Put down the crampons! You don’t need to buy specialist equipment or join an Arctic expedition to the get the best out of Alaska. Day 1: Anchorage Start in the largest city of the largest state. Spend the morning exploring the highlights of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Claudia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I are totally impressed with Viator. I booked this tour as a surprise for him. The day before the trip nov 26 I called and the manager said that they might have to cancel it because there was a really bad winter storm. Bummer I said, but he made this happen! Even though it was Thanksgiving day, this manager I can't remember his name but the office is at the North Pole was keeping us updated and he send us to this tour adding the aurora borealis viewing. The trip was an amazing experience. Our tour guide was Art, a very funny guy. I would give this man 10 stars if I could. He made sure that we make enough stops for bathroom breaks, that all of us have snacks, hot coffee and hot tea. Even though the road was really bad he drove super safe and stopped to every sign so we can take pictures. Even though we didn't see the lights we brought home great memories. I loveD Art's stories about the Dalton HWY and the ice road truckers and many other stories. Art was really amazing. The tour was perfect thanks to him. Seriously, Art is the best guide my hubby and I had and we do travel quite a lot and because of him, from now on we will only book tours with Viator. THANK YOU ART!!!
PS: the only sad thing about the trip was that NOBODY but hubby and I tipped him. I couldn't believe my eyes. No matter what country you are from or whatever the tradition in your country is, a tip is a tip. Just remember guys...these tour guides are driving 12-14 hours on a very dangerous HWY!!! And if your guide is as awesome as ours was....please tip him!!!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Cynthia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were more than pleased with our Alaska Whale tour. We were able to find our location to board the bus to the tour easily. The tour guides were pleasant and worked hard to give us a good show. We saw numerous whales, including a mama and baby whale. Awesome. The complimentary hot chocolate was an added bonus. By booking thru viator we were able to save money verses booking off the cruise ship. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Randy C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had an amazing whale watching tour with our captain Ron and naturalist, Wendy. We were taken to Auke Bay in an enclosed boat. We were made aware of where our life jackets were under our seats. When we stopped to observe the whales, we were only allowed 4 people on the bow of the boat at a time. We were so fortune to see so many humpbacks they called it a herd. Wendy and Ron were very knowledgeable. Our second stop to Mendenhall Glacier was equally as amazing. We walked the trail to the glacier and Nugget Falls. The scenery was spectacular. I would recommend this tour. Our only disappointment was we should have had more time to walk the trail and enjoy the visitor building. We never even made it up to the visitor building or to see the glacier video, which was recommended. Five people never made to the bus on time and the bus left without them.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Jennifer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour...well organized. Tour operator gave us extra time at Mendenhall and told us very interesting history of the area. Dinner on Mt Roberts was very good, however, the staff at the restaurant were unprepared for the dinner rush and we saw many people walk out due to the wait/not being acknowledged. Luckily we we did not experience that and our food was amazing. Indian fry bread to die for!

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Jacqueline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This trip was fantastic. It was the last run of the season, very few tourists and all the captains, mates and naturalists went with us for a last farewell to their whale friends. Even without those circumstances, all the employees we met were courteous, helpful, knowledgeable and plied us with soft drinks and soda and bagel with salmon for a snack. Could not recommend it more. Easy pickup up by shuttle and knowledgeable driver full of information about the area both to and from. Went out of their way to accomodate.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Stuart B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an amazing trip. We thoroughly enjoyed the whale watching and lunch at the top of Mt. Roberts was delicious. The best salmon we ate on our entire Alaska vacation. My only suggestion would be to take the earliest whale watching trip so that you have more time at the top of Mt. Roberts to enjoy the views and other attractions before returning to the cruise ship. Great value and the highlight of our vacation.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Seafood Lunch or Dinner atop Mt Roberts

Deb New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great day with sightseeing in the bus then off to the glacier for free time to go and see what you wish and then to come but to town on the bus where you take the cable car to the top for a delicious lunch with fantastic views. We opted to walk down the mountain back to town rather than go back down in the cable car - it is a great 1.5hr walk down.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Jennifer B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

the glacier was really nice to see,and going up to the restuarant ant the top of mount roberts was excellent. the eagle was really nice to see.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Victoria D Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

It was a nice trip, but didn't see much whale activity

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Nordan U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Everything we were expecting and then some!!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

lizgillit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Nice boat and knowledgable staff. Saw 4 or 5 humpback whales fairly close. Couldn't have asked for a nicer excursion.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

blalexander

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was pretty rough, but loved our tour director and driver. We saw lots of whales and the trip to the glacier was spectacular, as well!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Elizabeth E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Even with the rain, this whale watching boat was very personalized and smaller than the offerings of other companies. The ranger and boat captain were extra friendly and we enjoyed the experience. The bus drivers were very nice and accomodating as well.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing time with our Whale Watching with Captian Amy and Ashley. We not only saw quite a few solitary whales but experienced the rare bubble feeding by the hump backs. Possibly 15 whales participated in the feeding after the male blew bubbles around the fish to keep them all together. What an experience to see all these whales coming up together with their mouths open to feed! So awesome! Thank you to the crew for the once in a life time experience!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Sharon Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Ashley and Amy ? were excellent tour guides for the whale watching on the Raven . We saw a rare sighting of several whales performing the bubble net maneuver and come up with mouths open simultaneously. Amazing! These girls are well suited for their positions with the tour and I'd recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Seeing the orcas and watching one breech right off the stern of the boat was phenominal.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

lorrainecinque18

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed this adventure thoroughly. A little nervous since a shipboard time was the same as the end of the tour but they got us back on time. From the driver of the bus who was pleasant and informative, to the whales portion which was spectacular to our trip to Mendenhall Glacier they shined .

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Barbara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great opening experience to see Fairbanks. Our guide, Anka, was generous in answering questions and customizing the day to fit the interests of the group.

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

Shelley F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

loved it .. Jet Boat tours went far above expectations

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Dougsue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour we saw 5 whales!!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

louiepreacher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our tour through Juneau with a stop at Mendenhall Glacier and ending with a tram ride up Mt. Roberts. Having a lifelong resident of Juneau sharing all that he knew about the area and his own personal experiences through the years made the tour a wonderful experience. It was an overcast day filled with rain and because of the weather much of the view as we drove up to Mendenhall Glacier was hidden from us. We were given several opportunities to get out of the bus, which we did to take pictures. Our view was also greatly limited from atop Mt. Roberts by clouds and fog. The Salmon Dinner that we had on top of Mt. Roberts was probably the best salmon we experienced in Alaska and during our cruise. We would whole heartedly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

lynn o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Patricia was wonderful! She arrived on time and showed us things we hadn't even considered. She's knowledgeable and is environmentally concerned. It's obvious she loves Alaska.

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed so much the driver and narrator, the glacier, the sites in Juneau, the Roberts tram, and the salmon dinner. It was a great experience! Thank you

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

lindasue1949

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our excursion was wonderful. Can't wait to return to Alaska. Viator saved us money! Thank you!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Jacky L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was outstanding - the Captain and Naturalist were very helpful and informative. The jet boats are great for travel and watching. And, we saw two whales breaching multiple times each - fantastic - good job!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message