Kings Canyon is one of Australia’s most legendary outback locations. Its palm-fringed waterholes, red gorges and eerie sandstone domes are ringed by walking tracks and camel trails for stupendous views over the surrounding Watarrka National Park. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I went to the red centre of Australia at the wrong time right in the middle of summer with sweltering heat and flies getting into every orifice. Despite that, I had a great time and most of it due to the tour.

The guide was excellent. He cooked good food despite being in the middle of the outback, drove safely and always on time. The highlight of the trip was that we got to sleep outside underneath the moonlight in our swags.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Eva S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was really good. The bus driver was very friendly and nice. Acommodation was really good.

The only problem i have found in this tour is that the return option is not available and you have to book it separate. This should be offered as an option as well.

Doing what: 2-Day Uluru (Ayers Rock) National Park Explorer Trip from Alice Springs

Floyd B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Annabelle is the best guide ever! Her knowledge and skills were greatly appreciated and she did her absolute best to ensure we had a fabulous time. Trainee Natalie was great, as well. We heartily recommend this trip if you really want to experience Uluru and the Outback. Thank you, Annabelle!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Justin

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I would have given it more stars, but I am more of a person that likes small group adventure tours. This tour was more for someone that just wants to take it really easy and see the sites. Still it was worth doing and the tour guides were very nice and very informative. Loved Kings Canyon, the optional rim hike was awesome! Oh and I don't think 3 days was enough, I would have booked it for longer if I booked again.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip with the opportunity to feel you're experiencing the real Australia with a small group and an excellent guide in Adam from WayOutback Safaris. Give it a go...you won't be sorry!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Joanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

the tour was fantastic, the booking process may have been batter

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent Tour, The guides were all very knowledgeable and very helpful.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Richard C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It was a long journey from Alice to Uluru but our driver, Dave, was informative as we travelled which helped the journey no end. The coach was good and the air con superb.
The camel farm was not at all interesting to us but the tour of Uluru was enlightening

Doing what: 2-Day Uluru (Ayers Rock), Camel Farm and Kata Tjuta Trip from Alice Springs

Foong C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Air conditioning on the bus was only partially working...very hot! You need to get some more modern buses.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Geoffrey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour to iconic locations with enthusiastic and well-informed driver/guide.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Brian H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was tremendous. We were warned that the temperature at this time of year would be unbearable but this was not our experience.

Staff of AAT Kings went out of their way to ensure that we were well looked after. Special kudos to Clair Tour Guide and Peter Driver.

We would like to give a 5 star rating but a disconnect between the tour operator and the Hotel Desert Garden prevents us from doing this.

We arrived at Yulara at about 1300, at this a time we were advised that our room would not be ready until 1500 but they would contact us if it was ready earlier. We entertained ourselves without luggage until 1500 when the hotel advised that the room was still not available. As we had a tour starting at 1515 Sunset Tour we asked for alternative arrangements. They met this need but it meant that we had no time to prepare us for the tour.

The next morning we were up at 0430 for a Sunrise tour. This tour had us back at the Hotel at 0955. The hotel then advised that we had 5 minutes before we were due to check out. This left us with no time to shower/change after the early start before putting ourselves onto a coach for 4 hours.

Given that the tour operator is the only organisation that knows the tour timings this info could have been communicated to the hotel to enable them to make arrangements. As it turned out we did not get to experience any of the facilities at the hotel because we were only there before/after our check-in, check-out.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Jason R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour, the guides and drivers were excellent and full of information. The tour meant that we got to see a lot in a small amount of time which was great and we even managed to squeeze in a helicopter trip over Uluru which I would highly recommend as well. We chose the First class option and thought all the accommodation was just that, first class very clean and comfortable. They were an exceptional tour company and would highly recommend to anyone looking to tour NT.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

zorro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was great. Ayers Rock/Uluru was great, but as expected the area was very crowded and the flies were pretty bad, but we still had a great experience and we are very glad we visited Uluru. The most amazing part of the tour was Kings Canyon Resort which was beautiful, peaceful, and quite. We did a three hour and half hike 6.5 Kilometeres to the top of Kings Canyon and walked through the rim of the mountain which had spectacular views.
This tour is expensive but worth every penny. I couldn't imagine visiting Australia without visiting the outback.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Myron L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Wonderfully arranged tour to Uluru, Kata Tjuta, and Kings Canyon. The only advice is to be prepared for a long bus ride to Kings Canyon, especially with the relatively brief time spent at that site.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

JEFFREY P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WayOutback Tours did a terrific job packaging the Red Centre experience. Itinerary and travel were excellent in covering the 4 days in depth. Our guide Annabelle was very good in her story telling and managing the trip. The party of 14 with us were all from Europe and were very enthusiastic about everything we did.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

JAMES W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was fantastic and we had a great time. The coach drivers were particularly helpful and knowledgeable. Couldn't find fault with anything

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Susan H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was our first experience of Viator and Wayoutback. The trip was chosen by my husband as a Ruby wedding anniversary trip. I had no expectation but the description and itinerary was certainly accurate. The advice on what to take proved invaluable so we were pretty well prepared. Early morning starts are clearly the norm and essential. In May it's dark so don't forget the torch as there's no light in the tent. Likewise its dark when you arrive at the next campsite. I'd done caravanning and glamping but this was very different. The party size was ideal at 16. We had been to Australia many times but not been in the outback. Life was very different for the whole 4 days. We are fit 60's and this trip involves long days and includes a good deal of walking but the scenery was worth the effort we had to put in. Dan our guide worked really hard and gave us a terrific time. We were living and working in the outback for the 4 days. Relaxation is restricted to the 4WD transfers. I slept in the tent on a bed in a sleeping bag and a good thick blanket all provided of course. Meanwhile my husband took Dan's advice and slept by the campfire in a swag under the night sky which is an amazing sight. If you want a different type of holiday this is it. The experience of our lifetime. We haven't stopped talking about it as we enjoyed ourselves so much. This was largely due to Dan our team leader, guide and mentor. Obviously he is very experienced, extremely enthusiastic and loves the life which he wants everyone to share. He showed us some amazing scenery, was very knowledgeable about the social history, flora, geology and wildlife. If you do nothing else you must do this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Eileen E

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We really enjoyed the trip but felt a bit rushed at some of the stops especially the sunset at Uluru. Also the breakfast foods at the sunrise at Uluru were very disappointing. If you have the time rent a car and do your own touring....

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Ryan Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, looks to see and the guide was excellent.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Marc J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Terrific way to see all of the major sites in the red center.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Carole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very well organised trip. All guides and drivers excellent, friendly and informative.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

John David J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The trip was all round very good with two complaints:

1 when we turned up at Sails in The Desert our rooms weren't ready and there was a long check-in line. I think that's the sort of detail which you should have sorted out in advance. I shouldn't have to waste my holiday time waiting for my rooms.

2 no such problem at King's Canyon resort but our rooms might have been 'King's Canyon facing' butd because of the wall of rock just outside them you couldn't actually see it. That's tantamount to a fraud.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message