Kings Canyon is one of Australia’s most legendary outback locations. Its palm-fringed waterholes, red gorges and eerie sandstone domes are ringed by walking tracks and camel trails for stupendous views over the surrounding Watarrka National Park. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

WayOutback Tours did a terrific job packaging the Red Centre experience. Itinerary and travel were excellent in covering the 4 days in depth. Our guide Annabelle was very good in her story telling and managing the trip. The party of 14 with us were all from Europe and were very enthusiastic about everything we did.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was fantastic and we had a great time. The coach drivers were particularly helpful and knowledgeable. Couldn't find fault with anything

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Susan H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was our first experience of Viator and Wayoutback. The trip was chosen by my husband as a Ruby wedding anniversary trip. I had no expectation but the description and itinerary was certainly accurate. The advice on what to take proved invaluable so we were pretty well prepared. Early morning starts are clearly the norm and essential. In May it's dark so don't forget the torch as there's no light in the tent. Likewise its dark when you arrive at the next campsite. I'd done caravanning and glamping but this was very different. The party size was ideal at 16. We had been to Australia many times but not been in the outback. Life was very different for the whole 4 days. We are fit 60's and this trip involves long days and includes a good deal of walking but the scenery was worth the effort we had to put in. Dan our guide worked really hard and gave us a terrific time. We were living and working in the outback for the 4 days. Relaxation is restricted to the 4WD transfers. I slept in the tent on a bed in a sleeping bag and a good thick blanket all provided of course. Meanwhile my husband took Dan's advice and slept by the campfire in a swag under the night sky which is an amazing sight. If you want a different type of holiday this is it. The experience of our lifetime. We haven't stopped talking about it as we enjoyed ourselves so much. This was largely due to Dan our team leader, guide and mentor. Obviously he is very experienced, extremely enthusiastic and loves the life which he wants everyone to share. He showed us some amazing scenery, was very knowledgeable about the social history, flora, geology and wildlife. If you do nothing else you must do this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We really enjoyed the trip but felt a bit rushed at some of the stops especially the sunset at Uluru. Also the breakfast foods at the sunrise at Uluru were very disappointing. If you have the time rent a car and do your own touring....

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Ryan
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, looks to see and the guide was excellent.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Terrific way to see all of the major sites in the red center.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very well organised trip. All guides and drivers excellent, friendly and informative.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The trip was all round very good with two complaints:

1 when we turned up at Sails in The Desert our rooms weren't ready and there was a long check-in line. I think that's the sort of detail which you should have sorted out in advance. I shouldn't have to waste my holiday time waiting for my rooms.

2 no such problem at King's Canyon resort but our rooms might have been 'King's Canyon facing' butd because of the wall of rock just outside them you couldn't actually see it. That's tantamount to a fraud.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This 3-days trip was good.

If it possible, we wish the coach can detour to visit the meteor craters.

One disappointment: The accommodation at Kings Canyon was a lodge without private bathroom / toilet. The piece of important information was disclosed AFTER BUT NOT BEFORE our payment.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Overall, an excellent trip. The drivers/guides were very knowledgable and the accommodation and coaches provided were both very comfortable. The agenda makes good use of the limited time available and I felt overall this was pretty good value for money

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Great memorable trip despite the negative issues. The tour guides Jules and Stevo were friendly and good. The main negative is that we spent only 4 rushed hours at Uluru. The cultural centre was disappointing with no interaction with any aboriginal people. The tour vehicle had an inefficient aircon so that it was cooler with the windows open than with the air conditioner on. With temperatures in the 30s this was not a comfortable trip.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour itself is great. The tour operator (one of the few in the area) was great. It seems Viator changed their description between booking time and tour time. It was also my mistake that I did not check the tour operator's website for more information after I received my confirmation.

I went on this tour with the expectation that I would board a bus day 1 and be on that same bus through day 3.

This tour is really a series of tours. You must call and confirm before your arrival. Have a pen and paper ready to write down the details. Not everyone in your group is on this tour. You will also need 3 liters of water per person for the Kings Canyon tour; a Camelbak is recommended. Also wear appropriate clothing and footwear for walking.

The scenery is very nice and I would go on it again. I highly recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our bus driver , john was very good. Accomodations were excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

These guys are great. Went on the 4wd 4-day tour. Lucked out and got two very experienced guides for our 15 person group normally, its just one. Jason and KT were amazing. Always felt very safe in their care. They were always very positive and patience with the group. Always very willing to answer any question in detail. They obviously had a great passion for the land, plants, wildlife and especially the aboriginal people. You will learn a ton on this tour and come away with an appreciation of the Outback and its billions year old history.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and fully recommend it.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Everthing went very smoothly. always on time,and guides and bus drivers very good.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

the guides Timmi and Mandy were very very busy - gave good informations, friendly, awsome cookers,
I enjoyed my time with them and in the whole red center very much.
The weather was extremely raining but also very very interesting - all in all.
Thanks a lot for all :-)

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed this unique experience. Our guide/driver/cook was amazing. (We will certainly remember his chocolate cake cooked over the campfire!) This tour was comfortable enough for the 70 yr old and exciting enough for the younger members of the party and enabled us to see parts of the outback inaccessible to the hotel based tours.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Well-planned itinerary which gives good experience of the "red center". Great sunset (wine table) and sunrise viewings. AAT Kings is a well-organized tour operator with comfortable buses and capable driver/guides. Special mention for driver Phil, good English easy to understand, with excellent knowledge of flora, fauna and indigenous customs, the Kings Canyon floor walk was a pleasure.
It isn't clear what "Budget Accomadation" at Kings Canyon means -- shared accomodation is not really shared, it is a room with no facilities, the toilet and washroom is 20meters away in a separate block. Really for backpackers, which the descriptiom doesn't make clear.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was well organized and we got to do enough hiking to get a feel for the Uluru and Kings Canyon area. The accommodations were satisfactory.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Well organized trip, with pick-up from hotel in Alice, transfers etc. running smoothly by a team that knew what they were doing.

While some of the included walks could have been more challenging, overall impression of the itinerary was good. The snacks and drinks for sunset was a lifesaver. However, the constant droning about holy this and sacred that, particularly on the Ayers Rock section, got old quickly. Once regarding photo ban is enough.Same goes for the not climbing rock stuff. Say what you need, do it one once and be done with it.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The AATKings guide and driver Warren was fabulous. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Loved the Jumping Crocodiles tour day 1 and especially the Yellow Water Billabong on day 2. Katherine Gorge on day 3 was spectacular. The choice of hotels was great for the first night at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel but the stay on the second night at Ibis Styles Katherine was awful. I'm assuming AATKings only chose this place because of the Katherine Gorge sunrise tour the next morning. Pity there's no other choice. Damp towels on the bed thus a wet bed as well, no hairdryer (they only had a few to offer and they were all gone), bathroom sliding window fixed in an open position (with a big screw) with all the world to see you in the shower, mouldy grouting in the shower and the spare toilet paper roll unusable locked in a holder. Left that place very disappointed considering we had paid for Superior accommodation option. As accommodation is left at the discretion of the tour operators and they should seriously think again. We weren't the only ones on the tour to put up with exactly the same problems unfortunately. Warren was fantastic and very informative and as there involved a lot of driving and monotonous landscape between the attractions, that was essential.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Flight was late in arriving so we missed part of our first tour to the Olga's but the sunset and sunrise experience at Uluru were absolutely phenomenal. King's Canyon was amazing although I didn't know if I could climb the 500 steps but once at the top I was so glad I had. The guides, drivers etc were all amazing and so knowledgeable and made it very interesting. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

generally very good, coaches were very comfortable with efficient and helpful drivers (BUT the tour was advertised as a small group tour, which was deceptive). Overall well organised. However, the one black spot was that there was a strong sewage smell sometimes in our room.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour guide Boris was really friendly and nice and gave lots of info. The bus was really comfortable and on time and service was good.Kings canyon was a bit of a disappointment as we could not climb the canyon.The accommodation was good and clean but I think the tour was too expensive for what we got. Lots of tours provide meals for this price and when it was mentioned lunch and afternoon tea can be purchased on third day-- it was misleading and confusing as it gave the impression that other meals were provided.( just going by the description of the tour).

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message