Kangaroo Island is a bit of paradise off the coast of South Australia. 96 miles (155 km) in length with a population of just 4,400 people, it is an unspoiled haven for Australia's native birds and animals. Kangaroos and koalas abound, and on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very good tour. A long one day tour, but if you don't have two days to spare, then this tour gives you all the highlights. We were picked up at our hotel on time and dropped back off at the hotel doors. It is nice that the tour operator works together with the ferry operator and a local restaurant to make everything run smoothly. The ferry trip was very comfortable. The buffet lunch was very good. Tour guide Ian was very informative and friendly. I would recommend this tour if you need to fit Kangaroo Island into one day. It worked for us.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mark was the sweetest driver, had a very nice voice and great knowledge about the island. Kangaroo Island itself was amazing and had a fantastic nature and wild animal life.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This was a very long day. I think it should have a rating for fitness levels. My elderly mother could not do some of the sightseeing as the walks were either too long or too steep. It was a tour my sister and mother wanted to do so I tagged along. Some nice sights but to me Kangaroo Island was overated. A lot of people got sick on the ferry on the way back even I felt a little off so maybe some kwells may have helped. The bus trip home with so many different extra stops made the day even longer by an extra hour and not dropped off where picked up with a rude bus driver didn't finish the tour off great.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Overall this was an excellent tour with first rate driver/guides.

The lunch stop was a bit rushed mainly because certain guests repeatedly ignored strict " back on coach times" despite adequate reminders by the guide who, in my view showed remarkable patience and would have been supported by the majority of diligent guests if he had reprimanded those offenders!

The Kangaroo Island experience was memorable and I have no hesitation recommending the experience.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was exactly as described and gave us a good overview of Kangaroo Island in our time available.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

This is a quick over view of Kangaroo Island which covers local wild life and scenic attractions. For me the down side was the horrendous early start from Adelaide (if I was going again I would stay in the peninsula area) - it makes for such a long day. The many up sides compensated by supplying an informed commentary, close encounters with sea lions, viewing other wild life but most of all the spectacular rock formations. The day was a bit hurried as K I is much bigger than you imagine, but if you are limited for time then this will at least give you a taster of the place.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We enjoyed our 2 day tour on Kangaroo Island. Warning for anyone that gets motion sickness the ferry moves against the swell so a bit of a rough ride. There was a little confusion about which bus was ours it could have been prevented if they were colour coded so we could find it easily. Enjoyed the close encounter of the sea lions, the bird of prey demonstration, the opportunity to feed kangaroos but the two highlights were the pelican feeding and seeing the koalas at the Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary.

Doing what: 2-Day Kangaroo Island Tour from Adelaide

Ali_Hawk
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is an excellent tour, it offered much more than I expected, I really enjoyed it. There is such a lot to see on Kangaroo Island - the ferry trip is only 45 mins and easy, the sea lion colony is fantastic, you will get right onto the beach and up close to the sea lions. The rock formations and beaches are spectatular and there is a chance to see Australian wildlife at the National Parks. It's really good. A lot to see in a day, but it's doable and the best trip I did on my South Australian visit.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Kangaroo Island is a fantastic island, and the best destination from South Australia

Doing what: 2-Day Kangaroo Island Tour from Adelaide

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This trip is a very full day due to the distances involved however well worth it for the unique nature of Kangaroo Island. A very pretty place to see a lot of Australia's flora and fauna in one place. Also very pleased it is fox and rabbit free. We thoroughly enjoyed the day day and the island.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour. Beautiful place. I would visit Kangaroo Island again but take the multi day tour. So much to see. Great tour guide.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great way to see Kangaroo Island and the lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great trip with all sections of the itinerary on time and well organised. Kangaroo island was excellent, bus was first class and tour guide knowledgeable. It was a very long day but couldn't see how it can be shortened.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a great day out. It's an early start - beginning at 6am with the hotel pick up but this maximizes the time you get to spend on Kangaroo Island. It's about an hour and a half from Adelaide to the ferry, then a 45 minute ferry journey to Kangaroo Island. We took the ferry on a very calm day but I imagine on a rough day that you'll need a few sea sickness pills.

Once on the Island, the tour guides were fun and knowledgable and we saw a lot of wildlife including sealions and seals. And the Remarkable Rocks are, well, remarkable. There's so much to see it is a bit of a whirlwind tour in a day, so if we went back we'd like to spend a couple of days on the island rather than just a day. We flew back at the end of the day which saved about three hours on the return journey.

If you're short on time I'd recommend this tour. If you have longer, I'd recommend going for a few days. There's lots to see.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our first time over to Kangaroo Island and we both had an excellent day tour. Our driver was very informative because he was 3rd generation on the island and new a lot about. it and he liked a laugh. Only down side was a very long day starting at 5am and home 10.30pm. My suggestion would be to stay over in Penneshaw for one night before returning to Cape Jervis. Other than that we thought the whole tour was fantastic and we are planning another trip over to a different side of the island one day in the future.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message