Adelaide ATTRACTIONS See all

Kangaroo Island

Kangaroo Island is a bit of paradise off the coast of South Australia. 96 miles (155 km) in length with a population of just 4,400 people, it is an unspoiled haven for Australia's native birds and animals. Kangaroos and koalas abound, and on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

josephineleesweehong

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Well organized tour with awesome tour guide, Jane. Simple but delicious lunch and breakfast. Enjoyed the best sights of the beautiful Kangaroo Island.
Adelaide Hotel pick up and drop off is a plus.

Doing what: 2-Day Kangaroo Island Adventure Tour from Adelaide

Juliet B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful full and interesting full day
We chose to fly over in the morning rather than go by ferry. A little extra cost butt well worth it as it was a later start to the day. We were also able to spend time at the eucalyptus centre which is not possible if you start the day by ferry due to lack of time.
Our guide was excellent and the only disappointing aspect was the wildlife park where there was very little wildlife out during the day but did see 1 or 2 kangaroos
All in all we'd certainly recommend this day visit to Kangaroo Island

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was an awesome way to see some of the best sights that the beautiful Kangaroo Island has to offer. The tour was very well organized even with a large group of 30. The included lunches and breakfast were delicious and the accommodation at the hotel was great.

Doing what: 2-Day Kangaroo Island Tour from Adelaide

CHERYL L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is well worth it! Our guide was excellent! We loved kangaroo Island!

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Laurent L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, Stamford plaza is a great hotel. Kangaroo Island was a must, superb organization all the way around. Les our guide was lovely too! Amazing sights and sites, fantastic people. Ozone Hotel was nice too though the kitcen was awfully busy and service was long.
One note though, AAT, please leave the pick-up times at the hotels or send them through emails so we don't have to call, thank you!!!!!

Doing what: 5-Day Adelaide and Kangaroo Island Tour Including Barossa Valley Wine Tasting

Joanne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Kangaroo island was a disappointment. We did not see kangaroos!! Thankfully we saw them elsewhere. Our driver Dave was very knowledgable about the seals etc but the trip was a bit boring. Thankfully we took the plane back home.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Frank M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I've already sent a review, but never mind, here it goes again !!
We loved it.
The bus driver on the KI leg was very knowledgeable about the island. His commentary did not stop and he gave very detailed descriptions. He supplied us with drinking water as well.
The other bus drivers, one who picked us up and the other one who took us to our hotel were also very good. Their service was very courteous.
Overall, it made our visit to Kangaroo Island one of the most memorable day trips we've had in Australia.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Kelly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very busy day but definitely worth the trip! We saw so much wildlife including a pair of boxing kangaroos! I learnt alot about Kangaroo island and would definitely go back there!

We decided to opt for the bus and ferry there and then we flew back to Adelaide in the evening. It was really worth the money to fly home, we were dropped off at the airport 1 hour before the others even reached the ferry. We were flown back to Adelaide where a driver waited with our names on a board and then drove us back to our hotel, we were back by about 730-8pm, the others would not have reached thier hotel until around 1130pm.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Wendy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Well organised, informative tour. Coach driver on Kangaroo Island a very good driver. Loved being able to get so close to seals and scenery on coast awesome.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Alberto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Pick up was perfectly on time, the driver on the Island was also the guide. He was really well prepared and nice. Lunch was good, with various choices. We did the return cruise and it fits perfectly in a day, although we wish we could have more time on the beautiful Kangaroo Island.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great trip but a long day, very tiring. Guide on Kangaroo island brilliant. Saw some brilliant creatures. Well worth the mon ey.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Marc J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A great way to see the highlights of Kangaroo Island if you only have one day. I only wish that I had more time to spend there!

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

aj

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Marvelous to meet the wild animals and spectacular scenery on Kangaroo Island. Fantastic wine tasting with fine dining in Barrosa Valley.

Doing what: 5-Day Adelaide and Kangaroo Island Tour Including Barossa Valley Wine Tasting

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you're hoping to see a kangaroo on your visit to Kangaroo Island, don't get your hopes up. That's the bad news. The good news is that you will probably see everything else that you expected to see and then some.
Great opportunity to view sea mammals on the beach and fantastic rock formations. Extremely knowledgeable tour guides/bus drivers. A challenging ferry ride over and back on the Backhand Passage.
A delicious and abundant buffet lunch on the island (no kangaroo on the menu however!). We did see some kangaroos hopping away from the road on the ride from Adelaide to the ferry.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Ka Keung Cavin C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Both tour guides to the Barrosa and the Kangaroo Island are excellent, esp. Les. He is amazing and knowledgeable of the tour. He is really a great asset to your company.

Doing what: 5-Day Adelaide and Kangaroo Island Tour Including Barossa Valley Wine Tasting

guido.fischer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

a good tour. stressful as it begins early in the morning and finishes very late in the evening. but overall good. would do it again. had a great driver on Kangaroo Island with Marc

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very good tour. A long one day tour, but if you don't have two days to spare, then this tour gives you all the highlights. We were picked up at our hotel on time and dropped back off at the hotel doors. It is nice that the tour operator works together with the ferry operator and a local restaurant to make everything run smoothly. The ferry trip was very comfortable. The buffet lunch was very good. Tour guide Ian was very informative and friendly. I would recommend this tour if you need to fit Kangaroo Island into one day. It worked for us.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Leonard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We did the tour in late November and the weather was lovely--not too hot. There were 40-50 people on the tour and that seemed like a manageable number. We never had to wait for anyone to get back on the bus and we kept on schedule. The activities/sites that were chosen for us were great. We liked visiting with the owners of the bee farm and the eucalyptus distillery and sampling/buying their wares. We especially enjoyed the wildlife portions of the tour. The lunches were delicious and the lodging was nice. Our tour bus driver told us all about Kangaroo Island and answered all our questions. The pick up from the hotel and delivery to and from the airport was so easy and convenient.

Doing what: 2-Day Kangaroo Island Tour from Adelaide

Merete W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mark was the sweetest driver, had a very nice voice and great knowledge about the island. Kangaroo Island itself was amazing and had a fantastic nature and wild animal life.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Donna B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This was a very long day. I think it should have a rating for fitness levels. My elderly mother could not do some of the sightseeing as the walks were either too long or too steep. It was a tour my sister and mother wanted to do so I tagged along. Some nice sights but to me Kangaroo Island was overated. A lot of people got sick on the ferry on the way back even I felt a little off so maybe some kwells may have helped. The bus trip home with so many different extra stops made the day even longer by an extra hour and not dropped off where picked up with a rude bus driver didn't finish the tour off great.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

rger

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Overall this was an excellent tour with first rate driver/guides.

The lunch stop was a bit rushed mainly because certain guests repeatedly ignored strict " back on coach times" despite adequate reminders by the guide who, in my view showed remarkable patience and would have been supported by the majority of diligent guests if he had reprimanded those offenders!

The Kangaroo Island experience was memorable and I have no hesitation recommending the experience.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was exactly as described and gave us a good overview of Kangaroo Island in our time available.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Margaret k

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This is a quick over view of Kangaroo Island which covers local wild life and scenic attractions. For me the down side was the horrendous early start from Adelaide (if I was going again I would stay in the peninsula area) - it makes for such a long day. The many up sides compensated by supplying an informed commentary, close encounters with sea lions, viewing other wild life but most of all the spectacular rock formations. The day was a bit hurried as K I is much bigger than you imagine, but if you are limited for time then this will at least give you a taster of the place.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

PETER B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We enjoyed our 2 day tour on Kangaroo Island. Warning for anyone that gets motion sickness the ferry moves against the swell so a bit of a rough ride. There was a little confusion about which bus was ours it could have been prevented if they were colour coded so we could find it easily. Enjoyed the close encounter of the sea lions, the bird of prey demonstration, the opportunity to feed kangaroos but the two highlights were the pelican feeding and seeing the koalas at the Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary.

Doing what: 2-Day Kangaroo Island Tour from Adelaide

Ali_Hawk Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is an excellent tour, it offered much more than I expected, I really enjoyed it. There is such a lot to see on Kangaroo Island - the ferry trip is only 45 mins and easy, the sea lion colony is fantastic, you will get right onto the beach and up close to the sea lions. The rock formations and beaches are spectatular and there is a chance to see Australian wildlife at the National Parks. It's really good. A lot to see in a day, but it's doable and the best trip I did on my South Australian visit.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message