Insider's Guide to Aix-en-Provence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Aix-en-Provence ATTRACTIONS See all

Saint-Rémy-de-Provence

The Provencal village of Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, 20 km south of Avignon, is most famous for its impressively preserved Roman ruins, but behind its ancient façade lies a lively town full of character. The magnificent Triumphant Arch of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and discussed any topic the group brought up. We learned all about the Roman ruins that are kept in great condition.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

this tour was a full on day that exceeded our expectations. good value for money and gave us a full appreciation of the Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was long but absolutely wonderful. It covered places that we couldn't get to without a car. Thank you to Carol who was very informative and delightful company. We would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Provence is truly spectacular.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hilltop villages, lavender, enough free time to look around and enjoy, what a great day! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful, we traveled to many places in one day with the freedom to see the countryside with a guide that new so many facts. We never would have seen as many important and interesting sights and seen the wonderful Provence area.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Saw many interesting sites, including the mental hospital near St. Remy were Van Gough was committed for a while and the actual areas and scenes where he painted many pictures, the hilltop cities of Gordes and Les Baux, and the Roman aqueduct called Pont du Gard.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour including Roman ruins in Orange and Arles, and the unique hill top city of Les Baux. Enough free time to roam about and take in all the history.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent trip.
Anne??, our guide, was very knowledgeable and helped us with answering all the questions as well as suggestions of where to go for the next day's tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour for experiencing both the Roman sites and learning about Van Gogh. Melanie was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. If you only have a short time in Provence, this tour maximizes use of your time. Each stop was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour - just enough time in each place. The guide was knowledgeable and gave good recommendations. Beautiful part of the world.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour packed a lot into one day and gave an excellent of some of the most beautiful towns in Provence. Due to the number of sites we visited we only had about 45 minutes in each but this was sufficient. Melanie, our guide, was very kind and informative.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was knowledgeable, patient and enjoyable. The sights were all gorgeous--though I wish we'd skipped the lavender museum and its long video to make more time for the other sites.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

So many things wrapped up into one day - had a simply jam packed, delightful day. Pont du Gard was breathtaking - to be able to walk the bridge was surreal; Standing in places where Van Gogh actually painted his work was inspirational. Loved this day tour - just brilliant.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour gave an excellent overview of the Provence region, and every town we stopped at had something different and special to offer, and our tour leader provided an excellent and informed commentary. All three key aspects of the tour were very enjoyable and time was available for us to enjoy the features of each, e.g. the Arles market, the Roman amphitheatre in Orange and the beautiful village of Les Baux de Provence.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide on the day was terrific, even pointing out to us where to buy the best lavender icecream. The weather was superb. Would have liked more time in Rousillon and Gorde.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very enthusiastic guide. Loved the tour -- the Sunday market, lavender museum, lovely little Provence towns and the Pont du Gard. He knew his area well, since he was from the area, and had many interesting stories to relate.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Robin did a very good job. He provided a great balance of humour and knowledge of the region.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had an absolutely excellent day on this tour! I was travelling alone, and the group for the tour was 8 people and the tour guide Carol. As the forecast for the day was pouring rain for the afternoon, she rearranged the usual schedule for the day to accommodate this and I think this helped the experience of the day very much as we got to visit Roussillon and Gordes without it pouring down rain on us the whole time. We did catch a little bit of a rain, but no where near as much as we would have had she not changed the order of the day. Carol was knowledgeable and friendly, and approached some awkward situations within our small group regarding meeting times politely and with patience. As the Lavendar field photo stop would be viable since those fields have been closed, she allowed a quick photostop at a smaller Lavendar field and then also showed us another castle on the way to Pont Du Gard. It was certainly a very busy, jam-packed day but all the places we visited were interesting and the three towns were very beautiful. An excellent day trip, would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I really enjoyed the day with our guide. It was an amazing day of sight seeing and enabled us to visit a lot of highly recommended places. I would very much recommend this tour to someone who doesn't have a lot of time in Provence and wants to capture the highlights.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It is hard to believe we were gone 10 hours! The tour started promptly for us at 0850 on a hot summer day in Avignon and our group of 6 + Mary (tour guide) headed out to tour the countryside. We were worried that the heat, and the driving, would wear on us but the tour stops were well spaced, the A/C cool (even though we were in the last row of the van), and Mary kept us all quite busy with historical stories and local information. It is amazing to see such grand architecture dating from 50 BC forward, and to better understand the history of the many settled villages and agricultural heritage of the region. The stops allowed plenty of time for snacking and shopping - before we knew it we were back at the hotel. Thank you for rounding out our vacation in France on a high note. Marion and Ben

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pick up went exactly as planned. Jam-packed itinerary and well worth it. Good driver and guide. No complaints. two years running now with Viator. Will always book with you.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I liked the format of this tour. Small group - 8 or less. Guide explained things along the way during the drive and then gave us time to explore each site on our own. The only thing I didn't care for was the visit to the Lavendar museum. Good value.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fantastic experience. Our tour guide picked us up exactly at the time we were told. Selene was extremely professional yet very friendly and accomodating. She was very versed on the subject matter and answered all of our questions. Our day could not have turned out better. Lastly, after we left the vineyard where the wine tasting took place (probably half way back to our apt.) my husband realized that he had left his jacket with his camera behind. With the consent of the other person on our tour the guide called the vineyard to make sure that someone was still there and returned to pick up my husband's stuff. I think that she certainly went out of her way to accommodate us. Again, I would recommend Viator to friends and family based on several experiences of using their services from tours to pick up service to the airport. We will continue to use Viator in the future without hesitation.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Far exceeded my expectations. Marie our charming guide was a safe driver and full of information on the various locations we visited. Sunday Antique markets L'Isle sur le Sorgue. At Musee Lavande it was very interesting to learn about planting, harvest and production and lovely products to buy. Roussillon, Gordes and Les Baux all wonderful towns to explore. I would highly recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour was well planned, and our driver/guide Mary, a wonderful host. She was friendly and very knowledgable about the sites of the tour as well as a good, safe driver. The tour itself was very interesting and informative, from the Lavander Museum to Les Baux to the Pont du Gard. We particularly liked the small group concept, getting to know oneanother and the comfort of the van. We would use Viator again should the occasion arise.

Doing what: Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message