Put down the crampons! You don’t need to buy specialist equipment or join an Arctic expedition to the get the best out of Alaska. Day 1: Anchorage Start in the largest city of the largest state. Spend the morning exploring the highlights of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Everything we were expecting and then some!!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Even with the rain, this whale watching boat was very personalized and smaller than the offerings of other companies. The ranger and boat captain were extra friendly and we enjoyed the experience. The bus drivers were very nice and accomodating as well.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing time with our Whale Watching with Captian Amy and Ashley. We not only saw quite a few solitary whales but experienced the rare bubble feeding by the hump backs. Possibly 15 whales participated in the feeding after the male blew bubbles around the fish to keep them all together. What an experience to see all these whales coming up together with their mouths open to feed! So awesome! Thank you to the crew for the once in a life time experience!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide was Ranier. Wonderful from the moment we were picked up to when we were dropped off. Upon arrival at our cabin, Ranier had a bag with a ham/cheese sandwich, water, chips and a cookie. Excellent narrative all along the drive to the Artic Circle. After we received our certificate that we crossed the Circle, a wonderful lunch was provided by him there. Delicious stew made by his wife. The drive back had many interesting stops. We were a party of five - 2 seniors, our daughter and an 11 and 14 year old. Ranier had all of our attention the whole time. All we can say is take this tour. Well worth it. Wonderful - request Ranier if you can.

Doing what: Best Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful and very enjoyable. We were lucky to see whales on the boat and a bear when we were on our way to Mendenhall. We also enjoyed the details and the information from our driver to the Mendenhall Glacier.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our Fairbanks tour. Our guide, Anke, was delightful, knowledgeable and informative. We were supposed to have a group tour, but we were the only ones, so we got a private tour. After showing us the places on the official tour, Anke asked what we wanted to see and also showed us some of her favorite places in Fairbanks and the surrounding area. What a wonderful day!
Brina

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brandon, Emma and Capt. Roberts were fantastic - they patiently sought an area where we could find a pod of whales and then offered us interesting facts and details about them. Could not have asked for a better whale watching cruise

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Seafood Lunch or Dinner atop Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful time on the Whale Watching Cruise - Emily our guide was knowledgable and fun.
The Tram ride to Mt. Roberts was breathtaking.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Seafood Lunch or Dinner atop Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Our guides, Nick and Troy, did a fantastic job in finding the location of killer whales and humpbacks! They even offered us hot chocolate, coffee, candy and a salmon cream cheese bagel. Highly-recommended!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent excursion. the trip to the Glacier was just as advertised and loved the tram up to mt. Roberts. We ate a lovely salmon dish and hiked on the mountain. excellent

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We booked through Viator and saved 90 per person almost half of the cruise rate! Saw lots of whales and one that breached 3 times right in front of us. Operators were very alert as to what time we had to be back and made sure we made our departure time.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was fantastic and so accommodating. Her choice of where to stop for lunch also gets 5 stars.

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was AWESOME! Our boat operator and naturalist were fun and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and worth the money.We saw whales right away and they came very close to the boat.People on the boat were very informative.Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

professional service and an outstanding experience overall! We saw a LOT of whales! great photo ops!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We saw the whales from close up and was fascinating. The staff on the boat were very friendly, informative and we enjoyed the hot cup of coffee and sandwiches. Overall, we enjoyed our trip and would recommend it to all.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The boat captain and the guide were very nice and helpful. They worked hard to make the experience memorable. It was great to be close to the whales. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Weather was perfect, staff were very knowledgeable, and the whales were very impressive!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Patricia Baer, was very informative, very personable and a fun lady to spend a few hours with. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing and learning about Fairbanks and Alaska in general. As Patricia got to know me and my friend on the tour she actually personalized a portion of the tour for us to match our interest in bird watching.

I highly recommend the Alaskan Heritage Tour - and of course if you are fortunate to get Patricia as your guide the tour will be excellent!

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Mary is a friendly, very knowledgeable and accommodating host. We enjoyed the drive and the wildlife tour.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm and Alaska Wildlife Tour from Anchorage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was fantastic! Captain Amy and Chelsea did a wonderful job to make the trip interesting and unforgettable. They are very knowledgable and did their best to make everyone happy.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great experience. Very easy to meet up with tour employees at the port. Mendenhall Glacier is really beautiful. We saw about 10 humpback whales and both the captain and guide were informative.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took a private tour our tour guide, Patricia, was fantastic. She showed us a side of Alaska that we hadn't seen. Informative, relaxed and fun.

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message