Alice Springs is the heartland of the central Australian Outback and a base for explorers of the region. Not sure where to begin? Check out these top ten activities to do in Alice Springs.   1) Hiking the MacDonnell Ranges Stretching east and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Worth getting out of bed for. It was a fabulous experience with great views; laughter and a champagne breakfast....life can't get any better.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

such fun and some surprises with plans gone slightly wrong but all enjoyable

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great trip and a good chance to really see Alice Springs. In half a day you see everything without feeling rushed. The reptile park is a highlight and Rex the guide is hilarious. Well worth the money and time

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Alice with our guide Jenny from AAT KIngs. She was great company and very knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed the school of the air, telegraph station, flying doctors museum and reptile centre visits. We delighted in seeing kangaroos at the telegraph station and the stunning views of Alice from the Anzac Memorial. Thanks Jenny for a great introduction to Alice. This was a great way to spend an afternoon before heading to Uluru! Highly recommended

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Done this before and was even better second time around. It was interesting to hear first hand the running of the cattle ranch. Rusty was an excellent and informative about a land he loved. Do this if you get the chance.

Doing what: Alice Springs Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I wish more older persons would sign up for this. Although the other travel lords were very nice. Leader Rath was knowledgeable and very responsible. A pity that so much of the walk around Uluru was closed off due to heat. I loved sleeping out in a swag. Janice

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an excellent way to get to see Alice Springs on a very short stop over. My driver arrived within minutes of my arrival at my Motel and was well knowledged about the area and extremely helpful as well. View of Alice Springs from Anzac Hill was breath taking and one had plenty of time to take photos as well on this tour. I found visiting the Historical Telegraph Station was excellent this I probably enjoyed the most coming from a farming back ground. They truly have restored this site so one could clearly see how things were during the early days of people manning this station. Visiting the School of the Air was very interesting and gave one the full history of how it all came about as well as how large an area this school covers. We also had the opportunity to watch teachers work over the air as well which now is mostly done on computers. There was also. the chance to contribute by buying books for the school. The Royal Flying Doctors Centre enlightened one about the wonderful work this team does for our very remote residents living in rural Australia. Found this very interesting as it now has grown over the years and man 68 planes throughout rural Australia helping people to get urgent medical assistance when needed. The Reptile Centre was also very interesting and the staff member knew his stuff as well about the various reptiles they had on show. We also got the chance to have a quick drive around Alice Springs which showed us that Alice Springs now has just about everything in the way of stores. Seeing the dry Todd River was amazing especially if you saw a follow up photo of it in flood times which is extremely rare. This was a wonderful tour to take for an afternoon in Alice Springs had plenty to show the group as well all entrance fees were covered in the one price. Had plenty of time to walk around and see things at our own leisure as well. This tour was very well presented and certainly gave me a lot of information about the area in a short time.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

First, our compliments to AAT tour operators. Due to a late flight arrival at Alice Springs and a 1 1/2 hour transfer from the airport to Chiffley Hotel, we missed our scheduled tour pickup. We thought about trying to take a cab to catch the tour at one of the scheduled stops, but the hotel clerk said, "no worries" and called AAT who sent a driver over to pick us up and overtake the tour. He even provided insightful commentary that we would have otherwise missed. Tour driver/guide was great and provided interesting commentary that added to appreciation of the Alice Spings area. All five scheduled tour stops were very worhwhile; however, the curator's commentary at the reptile house was too lengthy.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great overview for the time-constrained, and was very enjoyable. We found the town interesting and the guide informative.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another wonderful adventure. So worth getting up at 3.30am to see the sunrise. Everything was perfect. We all had a fun time. The champagne breakfast was just what we needed after the balloon ride. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The view was just amazing. Really smooth landing. Couldn't find wild kangaroos from the air, still really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Those quad bikes are so powerful. Really enjoyed it!! The guide was exceptionally friendly. There were only 4 people including the guide. Saw 2 wild kangaroos. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Alice Springs Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We had a wonderful time on the quad bike tour. The woman guide was friendly and informative. The only downside were the flies, but that just comes with the whole outback experience. The gentleman who picked us up and dropped us off was kind enough to give us a little tour of the town. It was a fun time!

Doing what: Alice Springs Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an excellent tour. Myles our driver/guide was extremely informative. We visited five different locations and even though I must admit I thought a couple of them would be boring they were all extremely interesting. Especially the school of air and the owner of the reptile centre was so passionate about his animals it made it even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Learned a lot about Alice everyone was great

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message