Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

ATTRACTIONS See all

Akaroa Cruise Port

Akaroa Cruise Port Akaroa is a historic French and British settlement not far from Christchurch on New Zealand’s South Island. Set on a long harbor and surrounded by volcanic hills, Akaroa’s French influence is still evident today. With a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sallyspelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Akaroa and the surrounding countryside - so peaceful. Despite a fairly lengthy journey to Christchurch we enjoyed our visit there but it was very sobering to see just how much damage had been caused by the earthquake. So many buildings with scaffolding but it was also interesting to visit the shipping containers which have been converted into shops and eateries

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

trvlmore United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver and guide was pleasant, thorough and very informative. It was sad to see Christchurch after the earthquake and how much is still to be done to recover.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Shane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour..a wonderful drive into Christchurch from the port. Well worth the drive as you see such lovely scenery. The Antarctic Centre was great especially the blizzard storm at -18 degrees. Recommend this tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Keith E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip to the International Antarctic Centre was fantastic and we wished we could have stayed there much longer. We were pleased to go to Christchurch but we felt so much for the people who suffered the earthquake 5 years ago. The damage was extensive.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Ronald T H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour although Christchurch is still suffering from the earthquake of 2011 and many of the buildings have not yet been re-built.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

sgardner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great day on this tour and would highly recommend it to others. We were with a larger group for the drive of the Banks Peninsula and the Christchurch City Tour. However, we were the only ones to book the Jet Boat on Waimak River, so we were picked up from the bus and transported by car to the jet boat and back to the bus for that portion where we had a private ride. Banks Peninsula is very beautiful and Christchurch had just suffered another earthquake days before our tour so we saw a lot of devastation and rebuilding going on. The Jet Boat ride was the highlight of our day thanks to Greg, who was very knowledgeable and made it a lot of fun. We will always remember the Jet Boat ride as one of the highlights of our days in New Zealand.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

Sheila T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed this tour very much. The sheep farm was interesting and like the three legged border collie that could still run and herd the sheep extremely well. It was sad to see the parts of Christchurch that are still in bad shape 5 years after the earthquake.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Sheep Farm Tour

nana2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Long day of touring. Beautiful drive to Christchurch but too much time viewing earthquake damage. Would have loved more time in Botanical Gardens and Museum both of which were wonderful. Antarctic center interesting adventure. Wish we had more time there too.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Marcia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was fantastic! Even with rough seas, our pilot was able to navigate to the Hole in the Rock and gave us a fantastic view and trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Lyndall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Late leaving the port on our tour due to inefficient tender system from cruise ship. No fault of the tour company. We left minus 2 passengers but the tour operator transported them to Christchurch and met us at the Antarctice Centre! Picturesque drive both ways to and from Christchurch. Arctic Centre visit was cut short due to loss of time waiting at port - definitely worth 2-3 hr visit. Drive through Christchurch again was hurried but we were time pressured. Our driver was full of information. Great day out.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

C John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Pleasant surprise, very interesting learning about the different kinds of sheep and all the

work that goes into processing wool.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Sheep Farm Tour

Geoff W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An exceptionally good tour. Our driver/guide, Rodney, was brilliant. He had lots of local knowledge, and experience.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

BERNARD M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Got to see a lot and Christchurch was amazing

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Rosemarie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was great. Driver very informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An interesting tour covering firstly Akaroa, and then a quite long drive around the Banks Peninsula to Christchurch. A pleasing walk through the picturesque Botanic Gardens then back on the coach for a drive highlighting much of the earthquake destruction, and subsequent rebuilding of Christchurch. After a lunch stop at the remarkable reStart complex food and retail outlets all constructed from shipping containers we returned to Akaroa via a different route . A great tour for those with limited time as demanded by the cruise ship schedule to spend in the various areas covered. Good value and very informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Pete United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This two hour harbor cruise far exceeded our expectations. Words can not describe the beauty of the volcanic activity that created this harbor and the opportunity to view birds, Hector dolphins, and fur seals up close, even catching a glimpse of a whale and a blue penguin. Julian was GREAT!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Lois M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour beautiful town wish the ship could have gotten a lot closer to the wharf

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Allyson C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour was great, driver very informative and pleasant
Would recommend

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Gerard C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day even though the dolphins weren't in the mood to swim with us. The staff were excellent. We had great views of the dolphins from the boat but once we got in the water they took off. We received a partial refund which was unexpected. Will do this again if we are ever in Akaroa again.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Swim with Dolphins in Akaroa Harbour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message