Salerno is a major shipping and ferry port in the southern part of Italy. For visitors its major draw is the nearby Amalfi Coast, famed for its beautiful towns and beaches. Salerno itself was founded by the Romans in 197 BC so it does have plenty of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing trip. Our driver Gioni was great. He was a pleasure to talk with and he showed us a lot of sites that were amazing. He recommended a place for lunch that was to die for. This was the best day of our 23 day vacation.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Sophia our tour guide was knowledgeable, informative,and a delight. She made our day very enjoyable.When we come back i would definitely ask for her again.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Overall, it was a great day tour of sampling of Amalfi coast. The minivan was very roomy and comfortable for five of us. Our driver Pepe was excellent, very courteous, polite, and friendly. He paid attention to everyone's comfort and need. The drive was great. Pepe was very flexible as to how we wanted to split our time at each destination. He chose a lunch spot in Priano overlooking the sea, it was just amazing.

Amalfi coast is one of our most favorite destinations and having Pepe the driver made it very enjoyable and relaxing day.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent!

We had a wonderful chauffeur and tour guide.

Took us to an excellent restaurant.

Very comfortable clean vehicle.

Excellent English.

Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent trip to three of the most memorable Italian towns on the Amalfi coast, with a good driver Antony who was informative but not overly so. He took us to a nice restaurant high in the hills above Positano where we met Luigi the charismatic owner. This was one of the best shore excursions of our cruise.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was great. Our tour guide was very informative and had a great sense of humor. She kept us moving because of our time restraints and we got to see all of the sights with enough time and back to the ship. The highlights were definitely Positano where we had a very tasty lunch and a fabulous view over looking the city and bay. Also Amalfi was really picturesque. We highly rate this tour.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Maria was our tour guide and she was fabulous!!! Driving around through the narrow winding streets in Amalfi was specatular and got to see alot of things you can not see on a big tour bus. She gave us just the right amount of free time on our own to shop and have lunch. would highly reccomend and do it again myself.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Our mistake was in not getting a driver/guide who spoke English. The day was spent going from one fabulous sight to another with very little, if any, information about what we were seeing. It is an absolutely beautiful ride and with a conversant guide it would definitely been 5 Stars. Our fault for not specifying an English speaker.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Our driver was prompt and very friendly though spoke very little english. We had a bit of trouble getting out of the port due to some misunderstanding with the port authority and the driver. Once on the road, the trip was really amazing. It was truly worth seeing and experiencing the culture in which they live in this region. Violets were blooming and it was just like the pictures you see painted of the Amalfi Coast. Food was amazing and the people were friendly. We still can't get over the way they drive in Europe, CRAZY and fast. Our drive was very careful and no one felt unsafe and nor car sick which is important to note since the road is very narrow and curvey. Over all it was a major highlight to our 18 day trip to Italy. Beautiful country!

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was very interesting. We were all shocked about the size of Pompeii. Our guide was excellent - she really knew her stuff and made it very interesting.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Pompeii Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The tour was fine. The area was beautiful. One minor complint was the estaurant that the driver took us. The set up was rushed and was a fixed price that we only found out about when the bill came. This put a damper on the day.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The actual tour of Pompeii with our private tour guide was amazing! She was very personable,extremely knowledgable about the history and archaelogical details of the site and provided us with an extremely well organized tour which is so important when you have limited time to tour. I would rate the tour guide on her own a 5 star! My overall rating of 3 stars was due to the fact that our driver did not speak any English and was not very personable and the lunch included was not very good (poor service and poor quality food). GIven the chance to arrange a tour again I would have skipped the lunch and added in an excursion to one of the small seaside beach towns nearby.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Pompeii Tour

Note from Viator: We are following up with our local supplier based on your feedback. Thanks for alerting us to this issue, your feedback is a critical part in our ability to ensure a quality experience from our local suppliers.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message