• USD ($)
  • English
Put down the crampons! You don’t need to buy specialist equipment or join an Arctic expedition to the get the best out of Alaska. Day 1: Anchorage Start in the largest city of the largest state. Spend the morning exploring the highlights of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Whale watching was truly amazing! We were lucky that we saw more than one whale come close to the boat. Have a camera that shoots multiple shots at a fast speed because the whales are faster than they look!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I can't say enough good things about this tour. The tour guide was amazing. He was so knowledgeable and interesting and really made this a comfortable and informative experience. The other people on the tour were super cool and we all got along well, ended up having a delicious meal together, etc. If you are in Fairbanks I highly recommend this tour- it was fun and I'd definitely do it again! :-)

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a fantastic experience on this excursion. The package was far less expensive than what was offered on the cruise ship. Our bus driver, Ben, gave us an informative tour of Juneau and provided a great background of his Tlingit Tribe. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Juneau.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Jessica and Captain Derrick of our tour were the best! We not only got to see whales, but we saw 7 whales together doing what our captain said was bubble-netting. The whales swim together, dive, eat, and blow water. I took around 50 pictures of just these whales. What a sight to see. Mendenhall glacier was absolutely beautiful and they gave us around 1 hour to see this sight. I wish we would have gone straight to the falls as this is around a 45 minute walk. Everyone who did it said it was beautiful. But we still saw the falls from a distance. FYI - this tour is cheaper than the cruise, plus you see more. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good experience. Watched at least five whales for over an hour bubble net feeding. Crew was great. Would do this again in a heart beat. Gwen and paul sullivan. July 5 2014.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nice setting. I wish to have more time at the glacier for hiking. I was lucky to catch clear view from the top of Mt. Roberts as it was covered with cloud when I arrived. Salmon dinner was nice from the top of mountain looking down, but the salmon can be a bit more juicier. Would recommend this for anyone travelling to Juneau.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our guide, Rheinhardt (Spelling?) was excellent and the weather also cooperated. The only negative was that his microphone did not work well and we missed some of the things that he was saying as we progressed along the Dalton Highway. The scenery and the history of the area were the highlights. Not too much wildlife to photograph. Trip is long but interesting and you get a real appreciation for the engineering feat in the construction of the pipeline.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Informative bus driver (even has a few good jokes). The mountain lunch was very good. We then walked almost all the way to the top of Mt. Roberts. Amazing views!!!

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our Excursion was awesome. Our Guide was Steve and he did an excellent job. He shared a lot of history of the area. He and his boat driver knew where to spot the whales. We were fortunate to see several whales on our Excursion.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This tour was not as described. There was no air-conditioned coach, no representative met us at designated point. We did manage to do all parts of the tour separately on the local buses by showing our voucher but could have done this ourselves at a more convenient time. The bus driver of the Juneau tour was very good and on our return told us where to wait for the next bus (a wait of about 15 minutes). The bus driver on the ride to Mendenhall Glacier gave plenty of information but unfortunately the sound system on the bus didnt work well so we couldn't hear any of it. The staff at the gondola seemed confused by our by our voucher but we were eventually allowed on. Enjoyed our meal at the restaurant on Mt Roberts and the views were superb.Although we did get all parts of the tour it was not co-ordinated as we were led to believe.
Altogether very disappointing - as all other tours we have booked through Viator have been excellent - this one did not live up to expectations.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or Dinner on Mt Roberts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great experience watching whales! The Naturalist and the Captain were both very knowledgeable. We needed to adjust our tour time at the last minute because our ship was late in arriving and they were very accommodating! Plus we got to see a mother and calf humpback whale, in addition to others, AMAZING!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a wonderful time on this adventure.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Staff was very friendly and informed. It was a little tough to hear the microphone over the engine when it was driving, but no other complaints.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide did an outstanding job. She was quite knowledgeable and made the day totally enjoyable.

Doing what: Seward Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Transfer and Tour from Seward to Anchorage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The whale watch was AMAZING and the Glacier was beautiful. Unfortunately it was raining by the time we arrived at the Medenhall Galcier, so we were not able to enjoy all the trails that were available. A tour that should not be missed!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message