Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Brooklyn residents still try to debate who has the more beautiful bridge, but for San Franciscans that argument was won in 1937, and the only debatable point is where to get the best vantage point on their beloved bridge. Cinema buffs believe ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Real value for money and a very full day Would have benefited if water had been provided on the coach as the day was a full one with limited time for stops

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day tour, leaving from Akaroa and heading straight to Queenstown. A tour of the city was undertaken, including a trip to Sumner Bay for lunch. Back to the ship at Akaroa over the mountain for some of the most spectacular scenery I have ever seen. The driver/guide was full of knowledge, and I was very , very impressed with his high level of safe driving, especially over the mountain range where the road was narrow. A great day.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Janice N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very happy with this tour. Driver/guide was excellent. He kept us entertained with his information and stories about everything we saw. Was hard to see the devastation in Christchurch, but the way he gave us the details made it easier to deal with.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Murray T
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Such a pretty scenic drive into Christchurch from Akaroa and Hank our driver returned another way and it to had views to die for .Excellent trip and felt very sad for christchurch when we saw what 22seconds of quake could do. Great day

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Convenient pickup on the pier. Driver/guide was very informative. Gave us lots of photo ops along the way.
Great value.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful tour of Akaroa and Christchurch. Christchurch was very sad to see but was certainly an impact on tourists who had been there before, like ourselves. We didn't recognise anything. Our driver stopped many times for photos.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were picked up from our cruise ship on time. Tour of Christchurch was just a quick overview only had 40 min stop in gardens for a walk around. Jet boat ride was amazing we all but had the river to ourselves. I would recommend trip to anyone.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A high quality tour taking in the beautiful coves and viewpoints along the Bank's Peninsula and the city of Christchurch raised to the ground in many parts by the terrible earthquake of February 2011. It is still very much a building site with plenty of temporary parking on the land cleared and awaiting re-building. It is a miracle that a lot more people were'nt killed. Also passed Lyttelton the former port of entry (now too shallow). Still plenty to see which one shouldn't miss. Again very price competitive, particularly against the cruise ship alternative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a wonderful day, tour operator had heaps of local knowledge. Bus Driver was also very good as the roads out of Akaroa are very steep and lots of bends. The bus was very comfortable and smooth. Would highly recommended to anyone wanting to do this shoretour from the cruisers. This would have been the best tour ever.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We were delayed getting ashore due to poor conditions for tenders; not to worry, the tour waited and we didn't miss anything. Driver very enthusiastic and informative. The drive into Christchurch was very picturesque. Our driver was very keen to show us lots relating to the 2011 earthquake and we saw many interesting sights. Personally would have liked more time at the Botanic Gardens - this was literally little more than a toilet stop!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We were able to view numerous wildlife. The weather was beautiful. The guide/narrator was well versed and entertaining. We thoroughly enjoyed our Akaroa Harbor cruise.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The guides were very friendly, pleasant, good-humoured and knowledgeable. We enjoyed all of the tours.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a great experience.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message