Insider's Guide to Aix-en-Provence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Lovingly nicknamed the ‘soul of Provence’, the historic city of Arles is a key stop on the Santiago de Compostela pilgrim route and the gateway to the Camargue Natural Park, set on the banks of the Rhone River. One of the oldest cities in south ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Renaud was a wonderful driver and guide, going out of his way to point out the best features of Arles prior to taking us to our drop off point. He was prompt, courteous, and kind. An amazing afternoon in Arles.

Doing what: Arles Passport with Transport from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour gave an excellent overview of the Provence region, and every town we stopped at had something different and special to offer, and our tour leader provided an excellent and informed commentary. All three key aspects of the tour were very enjoyable and time was available for us to enjoy the features of each, e.g. the Arles market, the Roman amphitheatre in Orange and the beautiful village of Les Baux de Provence.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

it's very good!!!!!!!! i enjoyed a lot! I wish i could have more time to do the one day trip!!

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A beautiful tour. Very informative and poignant.

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: In the Footsteps of Van Gogh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely trip to Arles, Les Baux and St Remy. Arles has a rich Roman history as well as being a city that inspired Van Gogh (café and gardens) - all pointed out with great knowledge by our guide Florence. We were also lucky that there was a small exhibit of original Van Gogh on display in Arles.The second stop was Les Baux- a beautiful small village in the Alpilles (little alps). Florence took us to lookout point over the city that was breathtaking. We had free time to walk around the village and do some shopping! The last stop was St Remy. Our guide pointed out the mountain just outside St Remy that inspired Van Gogh. Also just outside the town is the sanatorium that Van Gogh stayed and where he painted a great deal of art. You can choose to visit or go direct to St Remy. The town of St Remy is not as interesting as Les Baux; however, there were many local artisans and we bought a painting there. Overall a very pleasant day!

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fantastic experience. Our tour guide picked us up exactly at the time we were told. Selene was extremely professional yet very friendly and accomodating. She was very versed on the subject matter and answered all of our questions. Our day could not have turned out better. Lastly, after we left the vineyard where the wine tasting took place (probably half way back to our apt.) my husband realized that he had left his jacket with his camera behind. With the consent of the other person on our tour the guide called the vineyard to make sure that someone was still there and returned to pick up my husband's stuff. I think that she certainly went out of her way to accommodate us. Again, I would recommend Viator to friends and family based on several experiences of using their services from tours to pick up service to the airport. We will continue to use Viator in the future without hesitation.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic tour! It takes you to many wonderful and exciting places that are not as well known as the coastal towns. To spend time in the area where Van Gogh painted many of his famous paintings, wander through Roman theaters and ruins, walk through castles and enjoy fabulous vistas makes this a very memorable excursion. The guide, Gail, though somewhat inexperienced, made up by being very helpful, enthusiastic and pleasant. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Arles, Les Baux and Saint Remy de Provence from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing Roman buildings with Van Gogh interest sites. The guide was wonderful providing key information. A great trip.

Doing what: Arles Passport with Transport from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very informative tour covering some beautiful Provence towns
The ancient Roman sites were especially good to see with plenty of time to explore on your own

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Caroline was wonderful and full of information about the areas visited and more. She turned an initially rainy day into a fun adventure. We had plenty of time to explore independently.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the day trip was fantastic. The tour guide was very nice, friendly and very informative.
it was such a great memorable day. I really recommend it.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was amazing enjoyed by our whole group went out of their way to make sure we got the most out of our time

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: In the Footsteps of Van Gogh

Mike C
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very interesting trip with a good guide in a small group. Well worthwhile

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful tour, excellent guide. We packed so much more into our day than we could have on our own, yet we still had plenty of free time to explore the places we visited at our own pace and focus on what interested us. Great value, especially if you have limited time on your trip. Whether you are interested in Van Gogh, Roman ruins, or great wine, there's something for everyone on this itinerary.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The guide, Marion, was excellent. The tour was packed with interesting sights and narrative. It was a great introduction to the sights, history and places in Province. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message