Put down the crampons! You don’t need to buy specialist equipment or join an Arctic expedition to the get the best out of Alaska. Day 1: Anchorage Start in the largest city of the largest state. Spend the morning exploring the highlights of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great experience, the tour guide was very thoughtful and sweet, I would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

While I highly recommend a trip to see the Northern Lights, I would never recommend that anyone book the trip through Viator at this time. While the local tour operators were absolutely fantastic, there were several administrative snafus that damped the trip. Specifically:

1. One person in our party suffers severe allergies and is deathly allergic to feathers. We did not think of feathers as even being an issue until about two and a half weeks prior to our departure we're from California and don't need down clothing. Note that Viator's ad when we booked did not say anything about the type of clothing being provided nor did it include any disclaimer. The response from Viator? They just refunded a little more than 200 and said too bad, buy your own clothes. Purchasing the winter clothes that will never be used again cost that individual more than 500. And while most of the Viator customer service reps I spoke to were very cordial and professional, the same cannot be said for the manager I spoke to.

2. For the two other people in our party, the winter clothing was delivered to the wrong hotel. We also had to return the clothing to the different hotel.

3. The information packet received at our hotel included two conflicting itineraries and did not tell us what time to be at the tour company's location for departure.

4. When we reached Cold Foot we were told that we were not booked for the Northern Light viewing excursion, even though that was a part of the package we purchased through Viator. Yet another mess we had to sort out.

Bottom line: The Northern Lights are a must-see and I highly recommend the trip. I've very happily used Viator for about ten years and am absolutely shocked by all of the problems I encountered this time.

Doing what: 4-Night Northern Lights Experience from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the two naturalists on board. They were knowledgeable and very fun.
Thank you.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Not touristy, a real experience!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great! The people were so nice. We saw lots of whales as promised. They were very knowledgeable about the whales so we learned a lot. I would take this tour again.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Super. We saw many whale and got great pictures.! Very nice crew and Capt. John worked the boat to where everyone got great angles to see the whale.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Second time we did this and both times using the same boat and captain who knows where to find both humpback and killer whales. Raven's Journey is the boat you want. Highly recommended

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wee had a great time on this tour .

We did the Mendenhall Glacier first , we had enough time to walk to Nugget Falls and spend a few minutes in the visitor center.

The whale watching was amazing . We went out on a small boat that held about 25. We saw tons of whales and sea lions

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best excursion tour we had at our Alaskan cruise - for its quality and value. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an amazing tour! We saw lots of humpbacks and sea lions
The whales were very close to our boat and we got some great pics of tails and humps. Guides were amazing. Knowledgeable and nice.

They had binoculars to use and complimentary drinks and bagels. Thoroughly enjoyed.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great captain and 1st mate, very knowledgeable. Got us out fast to see whales, then sea lions. When we headed back one of the boats jet engines got plugged up and we were very limited for speed, limped along. They got another boat to us in 10 minutes to bring us to shore and still get a little time to see the Mendenhall Glacier. They refunded us some of our cost because of less time for Glacier. Great to do business with!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Robert K C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Though it was very cloudy that particular, the pilot with his vast experience safely landed the plane on the glacier. Walking on the thick snow with the snow boots provided by the Operator was a fantastic experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the flight around Mt McKinley and to see in close views of the snow capped mounts and various glaciers.

Doing what: Mt McKinley Flightseeing Tour from Anchorage with Optional Glacier Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

well planned and executed and saw some whales--good job and worth the price.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent. Our tour guide went way beyond what was expected.

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message