Put down the crampons! You don’t need to buy specialist equipment or join an Arctic expedition to the get the best out of Alaska. Day 1: Anchorage Start in the largest city of the largest state. Spend the morning exploring the highlights of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The trip is fantastic and Highly Recommended. We had been looking forward to this tour and were not disappointed. Our tour guide, Daniel, was phenomenal. He is originally from Barrow, AK and is an Inuit Eskimo. He was polite, courteous, engaging and super knowledgeable about anything 'Alaska'. Daniel loves his job and he's suited perfectly for it. He stopped anywhere we wanted along the way for photos and provided us with non-stop information about anything we asked about. We also had a wonderful beef stew at the Arctic Circle cooked by the tour company owner's wife. The van was not crowded, either 6 total tourists, so the ride was comfortable. This was one of the major highlights of our entire trip. Thanks to Daniel for making the tour so much fun!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What an excellent day! Rainer was our guide to the Arctic Circle. He was willing to make frequent stops for photo opportunities, relayed information about the area and ensured our safety on one of Alaska's most dangerous highways. There were only 4 of us on the tour and so it felt very personal. Rainer and his wife made an outstanding pot of stew and served us at the Arctic Circle. When booking the trip I mentioned it was my partner's birthday. Although I did not request anything special, he added his own special touch with a bottle of cider and a birthday card. He not only provided us with a nice certificate to commemorate the occasion but provided a nice sack of snacks for the journey and toilet paper when needed! :- His sense of humor, respect of nature and love of Alaska was greatly appreciated. I would highly recommend this tour company to anyone wanting a small personalized experience. We plan to book with Rainer again the next time we are in Fairbanks. The only recommendation I could make to improve the experience would be for the driver to have a small microphone to make it easier to hear in the back of the van.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour is a little expensive but otherwise ok. You can probably avoid the Mendenhall Glacier leg if you are on a cruise ship to Alaska and the ship will be cruising the Glacier Bay National Park where you will see better glaciers and icebergs. Mendenhall Glacier has receded so much there is not much to look at otherwise. The whale watching adventure is good if you don't get seasick easily as you are on pretty windy and rough seas where you try to spot humpback whales feeding in open waters. Half the time we worried about getting seasick and throwing up otherwise whale spotting is an exhilarating experience. More thrilling if you can get good photo shoots of the whales taken from afar and a heaving boat!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Tour to Arctic Circle is good. But traveling time is very high and at some point I felt like its not worth going coz of traveling time and the road condition. The guide is superb and food is great.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The drive is amazing! Great scenery along the way. The Wildlife Reserve is ok, not really worth the 99. This really isn't a tour and the reserve is not very big. You can see the whole thing in an hour or less depending on how fast you want to get through it. The bears were out and about when we went which was very cool and I finally saw a moose there. Admission to the reserve is only 12.50 so you are really paying for the van to get you there and back. If you can, I would suggest renting a car, seeing the reserve, and then do some hiking lots of great trails nearby. The guide was great, very friendly and provided some interesting commentary along the ride.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm and Alaska Wildlife Tour from Anchorage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Yes, it was a long trip, but you know that going in. Nicholi, our guide, was very knowledgeable and very interesting. We made a few stops along the way. One was to walk on the frozen Yukon River! The road is rough, but Nicholi was a good driver. When we got to the Arctic Circle, Nicholi heated up a wonderful stew and everyone had plenty to eat. We all also had a bag with a sandwich and snacks along the way. There is nothing at the Arctic Circle except a beautiful view, a very friendly bird and squirrel, and peace and quiet. Best birthday ever! Thank you!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It is a long trip. But Mike, our tour guide made the trip interesting. We now know a lot more about the city, the pipeline, the Yukon river, eco system in Alaska. His driving skill make all of us feel comfortable on the famous Dalton high way. The small picnic at arctic circle add something special to the tour, the hot stew tasted really good.

It is truly a pleasant trip from pick up, till drop off at the hotel.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great experience, the tour guide was very thoughtful and sweet, I would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the two naturalists on board. They were knowledgeable and very fun.
Thank you.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Not touristy, a real experience!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great! The people were so nice. We saw lots of whales as promised. They were very knowledgeable about the whales so we learned a lot. I would take this tour again.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Super. We saw many whale and got great pictures.! Very nice crew and Capt. John worked the boat to where everyone got great angles to see the whale.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Second time we did this and both times using the same boat and captain who knows where to find both humpback and killer whales. Raven's Journey is the boat you want. Highly recommended

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wee had a great time on this tour .

We did the Mendenhall Glacier first , we had enough time to walk to Nugget Falls and spend a few minutes in the visitor center.

The whale watching was amazing . We went out on a small boat that held about 25. We saw tons of whales and sea lions

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best excursion tour we had at our Alaskan cruise - for its quality and value. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an amazing tour! We saw lots of humpbacks and sea lions
The whales were very close to our boat and we got some great pics of tails and humps. Guides were amazing. Knowledgeable and nice.

They had binoculars to use and complimentary drinks and bagels. Thoroughly enjoyed.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great captain and 1st mate, very knowledgeable. Got us out fast to see whales, then sea lions. When we headed back one of the boats jet engines got plugged up and we were very limited for speed, limped along. They got another boat to us in 10 minutes to bring us to shore and still get a little time to see the Mendenhall Glacier. They refunded us some of our cost because of less time for Glacier. Great to do business with!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Robert K C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Though it was very cloudy that particular, the pilot with his vast experience safely landed the plane on the glacier. Walking on the thick snow with the snow boots provided by the Operator was a fantastic experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the flight around Mt McKinley and to see in close views of the snow capped mounts and various glaciers.

Doing what: Mt McKinley Flightseeing Tour from Anchorage with Glacier Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

well planned and executed and saw some whales--good job and worth the price.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent. Our tour guide went way beyond what was expected.

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Saw whales, good vis and boat capt did best to make sure we saw tham

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent trip. Saw humpback whales and orcas. Very good naturalist and good facilities on the boat.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Staff on the whale watching cruise were very knowledgeable and accommodating despite bad weather. We saw humpback whales within a few feet of the boat. Also we were able to see an eagle and sea lions. Mt Roberts is very neat. We would have loved to hike on the mountain but it was raining heavily. I was disappointed in the meal however. The waiters were confused with our voucher. We could not order from the menu. Instead we were provided with a small piece of baked salmon and salad. It was good but the portion was very small. Nothing to drink was included with the voucher so we paid extra for our ice tea.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Seafood Lunch or Dinner atop Mt Roberts

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message