The Amalfi Coast is a popular tourist draw at almost any time of year, but at no time is it more of a magnet for visitors than in the summer months when beaches are full to capacity with sun worshipers and luxury hotels host honeymooners and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was the perfect day! Our Captain, Antonio, took excellent care of us. It was such a joy to have the boat to ourselves. He took us anywhere we wanted to go and had great ideas as well. While the price was not inexpensive, it was worth every nickel. I encourage anyone who loves being on a boat and exploring e beauty of Amalfi and Capri to have this great adventure

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast and Capri Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We asked for a less expensive room in our Sorrento hotel so we could splurge on this private tour. We are glad we did. After reading the reviews,and knowing we would feel sick on a bus on those winding roads, we decided to request Rosario to drive us along the Amalfi coast.. We elected not to have a tour guide as we were toured out by then and relished the quiet and slower pace. Rosario was prompt picking us up at our hotel, kind, a gentleman, a very safe driver and very personable and comfortable to be with. He was a perfect balance between allowing us our space and providing us with interesting information as we drove along. Rosario knew to stop at key points for photo taking and, as he did with those before us, suggested a restaurant between Ravello and Positano that had very flavorful food. We enjoyed our meal overlooking the coast and under 100year old lemon trees. Of the 3 towns we visited, Amalfi, Positano and Ravello, we enjoyed Ravello the most. It was the least touristy of the towns. Though we appreciated what Italy has to offer, i.e. ceramics, oils, cheeses, textiles, shoes!, Ravello was more Music centered. When we return , we will be sure to stay in Ravello for a few days. On our ride back we played Italian music Return to Sorrento and Pavarotti as Rosario drove us back to our hotel, for the full experience ! We would highly recommend this tour and Rosario as your driver. Be sure to wear good walking shoes! FYI, we learned while touring Pompeii that the best of Pompeii is in the archeological museum in Naples!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a 32-foot speedboat that was new and very clean and took a full-day private boat tour from Amalfi to Capri. All went as planned. Our captain, Emmanuel, was a very nice guy and accommodated our requests for swimming, dining and sights. Capri was crowded and we chose not to go to the town, but saw the grottos, but had lunch at a wonderful restaurant on the west side of the island. My daughters rode on the cushioned bow feeling like superstars. The captain stopped anywhere we wanted for our photos and dips into the water. The highlight of our 10-day trip to Italy and certainly a must!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast and Capri Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So glad we decided to book this tour. Our driver was great and got us to each destination on time and safe. The Amalfi Coast roads are very scary so I am glad we didn't try to drive ourselves we never would have seen everything that we did with Pepe. We didn't have a guide so we were on our own in each town which was great. We had a couple options for lunch and ended up with a fantastic view of the coast. It was a great day!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was so much fun! We really enjoyed ourselves. We were a bit worried we would miss out on some things because we had no guide, but our driver Rosario was very knowledgeable and spoke an impeccable English. He was very professional and was willing to adapt to our needs. We felt safe having him as our driver and he took us to an amazing place overlooking the sea for a nice, quiet lunch. It was a really great way to experience all the beauty of the Amalfi coast. We couldn't have asked for more! We even saw Rosario 2 days later in Sorrento while walking on our food tour and he was actually the one that spotted us and rolled down his window to wave hello at us. Really nice guy and an excellent photographer too! Go ahead and book this tour without a guide, you will not be disappointed! The Amalfi coast is absolutely beautiful!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took the drive along the Amalfi Coast with 6 people in our party. The van was comfortable and the driver knowledgeable on the area. It was a beautiful day trip and one that we recommend to everyone staying along the coast!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So glad we splurged on the private tour. Our driver, Adriano, was punctual, friendly, and very accommodating. He offered to take our photo at several scenic locations and recommended a fantastic restaurant for lunch with a breath-taking view of the coast. Most importantly, he drove us safely on this very crowded road. We very much enjoyed our tour of the Amalfi Coast and would highly recommended it.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

BATTERSBY666
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a wonderful way for us both to see the wonderful views of the Amalfi coast and to experience the narrow, winding coast road in comfort and safety. We were picked up from our hotel and the day was just so relaxing. We stopped in Positano and Amalfi where we had lunch at Stella Maris which was wonderful and had time to wander around both of these lovely little towns. We decided not to bother with Ravello as were going to be staying there for two nights after our stay in Sorrento.
We both preferred Amalfi which had some wonderful shops and was very photogenic.
Anthonio, our driver, did some explaining but his English was just so-so and he needed to concentrate on the roads as the Italian drivers can be a bit crazy! How buses managed to get past each other on the bends and little narrow road is a miracle that is great to watch.
This is a beautiful way of seeing the coast rather than being squeezed in to a shared minibus or coach as it is more relaxed and open and you are able to amend the itinerary to suit yourself.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver and guide were really great. They provided a tour that suited our capabilities since we had some difficulty climbing stairs. Their flexibility and attention to our needs was wonderful. They did everything to make sure we had a full experience of the Amalfi coast. One added bonus was a boat tour from the Amalfi port to experience the coast from the water, I recommend that you add this even though it is extra, it was well worth it.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took a full-day private boat tour from Amalfi to Capri. All went as planned. Our captain, Ivan, was such a nice guy and accommodated our requests for amount of time on the island, sights to see by boat, etc. Capri was a bit crowded and too commercial for our taste, but it is beautiful nonetheless. The chair lift ride is well worth it...the most awesome views!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast and Capri Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding guide and driver. Only way to see crowded Amalfi Coast-forget the big bus tours this tour is worth the money.
Bill

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely the best way to view the Amalfi cost. Rosario was really accommodating and has a wealth of knowledge given that he has been doing this for fifteen years. He was a fantastic driver given the small tight corners and trucks and buses that you have to pass along the way. I don't know how everyone doesn't have more crashes. We were very fortunate with the weather as it was fantastic. So a great day

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Best trip ever! We were told our driver would have minimal English skills but our driver Savio's English was excellent. He was very professional and shared history of the region, pointed out specific scenic sites, stopped at scenic places to take pictures. Was kind enough to take pictures of us. Offered interesting details--such as the hotel where some celebrities were married. Liked our own time in Amalfi, Ravello, and Positano. But Savio pointed us in the right direction and gave us plenty of time. Definitely would recommend this tour. Worth every cent!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved the Amalfi Coast tour . It was amazing we like our guide I think her name was Anna Sophia she was very well informed and we also like our chauffeur he was a skilled driver . Throughly enjoyed our lunch and all the town she took us to. Would recommend highly

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a wonderful day. We were picked up at our accommodation by Johno our driver. He took us down the Amalfi coastline and stopped for photos and explained the region to us and also recommended a beautiful restaurant situated on the hillside overlooking Positano. He had excellent English skills, was polite and attentive. We highly recommend his services to anyone who wishes to take this excellent tour down the coast from Sorrento to see Amalfil, Positano and Ravello. An excellent day. Thanks Johno!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very good tour. Our driver and guide picked us up at our hotel. They explained what our tour included but asked us if there was anything special that we wanted to do. Not knowing the area the guide made some really good suggestions. What we were looking for is someone to basically drive us up this coast but in a more private setting. For the most part we were given ample time but wish we had spent more time in Amalfi itself. I highly recommend this tour if you want to escape the tour bus group for a more personal time.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour along the Amalfi Coast with Rosario was wonderful. The forecast was predicted to be 80 percent chance of rain with a soaking rain for most of the day with high winds reaching 40 miles an hour. We were so surprised when we reached Positano and Ravello and the sun actually came out. Although we had overcast nothing could have ruined the views that we had along the coast and in each area that we visited. Rosario was the perfect gentleman and a joy to be with. He took us to a beautiful restaurant in Postiano for lunch with window seats allowing us to take in the beautiful views.

Viator was great to work with and we will definitely arrange future tours through the Viator website.

We look forward to visiting Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast again and hope that we are lucky enough to have Rosario as our driver.

Thank you for this wonderful experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great way to spend a day and see the Amalfi coast. We drove around all of the cliffs and visited the great cities of Amalfi, Positano, and Ravello. If you have a couple of people it's definitely worth splitting the cost. After you do this tour, you'll wonder how people take busses on those narrow roads!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Best way to see the Amalfi Coast. Very helpful driver.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the private tour. Our tour host was Romulo and driver Enrico. Our host pointed out many points of interest as we rode along this amazing scenic coastline. We stopped at Positano, Amafli and Ravella. My wife has mobility problems and our hosts took that into consideration for enjoyable tour by all. Our tour host suggest a very nice restaurant in Amalfi for lunch. We had our tasty meal outside and enjoyed the music and watching the people.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely recommend, this is a fun tour as well as beautiful, plenty of photo opportunities, enough time in Ravello, Positano and Amalfi to walk around and explore and the restaurant that was chosen by our guide was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyable and unforgettable.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver Mr. Rosario was an excellent tour guide and driver! He took us through the Amalfi Coast in a very smooth and very professional way! I do highly recommend taking this tour!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour with Anna Sophia and our private driver was excellent. She was very sensitive to the needs of our little group, and flexible in the timing and stops of the tour. She was very knowledgeable, and friendly. Our driver was also excellent in navigating the difficult roads of the Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The driver/guide was a wonderful person and very good guide. We truly enjoyed the experience even though we have been through the Amalfi coast before.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

GREAT TOUR. OUR DRIVER ROSARIO ARRIVED EARLY AND WAS WAITING JUST OUTSIDE THE CRUISE PASSENGER TERMINAL. ROSARIO TOOK US TO SORRENTO, POSITANO, AMALFI AND RUVELLO. HE DROVE US PLACES, ESPECIALLY IN POSITANO AND AMALFI THE CRUISE SHIP BUSSES COULD NOT GO. WE ARRIVED AT ALL OUR DESTINATIONS LONG BEFORE THE CROWDS OF TOUR BUSSES SHOWED UP. HE MADE US GREAT LUNCH RESERVATIONS AT A RESTAURANT ON A HILLSIDE OVERLOOKING THE POSITANO COAST AT A WINDOW FRONT SEAT. WE SAW SO MUCH MORE THAN ON A REGULAR TOUR AND IT COST MY FAMILY OF FIVE, $200 LESS THAN WHAT THE CRUISE SHIP WANTED FOR THEIR TOUR WHICH WAS NOT EARLY AS GOOD S OURS WAS. THANK YOU ROSARIO FOR MAKING THIS TOUR DRIVE AND OUR TIME IN EACH TOWN SO ENJOYABLE.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message