Insider's Guide to Aix-en-Provence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Rolling vineyards, pastel-painted villages and sweeping landscapes straight out of a Van Gogh painting; this is southern France at its most breathtaking and you’ll likely want to spend a lot longer than 3 days soaking up the laid back atmosphere in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A multi-sensory experience: color, the sounds of bees and the smell of lavender. Truly, a "bucket-list" tour. My only problem was that the AC in the van was not working well as we began our trip. I would encourage the tour operator to make sure the vans are in good working order and that the tour guides know how to operate all aspects of the van. It got pretty tense when the air was stifling, but the tour operator pulled out the auto guide and was able to finagle the AC to begin cooling.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A lot of post-card-views of best time blossoming lavender fields, Verdon and lakes. A lot of thanks to Florence - our guide, with her very gentle and kind attitide to tourist constantly loosing themselves in the lavender beauty!

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Actually, i was a little bit disappointed about lavender. But the lake and Moustiers town gave me a big surprise. The town is the kind of place that i always want to go: peaceful, lovely, relaxing. And the lake is amazing! The color of that lake is a kind of pure blue.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Four of us - two couples - were escorted by Florence for four hours. We had a fabulous time. Florence was waiting for us at the scheduled time. She provided interesting history and commentary throughout the drive to Aix en Provence. We were there on a Sunday morning, so the city was very quiet. Unexpectedly, Florence gave us a walking tour of the center of town. She was very knowledgeable and had a wonderful sense of just how much to pass along to us. We then had some free time to do a bit of shopping (though many stores not open on Sunday), and enjoy one of the many cafes. This was just the sort of calm, leisurely time that we were looking for in this beautiful city. We could not have had a better driver and guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Aix en Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely trip to Arles, Les Baux and St Remy. Arles has a rich Roman history as well as being a city that inspired Van Gogh (café and gardens) - all pointed out with great knowledge by our guide Florence. We were also lucky that there was a small exhibit of original Van Gogh on display in Arles.The second stop was Les Baux- a beautiful small village in the Alpilles (little alps). Florence took us to lookout point over the city that was breathtaking. We had free time to walk around the village and do some shopping! The last stop was St Remy. Our guide pointed out the mountain just outside St Remy that inspired Van Gogh. Also just outside the town is the sanatorium that Van Gogh stayed and where he painted a great deal of art. You can choose to visit or go direct to St Remy. The town of St Remy is not as interesting as Les Baux; however, there were many local artisans and we bought a painting there. Overall a very pleasant day!

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Even though it was too early to see the full effects of the lavender fields Ranauld did a great job making up for it by going out if his way for us to enjoy the poppy fields. Enjoyable even though not much lavender to view.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great guide and winery tour. Just the right sized group.

Doing what: Private Tour: Aix en Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our tour was amazing and very informative. Our guide Anais, was flexible and extremely knowledgeable. It was one of the highlights of our trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Aix en Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our guide was very knowledgeable and her warm way of describing very old buildings brought history to life. I'd like to have been able to spend more time wandering the local market. I'll use Viator again in the future.

Doing what: Private Tour: Aix en Provence

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Pick up and drop off was great - would have liked I a bit more information on places to eat/drink

Doing what: Private Tour: Aix en Provence

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Door to door service is great. Very knowledgeable guide/driver. You get to see much more than on a do-it-yourself tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Aix en Provence

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The guide does give us good commentary , but he keep rushing and hurrying us along from spot to spot, saying we have lots to cover, and little time.

He tried to bring us to the loccitane factory, good initiative as it is not in the schedule, but poor information as the factory is not open on Sunday and he only know after actually arriving there. Again, I expect him to know better as the guide.

the tour was supposed to be 5 hours and in the end, it finish at 4 hours. he could have time manage it better and make it feel more leisurely. Instead I felt rushed and cheated off that one hour.

Not recommended unless all the other tours is fully booked like what happened to us. Frankly, the sense that I get is the guide is newbie in doing tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Lavender Fields Tour from Aix-en-Provence

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Even though my reservation was for 2 p.m. on Thursday, they didn't arrive because they thought it was for Friday. They arrived over a hour late-and even though the tour was to center on Cezanne, it was very difficult to get the tour guide to do that. He kept wanting to discuss the architectural design of Aix-including dragging us to his house to see a reception room. If someone wants a tour of Paul Cezanne (or any local son/daughter), then the guide should follow that on a private tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Aix en Provence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message