In ancient times, the Roman town of Gerasa grew rich from iron ore as well as agricultural products which flourished in this comparatively lush temperate region. This wealth in turn endowed the town with architectural treasures: the unique oval ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing, absolutely amazing. Our guides for this trip, both in Israel and Jordan were wonderful and knowledgeable. The pickup in Jerusalem was easy. The directions for the border crossing were clear and easy. Once we arrived in Jordan, the trip was amazing. We had never heard of Jaresh, but were astonished by the vastness and quality of the Roman and Byzantine ruins there. Lunch was great and then we traveled to Amman to the Museum of Jordan. While small, the museum was loaded with great items and displays. From there, we had a long 4 hour drive to the Bedouin camp just outside Petra. Despite our late arrival, the hosts at the camp were friendly and greeted us with a great large meal. The sit is so beautiful, its is shocking. We slept great and then watch a nice sunrise from the top of the rocks behind the camp.
After breakfast, we went to Petra. What we had always thought was a small village with the Treasury as the focus surprised us with the vastness. Hundreds of tombs carved into the cliffs, theaters, homes, and churches made from the old tombs.

Our only regrets on this trip is that we did it in 2 days. This could easily have been a day for Jaresh, a day for Amman, and 3 or 4 more for Petra. We will go back for longer some day.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Best trip ever. Consider our tour guide Shadi as first class. If you want to see Jordan this is the tour for you.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Raymond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

From the moment we arrived, the tour was very well organized and planned for us. Shadi our driver and main tour guide was wonderful. All the guides at each location we went to were knowledgeable and helpful. Khaled-Al-Zawaideh in Wadi Rum Dream Camp drove us around the desert and gave us much information about the history and lives of the people. We would recommend this tour! This is the second trip we have taken using Viator and highly recommend...

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Claudia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide, Emad was very knowledgeable and personable. Under difficult weather conditions he made the trip very enjoyable. We loved staying at the Bedouin camp- good food, fire and company.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

alan b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up at the Queen Alia airport by our driver, and we were quite late. He zipped us through the purchase of visas and passport control and brought us to our hotel in downtown Amman. We opted for the tourist class and were not disappointed with cleanliness, food and free internet.
For the week we had another driver Shaedy. He was exceptional. Individual guides for Jerash, Petra and Wadi Rum. We ditched the guide in Petra as we wanted to go quickly to the Monastery and then do the rest slowly on the way back. We had 7 hours to explore and used it all up. We could not go the next day as Ms Obama was due to visit and it would be closed to the public. We had tea with a Bedouin family walking up the steps to the Monastery, saw many beautiful and amazing things.

The only negative and it so small is that i would have liked to do a bit more at Wadi Rum re the Lawrence of Arabia movie stuff, our guide did not speak enough English. The Pillars of Wisdom and the engravings were great though and so was the dune driving and climbing. Even the weather cooperated in the shoulder season early November.
Shirley C

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

l2k2 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I have taken 3 tours during my trip to Israel/Jordan and this is by far my favourite one. Petra is breathtaking ! Jerash is fantastic ! Our guide made the 2 days ! So much fun and learnt so much. Totally felt save the entire 2 days even with all the boarder crossings and check points! To me it was a trip I will never forget and I am so thankful for our guide Achmed! Thank you thank you !!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

David D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Aiwan was a very friendly tour guide. The only negative was the tour bus, that was old and very uncomfortable for such a long journey.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I just returned from this trip and had the most amazing time. Anyone who is concerned about Jordan's proximity to middle east conflict zones should rest at ease, Jordan is extremely safe and very peaceful. My driver was friendly and very knowledgeable. Tour guides were extremely informed of history and up to date. I would recommend hotels in Amman near Circle One and Circle Two.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Jeoffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was our first time in Jordan and highly recommend the 6 night Best of Jordan tour. The sites are extraordinary, especially Petra and Wadi Rum but the package as a whole was well organised, planned and delivered. Shady pronounced Shar-dee, our driver, was exceptional - a pure gentleman who went out of his way to please. Shady provided plenty of bottled water to keep us hydrated during the heat wave of early August, plenty of extra stops for photo's and always gave us time to explore the various sights unlike some of the other middle eastern tours we did which felt rushed. His knowledge was good and general advice around local customs and practice was great, and always delivered in a friendly manner. We always felt safe with Shady by our side. We also went to Israel, Turkey, Egypt and the UAE but none could beat Shardy and the Best of Jordan tour. Geoff McD.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Toney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide Ali was knowledgeable and friendly. Petra and Jerash exceeded expectations and the food was excellent. I would suggest staying in the tents as they were very comfortable.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Really great trip to Petra and also Jaresh and Amman. Bedouin camp obviously designed for tourists - basic but quite acceptable. Petra wonderful and far more extensive than we had realised. Guide reckoned we walked at least 9km in there! Guide excellent. July rather hot for the trip. Web page promised a smart phone app for the trip - but none materialised.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Nailesh P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

this is a great tour for seeing Jordan . Ask for the driver shadi if you can get him when booking as he is a great guy. they go to great length to look after you in this tour.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Cesar M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lots packed in two days, but extremely well organized and paced. Very rich in all that's covered: Even the border crossing has stimulating value to it from political reasons as you come back through the Palestine side and the experience is very interesting. Jerash is simply mind boggling, and Amman a wonderful way to navigate through this nation, and then Petra simply leaves you without words to express the awe that you feel when in front of this rock city. Great job on how this tour got put together -add to the experience the Bedouin Camp INCREDIBLE and our guide Majah was a woman with so much love for her Jordan that it showed in every one of her tales, narratives, explanations and signs of affection. She added a genuine human touch of national pride and sense of global bond to the experience. Excellent guide and full of great energy.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Yael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The trip was amazing and very safe! The guide helped us through the border crossing, and the tent experience was amazing! Highly recommend!

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Renato S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Fantastic and well organised tour. The Jordanian tour guide was very knowledgeable and passionate. A lot of driving but well worth the visit to Petra (amazing!), Jerash and an overnight stay in a Bedouin tent camp.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Maurizio G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Day 1 wasn't a success! Day 2 was better. Just to show up:
It must be clear to everybody who joins this trip that you spend a lot of time only driving through the country.

First at all: The Jordan tour guide wasn't that professional as we expected. During our drive from the border to Jaresh it took us two hours instead of one because they (tour guide, driver and tourist police man) missed the direction. After pointing to that circumstance she (tour guide) gave an answer which in our opinion we declare as a lame excuse: "It was because of the rain that we had to take another direction to Jaresh". By the way: There was only light rain falling. We guess it wasn't just for fun that after they missed the street they checked google maps for the right direction. Due to this circumstance we didn't past the Ajloun castle nor we couldn't admire the views of it and had also no time anymore to spent in Amman. We only visited the Citadel what we suggest can be taken out of the program because it's more or less 'the same' as you can see in Jaresh. After all we finally arrived at the Bedouin camp at 21:45 what was to late! We had dinner but there was no time anymore for a relaxed Bedouin dinner around the campfire! By the way: She also wasn't aware that three persons of the group booked the night at the hotel. So that had to be organized after it was told to her! So we wouldn't recommend this trip as it is set up at the moment because there are to many attractions and not enough time especially on the Day 1. Also we wouldn't do the trip again with the same tour guide.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Better than expected, as we saw a whole city of numerous ruins and buildings. The tour guide Zahir was very informative. The level of history here is immense

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Jerash

Jonquil L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This site was probably best-preserved Roman cities I've ever visited! Simply beautiful.

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Jerash

Aafia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I just returned from this trip and had the most amazing time. Anyone who is concerned about Jordan's proximity to middle east conflict zones should rest at ease, Jordan is extremely safe and very peaceful. My friend and I traveled together (2 women) from the US and UK. We had a private driver for the whole week, Shadi, who spoke excellent English and was helpful throughout the trip. The cost was inclusive of accommodation with breakfast and dinner at the hotels including days of arrival/departure, and included entrance fees to excursion sites, and local guides at Jerash, Madaba, Mount Nebo, Petra and Wadi Rum. Jordan has something for everyone, it is absolutely beautiful. The hotel in Amman was well appointed and there were plenty of food options. The hotel in Petra was on a ridge in Wadi Musa, the staff were friendly and there was a nice pool complex to relax in. This trip definitely packs in the highlights in 5 full days of excursions. If you enjoy hiking, you may consider adding an extra day in Petra to really explore more of the trails. If you enjoy being in the desert. you may also like to extend your trip with an overnight camping stop at Wadi Rum. On the whole, there was enough time at each of the sites to cover the main features. Jerash is on hill and can be quite windy so take a wind breaker and covered walking shoes (~3 hours). Mount Nebo is spectacular (also windy). The Dead sea resort we visited was fairly basic, but the resort area had adequate changing facilities, a pool and chairs if you want to make a day of it. At Petra, make sure to attend Petra by night, a candlelit experience not to be missed- comfortable closed walking shoes are essential. I would definitely recommend 2 full days in Petra as I love to take pictures and would want to explore more. It is breathtakingly beautiful. The people in Jordan are very welcoming and friendly, and unlike some places, as 2 women we were not hassled at any time. Highly recommended destination.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Waruni J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time! i recommend this tour highly. Our driver Shadi was friendly, knowledgeable and always helpful. You don't always have to stick to the tour you can go off-course and that's a luxury you don't usually get with group tours. I really preferred the privacy as well. We always felt safe even when we ventured out on our own so don't hold back. The only thing to critique is the hotel in Amman (regency palace) its a little aged and had small issues with the bathrooms. other than that great =)

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

dimca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Both of these sites were very interesting and very different. There is a lot of walking on the Jerash tour so one needs to be able-bodied. The site itself is vast.

Doing what: Private Tour: Jerash and Umm Qais Day Trip from Amman

Lorenext

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! This reminded me of Pompeii, but in the middle of the dessert! great tour guide!

Doing what: Private Half-Day Jerash and Amman City Sightseeing Tour

Christine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic tour! Everything went like clockwork thanks to our special driver, Shadi. He was all you could want in terms of service, helpfulness and very friendly manner. In addition he provided all the information you would normally expect from a tour guide. The full itinerary was a great way as the title says to see the best of Jordan. Highly recommended!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Blanca United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful experience as we had a limited time in Jordan and we certainly got to see as much as possible in the time we had. We had a great driver who spoke very good English, drove very well and balanced perfectly the correct amount of info, conversation and peace and quiet we wanted during our trip. The hotels were very good. Petra exceeded my expectations, it was amazing! We also got to do horse riding. Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea were also great. The food that was included was excellent and we had perfectly timed comfort stops. Jordan is a great country and don't be put off by the problems in Syria. It's the best time to visit at the moment. We were two women travelling together and felt comfortable and safe at all times. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

kusotate1972

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Awesome tour in Jordan. A short 45-60 minute drive to get there from Amman. Great driver (Basel) that was able to educate us on the history of Jordan, politics, religion, and any thing else you wanted to know about Jordan and the surrounding countries. Our tour guide was great at Jerash as well (provided by the booking on Viator). A dream come true all around for a family vacation. ( Note - Try to get Jordanian Dinar prior to getting to the airport. The airport gives a horrible exchange rate to buy your Visas to get into the country)! (April 2014)

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Jerash

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message