The less glamorous but equally beautiful little sister to nearby St Tropez, those leaving Provence for the sun-dazzled shores of the French Riviera will find everything they’re looking for in Cassis. This is the South of France at its most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Cedric was an excellent guide. He was friendly and made all participants comfortable. The tour was well organized and well-paced.

Doing what: Best Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really good tour can recommend.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely tour and very nice views. The leader was very informative and well english speaking. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

EXCELLENT tour and guide. Great destinations and super value. Cassis and Calanques are gorgeous. We got to see a fabulous amount of things and great variety in an afternoon. Very relaxed and enjoyable.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour exceeded our expectations and we were very lucky to have the pick up point right in front of our hotel. Cedric, our tour guide was fabulous, The fishing village of Cassis was the best, This quaint little village was very picturesque, the boat ride to see the cliffs and calanques were the highlight of the trip and well worth seeing. I would definitely recommend this tour while visiting Marseille.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good guide. Cassis is a must see!

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was the highlight of our complete trip. The beauty of the calenques will stay in our minds forever. The harbor and town is very lively. This is a trip not to miss!

Doing what: Best Cassis Half-Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip did a fine job of covering a LOT of area in the time allotted. The time in Aix was brief, but we understand that it had to be because of all that was on our agenda that day. Our guide DID drive us to Cezanne's studio, which we were all keen to visit, and which was not on our schedule. The Marseille churches were interesting, and their sites offered up wonderful sights of Marseille. On the way to Cassis, we had the thrill of being driven to the top of some monumental cliffs towering over the Cassis area, and being able to get outstanding views of the villages and boats out on the Mediterranean far below us. The boat ride to visit the Calanques was a wonderful opportunity to learn about the geology, savor the scenery, be the recipient of cooling sea breezes, and SIT DOWN and RELAX. Cassis was charming and hopping. When we returned to our morning's pick up point in Marseille, our guide offered to drive us back to our hotel near the airport since it was her way back to her home in Avignon, and after learning we had had to pay 70 euros for our cab ride to the Vieux Port that morning. One suggestion: It would have been nice to have been encouraged to have something substantial to eat in Aix, because we had no opportunity to buy anything to eat OR drink from the time we left there until we arrived in Cassis in the late afternoon.

Doing what: Best Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did more than I thought we would, the tour of Marseille was nice and the cruise was spectacular. Even got a free hour in Cassis to explore.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was fabulous. Well worth doing this tour. Cassis was beautiful !

Doing what: Best Cassis Half-Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful day with an excellent tour guide. Victoria was informative and enjoyable and exceeded our expectations. Both locations were beautiful and exciting and we'll worth visiting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Aix-en-Provence and Cassis Day Trip from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience and our guide was personable, friendly and knowledgeable. We took the 45 minute boat tour whale at Cassis and it was amazing. We wish that we had some more time to spend in the village.

Doing what: Best Cassis Half-Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful scenery and a lovely guide. Weather did not permit us to cruise out to Calanques so we were fortunate to tour the Bodin winery for tasting. I purchased a few delicious wines and brought one home to the US for a treat. Go see the churches of Marseille and drive along the Mediterainean Sea. The color is aqua sometimes.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

exelent service, great experiense. highly recomended.
i will book viator again. thank you!

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paco our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. His office people were not.
The tour to Cassis and near by and the fabulous Calanques by boat for 45 minutes was just unbelievable and absolutely worth seeing. We saw three Calanques and thoroughly enjoyed the trip to complete satisfaction,

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was exactly I dreamed. The guide's commentaries and her kindness were really what I needed. I highly recommend this tour, it's comfortable and joyful.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was absolutely fastastic! We were picked up at our hotel by our lovely guide Vanessa around 9 am. It was a private tour so my family and I were the only ones on the tour...It was perfect! We started off the day going to St. Nicholas Abbey and to the oldest bakery in Marseille. Then, our guide took to us to tthe Basilica of Notre-Dame of the Garde on top of the hill with spectacular view of all of Marseille and the nearby islands of Frioul and Chateau d'If. Then, we were off for a ride along the Corniche...Sea-side road on Marseille with beautiful ocean views as we made out way to Cassis. We made our way to Cap Canaille...The highest sea-side cliffs in Europe for amazing views. It was incredible! Then, off to Cassis, where we had roughly two and a half hours...We had an incredible lunch by the port and then hopped on a boat for a tour of the calanques. We did the 45 minute tour and visited 3of them...The calanques were one of the most beautful things I've ever seen...Don't skip this part. Then back to Marseille around 4 pm to enjoy the rest of the afternoon, sunset drinks and dinner. It was one of my favorite tours I've ever done! The only I wish for was more time...Cassis is an incredible place that merits more than 2 hours...But, if you want to see and do a lot with the comfort of a private tour, this is the way to go. Recommend it 100%!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Cassis Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our excellent English-major guide provided a personalized tour that fully met the sightseeing description and then some. If in Marseilles for several days, a worthwhile half-day side trip.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

Bruce A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a well paced but long day tour. We visited the markets at Aix and also found Cassis to be such a hidden treasure. Unfortunately but he boat tour was canceled due to wind so be wary of that happening. Rink, our guide was great.

Doing what: Best Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The guide was excellent and had a lot of local knowledge about Marseille and Provence in general.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

Susan S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

One of the best tours we've been on. Great tour guide. Coverage was really good, especially being taken up to the church with the view over Marseille and down to the fishing village at the end of the road (very scenic). Guide also deviated to show one of the people something they particularly requested, but didn't make the tour run late or miss anything out. Well worth doing!

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our Guide, Marina, did an outstanding job of orienting us along the way to Cassis from Marseille. Our boat ride to 3 of the magnificent Clanaques (coves) was breathtaking. The view of the harbor from the top of the cliff was unbelievable. I'd do it again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Cassis Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Our tour of Calanques and Cassis was wonderful. The driver picked us up promptly at the agreed upon time and made us feel welcomed. She was pleasant and was a wealth of information. The Calanques are so beautiful and Cassis was delightful. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Cassis Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message