The Amalfi Coast is a popular tourist draw at almost any time of year, but at no time is it more of a magnet for visitors than in the summer months when beaches are full to capacity with sun worshipers and luxury hotels host honeymooners and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our trip to Positano, Amalfi, and Ravello was terrific. Our guide Claudio did a great job. He let us customize our trip the way we wanted. This was our first Viator tour and we would definitely use your services again.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Nigel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Words cannot describe the beauty of the Amalfi Coast it is something that needs to be experienced, having a driver and a guide makes it even more enjoyable. Mariana, our English speaking guide, along with Pepe, our driver made the whole day ours. We felt very safe in their company and they helped us discover the wonderful Amalfi coast. I highly recommend this tour, it has given us so many happy memories.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Debra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What am amazing day!!! We were promptly picked up at our hotel by Johnny. He spoke very good english, despite him saying he didn't!! We spent the day driving up and down the Amalfi Coast, stopped at placed at the side of the road that one would not normally see like a small fishing village in a small cove. We had an hour in Amalfi, Positano, and Ravello. If we wanted more time, we would only have to ask. All three places were beautiful! It was the perfect way to relax and enjoy the beauty of this part of Italy without having to worry about driving on SS163.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Terry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver Gianni is a gem. He is a true master driving these coastal roads. We had such a good time with him and our guide, Ariana. She gave us great insight with the history of the Amalfi coast. My favorite part of the tour was our ride home when Gianna played Italian folk songs, we sang and dance

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Nicole S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was the absolute highlight of our trip to Sorrento! Giovanni Johnny was wonderful. He spoke great English, was polite, funny and was focused on making sure we had a great day. He was extremely knowledgeable about the area and was very flexible if we wanted to stay in one place a little longer. He was punctual and arrived early to pick us up at the hotel. He took us to a wonderful place for lunch with impeccable food and a stunning view. Driving the winding road back to Sorrento Johnny played the most wonderful music. I will always remember listening to him and my mom sing Italian songs all the way home. It was like something out of a movie. Thank you Johnny for making this truly an unforgettable day that both of us will cherish forever.

If you are planning to visit the Amalfi Coast, you should take this tour. There is nothing that can compare. And if you can, request Giovanni. He made this a truly magical experience! I am definitely going to request him for the same tour on my next trip to Sorrento!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Leslie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day with a very friendly driver, a beautiful drive on the Amalfi coast, highly to recommend

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

julie.mullins1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a fabulous day, made extra special by our driver Giovanni who stressed that it was our day and made sure that we saw and did everything we wanted. He arrived promptly at our Sorrento hotel at 9am, and helped us into his very comfortable Mercedes, opening the doors for us each and every time we got in. He spoke English well and told us many things of interest as we headed along the beautiful Amalfi coast road, stopping frequently wherever he knew there were good picture opportunities, before giving us an hour to explore Amalfi itself, time for a coffee and to explore the amazing cathedral.
Then it was on to Ravello, with another hour to look round this charming hilltop town. As we headed back towards Positano we passed a restaurant where Giovanni was hailed by a friend but he explained to him that he wouldn't be stopping that day as we had said we had no plans for lunch and would simply have a quick salad somewhere. As we drove on Giovanni told us the restaurant was one of his favourites, with good food at reasonable prices and a beautiful view. Of course that brought about an instant change of mind on our part! So, somewhat surprised, Giovanni turned the car round and and we enjoyed an excellent lunch of fresh fish, sitting under lemon trees with a glorious view over the Gulf of Salerno.
Then it was on to Positano for a final hour of exploring the narrow, steep streets down to the sea, dipping into many of the all-too tempting shops. While an hour is not long enough to see any of the three towns fully it provided a wonderful taster of each and we look forward to longer, separate visits in future.
Our unscheduled lunch stop had added time on to the day but Giovanni stressed again that he just wanted us to have the best possible experience, and he did not mind extending his working day.
This tour is not cheap but my husband and I both felt it was excellent value. Above all we would like to thank Giovanni, who made our special day so very memorable.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Cecilia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a beautiful tour of the Amalfi Coast, I had read many previous reviews and had requested Rosario to be our driver. We were delighted with the information that he shared with us, very friendly and was able to easily accommodate our needs. He brought us to a wonderful lunch spot, we were able to view the ocean and had a lemon tree arbor over head. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent - Gianni the driver was on time, and gave us a fantastic tour. We loved Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. Would thoroughly recommend this trip, although more time in Positano would have been better - we could have done with 2 hours as it was so beautiful. A great way of seeing beautiful places

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Debbie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was the perfect day! Our Captain, Antonio, took excellent care of us. It was such a joy to have the boat to ourselves. He took us anywhere we wanted to go and had great ideas as well. While the price was not inexpensive, it was worth every nickel. I encourage anyone who loves being on a boat and exploring e beauty of Amalfi and Capri to have this great adventure

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast and Capri Cruise

Deborah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We asked for a less expensive room in our Sorrento hotel so we could splurge on this private tour. We are glad we did. After reading the reviews,and knowing we would feel sick on a bus on those winding roads, we decided to request Rosario to drive us along the Amalfi coast.. We elected not to have a tour guide as we were toured out by then and relished the quiet and slower pace. Rosario was prompt picking us up at our hotel, kind, a gentleman, a very safe driver and very personable and comfortable to be with. He was a perfect balance between allowing us our space and providing us with interesting information as we drove along. Rosario knew to stop at key points for photo taking and, as he did with those before us, suggested a restaurant between Ravello and Positano that had very flavorful food. We enjoyed our meal overlooking the coast and under 100year old lemon trees. Of the 3 towns we visited, Amalfi, Positano and Ravello, we enjoyed Ravello the most. It was the least touristy of the towns. Though we appreciated what Italy has to offer, i.e. ceramics, oils, cheeses, textiles, shoes!, Ravello was more Music centered. When we return , we will be sure to stay in Ravello for a few days. On our ride back we played Italian music Return to Sorrento and Pavarotti as Rosario drove us back to our hotel, for the full experience ! We would highly recommend this tour and Rosario as your driver. Be sure to wear good walking shoes! FYI, we learned while touring Pompeii that the best of Pompeii is in the archeological museum in Naples!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

dfgalindo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a 32-foot speedboat that was new and very clean and took a full-day private boat tour from Amalfi to Capri. All went as planned. Our captain, Emmanuel, was a very nice guy and accommodated our requests for swimming, dining and sights. Capri was crowded and we chose not to go to the town, but saw the grottos, but had lunch at a wonderful restaurant on the west side of the island. My daughters rode on the cushioned bow feeling like superstars. The captain stopped anywhere we wanted for our photos and dips into the water. The highlight of our 10-day trip to Italy and certainly a must!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast and Capri Cruise

jackie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So glad we decided to book this tour. Our driver was great and got us to each destination on time and safe. The Amalfi Coast roads are very scary so I am glad we didn't try to drive ourselves we never would have seen everything that we did with Pepe. We didn't have a guide so we were on our own in each town which was great. We had a couple options for lunch and ended up with a fantastic view of the coast. It was a great day!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Sabrina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was so much fun! We really enjoyed ourselves. We were a bit worried we would miss out on some things because we had no guide, but our driver Rosario was very knowledgeable and spoke an impeccable English. He was very professional and was willing to adapt to our needs. We felt safe having him as our driver and he took us to an amazing place overlooking the sea for a nice, quiet lunch. It was a really great way to experience all the beauty of the Amalfi coast. We couldn't have asked for more! We even saw Rosario 2 days later in Sorrento while walking on our food tour and he was actually the one that spotted us and rolled down his window to wave hello at us. Really nice guy and an excellent photographer too! Go ahead and book this tour without a guide, you will not be disappointed! The Amalfi coast is absolutely beautiful!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

tonyakmccall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took the drive along the Amalfi Coast with 6 people in our party. The van was comfortable and the driver knowledgeable on the area. It was a beautiful day trip and one that we recommend to everyone staying along the coast!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Laura W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So glad we splurged on the private tour. Our driver, Adriano, was punctual, friendly, and very accommodating. He offered to take our photo at several scenic locations and recommended a fantastic restaurant for lunch with a breath-taking view of the coast. Most importantly, he drove us safely on this very crowded road. We very much enjoyed our tour of the Amalfi Coast and would highly recommended it.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

BATTERSBY666 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a wonderful way for us both to see the wonderful views of the Amalfi coast and to experience the narrow, winding coast road in comfort and safety. We were picked up from our hotel and the day was just so relaxing. We stopped in Positano and Amalfi where we had lunch at Stella Maris which was wonderful and had time to wander around both of these lovely little towns. We decided not to bother with Ravello as were going to be staying there for two nights after our stay in Sorrento.
We both preferred Amalfi which had some wonderful shops and was very photogenic.
Anthonio, our driver, did some explaining but his English was just so-so and he needed to concentrate on the roads as the Italian drivers can be a bit crazy! How buses managed to get past each other on the bends and little narrow road is a miracle that is great to watch.
This is a beautiful way of seeing the coast rather than being squeezed in to a shared minibus or coach as it is more relaxed and open and you are able to amend the itinerary to suit yourself.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Jose L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver and guide were really great. They provided a tour that suited our capabilities since we had some difficulty climbing stairs. Their flexibility and attention to our needs was wonderful. They did everything to make sure we had a full experience of the Amalfi coast. One added bonus was a boat tour from the Amalfi port to experience the coast from the water, I recommend that you add this even though it is extra, it was well worth it.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Fred E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a full-day private boat tour from Amalfi to Capri. All went as planned. Our captain, Ivan, was such a nice guy and accommodated our requests for amount of time on the island, sights to see by boat, etc. Capri was a bit crowded and too commercial for our taste, but it is beautiful nonetheless. The chair lift ride is well worth it...the most awesome views!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast and Capri Cruise

bill e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding guide and driver. Only way to see crowded Amalfi Coast-forget the big bus tours this tour is worth the money.
Bill

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely the best way to view the Amalfi cost. Rosario was really accommodating and has a wealth of knowledge given that he has been doing this for fifteen years. He was a fantastic driver given the small tight corners and trucks and buses that you have to pass along the way. I don't know how everyone doesn't have more crashes. We were very fortunate with the weather as it was fantastic. So a great day

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

alcstone001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Best trip ever! We were told our driver would have minimal English skills but our driver Savio's English was excellent. He was very professional and shared history of the region, pointed out specific scenic sites, stopped at scenic places to take pictures. Was kind enough to take pictures of us. Offered interesting details--such as the hotel where some celebrities were married. Liked our own time in Amalfi, Ravello, and Positano. But Savio pointed us in the right direction and gave us plenty of time. Definitely would recommend this tour. Worth every cent!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Sunitha V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved the Amalfi Coast tour . It was amazing we like our guide I think her name was Anna Sophia she was very well informed and we also like our chauffeur he was a skilled driver . Throughly enjoyed our lunch and all the town she took us to. Would recommend highly

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Eraine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a wonderful day. We were picked up at our accommodation by Johno our driver. He took us down the Amalfi coastline and stopped for photos and explained the region to us and also recommended a beautiful restaurant situated on the hillside overlooking Positano. He had excellent English skills, was polite and attentive. We highly recommend his services to anyone who wishes to take this excellent tour down the coast from Sorrento to see Amalfil, Positano and Ravello. An excellent day. Thanks Johno!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Janese P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very good tour. Our driver and guide picked us up at our hotel. They explained what our tour included but asked us if there was anything special that we wanted to do. Not knowing the area the guide made some really good suggestions. What we were looking for is someone to basically drive us up this coast but in a more private setting. For the most part we were given ample time but wish we had spent more time in Amalfi itself. I highly recommend this tour if you want to escape the tour bus group for a more personal time.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message