Alice Springs ATTRACTIONS See all

Alice Springs Desert Park

The Alice Springs Desert Park offers the opportunity to experience the main desert environments in Australia. Wander through sand, woodland and river deserts and learn about their different plant and animal inhabitants. You will also learn about ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We really didn't know what to expect and the bus picked us up and what a great bus it was. It was like a 4wd truck. They headed of to Simpsons Gap. Beautiful which we walked and had a look and then as we came back to the bus the driver pulled out tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cake and biscuits.
Then off to Standley Chasm. It also was beautiful. After we finished the 1.2km walk we went back and had sandwiches, potato chips and a drink served. Very delicious.
Those of us who went onto the Alice Springs Desert Park were dropped off and then picked up again but we had a choice of what times we wanted picked up. I personally wouldn't bother with Alice Springs Desert Park again but for the price we paid it was very good value.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I loved this tour. The tour guide was very wonderful. We went to Simpsons Gap and Standley Chasim. Both places were beautiful. I also had the optional walking tour at Desert Park. This was very interesting and I was surprised to see all the flowering native flowers. The nocturnal house was great.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was really friendly. Saw 3 wild rock wallabies. 5 people out of 10-15 chose to go to the Desert Park. 3 people went back to the city at 14:30, but me (solo traveler) and the other solo traveler decided to stay there until 16:30. It's pretty small, but worth visiting for sure.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

Tony S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our driver was extremely knowledgeable about the area and being in a small 20 seater it was a nice group. The Desert Park was extremely interesting and most certainly worth a visit. Our driver took us into the park, gave a run down on timings of happenings etc.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A very interesting and scenically half day trip into the Mountains. We took the option of entry to the Desert Park which was a very worthwhile experience of the region's flora and fauna.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This was an enjoyable tour. Lunch was only sandwiches not bushtucker. The Desert Park option was not what we expected as just dropped off and then picked up later.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

HIEN V
France

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The morning at West MacDonnell Ranges with our friendly and knowledgeable driver-guide was perfect. Also a good afternoon at the Desert Park.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The West McDonnell tour was well worth the trip. We drove with good commentary from the bus driver and walked between the Standley Chasm. We saw several black-footed wallabies at Simpsons Gap. We talked to everyone in the tour group and met someone from England who accompanied us on the Desert Park tour in the afternoon. We had a great time observing the native habitat of flowers, trees, and bushes, as well as birds, emus and kangaroos.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The guide on the West MacDonnell ranges was informative and I thoroughly enjoyed the two walks, I added on the Desert park as a late option and at 42 USD each was a complete waste of money. The coach simply dropped us off and picked us up 2 hours later. The park itself was divided into different areas and areas where designated to shows and displays but their was simply no shows organised and apart from the avaries and going into a compound with a few red kangaroos that was it really, the cafe was closed and later the manager of our hotel told us that seemed to be always the case and he had received numerous complaints about how poor the Dessert park was.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Would not recommend -- more time should have been allotted to longer, more interesting hikes. Alice Springs Desert Park addition is unnecessary.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Half-Day Tour with Optional Alice Springs Desert Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message