Kings Canyon is one of Australia’s most legendary outback locations. Its palm-fringed waterholes, red gorges and eerie sandstone domes are ringed by walking tracks and camel trails for stupendous views over the surrounding Watarrka National Park. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Geoffrey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour to iconic locations with enthusiastic and well-informed driver/guide.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Brian H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was tremendous. We were warned that the temperature at this time of year would be unbearable but this was not our experience.

Staff of AAT Kings went out of their way to ensure that we were well looked after. Special kudos to Clair Tour Guide and Peter Driver.

We would like to give a 5 star rating but a disconnect between the tour operator and the Hotel Desert Garden prevents us from doing this.

We arrived at Yulara at about 1300, at this a time we were advised that our room would not be ready until 1500 but they would contact us if it was ready earlier. We entertained ourselves without luggage until 1500 when the hotel advised that the room was still not available. As we had a tour starting at 1515 Sunset Tour we asked for alternative arrangements. They met this need but it meant that we had no time to prepare us for the tour.

The next morning we were up at 0430 for a Sunrise tour. This tour had us back at the Hotel at 0955. The hotel then advised that we had 5 minutes before we were due to check out. This left us with no time to shower/change after the early start before putting ourselves onto a coach for 4 hours.

Given that the tour operator is the only organisation that knows the tour timings this info could have been communicated to the hotel to enable them to make arrangements. As it turned out we did not get to experience any of the facilities at the hotel because we were only there before/after our check-in, check-out.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Jason R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour, the guides and drivers were excellent and full of information. The tour meant that we got to see a lot in a small amount of time which was great and we even managed to squeeze in a helicopter trip over Uluru which I would highly recommend as well. We chose the First class option and thought all the accommodation was just that, first class very clean and comfortable. They were an exceptional tour company and would highly recommend to anyone looking to tour NT.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

zorro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was great. Ayers Rock/Uluru was great, but as expected the area was very crowded and the flies were pretty bad, but we still had a great experience and we are very glad we visited Uluru. The most amazing part of the tour was Kings Canyon Resort which was beautiful, peaceful, and quite. We did a three hour and half hike 6.5 Kilometeres to the top of Kings Canyon and walked through the rim of the mountain which had spectacular views.
This tour is expensive but worth every penny. I couldn't imagine visiting Australia without visiting the outback.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Myron L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Wonderfully arranged tour to Uluru, Kata Tjuta, and Kings Canyon. The only advice is to be prepared for a long bus ride to Kings Canyon, especially with the relatively brief time spent at that site.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

JEFFREY P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WayOutback Tours did a terrific job packaging the Red Centre experience. Itinerary and travel were excellent in covering the 4 days in depth. Our guide Annabelle was very good in her story telling and managing the trip. The party of 14 with us were all from Europe and were very enthusiastic about everything we did.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

JAMES W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was fantastic and we had a great time. The coach drivers were particularly helpful and knowledgeable. Couldn't find fault with anything

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Susan H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was our first experience of Viator and Wayoutback. The trip was chosen by my husband as a Ruby wedding anniversary trip. I had no expectation but the description and itinerary was certainly accurate. The advice on what to take proved invaluable so we were pretty well prepared. Early morning starts are clearly the norm and essential. In May it's dark so don't forget the torch as there's no light in the tent. Likewise its dark when you arrive at the next campsite. I'd done caravanning and glamping but this was very different. The party size was ideal at 16. We had been to Australia many times but not been in the outback. Life was very different for the whole 4 days. We are fit 60's and this trip involves long days and includes a good deal of walking but the scenery was worth the effort we had to put in. Dan our guide worked really hard and gave us a terrific time. We were living and working in the outback for the 4 days. Relaxation is restricted to the 4WD transfers. I slept in the tent on a bed in a sleeping bag and a good thick blanket all provided of course. Meanwhile my husband took Dan's advice and slept by the campfire in a swag under the night sky which is an amazing sight. If you want a different type of holiday this is it. The experience of our lifetime. We haven't stopped talking about it as we enjoyed ourselves so much. This was largely due to Dan our team leader, guide and mentor. Obviously he is very experienced, extremely enthusiastic and loves the life which he wants everyone to share. He showed us some amazing scenery, was very knowledgeable about the social history, flora, geology and wildlife. If you do nothing else you must do this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Eileen E

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We really enjoyed the trip but felt a bit rushed at some of the stops especially the sunset at Uluru. Also the breakfast foods at the sunrise at Uluru were very disappointing. If you have the time rent a car and do your own touring....

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Ryan Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, looks to see and the guide was excellent.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Marc J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Terrific way to see all of the major sites in the red center.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Carole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very well organised trip. All guides and drivers excellent, friendly and informative.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

John David J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The trip was all round very good with two complaints:

1 when we turned up at Sails in The Desert our rooms weren't ready and there was a long check-in line. I think that's the sort of detail which you should have sorted out in advance. I shouldn't have to waste my holiday time waiting for my rooms.

2 no such problem at King's Canyon resort but our rooms might have been 'King's Canyon facing' butd because of the wall of rock just outside them you couldn't actually see it. That's tantamount to a fraud.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

CHUI SHAN K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This 3-days trip was good.

If it possible, we wish the coach can detour to visit the meteor craters.

One disappointment: The accommodation at Kings Canyon was a lodge without private bathroom / toilet. The piece of important information was disclosed AFTER BUT NOT BEFORE our payment.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Jim H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Overall, an excellent trip. The drivers/guides were very knowledgable and the accommodation and coaches provided were both very comfortable. The agenda makes good use of the limited time available and I felt overall this was pretty good value for money

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

R S M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Great memorable trip despite the negative issues. The tour guides Jules and Stevo were friendly and good. The main negative is that we spent only 4 rushed hours at Uluru. The cultural centre was disappointing with no interaction with any aboriginal people. The tour vehicle had an inefficient aircon so that it was cooler with the windows open than with the air conditioner on. With temperatures in the 30s this was not a comfortable trip.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Jonathan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour itself is great. The tour operator (one of the few in the area) was great. It seems Viator changed their description between booking time and tour time. It was also my mistake that I did not check the tour operator's website for more information after I received my confirmation.

I went on this tour with the expectation that I would board a bus day 1 and be on that same bus through day 3.

This tour is really a series of tours. You must call and confirm before your arrival. Have a pen and paper ready to write down the details. Not everyone in your group is on this tour. You will also need 3 liters of water per person for the Kings Canyon tour; a Camelbak is recommended. Also wear appropriate clothing and footwear for walking.

The scenery is very nice and I would go on it again. I highly recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

bced

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our bus driver , john was very good. Accomodations were excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

These guys are great. Went on the 4wd 4-day tour. Lucked out and got two very experienced guides for our 15 person group normally, its just one. Jason and KT were amazing. Always felt very safe in their care. They were always very positive and patience with the group. Always very willing to answer any question in detail. They obviously had a great passion for the land, plants, wildlife and especially the aboriginal people. You will learn a ton on this tour and come away with an appreciation of the Outback and its billions year old history.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

karen w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and fully recommend it.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Wendy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everthing went very smoothly. always on time,and guides and bus drivers very good.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Erna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

the guides Timmi and Mandy were very very busy - gave good informations, friendly, awsome cookers,
I enjoyed my time with them and in the whole red center very much.
The weather was extremely raining but also very very interesting - all in all.
Thanks a lot for all :-)

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Irene L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed this unique experience. Our guide/driver/cook was amazing. (We will certainly remember his chocolate cake cooked over the campfire!) This tour was comfortable enough for the 70 yr old and exciting enough for the younger members of the party and enabled us to see parts of the outback inaccessible to the hotel based tours.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message