You've landed bang in the bull's-eye of the enormous continent of Australia. Yep, you're in Alice Springs. So what'll it be? Museums? Wildlife? Ballooning? May we suggest all of the above in this tailored 3-day itinerary? Day 1: Getting to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 177 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I did not realize dark sky was as splendid as geology on the Earth. I should have book the evening tour for astronomy.

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

Susan H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was our first experience of Viator and Wayoutback. The trip was chosen by my husband as a Ruby wedding anniversary trip. I had no expectation but the description and itinerary was certainly accurate. The advice on what to take proved invaluable so we were pretty well prepared. Early morning starts are clearly the norm and essential. In May it's dark so don't forget the torch as there's no light in the tent. Likewise its dark when you arrive at the next campsite. I'd done caravanning and glamping but this was very different. The party size was ideal at 16. We had been to Australia many times but not been in the outback. Life was very different for the whole 4 days. We are fit 60's and this trip involves long days and includes a good deal of walking but the scenery was worth the effort we had to put in. Dan our guide worked really hard and gave us a terrific time. We were living and working in the outback for the 4 days. Relaxation is restricted to the 4WD transfers. I slept in the tent on a bed in a sleeping bag and a good thick blanket all provided of course. Meanwhile my husband took Dan's advice and slept by the campfire in a swag under the night sky which is an amazing sight. If you want a different type of holiday this is it. The experience of our lifetime. We haven't stopped talking about it as we enjoyed ourselves so much. This was largely due to Dan our team leader, guide and mentor. Obviously he is very experienced, extremely enthusiastic and loves the life which he wants everyone to share. He showed us some amazing scenery, was very knowledgeable about the social history, flora, geology and wildlife. If you do nothing else you must do this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lindsey, our tour guide made our day in the MacDonnell range a fantastic experience. We covered an amazingly large area, with Lindsey explaining history, and telling us about plants and animal and geology. It was a beautiful, mild day. We took several walks and a couple of short hikes. We were out of the vehicle a lot of the time. It was a well-paced day. The food provided was good. We were a small group, so that was a bonus. We enjoyed interacting with the other people on our tour. Overall, an outstanding day in the Outback.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Day Trip from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Terrific way to see all of the major sites in the red center.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing. Just about 12 People, great bus and a very good Guide!

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

Ryan
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, looks to see and the guide was excellent.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A wonderful experience albeit a long, hot day. Our tour guides were great, informative and friendly, very aware of the scorching heat they took this into account as to what the itinerary included. Uluru and the Olgas were beautiful and the bbq, although basic was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing. Everything we could have hoped for. The energy at both rocks is amazing, and our guide Simon, was able to answer all questions we had. Only helpful hint, would be to remember to read the fine print that says to bring a net hat and a flashlight torch, it will make your trip that much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our bus driver , john was very good. Accomodations were excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Greate camping trip, with a very good guide in this awsome nature!

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

John and Andrew, our co-drivers and tour coordinators were extremely helpful and professional. They made the experience very rewarding!

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

very enjoyable

Doing what: Alice Springs Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

These guys are great. Went on the 4wd 4-day tour. Lucked out and got two very experienced guides for our 15 person group normally, its just one. Jason and KT were amazing. Always felt very safe in their care. They were always very positive and patience with the group. Always very willing to answer any question in detail. They obviously had a great passion for the land, plants, wildlife and especially the aboriginal people. You will learn a ton on this tour and come away with an appreciation of the Outback and its billions year old history.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed this unique experience. Our guide/driver/cook was amazing. (We will certainly remember his chocolate cake cooked over the campfire!) This tour was comfortable enough for the 70 yr old and exciting enough for the younger members of the party and enabled us to see parts of the outback inaccessible to the hotel based tours.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everthing went very smoothly. always on time,and guides and bus drivers very good.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

the guides Timmi and Mandy were very very busy - gave good informations, friendly, awsome cookers,
I enjoyed my time with them and in the whole red center very much.
The weather was extremely raining but also very very interesting - all in all.
Thanks a lot for all :-)

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent. Our guide, Clive, was very knowledgeable and entertaining and made the trip mosy enjoyable! Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Day Trip from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and fully recommend it.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When booking this trip I was concerned about how much I had spent, however it was one of the most memorable things me and my 9yr old son did in Australia! We had a fantastic time, from watching the balloon be inflated...and deflated and packed away. I didn't realise there would be soo many of us in one basket (16 in total) but in the end this was an advantage as other. People asked questions that I had not thought to ask and I found interesting (they could also take pics for you). The guide was very friendly and knowledgable. He helped us with everything we needed and the champagne breakfast in the middle of the desert was equally as fabulous. The guides couldn't top your glass up enough and the picnic style breakfast muffins and fruit were perfect! We had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour with a lot to see. Unique sites!

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Well-planned itinerary which gives good experience of the "red center". Great sunset (wine table) and sunrise viewings. AAT Kings is a well-organized tour operator with comfortable buses and capable driver/guides. Special mention for driver Phil, good English easy to understand, with excellent knowledge of flora, fauna and indigenous customs, the Kings Canyon floor walk was a pleasure.
It isn't clear what "Budget Accomadation" at Kings Canyon means -- shared accomodation is not really shared, it is a room with no facilities, the toilet and washroom is 20meters away in a separate block. Really for backpackers, which the descriptiom doesn't make clear.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A very long but rewarding day to see one of Australia's most iconic symbols. The two drivers / guides work like Trojans to make the trip as enjoyable as possible with nice touches to break up the journey - water melon, oranges etc. plus breakfast and lunch tasters and memorable evening barbecue as the sun set over Uluru. A brilliant day out.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) and The Olgas Tour Including Sunset Dinner from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Worth getting out of bed for. It was a fabulous experience with great views; laughter and a champagne breakfast....life can't get any better.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message