the guide was wonderful!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Roberth R USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

In a nutshell aside from visiting a grand total of two really old churches and breaking for lunch, all for 20-30 mins each, the rest of your time will be spent either in the car 1h15m to Cuernavaca, 1h30m to Taxco, 3h45m back to Mexico City or shopping for silver. After this tour, I'm convinced there is absolutely NOTHING to do in either of these cities.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Lynn O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

The tour was centered around visiting 2 churches - one in Cuernavarca and the other in Taxco. We only had 30 minutes of free time to explore Cuernavarca. On the way to Taxco, we were given 40 minutes to shop in one pre-selected silver shop. Prices were very high and there were no other places to go in that area if you chose not to shop. In Taxco, we had to eat at a pre-selected restaurant from the buffet before we were taken to the church and then told where and when to meet the bus for the return trip. Again, we were directed to two silver shops. I did not like the focus being on buying silver and felt like I was being watched as I left a store only to be re-directed to another. As far as the time, I was picked up at my hotel at 9 am and did not return until 9:30 pm. I would not recommend this trip as I felt it was a LOT of driving and very little free time.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Mark G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very pretty hillside town, great tour

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Christine S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Good points - We received transportation to a part of Mexico we would not have gotten to see. The driver was skillful. The guide was pleasant. The tour picked us right on time.

Bad points - It seemed like a sales push for us to purchase silver items. We wondered if a kickback was being given to tour company. We were taken to a place for lunch that had horribly expensive food for what it was. The food was the worst food we had on our entire trip. Very poor quality. Actually food was downright bad. The view at the restaurant was good however. Would have been nice if we could have chosen to eat elsewhere. The service at the restaurant was poor as well and the tip was included. The restaurant also did not accept credit cards which we felt we should have been advised of before we began the trip. We wish we would have realized that we would spend over seven hours driving. It is our fault we did not understand how far Taxco was from Mexico City. Almost no time spent in Cuernavaca which is part of the trip we were most interested in.

Best part of trip was the last hour in Taxco where we got to walk around by ourselves and just experience the city. Our family has two parents age 50 and our kids age 20 and 16. This trip may be okay for older travelers, but not for people in our situation.

We also took trip to Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe through Viator two days after this trip. Now that trip was worth the time and money!

The Stratmann Family

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

David R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide. OK food.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

cgabucan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message