Insider's Guide to Aix-en-Provence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The mountainous Lubéron Natural Park, a popular day trip from nearby Aix-en-Provence, is a scenic pocket of natural beauty, lying in the Vauclause region of Provence. Largely uninhabited and reaching heights of 3,000 feet, Lubéron boasts ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 244 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour! Lea, our tour guide was very informative. There was ample time to visit all the cities. The only recommendation to give is that microphone be used while in the car. It was quite difficult at times to hear the guide in the car.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour met all my expectations and your descriptions of what we were to see as far as driving thru and stopping to view and poke around were spot on. Many times what you read and think you are going to see and experience are 2 different things which result in disappointment. I was happy that this was not the case.

The guide was lovely and was always prompt and explicit about where we were to meet up. She knew the area well and gave us a lot of background information. The car was immaculate. I would book again with Viator. Thank you for a lovely day.

Doing what: Perched Villages of the Luberon Day Trip from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had an absolutely excellent day on this tour! I was travelling alone, and the group for the tour was 8 people and the tour guide Carol. As the forecast for the day was pouring rain for the afternoon, she rearranged the usual schedule for the day to accommodate this and I think this helped the experience of the day very much as we got to visit Roussillon and Gordes without it pouring down rain on us the whole time. We did catch a little bit of a rain, but no where near as much as we would have had she not changed the order of the day. Carol was knowledgeable and friendly, and approached some awkward situations within our small group regarding meeting times politely and with patience. As the Lavendar field photo stop would be viable since those fields have been closed, she allowed a quick photostop at a smaller Lavendar field and then also showed us another castle on the way to Pont Du Gard. It was certainly a very busy, jam-packed day but all the places we visited were interesting and the three towns were very beautiful. An excellent day trip, would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful trip which lets you see so many beautiful villages without the hassle of driving and parking yourself!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip to wonderful places. We managed to see a lot in a half a day. The only disadvantage was that we could not stop for 5 minutes to take a picture in the lavender fields (I would prefer to cut time in other places). Overall - a good experience and I would recommend to all

Doing what: Lavender and Villages in Provence Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed the day with our guide. It was an amazing day of sight seeing and enabled us to visit a lot of highly recommended places. I would very much recommend this tour to someone who doesn't have a lot of time in Provence and wants to capture the highlights.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Breathtaking scenes and a delightful tour guide. We did something unexpected that totally delighted our van--we stopped at a farmer's market table along the road side for the fresh-grown cherries, just off the tree. Roussillon was my favorite town, but frankly, they were all so pretty.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

this tour was amazing. I saw everything I wanted. The guide was wonderful, she knows all the places very well and she loves her job too much. I highly recommended this tour. I enjoyed every minute.

Doing what: Perched Villages of the Luberon Day Trip from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was experienced and friendly which made the tour pleasant. Time at each village stop was sufficient to take in the beautiful sights. It would have been great if we had a photo stop at the Pont Julien. It was also a pity that the abbey stop was skipped as the lavender were harvested.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It is hard to believe we were gone 10 hours! The tour started promptly for us at 0850 on a hot summer day in Avignon and our group of 6 + Mary (tour guide) headed out to tour the countryside. We were worried that the heat, and the driving, would wear on us but the tour stops were well spaced, the A/C cool (even though we were in the last row of the van), and Mary kept us all quite busy with historical stories and local information. It is amazing to see such grand architecture dating from 50 BC forward, and to better understand the history of the many settled villages and agricultural heritage of the region. The stops allowed plenty of time for snacking and shopping - before we knew it we were back at the hotel. Thank you for rounding out our vacation in France on a high note. Marion and Ben

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is by far my favorite tour I've been on. The scenery was stunning and has me quite literally dreaming of lavender fields and the hillside city of Gordes constantly. Our tour guide Renault was incredibly charasmatic, intelligent and super kind. He made everyone in the group feel very at ease.

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

With the Luberon day tour we had such a great time with the tour guide, besides, the other people had cancelled and it was just my wife and me. The agency was Agencia Provence Tours the tour guide was Granier Laurent better known as Paco as a matter of fct i wrote the agency giving Paco a very good commendation he really-really deserved it. He was funny, extremely serviceable, very knowledgable, polite and he went above and beyond for us to have a good time. The villages visited all four in total were a paradise each one in its own way. The scenery out of this world and the knowledge we received that day was excellent. Overall it was an excellent day. Again Viator knows how to pick it's agencies.

Doing what: Perched Villages of the Luberon Day Trip from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great guide Renault showed us a lot and even more: all the best places of Luberon valley, small villages and towns, also tours to 2 wineries were included with wine and olive oil tasting sessions. Many thanks to Renault for his very kind and nice and attentive attitude and great sense of humor!

Doing what: Provence Wineries and Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

very organized, efficient and well-thought trip!

Doing what: Luberon Villages Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message