Petra is a highlight not just of Jordan but of the entire Middle East, a sublime and mysterious city that sits as an incomparable jewel of ancient architecture. Petra was once an important stop on a Roman trading route, but was only assimilated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip was amazing - Petra and Jerash were both incredible. The visit to Amman was rushed with only a visit to the Citadel, a historical site that provides several great views of the city. The Bedouin camp was also very nice and extremely comfortable. We were given plenty of time to explore Petra and it was the highlight of the trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Grant R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.
Early start in Tel Aviv to fly to Eilat.
Crossing into Jordan was fairly easy with the help of the guide who met us at Eilat airport.
2hr trip to Petra in 2x16 seater aircon vans. Young, vibrant and friendly group.
Fantastic trip around Petra. Spectacular. Nice lunch overlooking Jordan valley.
Arrived back in Tel Aviv around 10pm

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

FOP234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

a must tour if you are visiting Israel. not only was petra amazing but also jerash and amman. our tour guide Rami Kawar was the best. he explained every little detail about all the sites. everything from start of tour to finish went smooth.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Alessandra United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Completely excellent! Each part of the tour was well organised and prompt. Although there is much more to see in Jordan I feel like this was an excellent delivery of the two main attractions! The guides/driver were happy to cater the package to your needs and offered for me to stay in Petra for a longer period of time if I liked, but 4 hours was plenty! The vehicle used was modern and water was provided in the car which was well received. The dinner and breakfast buffets at each hotel were ample even though I only booked the 3 star hotels so I found the only extra expenses I had was buying the occasional drink whilst sightseeing. My main guide for the 3 days was called Basel, he was very knowledgable and able to answer all my questions, he was quick to assist in any way possible, and made me feel very comfortable even though I was travelling as a solo female. I felt very safe for my entire stay and would recommend this tour to all those considering it.

Doing what: 2-Night Jordan Private Tour from Amman: Petra and the Dead Sea

Joanne G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour! Our Jordan tour guide was very informative and helpful. Getting back across the border from Jordan to Israel took a long time and was a little stressful.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

sellmons

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Petra is incredible and definitely a must. There is an incredible amount to see and not enough time during the tour. In summary, we safely made it from Tel Aviv to Petra and back and had a great tour guide in Jordan. There are many options and I chose the included flight from Tel Aviv to Eliat. When you book this tour, you are simply given a flight time at the domestic Tel Aviv airport. They don't tell you the airline and just say to show your passport at the counter. This flight will be around 6:45am. The flight is about 40 minutes and you land in Eilat, Israel. Don't expect a guy to be holding a sign with your name when you arrive :. After about 10 minutes of waiting, a guy with a Petra sign comes over, doesn't introduce himself, doesn't ask who we are, and tells us to follow him. After a few quick words, he asks for the Israel/Jordan exit fee of 65USD. He has no change on hand and is far from formal about it. When then board a bus, which was actually a nice bus. They take us to the Jordan border. The process was fairly quick and you then walk across the border without the guide. The walk is about 100m. We then met another guy. He takes our passports. After 45 minutes or so, another guy collects the 60 Jordan visa fee. For about 2 hours, we waited at the Jordan border with flies buzzing around for them to complete this Visa process. We then boarded another bus with a new guide that takes us to Petra. We made one stop on the way. We finally got to Petra at 12:30pm 1:30pm Israel time. We had to be back to leave for lunch at 3:30pm. Reading previous reviews, I got my ticket from our guide and left the group immediately. I was able to make it to the monastery and beyond to the higher view points. I kept a quick pace and was able to see the majority of sites. However, I was fatigued on the way back and only had about 10 minutes left. I could have easily spent another 2-3 hours there. The tour will not see all the sites.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Siva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Me and my wife did this tour for one of our marriage anniversary and this is the best tour we have done so far, the Driver Shadi Abdulla, my new friend in Jordan was awesome he took utmost care of us and was very very careful while driving and also made sure we were comfortable all through the trip, he gave us many suggestions and helped ways to save money without compromising on luxury and safety .
I'm really happy with the tour and the people in the Jordan, I was initial skeptical about safety but Jordan was really a safe place to travel, I really liked the hospitality of the people there.
During our tour, the tour manager Carol called us to wish us on our anniversary and made sure we were OK all through the trip, also they upgraded us with better accommodation in Wadi Rum for our anniversary.
Jordan has got lot to see with great history and culture, I would definitely recommend the place and the tour.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Gillian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip is absolutely fantastic and highly recommended! Shadi was a wonderful guide and driver who was professional and reliable, as well as being a really nice guy! We were two young Australian women travelling together and he made us feel comfortable and safe at all times on the trip. We covered lots of ground and were so impressed by the parts of Jordan we saw. It is such a beautiful country with a fascinating history. We can't wait to return and explore more next time!

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Xin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really nice driver. Awesome place to visit.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Jon G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

really was too short of time although it was all the time we had. the guides were both very good knew the history and everything about the sites. great experience.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Elva D

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The major issue with the tour is the lack of time at the actual site, we would have preferred more free time to explore the area on our own. It was convenient that all details and transportation were taken care of by the guide and organization but there was a lot of wasted time, especially critical on a day trip. I would recommend at least two days for this trip.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

David T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

guide is good and was accompanied by travel police.
lunch at the local restaurant was delicious with wide array of local dishes.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Lucy Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Petra trip was one of my best tour so far . It was a long day , but full of pleasure. Be prepared for a long walk through the Canyon where you get very dusty. That doesn't matter , the trip is worth every penny . I can not forget it !

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing, absolutely amazing. Our guides for this trip, both in Israel and Jordan were wonderful and knowledgeable. The pickup in Jerusalem was easy. The directions for the border crossing were clear and easy. Once we arrived in Jordan, the trip was amazing. We had never heard of Jaresh, but were astonished by the vastness and quality of the Roman and Byzantine ruins there. Lunch was great and then we traveled to Amman to the Museum of Jordan. While small, the museum was loaded with great items and displays. From there, we had a long 4 hour drive to the Bedouin camp just outside Petra. Despite our late arrival, the hosts at the camp were friendly and greeted us with a great large meal. The sit is so beautiful, its is shocking. We slept great and then watch a nice sunrise from the top of the rocks behind the camp.
After breakfast, we went to Petra. What we had always thought was a small village with the Treasury as the focus surprised us with the vastness. Hundreds of tombs carved into the cliffs, theaters, homes, and churches made from the old tombs.

Our only regrets on this trip is that we did it in 2 days. This could easily have been a day for Jaresh, a day for Amman, and 3 or 4 more for Petra. We will go back for longer some day.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Best trip ever. Consider our tour guide Shadi as first class. If you want to see Jordan this is the tour for you.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

DAWN I G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was simply amazing! The driver/tour guide was so knowledgeable and very, very nice. I went on this trip alone, and not once did I feel uncomfortable. Everyone I have come in contact with since returning from my trip, I have told them that I want them to visit and have the same magnificent experience as I did. This is the company to do it with!! Shadi was so good at taking care of everything that I needed. When I come back I will be requesting him again. There are no words to explain how well I was treated and taken care of. I am beyond happy that I got Shadi, I don't think the trip could of been any better.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Grant G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was amazing. This was a private tour so the tour itself was very flexible in what we wanted to do and amendments to our plan. If you are a couple or a small group - we highly recommend the private tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Petra, Wadi Rum and Aqaba Private Tour from Amman

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day trip to Petra from Tel Aviv was fantastic! Petra is one of the seven wonders of the world. The tour was extremely well run and the guide and drivers were outstanding. It is a long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Raymond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

From the moment we arrived, the tour was very well organized and planned for us. Shadi our driver and main tour guide was wonderful. All the guides at each location we went to were knowledgeable and helpful. Khaled-Al-Zawaideh in Wadi Rum Dream Camp drove us around the desert and gave us much information about the history and lives of the people. We would recommend this tour! This is the second trip we have taken using Viator and highly recommend...

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Bruce H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome trip put together on very short notice a little over 24 hours, and even then they were flexible and able to make different arrangements for us. Great guides too!

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

James A C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

our driver was very good. We appreciated his flexibility in revising our schedule. The sights that we saw on our 3 night tour were outstanding.
Our tour guide in Petra was disappointing.
The hotel in Amman Warwick was a disappointment. Appreciate Zaid's flexibility in getting us into the Marriott for our 2nd night in Amman. Recommend that Zaid add a deluxe hotel option. The hotel in Petra was very good.
Appreciate Zaid's assistance in getting a Jordan visa at the Amman airport.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Sarah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!! I booked this tour months ago for myself, two sisters and my mum and all of it was better than I could have expected. It was so professional and organised from our arrival transfers to the tour guides, our super clean and luxurious accommodations and the friendly staff! Thanks

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Claudia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide, Emad was very knowledgeable and personable. Under difficult weather conditions he made the trip very enjoyable. We loved staying at the Bedouin camp- good food, fire and company.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really great tour. We spent the whole day in Petra and had a fantastic tour guide who told us a lot of history and information about local plants and was just an overall friendly guy to spend a day with. We declined the donkey ride at the beginning and the walk was not very far, so we felt like we made the right choice. We weren't able to pack a lunch, so had lunch at the Crowne Plaza restaurant in Petra not the cheapest option, but it was a buffet, so it was good value. We took an additional hike up one of the cliffs to see the view from above. It cost a bit extra, but was very much worth it.

The pick up and drop off was incredibly helpful and very flexible. We actually flew right into Amman, got picked up at the airport at 3am, drove straight to Petra and on the return, got dropped off at our hotel on the Dead Sea. The non-Amman pick up and drop off did cost extra, but not as much as hiring separate transport would have and the driver was fantastic driving so far at odd hours with us sleeping half the time.

Overall, with all the additional charges, it was not cheap, but considering this was the main highlight of our holiday and we had an incredible time there and everything went smoothly and easily, it was well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message