These days it’s commonplace for many schools to offer programs online, where you can receive a degree without ever seeing a teacher. Well, before the age of the internet, there was radio-- the means of how School of the Air in Alice Springs, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative and very enjoyable. The driver was knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. I would definitely recommend it. We saw much more than we would have going around on our own.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

At first I was skeptical about this tour and regretful about booking it as it took place in the afternoon however, at the end of the day I couldn't have asked for a better and more interesting tour. It visited the most interesting sites of Alice Springs including the reptile center, the post office, the school of the air, and the Royal flying doctor service. The tour ended at the veterans memorial monument that provided a panoramic view of Alice Springs making an enjoyable afternoon and a great introduction to Alice Springs.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Hits all the important historical places and more. We didn't expect a drive-through of the town, but we got that, too. Jim, our driver/guide, was wonderful.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Small tour of about 14 people. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable of the area. The School of the air was particularly excellent as was the flying doctor museum.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

kathysapp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a very interesting day ---- especially liked visiting the School of the Air and the Royal Flying Doctors.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour, the driver Graham was particularly friendly and knowledgeable. There was sufficient time at each of the attractions that we visited. To have done that on our own would have been much more difficult as we didn't have to worry about where places were. Great value trip.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Ruenella C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very informative. Our guide was great! She gave us great insight into the culture and history of the aboriginal people. I loved this tour.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Darla H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our family enjoyed this tour. The bus was really comfortable and we managed to see quite a few things in just an afternoon. Our kids enjoyed learning about The School of the Air and the RFDS, and they really enjoyed the reptile center. It was nice to learn that although Australia has 20 of the 25 most poisonous snakes, it is really easy to avoid getting bit by a snake and surviving if you actually do. We also visited Telegraph Station and Anzac Hill so alot of ground was covered.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

After finishing at Uluru, we decided to spend a day at Alice Springs before heading down to Perth. Glad we did. Alice Springs is a little bit of the Wild West. Our guide Peter took us on an enjoyable ride to the old Telegraph Station: the headquarters of the Royal Flying Doctors Service: and even to the Reptile Park the crocodile show was super. It was a fun afternoon.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

bing China

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very well organized trip! very informative. Our guides James and Eric are awesome!

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Juliet P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent organization and great choice of places to visit. Good value and very interesting.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

colladon

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Good tour taking in all the interesting sites (and there are many) at Alice Springs. Unfortunaately the guide had a strong Australian accent and I (English mother tongue) didn't understand much of what she said.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Shirley G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A good way to get a bit of history about Alice and the role it plays in Central Australia. The definite highlight was the reptile park - he was a great presenter who provided extremely useful information about snakes and crocs in Australia but did so through humour and by keeping his audience totally engaged. I learnt more than I ever have thanks to the way he presented the information.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Deborah Simone T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great trip and a good chance to really see Alice Springs. In half a day you see everything without feeling rushed. The reptile park is a highlight and Rex the guide is hilarious. Well worth the money and time

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Ceris H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Alice with our guide Jenny from AAT KIngs. She was great company and very knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed the school of the air, telegraph station, flying doctors museum and reptile centre visits. We delighted in seeing kangaroos at the telegraph station and the stunning views of Alice from the Anzac Memorial. Thanks Jenny for a great introduction to Alice. This was a great way to spend an afternoon before heading to Uluru! Highly recommended

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Philip John B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

We were disappointed by this tour, not with the content but with the short time we spent at the School of the Air, the Telegraph Station and, in particular, the Reptile Centre where we were raced through at a rate of knots and did not even catch sight of the salt water crocodile. Leaving the visit to the Anzac Memorial until last on a very hot day wasn't the best idea either. Our lady guide was almost disinterested in the trip and this coupled with the fact that there were at least two families with bored,crying children who were far too young for some of the venues left us glad to get back to the hotel,

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an excellent way to get to see Alice Springs on a very short stop over. My driver arrived within minutes of my arrival at my Motel and was well knowledged about the area and extremely helpful as well. View of Alice Springs from Anzac Hill was breath taking and one had plenty of time to take photos as well on this tour. I found visiting the Historical Telegraph Station was excellent this I probably enjoyed the most coming from a farming back ground. They truly have restored this site so one could clearly see how things were during the early days of people manning this station. Visiting the School of the Air was very interesting and gave one the full history of how it all came about as well as how large an area this school covers. We also had the opportunity to watch teachers work over the air as well which now is mostly done on computers. There was also. the chance to contribute by buying books for the school. The Royal Flying Doctors Centre enlightened one about the wonderful work this team does for our very remote residents living in rural Australia. Found this very interesting as it now has grown over the years and man 68 planes throughout rural Australia helping people to get urgent medical assistance when needed. The Reptile Centre was also very interesting and the staff member knew his stuff as well about the various reptiles they had on show. We also got the chance to have a quick drive around Alice Springs which showed us that Alice Springs now has just about everything in the way of stores. Seeing the dry Todd River was amazing especially if you saw a follow up photo of it in flood times which is extremely rare. This was a wonderful tour to take for an afternoon in Alice Springs had plenty to show the group as well all entrance fees were covered in the one price. Had plenty of time to walk around and see things at our own leisure as well. This tour was very well presented and certainly gave me a lot of information about the area in a short time.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Neoma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great overview for the time-constrained, and was very enjoyable. We found the town interesting and the guide informative.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Clarence W. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

First, our compliments to AAT tour operators. Due to a late flight arrival at Alice Springs and a 1 1/2 hour transfer from the airport to Chiffley Hotel, we missed our scheduled tour pickup. We thought about trying to take a cab to catch the tour at one of the scheduled stops, but the hotel clerk said, "no worries" and called AAT who sent a driver over to pick us up and overtake the tour. He even provided insightful commentary that we would have otherwise missed. Tour driver/guide was great and provided interesting commentary that added to appreciation of the Alice Spings area. All five scheduled tour stops were very worhwhile; however, the curator's commentary at the reptile house was too lengthy.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

heidi

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very interesting good afternoon visiting places of interest locally in Alice springs

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Ramesh s

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

very good tour if you want to see something different compareed to high rise buildings and the desert environment.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Sharon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an excellent tour. Myles our driver/guide was extremely informative. We visited five different locations and even though I must admit I thought a couple of them would be boring they were all extremely interesting. Especially the school of air and the owner of the reptile centre was so passionate about his animals it made it even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Donna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Learned a lot about Alice everyone was great

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message