• USD ($)
  • English
You've landed bang in the bull's-eye of the enormous continent of Australia. Yep, you're in Alice Springs. So what'll it be? Museums? Wildlife? Ballooning? May we suggest all of the above in this tailored 3-day itinerary? Day 1: Getting to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very informative and enjoyable.
Only slight negative was the lack of lighting at the campsite although this we were led to understand will be soon rectified.
Very comfortable transport, plenty of comfort stops.

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Alice with our guide Jenny from AAT KIngs. She was great company and very knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed the school of the air, telegraph station, flying doctors museum and reptile centre visits. We delighted in seeing kangaroos at the telegraph station and the stunning views of Alice from the Anzac Memorial. Thanks Jenny for a great introduction to Alice. This was a great way to spend an afternoon before heading to Uluru! Highly recommended

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Done this before and was even better second time around. It was interesting to hear first hand the running of the cattle ranch. Rusty was an excellent and informative about a land he loved. Do this if you get the chance.

Doing what: Alice Springs Quad Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

We were disappointed by this tour, not with the content but with the short time we spent at the School of the Air, the Telegraph Station and, in particular, the Reptile Centre where we were raced through at a rate of knots and did not even catch sight of the salt water crocodile. Leaving the visit to the Anzac Memorial until last on a very hot day wasn't the best idea either. Our lady guide was almost disinterested in the trip and this coupled with the fact that there were at least two families with bored,crying children who were far too young for some of the venues left us glad to get back to the hotel,

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an excellent way to get to see Alice Springs on a very short stop over. My driver arrived within minutes of my arrival at my Motel and was well knowledged about the area and extremely helpful as well. View of Alice Springs from Anzac Hill was breath taking and one had plenty of time to take photos as well on this tour. I found visiting the Historical Telegraph Station was excellent this I probably enjoyed the most coming from a farming back ground. They truly have restored this site so one could clearly see how things were during the early days of people manning this station. Visiting the School of the Air was very interesting and gave one the full history of how it all came about as well as how large an area this school covers. We also had the opportunity to watch teachers work over the air as well which now is mostly done on computers. There was also. the chance to contribute by buying books for the school. The Royal Flying Doctors Centre enlightened one about the wonderful work this team does for our very remote residents living in rural Australia. Found this very interesting as it now has grown over the years and man 68 planes throughout rural Australia helping people to get urgent medical assistance when needed. The Reptile Centre was also very interesting and the staff member knew his stuff as well about the various reptiles they had on show. We also got the chance to have a quick drive around Alice Springs which showed us that Alice Springs now has just about everything in the way of stores. Seeing the dry Todd River was amazing especially if you saw a follow up photo of it in flood times which is extremely rare. This was a wonderful tour to take for an afternoon in Alice Springs had plenty to show the group as well all entrance fees were covered in the one price. Had plenty of time to walk around and see things at our own leisure as well. This tour was very well presented and certainly gave me a lot of information about the area in a short time.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was Amazing. We had a particularly excellent tour leader, driver, cook, info guide extraordinaire! I have both led and assisted in leading groups in other continents and traveled in many settings ways so know what it takes.
We slept under the stars, if preferred, I did, stayed in a bush camp, just our group. I think we lucked-out with a good group and perhaps, as another in the group said - it pays not to take the cheapest tour! In booking, I was looking for a way to get from Uluru [where I stayed 3 nights beforehand at Sails including xmas day, hired a car and did stacks of walking [and swimming] and this subsequent 4WD trip lived up to my expectations and more. I didn't want to do hotel stays and couldn't have done the back roads, which I love to do, in regular hire vehicle. I also wanted to get local info, a bit of other company yet smaller group, so this was a perfect way to feel 'outback' and maximise walk experiences - returning to walks I had done at Uluru and Kata Tjuta at other times of the day before joining this trip. The Red Centre is truly magical and so old and we given lots of wide-ranging information lots Brilliant, thank you, XJ

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Although it's a long day, but definitely worth it, friendly guide with treats provided all day. The trip will definitely change your impression of a dessert

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I wish more older persons would sign up for this. Although the other travel lords were very nice. Leader Rath was knowledgeable and very responsible. A pity that so much of the walk around Uluru was closed off due to heat. I loved sleeping out in a swag. Janice

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a fantastic day trip ...so glad I went

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the highlight of my holiday. Uluru was breathtaking. It looks so big in photos but in real life it is enormous. Just beautiful. The Olgas were just as beautiful. Just amazing, one minute you are driving along with nothing but desert then suddenly here are these perfect little mountains. The tour guides were great. They told us about the aboriginal myths which were very interesting. Dinner was great and watching Uluru change colour at sunset was fabulous.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another wonderful adventure. So worth getting up at 3.30am to see the sunrise. Everything was perfect. We all had a fun time. The champagne breakfast was just what we needed after the balloon ride. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great overview for the time-constrained, and was very enjoyable. We found the town interesting and the guide informative.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

First, our compliments to AAT tour operators. Due to a late flight arrival at Alice Springs and a 1 1/2 hour transfer from the airport to Chiffley Hotel, we missed our scheduled tour pickup. We thought about trying to take a cab to catch the tour at one of the scheduled stops, but the hotel clerk said, "no worries" and called AAT who sent a driver over to pick us up and overtake the tour. He even provided insightful commentary that we would have otherwise missed. Tour driver/guide was great and provided interesting commentary that added to appreciation of the Alice Spings area. All five scheduled tour stops were very worhwhile; however, the curator's commentary at the reptile house was too lengthy.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time! The guides were friendly and knowledgable. We were fed every 2 hours and stopped for toilettes every 2-3 hours.
The atmosphere was light and friendly and we saw all that we intended to see.
Thank you

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing tour even though it was a very long trip. Mick and Calvin were fantastic tour guides and fun to be with. They respectfully explained the Aboriginal culture to us as they showed us the sites. Their 'barbie' was delicious! It was very special to be able to purchase art work from the Aboriginal ladies.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message