Aix-en-Provence ATTRACTIONS See all

Saint-Rémy-de-Provence

The Provencal village of Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, 20 km south of Avignon, is most famous for its impressively preserved Roman ruins, but behind its ancient façade lies a lively town full of character. The magnificent Triumphant Arch of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Violette was knowledgeable friendly and flexible. As we were the only guests in the afternoon she was able to make some changes to eliminate attractions we had already seen, thus increasing our overall enjoyment.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots to see and very enjoyable. Good site choice. Friendly, upbeat tour guide, Violet.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Kelly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great pace! Great sites! Great guide(Julien). My only recommendation would be to swap the lavender museum for a wine tasting or cheese tasting. This tour was exactly what I was looking for. I only had 36 hours in Provence and with work, didn and #39;t have time to research a trip. A taste of Provence.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Nancy k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the trip. Despite the wet weather, the sites were interesting and the guide was fabulous. She gave us the information we needed without being intrusive and gave us the freedom to explore each site ourselves. The bus was comfortable and a good size for the 8 passengers. The length of the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Nina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was amazing. I met amazing people and my tour guide Melanie was extrotinary. Her smile and personality made the day.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Tracey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a memorable day trip, covering many places I could not have done myself. Our guide Violette was knowledgeable and helpful, showing several points with handheld illustrations.
I would recommend this trip, especially from September onward as public transport to Les Baux stops.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Visits to beautiful French villages were very enjoyable.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

GLORY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was excellent and enjoyed it very much,we visited many beautiful small towns, Julien our tour guide and driver is very knowledgeable about the places we visited and even gave us tips about local food still waiting for his grandmother lamb recipe though :. I would have like to see the hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed. than the visit to the lavender museum, one of the lady with us could not go in because she has allergic to perfumes, so she had to wait for us outside. My favourite are Roussillon and the dry-stone village of Gordes, our last stop was in Pont du Gard bridge which is just fantastic and in perfect time. We also visited and enjoyed a little shopping in the market. I highly recommend this tour. We also took the lavender tour with this company and was happy with their service.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Philip D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent, well paced and good range of stops.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Darren N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to experience Provence in a day!!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Sin Yee Eva A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were only spending 3 nights in Avignon. The day trip was exactly what we need to have a taster of Provence. We went to a few villages 'and other sites. We felt like we did and saw a lot in one day, but we didn't feel rushed. Our guide was very friendly and good.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Daniel was an excellent guide and driver. The villages were more than we had expected. The variety of experiences was fantastic. A group lunch in Asolo was the icing on the cake.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent tour, run by Provence Reservations. Anne, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and went out of her way to make sure we got the most of the day. It was a long day, and we covered around 20km, and about 6 main stops, with sufficient time in each. The Cloitre St Paul asylum where Van Gogh stayed was a worthwhile addition to the tour - it was amazing to see the actual scenes Van Gogh painted!

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Olga B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and discussed any topic the group brought up. We learned all about the Roman ruins that are kept in great condition.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Alwyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

this tour was a full on day that exceeded our expectations. good value for money and gave us a full appreciation of the Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Gae R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was long but absolutely wonderful. It covered places that we couldn't get to without a car. Thank you to Carol who was very informative and delightful company. We would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Provence is truly spectacular.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hilltop villages, lavender, enough free time to look around and enjoy, what a great day! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful, we traveled to many places in one day with the freedom to see the countryside with a guide that new so many facts. We never would have seen as many important and interesting sights and seen the wonderful Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Saw many interesting sites, including the mental hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed for a while and the actual areas and scenes where he painted many pictures, the hilltop cities of Gordes and Les Baux, and the Roman aqueduct called Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour including Roman ruins in Orange and Arles, and the unique hill top city of Les Baux. Enough free time to roam about and take in all the history.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Sups2004 France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent trip.
Anne??, our guide, was very knowledgeable and helped us with answering all the questions as well as suggestions of where to go for the next day's tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

susanmayfield

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour for experiencing both the Roman sites and learning about Van Gogh. Melanie was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. If you only have a short time in Provence, this tour maximizes use of your time. Each stop was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Vanessa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour - just enough time in each place. The guide was knowledgeable and gave good recommendations. Beautiful part of the world.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour packed a lot into one day and gave an excellent of some of the most beautiful towns in Provence. Due to the number of sites we visited we only had about 45 minutes in each but this was sufficient. Melanie, our guide, was very kind and informative.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message