The Amalfi Coast is a popular tourist draw at almost any time of year, but at no time is it more of a magnet for visitors than in the summer months when beaches are full to capacity with sun worshipers and luxury hotels host honeymooners and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

BATTERSBY666
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a wonderful way for us both to see the wonderful views of the Amalfi coast and to experience the narrow, winding coast road in comfort and safety. We were picked up from our hotel and the day was just so relaxing. We stopped in Positano and Amalfi where we had lunch at Stella Maris which was wonderful and had time to wander around both of these lovely little towns. We decided not to bother with Ravello as were going to be staying there for two nights after our stay in Sorrento.
We both preferred Amalfi which had some wonderful shops and was very photogenic.
Anthonio, our driver, did some explaining but his English was just so-so and he needed to concentrate on the roads as the Italian drivers can be a bit crazy! How buses managed to get past each other on the bends and little narrow road is a miracle that is great to watch.
This is a beautiful way of seeing the coast rather than being squeezed in to a shared minibus or coach as it is more relaxed and open and you are able to amend the itinerary to suit yourself.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver and guide were really great. They provided a tour that suited our capabilities since we had some difficulty climbing stairs. Their flexibility and attention to our needs was wonderful. They did everything to make sure we had a full experience of the Amalfi coast. One added bonus was a boat tour from the Amalfi port to experience the coast from the water, I recommend that you add this even though it is extra, it was well worth it.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a full-day private boat tour from Amalfi to Capri. All went as planned. Our captain, Ivan, was such a nice guy and accommodated our requests for amount of time on the island, sights to see by boat, etc. Capri was a bit crowded and too commercial for our taste, but it is beautiful nonetheless. The chair lift ride is well worth it...the most awesome views!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast and Capri Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding guide and driver. Only way to see crowded Amalfi Coast-forget the big bus tours this tour is worth the money.
Bill

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely the best way to view the Amalfi cost. Rosario was really accommodating and has a wealth of knowledge given that he has been doing this for fifteen years. He was a fantastic driver given the small tight corners and trucks and buses that you have to pass along the way. I don't know how everyone doesn't have more crashes. We were very fortunate with the weather as it was fantastic. So a great day

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Best trip ever! We were told our driver would have minimal English skills but our driver Savio's English was excellent. He was very professional and shared history of the region, pointed out specific scenic sites, stopped at scenic places to take pictures. Was kind enough to take pictures of us. Offered interesting details--such as the hotel where some celebrities were married. Liked our own time in Amalfi, Ravello, and Positano. But Savio pointed us in the right direction and gave us plenty of time. Definitely would recommend this tour. Worth every cent!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved the Amalfi Coast tour . It was amazing we like our guide I think her name was Anna Sophia she was very well informed and we also like our chauffeur he was a skilled driver . Throughly enjoyed our lunch and all the town she took us to. Would recommend highly

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a wonderful day. We were picked up at our accommodation by Johno our driver. He took us down the Amalfi coastline and stopped for photos and explained the region to us and also recommended a beautiful restaurant situated on the hillside overlooking Positano. He had excellent English skills, was polite and attentive. We highly recommend his services to anyone who wishes to take this excellent tour down the coast from Sorrento to see Amalfil, Positano and Ravello. An excellent day. Thanks Johno!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very good tour. Our driver and guide picked us up at our hotel. They explained what our tour included but asked us if there was anything special that we wanted to do. Not knowing the area the guide made some really good suggestions. What we were looking for is someone to basically drive us up this coast but in a more private setting. For the most part we were given ample time but wish we had spent more time in Amalfi itself. I highly recommend this tour if you want to escape the tour bus group for a more personal time.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour along the Amalfi Coast with Rosario was wonderful. The forecast was predicted to be 80 percent chance of rain with a soaking rain for most of the day with high winds reaching 40 miles an hour. We were so surprised when we reached Positano and Ravello and the sun actually came out. Although we had overcast nothing could have ruined the views that we had along the coast and in each area that we visited. Rosario was the perfect gentleman and a joy to be with. He took us to a beautiful restaurant in Postiano for lunch with window seats allowing us to take in the beautiful views.

Viator was great to work with and we will definitely arrange future tours through the Viator website.

We look forward to visiting Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast again and hope that we are lucky enough to have Rosario as our driver.

Thank you for this wonderful experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great way to spend a day and see the Amalfi coast. We drove around all of the cliffs and visited the great cities of Amalfi, Positano, and Ravello. If you have a couple of people it's definitely worth splitting the cost. After you do this tour, you'll wonder how people take busses on those narrow roads!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Best way to see the Amalfi Coast. Very helpful driver.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the private tour. Our tour host was Romulo and driver Enrico. Our host pointed out many points of interest as we rode along this amazing scenic coastline. We stopped at Positano, Amafli and Ravella. My wife has mobility problems and our hosts took that into consideration for enjoyable tour by all. Our tour host suggest a very nice restaurant in Amalfi for lunch. We had our tasty meal outside and enjoyed the music and watching the people.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely recommend, this is a fun tour as well as beautiful, plenty of photo opportunities, enough time in Ravello, Positano and Amalfi to walk around and explore and the restaurant that was chosen by our guide was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyable and unforgettable.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver Mr. Rosario was an excellent tour guide and driver! He took us through the Amalfi Coast in a very smooth and very professional way! I do highly recommend taking this tour!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour with Anna Sophia and our private driver was excellent. She was very sensitive to the needs of our little group, and flexible in the timing and stops of the tour. She was very knowledgeable, and friendly. Our driver was also excellent in navigating the difficult roads of the Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The driver/guide was a wonderful person and very good guide. We truly enjoyed the experience even though we have been through the Amalfi coast before.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

GREAT TOUR. OUR DRIVER ROSARIO ARRIVED EARLY AND WAS WAITING JUST OUTSIDE THE CRUISE PASSENGER TERMINAL. ROSARIO TOOK US TO SORRENTO, POSITANO, AMALFI AND RUVELLO. HE DROVE US PLACES, ESPECIALLY IN POSITANO AND AMALFI THE CRUISE SHIP BUSSES COULD NOT GO. WE ARRIVED AT ALL OUR DESTINATIONS LONG BEFORE THE CROWDS OF TOUR BUSSES SHOWED UP. HE MADE US GREAT LUNCH RESERVATIONS AT A RESTAURANT ON A HILLSIDE OVERLOOKING THE POSITANO COAST AT A WINDOW FRONT SEAT. WE SAW SO MUCH MORE THAN ON A REGULAR TOUR AND IT COST MY FAMILY OF FIVE, $200 LESS THAN WHAT THE CRUISE SHIP WANTED FOR THEIR TOUR WHICH WAS NOT EARLY AS GOOD S OURS WAS. THANK YOU ROSARIO FOR MAKING THIS TOUR DRIVE AND OUR TIME IN EACH TOWN SO ENJOYABLE.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour! Our driver, Bruno, is friendly, informative, and professional. The Amalfi coast is beautiful.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Rosario was fantastic! Always a gentleman opening the car door for me and recommending places to stop for pictures and things to see in the towns. Highly recommend! This was our splurge of our trip and was well worth it to have our own itinerary exploring the amazingly beautiful Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic tour exploring the Amalfi Coast in a beautiful air conditioned Mercedes car.Having your own car and driver is the only way to explore this area.
Rosario our very good driver, gave us lots of information and answered our questions as we travelled along the coast.He stopped along the coast to allow us to take photographs of the beautiful views and even took photographs of my friend and I.
We visited Amalfi,Ravello and Positano and time was given to explore these places.
We had lunch on Rosarios recommendation at a beautiful spot high above Positano with amazing views,seated at a window table.The food was excellent and very reasonabley priced.
A truly memorable day and well worth every penny.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My husband and I just returned from 11days in Italy and the day we spend seeing the Amalfi Coast was our favorite day of our whole trip! Maria was our guide and Bruno was our driver. They both were very knowledgable and we really enjoyed our time with them. The coast line was so beautiful and the fact that it was raining during the morning hours did not spoil our fun. I would HIGHLY recommend this trip to our friends and I would tell them to ask for Maria and Bruno!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic tour, the driver was helpful and gave us enough time to walk around Ravello, Amalfi and Positano and he stopped in the scenic drive for pictures. Highly recommended, you don´t want to drive on your own in those narrow winding streets. Thanks Viator !

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was amazing. We were to be met in Sorrento but our ship had to anchor in Naples. Worried we called our local contact and found out they already knew about the change and were prepared to pick us up in Naples. Our driver was friendly, outgoing and a wealth of information about landmarks and history of the Amalfi Coast area. In addition we were able to customize our tour on the fly. We wanted to spend some time in Positano, only a little time in Amalfi (had been there previously) and a lot of time in Ravello. Our driver suggested how much time we should spend each place according to what we wanted to do and got us back to the ship with some time to spare. Altogether a wonderful excursion.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a fabulous tour. Our driver, Rosario, arrived 30 minutes early at our hotel and we started our tour from Naples. We were so glad that we had decided NOT to drive ourselves or take a bus tour! This way everyone was able to enjoy the wonderful views and not have to worry about reading a map or finding a parking place! The towns of Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello were beautiful and we enjoyed quick excursions to shop and admire the beauty of each location. Rosario recommended a small restaurant high up the mountainside in Positano that was perfect and he offered information all along the way. We really enjoyed our day!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message