Insider's Guide to Amman

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

In ancient times, the Roman town of Gerasa grew rich from iron ore as well as agricultural products which flourished in this comparatively lush temperate region. This wealth in turn endowed the town with architectural treasures: the unique oval ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time! i recommend this tour highly. Our driver Shadi was friendly, knowledgeable and always helpful. You don't always have to stick to the tour you can go off-course and that's a luxury you don't usually get with group tours. I really preferred the privacy as well. We always felt safe even when we ventured out on our own so don't hold back. The only thing to critique is the hotel in Amman (regency palace) its a little aged and had small issues with the bathrooms. other than that great =)

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Both of these sites were very interesting and very different. There is a lot of walking on the Jerash tour so one needs to be able-bodied. The site itself is vast.

Doing what: Private Tour: Jerash and Umm Qais Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! This reminded me of Pompeii, but in the middle of the dessert! great tour guide!

Doing what: Private Half-Day Jerash and Amman City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic tour! Everything went like clockwork thanks to our special driver, Shadi. He was all you could want in terms of service, helpfulness and very friendly manner. In addition he provided all the information you would normally expect from a tour guide. The full itinerary was a great way as the title says to see the best of Jordan. Highly recommended!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful experience as we had a limited time in Jordan and we certainly got to see as much as possible in the time we had. We had a great driver who spoke very good English, drove very well and balanced perfectly the correct amount of info, conversation and peace and quiet we wanted during our trip. The hotels were very good. Petra exceeded my expectations, it was amazing! We also got to do horse riding. Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea were also great. The food that was included was excellent and we had perfectly timed comfort stops. Jordan is a great country and don't be put off by the problems in Syria. It's the best time to visit at the moment. We were two women travelling together and felt comfortable and safe at all times. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Awesome tour in Jordan. A short 45-60 minute drive to get there from Amman. Great driver (Basel) that was able to educate us on the history of Jordan, politics, religion, and any thing else you wanted to know about Jordan and the surrounding countries. Our tour guide was great at Jerash as well (provided by the booking on Viator). A dream come true all around for a family vacation. ( Note - Try to get Jordanian Dinar prior to getting to the airport. The airport gives a horrible exchange rate to buy your Visas to get into the country)! (April 2014)

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Jerash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Had a fantastic time,great way as the title says to see the best of Jordan,Zaid travel were so organised,can't fault it as it exceeded my expectations for the "unknown",Viator organised my extra nights at Amman hotel,good food,great guide,fantastic holiday,hi lights Petra,Dead Sea and Jerash,recommend

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Had a fantastic time,great way as the title says to see the best of Jordan,Zaid travel were so organised,can't fault it as it exceeded my expectations for the "unknown",Viator organised my extra nights at Amman hotel,good food,great guide,fantastic holiday,hi lights Petra,Dead Sea and Jerash,recommend

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had an exceptional time on this tour. Our driver (Shady) was all you could want in terms of his service , hospitality and manner, in addition to providing all the information you would normally expect from a tour guide. We were expecting to be in a group but ended up having what amounted to a personal tour so the above was very important. The hotels were good (except the functionality and condition of the bathroom in the Amman hotel - Regency Palace). The meals provided, especially in Amman, were outstanding and the staff very polite and friendly. The tour successfully brought together the best sights to be seen in Jordan very well with just enough time at each site to take it all in and formulate an impression of the magnificence of what this country has to offer. Bearing in mind the relatively short time and distances which had to be covered the tour was also not exhausting. The only advice I would give to anyone about to take this tour is that the facilities at the dead sea resort are very basic (just a beach shared with locals and other tourists a long walk down and up and a badly maintained changing room with cold showers). That aside, all the other tours were amazing experiences and extra tours offered when time was available. If you get the chance the Baptism Site extra tour combined with the Dead Sea day is very well worth doing. Thanks for an experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The itinerary is an ideal Jordan sampler for those visiting the country for the first time. Stunning views of the beautiful country and we think the service and accomodation during the tour was as expected. We also would like to mention our driver Ahmad Ramahi for the safe, comfortable and polite treatment we received throughout our time in Jordan.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The Amman City part of this tour was not too great but Jerash made up for that. One of the better things to see in Jordan.

Doing what: Private Half-Day Jerash and Amman City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good value for money, friendly guides, got what was advertised, a pleasant experience overall.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I appreciated being picked up at the Sheraton by the tour guide in his car. He explained what we were seeing as we drove about 45 minutes to Jarash. I was a bit disappointed when he passed me off to a local "official guide" who took me through about half of the complex at a bit of a rush. Jarash is not very well developed for history buffs with only about 30% unearthed and very few signs or labels.

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Jerash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

If you are in Amman, make the time see Jerash...one of the best preserved roman cities. A guided (govt guides) visit takes 2 hrs, and its time well spent!

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Jerash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Wonderful day trip from Petra. Our driver arrived promptly at the hotel and drove us to Jerash (beautiful drive). He was very friendly and spoke great English. The guide was very knowledgable and provided great detail.

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Jerash

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message