High in the rugged mountains of northern Guerrero State, the elegant city of Taxco de Alarcon was once an isolated Spanish stronghold. Today it is known for its mines producing rich, gleaming silver, and the generations of artisans who create some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Cuernavaca was okay but Taxco was beautiful! Our tour guide George was an alder gentleman and he was very good. He explains a lot of things in the car ride to the sites so when you get there there's very little explaining needed to be done and he just shows you the important things as you walk other wise, he lets you walk around on your own.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was very good. All the guides / drivers were great. They were well organized and the time spent at each site was well used. Some great places to see! Hotel Geneve is fantastic. The only issue is the traffic whichever makes some of the days rather long.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

nice trip, well worth it--prob better to choose your own restaurant when you get to taxco, the pre-selected one looked fine, but after a 5 minute walk i found a hotel/restaurant with a georgeous view and decent mexican food (i'm a vegetarian, so i ate a lot of cheese while in mexico)

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was very good and the tour guide Fernando was excellent with his knowledge of each town. The only thing would be if you had a lunch included tour as it was a little expensive for what we got. I also had gone on the tour of the Pyramids and Shrine of Guadelupe that included lunch and was excellent. Please look into a tour including for the extra $10.00 per person. Thanks and say hi to Fernando for me. Glenda Sherlock

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much. We felt it was good value for themoney we spent. The Hotel Geneve was lovely. The tours were interesting and the guides were all very accomodating. We have recommended this tour to a number of our friends!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a very interesting day and gave a good overview of Taxco and Cuernavaca. Taxco, particularly, is a fascinating place and I would like to have more time to explore there. We had an excellent guide for this tour.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

A good trip but a very, very long day. Spent almost 2 hours getting out of Mexico City (zigzagging back and forth to pick up extra passengers) which put us behind schedule. Taxco is a beautiful town, wish we could have seen more of it. We got push/pulled/drawn into multiple silver shops instead of taking time to walk about to really see the 'village'. At lunch, sit out on balcony to eat -- the view is gorgeous! Fantastically beautiful church.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Mostly shopping, so only book this tour if that is what you are interested in doing.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Taxco is very beautiful and definitely worth going to. The guides brought us to some gorgeous places and a restaurant with an excellent view of the city. Everyone was very, very nice, but we were brought to three silver shops that day and some of us wondered if the tour company actually takes commissions from any purchases we made and the tips we gave to entertainers, etc. This might be an unfair assessment, but it could have been avoided with more professionalism. The company also took a long time to respond to emails so I had to call them twice (the first time they told me to call again the next day before 2pm) to confirm the pick up time and place.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The guide provided excellent 1:1 English explanation of everything on the tour. The church and grounds in Cuernavaca were amazing. The courtyard in the centre of Taxco City was lovely. Had time to explore around on own and shop which was perfect to pick up small gifts. Great day

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

What to say about this tour... Immediately after we were picked up from our hotel, the tour bus stopped along a back road with several other tour busses. No communication. No reason why given. So we all sat and waited... and waited. The bus itself was fairly uncomfortable - which was a significant complaint considering it's a 3 hour direct drive back to DF from Taxco. The quality of our stops in Cuernavaca and Taxco were mediocre at best. We stopped and spent 40 minutes at the cathedral in Cuernavaca. The cathedral in Cuernavaca is worth seeing. Very pretty, very unique. Cannot speak much about anything else in the city as we did not visit any other sites. Then back on the road to Taxco. The first stop was some place just outside of Taxco where you could buy silver. We were told the tour company was obligated to stop there -- which was obvious once you arrived inside the silver shop. The shop keepers followed you around like a hawk and were extremely pushy. Prices were so-so, nothing amazing. Then we drove on into to Taxco and stopped outside the cathedral and had lunch. The food was god-awful. Would have much rather we just found our own little family run cafe and called it good. Our tour guide was constantly rushing us. After leaving the restaurant, we were waiting on a particular couple of ladies who received their lunch later than everyone else. The tour guide asked where they were and out loud sighed, "Oh God, come on!" Then he dumped the group off on another tour guide for the cathedral. The tour for the cathedral was pitiful, rushed, and a discourtesy to the history of the cathedral. The tour guide could only repeat his memorized speech and could not answer questions. We were supposed to have an hour's free time in Taxco afterwards, but the cathedral tour guide rushed us all over into another silver shop. We ended up leaving on our own to explore the city. Overall, I'd say skip this tour. Instead hire your own cab and enjoy exploring these cities on your own.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great tour, very beautiful place. I highly recommend it. If not some rude members of the team I would enjoy it more!

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I and my husband recently came back from this tour. I highly recommend it as a family or a duo get away as it was very well organized, professional, friendly and fun. Daily tours are well balanced so that one can also wander around by themselves to explore the city. The best part of the trip was the friendly staff starting from being picked up at the airport to different tour guides. We could really tell they were all going out of their way to accommodate each and every one of us. We also liked that we were given tours not only inside the city itself, but taken out to other surrounding interesting places very well worth visiting giving us a chance to get a real feel of the country, the people and what it is all about. I am not going to lie we did come back exhausted and a little bit overwhelmed, but it was a good thing given you have only 5 days to a 20 million people populated city and its surroundings. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent hotel, excellent tours and guides, excellect drivers! I loved it! I will highly recommend Viator to all my friends. Thanks for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was outstanding and well worth the money. The cathedrals and pyramids were spectacular. Silver in Taxco was to die for because of quality and price. The chicken mole was scrumptious in Puebla. The Forklorica Ballet at the Bellas Artes was magnificent. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message