The heart and soul of the Vieil Aix (Old Town) the historic Cours Mirabeau is the main thoroughfare of Aix en Provence, passing between the ring roads that mark the boundaries of the old medieval center and the new town. A broad tree-lined avenue ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip did a fine job of covering a LOT of area in the time allotted. The time in Aix was brief, but we understand that it had to be because of all that was on our agenda that day. Our guide DID drive us to Cezanne's studio, which we were all keen to visit, and which was not on our schedule. The Marseille churches were interesting, and their sites offered up wonderful sights of Marseille. On the way to Cassis, we had the thrill of being driven to the top of some monumental cliffs towering over the Cassis area, and being able to get outstanding views of the villages and boats out on the Mediterranean far below us. The boat ride to visit the Calanques was a wonderful opportunity to learn about the geology, savor the scenery, be the recipient of cooling sea breezes, and SIT DOWN and RELAX. Cassis was charming and hopping. When we returned to our morning's pick up point in Marseille, our guide offered to drive us back to our hotel near the airport since it was her way back to her home in Avignon, and after learning we had had to pay 70 euros for our cab ride to the Vieux Port that morning. One suggestion: It would have been nice to have been encouraged to have something substantial to eat in Aix, because we had no opportunity to buy anything to eat OR drink from the time we left there until we arrived in Cassis in the late afternoon.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Bruce A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a well paced but long day tour. We visited the markets at Aix and also found Cassis to be such a hidden treasure. Unfortunately but he boat tour was canceled due to wind so be wary of that happening. Rink, our guide was great.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great Guide and Driver ....... She was very good at her Job

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Aix-en-Provence Day Trip from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our guide, under a difficult situation, accident on freeway which cause hour + delays, adapted and made up for all the sights we wanted to see. She was extremely knowledgeable with all aspects of French life. We really appreciated her guidence.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Aix-en-Provence Day Trip from Marseille

Penelope S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The trip meant we had good idea of the sights. This helped us decide what we wanted to do during our stay. Our guide was very good.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Aix-en-Provence Day Trip from Marseille

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed visiting several locations in one tour. Our guide, Cedric, was very friendly, animated, and full of knowledge. We give him 5 stars. The basilica is very high with steep incline, so we appreciated the drive up. A lovely view! Aix is a beautiful, but did not find the Paul Cezanne studio.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Guide was late due to some communication problem as explained by her so we had a late start. The cruise (to see the calanques) was ok shorter than the version if you are to take from marseille itself. However you will get to see and enjoy Cassis better in this tour. Cassis is a nice little town and i felt that we did not have enough time to really explore this town esp if u want to catch some lunch. I spent some time looking for a public toilet, sigh..

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Yanna
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Marjelene is very good and thoroughly enjoyed esp to the not so common sights around Marseille.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The cruise was more like a Gilligan's Island cruise - tiny boat and we all got drenched.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message