Insider's Guide to Aix-en-Provence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The less glamorous but equally beautiful little sister to nearby St Tropez, those leaving Provence for the sun-dazzled shores of the French Riviera will find everything they’re looking for in Cassis. This is the South of France at its most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

exelent service, great experiense. highly recomended.
i will book viator again. thank you!

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Paco our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. His office people were not.
The tour to Cassis and near by and the fabulous Calanques by boat for 45 minutes was just unbelievable and absolutely worth seeing. We saw three Calanques and thoroughly enjoyed the trip to complete satisfaction,

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was exactly I dreamed. The guide's commentaries and her kindness were really what I needed. I highly recommend this tour, it's comfortable and joyful.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was absolutely fastastic! We were picked up at our hotel by our lovely guide Vanessa around 9 am. It was a private tour so my family and I were the only ones on the tour...It was perfect! We started off the day going to St. Nicholas Abbey and to the oldest bakery in Marseille. Then, our guide took to us to tthe Basilica of Notre-Dame of the Garde on top of the hill with spectacular view of all of Marseille and the nearby islands of Frioul and Chateau d'If. Then, we were off for a ride along the Corniche...Sea-side road on Marseille with beautiful ocean views as we made out way to Cassis. We made our way to Cap Canaille...The highest sea-side cliffs in Europe for amazing views. It was incredible! Then, off to Cassis, where we had roughly two and a half hours...We had an incredible lunch by the port and then hopped on a boat for a tour of the calanques. We did the 45 minute tour and visited 3of them...The calanques were one of the most beautful things I've ever seen...Don't skip this part. Then back to Marseille around 4 pm to enjoy the rest of the afternoon, sunset drinks and dinner. It was one of my favorite tours I've ever done! The only I wish for was more time...Cassis is an incredible place that merits more than 2 hours...But, if you want to see and do a lot with the comfort of a private tour, this is the way to go. Recommend it 100%!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Cassis Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our excellent English-major guide provided a personalized tour that fully met the sightseeing description and then some. If in Marseilles for several days, a worthwhile half-day side trip.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

Bruce A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a well paced but long day tour. We visited the markets at Aix and also found Cassis to be such a hidden treasure. Unfortunately but he boat tour was canceled due to wind so be wary of that happening. Rink, our guide was great.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

The guide was excellent and had a lot of local knowledge about Marseille and Provence in general.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

Susan S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

One of the best tours we've been on. Great tour guide. Coverage was really good, especially being taken up to the church with the view over Marseille and down to the fishing village at the end of the road (very scenic). Guide also deviated to show one of the people something they particularly requested, but didn't make the tour run late or miss anything out. Well worth doing!

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our Guide, Marina, did an outstanding job of orienting us along the way to Cassis from Marseille. Our boat ride to 3 of the magnificent Clanaques (coves) was breathtaking. The view of the harbor from the top of the cliff was unbelievable. I'd do it again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Cassis Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Our tour of Calanques and Cassis was wonderful. The driver picked us up promptly at the agreed upon time and made us feel welcomed. She was pleasant and was a wealth of information. The Calanques are so beautiful and Cassis was delightful. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Cassis Day Trip

Gord
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great guide, wonderful tour of the Calanques and visit in Cassis.

Doing what: Provence Sightseeing Tour: Marseille and Cassis Calanques Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

We got to Cassis, had a fantastic lunch, by recommendation by our guide. Went on the boat ride around the bay. And got to see the back way around the port back to the ship. She was remarkable. Thanks for a fantastic day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Cassis Day Trip

Penelope S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

It is a must. The views are breathtaking. Our guide was very good.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Cassis Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message