Put down the crampons! You don’t need to buy specialist equipment or join an Arctic expedition to the get the best out of Alaska. Day 1: Anchorage Start in the largest city of the largest state. Spend the morning exploring the highlights of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Weather was perfect, staff were very knowledgeable, and the whales were very impressive!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Patricia Baer, was very informative, very personable and a fun lady to spend a few hours with. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing and learning about Fairbanks and Alaska in general. As Patricia got to know me and my friend on the tour she actually personalized a portion of the tour for us to match our interest in bird watching.

I highly recommend the Alaskan Heritage Tour - and of course if you are fortunate to get Patricia as your guide the tour will be excellent!

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was a great tour and Larry was a wonderful tour guide!!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So glad we chose this tour. Patricia was great and we loved her bear story. So much better than being on a big bus tour.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved! Loved! Loved it! We had the most amazing time on our cruise and particularly enjoyed seeing the humpback whales in the wild. The staff were awesome and very knowledgeable. Definitely looking forward to doing it again some day!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was excellent

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This excursion was,in a word, fabulous! Everything worked like clockwork, the guides were extremely knowledgeable, and we loved every moment. We chose not to book this through this cruise line, and we don't have any regrets.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This excursion was fascinating and fun. Good time.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour was awesome! The whales showed out for us. We saw a double breach, which is an unusual sight! The crew was very informative and determined to make our trip memorable! We highly recommend them!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

both of these were great tour operators were very professional

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although McKinley was clouded out of the experience, we'll take that up with God.

Doing what: Mt McKinley Flightseeing Tour from Anchorage with Glacier Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were very pleased with our tour in Juneau. Everyone was very friendly and helpful from the bus drivers to the boat captain. We saw a large group of whales feeding together and it was very exciting to see them come out of the water and flap their tails! The boat captain did a good job getting us as close as allowed and set up for picture taking. It was a beautiful and day we enjoyed our brief visit to the glacier as well.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was everything we could have asked for. It was a deeply moving experience seeing the whales and other wildlife. Thanks for an incredible experience.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely amazing! We saw several whales near our boat. The guides were friendly and informative.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good tour of the area.
Enjoyed the history museum at the University.
Could have skipped Pioneer Park.

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was 44 minutes later than we were told it would start, which wasted time we could've spent browsing through the shops. Fortunately the tour was worth the wait.

The guide was personable, funny and informative, and the glacier was magnificent. We saw a field with about 30 eagles on the way to the glacier.

The restaurant workers didn't know what exactly was included in the lunch, so they had to track down the manager.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip is fantastic and Highly Recommended. We had been looking forward to this tour and were not disappointed. Our tour guide, Daniel, was phenomenal. He is originally from Barrow, AK and is an Inuit Eskimo. He was polite, courteous, engaging and super knowledgeable about anything 'Alaska'. Daniel loves his job and he's suited perfectly for it. He stopped anywhere we wanted along the way for photos and provided us with non-stop information about anything we asked about. We also had a wonderful beef stew at the Arctic Circle cooked by the tour company owner's wife. The van was not crowded, either 6 total tourists, so the ride was comfortable. This was one of the major highlights of our entire trip. Thanks to Daniel for making the tour so much fun!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What an excellent day! Rainer was our guide to the Arctic Circle. He was willing to make frequent stops for photo opportunities, relayed information about the area and ensured our safety on one of Alaska's most dangerous highways. There were only 4 of us on the tour and so it felt very personal. Rainer and his wife made an outstanding pot of stew and served us at the Arctic Circle. When booking the trip I mentioned it was my partner's birthday. Although I did not request anything special, he added his own special touch with a bottle of cider and a birthday card. He not only provided us with a nice certificate to commemorate the occasion but provided a nice sack of snacks for the journey and toilet paper when needed! :- His sense of humor, respect of nature and love of Alaska was greatly appreciated. I would highly recommend this tour company to anyone wanting a small personalized experience. We plan to book with Rainer again the next time we are in Fairbanks. The only recommendation I could make to improve the experience would be for the driver to have a small microphone to make it easier to hear in the back of the van.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour is a little expensive but otherwise ok. You can probably avoid the Mendenhall Glacier leg if you are on a cruise ship to Alaska and the ship will be cruising the Glacier Bay National Park where you will see better glaciers and icebergs. Mendenhall Glacier has receded so much there is not much to look at otherwise. The whale watching adventure is good if you don't get seasick easily as you are on pretty windy and rough seas where you try to spot humpback whales feeding in open waters. Half the time we worried about getting seasick and throwing up otherwise whale spotting is an exhilarating experience. More thrilling if you can get good photo shoots of the whales taken from afar and a heaving boat!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Tour to Arctic Circle is good. But traveling time is very high and at some point I felt like its not worth going coz of traveling time and the road condition. The guide is superb and food is great.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The drive is amazing! Great scenery along the way. The Wildlife Reserve is ok, not really worth the 99. This really isn't a tour and the reserve is not very big. You can see the whole thing in an hour or less depending on how fast you want to get through it. The bears were out and about when we went which was very cool and I finally saw a moose there. Admission to the reserve is only 12.50 so you are really paying for the van to get you there and back. If you can, I would suggest renting a car, seeing the reserve, and then do some hiking lots of great trails nearby. The guide was great, very friendly and provided some interesting commentary along the ride.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm and Alaska Wildlife Tour from Anchorage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Yes, it was a long trip, but you know that going in. Nicholi, our guide, was very knowledgeable and very interesting. We made a few stops along the way. One was to walk on the frozen Yukon River! The road is rough, but Nicholi was a good driver. When we got to the Arctic Circle, Nicholi heated up a wonderful stew and everyone had plenty to eat. We all also had a bag with a sandwich and snacks along the way. There is nothing at the Arctic Circle except a beautiful view, a very friendly bird and squirrel, and peace and quiet. Best birthday ever! Thank you!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It is a long trip. But Mike, our tour guide made the trip interesting. We now know a lot more about the city, the pipeline, the Yukon river, eco system in Alaska. His driving skill make all of us feel comfortable on the famous Dalton high way. The small picnic at arctic circle add something special to the tour, the hot stew tasted really good.

It is truly a pleasant trip from pick up, till drop off at the hotel.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message