Alice Springs is the heartland of the central Australian Outback and a base for explorers of the region. Not sure where to begin? Check out these top ten activities to do in Alice Springs.   1) Hiking the MacDonnell Ranges Stretching east and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great resort,ideal for families.
Only 20 minute walk into town
Helpfull staff
Good price

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Day Trip from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were four of us who took the West McDonnell Ranges tour, and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a fantastic driver/tour guide in Lindsay who was extremely knowledgeable in the area, we had a healthy lunch and morning and afternoon tea. We thought this tour was excellent value for money. 5 stars :-

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Day Trip from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing the drivers were funny and informative the day was jam packed with stuff to do including a lovely bbq even showed Kangaroo Jack on the way home

Doing what: Ayers Rock Day Trip from Alice Springs Including Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Sunset BBQ Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I did not realize dark sky was as splendid as geology on the Earth. I should have book the evening tour for astronomy.

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lindsey, our tour guide made our day in the MacDonnell range a fantastic experience. We covered an amazingly large area, with Lindsey explaining history, and telling us about plants and animal and geology. It was a beautiful, mild day. We took several walks and a couple of short hikes. We were out of the vehicle a lot of the time. It was a well-paced day. The food provided was good. We were a small group, so that was a bonus. We enjoyed interacting with the other people on our tour. Overall, an outstanding day in the Outback.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Day Trip from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing. Just about 12 People, great bus and a very good Guide!

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing. Everything we could have hoped for. The energy at both rocks is amazing, and our guide Simon, was able to answer all questions we had. Only helpful hint, would be to remember to read the fine print that says to bring a net hat and a flashlight torch, it will make your trip that much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Greate camping trip, with a very good guide in this awsome nature!

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

very enjoyable

Doing what: Alice Springs Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent. Our guide, Clive, was very knowledgeable and entertaining and made the trip mosy enjoyable! Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: West MacDonnell Ranges Day Trip from Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When booking this trip I was concerned about how much I had spent, however it was one of the most memorable things me and my 9yr old son did in Australia! We had a fantastic time, from watching the balloon be inflated...and deflated and packed away. I didn't realise there would be soo many of us in one basket (16 in total) but in the end this was an advantage as other. People asked questions that I had not thought to ask and I found interesting (they could also take pics for you). The guide was very friendly and knowledgable. He helped us with everything we needed and the champagne breakfast in the middle of the desert was equally as fabulous. The guides couldn't top your glass up enough and the picnic style breakfast muffins and fruit were perfect! We had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Worth getting out of bed for. It was a fabulous experience with great views; laughter and a champagne breakfast....life can't get any better.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

such fun and some surprises with plans gone slightly wrong but all enjoyable

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great trip and a good chance to really see Alice Springs. In half a day you see everything without feeling rushed. The reptile park is a highlight and Rex the guide is hilarious. Well worth the money and time

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of Alice with our guide Jenny from AAT KIngs. She was great company and very knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed the school of the air, telegraph station, flying doctors museum and reptile centre visits. We delighted in seeing kangaroos at the telegraph station and the stunning views of Alice from the Anzac Memorial. Thanks Jenny for a great introduction to Alice. This was a great way to spend an afternoon before heading to Uluru! Highly recommended

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Done this before and was even better second time around. It was interesting to hear first hand the running of the cattle ranch. Rusty was an excellent and informative about a land he loved. Do this if you get the chance.

Doing what: Alice Springs Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I wish more older persons would sign up for this. Although the other travel lords were very nice. Leader Rath was knowledgeable and very responsible. A pity that so much of the walk around Uluru was closed off due to heat. I loved sleeping out in a swag. Janice

Doing what: Overnight Uluru (Ayers Rock) Small-Group Camping Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an excellent way to get to see Alice Springs on a very short stop over. My driver arrived within minutes of my arrival at my Motel and was well knowledged about the area and extremely helpful as well. View of Alice Springs from Anzac Hill was breath taking and one had plenty of time to take photos as well on this tour. I found visiting the Historical Telegraph Station was excellent this I probably enjoyed the most coming from a farming back ground. They truly have restored this site so one could clearly see how things were during the early days of people manning this station. Visiting the School of the Air was very interesting and gave one the full history of how it all came about as well as how large an area this school covers. We also had the opportunity to watch teachers work over the air as well which now is mostly done on computers. There was also. the chance to contribute by buying books for the school. The Royal Flying Doctors Centre enlightened one about the wonderful work this team does for our very remote residents living in rural Australia. Found this very interesting as it now has grown over the years and man 68 planes throughout rural Australia helping people to get urgent medical assistance when needed. The Reptile Centre was also very interesting and the staff member knew his stuff as well about the various reptiles they had on show. We also got the chance to have a quick drive around Alice Springs which showed us that Alice Springs now has just about everything in the way of stores. Seeing the dry Todd River was amazing especially if you saw a follow up photo of it in flood times which is extremely rare. This was a wonderful tour to take for an afternoon in Alice Springs had plenty to show the group as well all entrance fees were covered in the one price. Had plenty of time to walk around and see things at our own leisure as well. This tour was very well presented and certainly gave me a lot of information about the area in a short time.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

First, our compliments to AAT tour operators. Due to a late flight arrival at Alice Springs and a 1 1/2 hour transfer from the airport to Chiffley Hotel, we missed our scheduled tour pickup. We thought about trying to take a cab to catch the tour at one of the scheduled stops, but the hotel clerk said, "no worries" and called AAT who sent a driver over to pick us up and overtake the tour. He even provided insightful commentary that we would have otherwise missed. Tour driver/guide was great and provided interesting commentary that added to appreciation of the Alice Spings area. All five scheduled tour stops were very worhwhile; however, the curator's commentary at the reptile house was too lengthy.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great overview for the time-constrained, and was very enjoyable. We found the town interesting and the guide informative.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another wonderful adventure. So worth getting up at 3.30am to see the sunrise. Everything was perfect. We all had a fun time. The champagne breakfast was just what we needed after the balloon ride. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The view was just amazing. Really smooth landing. Couldn't find wild kangaroos from the air, still really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Sunrise Ballooning in Alice Springs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Those quad bikes are so powerful. Really enjoyed it!! The guide was exceptionally friendly. There were only 4 people including the guide. Saw 2 wild kangaroos. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Alice Springs Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We had a wonderful time on the quad bike tour. The woman guide was friendly and informative. The only downside were the flies, but that just comes with the whole outback experience. The gentleman who picked us up and dropped us off was kind enough to give us a little tour of the town. It was a fun time!

Doing what: Alice Springs Quad Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an excellent tour. Myles our driver/guide was extremely informative. We visited five different locations and even though I must admit I thought a couple of them would be boring they were all extremely interesting. Especially the school of air and the owner of the reptile centre was so passionate about his animals it made it even more enjoyable.

Doing what: Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message