Petra is a highlight not just of Jordan but of the entire Middle East, a sublime and mysterious city that sits as an incomparable jewel of ancient architecture. Petra was once an important stop on a Roman trading route, but was only assimilated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lucy Romania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Petra trip was one of my best tour so far . It was a long day , but full of pleasure. Be prepared for a long walk through the Canyon where you get very dusty. That doesn't matter , the trip is worth every penny . I can not forget it !

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing, absolutely amazing. Our guides for this trip, both in Israel and Jordan were wonderful and knowledgeable. The pickup in Jerusalem was easy. The directions for the border crossing were clear and easy. Once we arrived in Jordan, the trip was amazing. We had never heard of Jaresh, but were astonished by the vastness and quality of the Roman and Byzantine ruins there. Lunch was great and then we traveled to Amman to the Museum of Jordan. While small, the museum was loaded with great items and displays. From there, we had a long 4 hour drive to the Bedouin camp just outside Petra. Despite our late arrival, the hosts at the camp were friendly and greeted us with a great large meal. The sit is so beautiful, its is shocking. We slept great and then watch a nice sunrise from the top of the rocks behind the camp.
After breakfast, we went to Petra. What we had always thought was a small village with the Treasury as the focus surprised us with the vastness. Hundreds of tombs carved into the cliffs, theaters, homes, and churches made from the old tombs.

Our only regrets on this trip is that we did it in 2 days. This could easily have been a day for Jaresh, a day for Amman, and 3 or 4 more for Petra. We will go back for longer some day.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Best trip ever. Consider our tour guide Shadi as first class. If you want to see Jordan this is the tour for you.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

DAWN I G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was simply amazing! The driver/tour guide was so knowledgeable and very, very nice. I went on this trip alone, and not once did I feel uncomfortable. Everyone I have come in contact with since returning from my trip, I have told them that I want them to visit and have the same magnificent experience as I did. This is the company to do it with!! Shadi was so good at taking care of everything that I needed. When I come back I will be requesting him again. There are no words to explain how well I was treated and taken care of. I am beyond happy that I got Shadi, I don't think the trip could of been any better.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Grant G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was amazing. This was a private tour so the tour itself was very flexible in what we wanted to do and amendments to our plan. If you are a couple or a small group - we highly recommend the private tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Petra, Wadi Rum and Aqaba Private Tour from Amman

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day trip to Petra from Tel Aviv was fantastic! Petra is one of the seven wonders of the world. The tour was extremely well run and the guide and drivers were outstanding. It is a long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Raymond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

From the moment we arrived, the tour was very well organized and planned for us. Shadi our driver and main tour guide was wonderful. All the guides at each location we went to were knowledgeable and helpful. Khaled-Al-Zawaideh in Wadi Rum Dream Camp drove us around the desert and gave us much information about the history and lives of the people. We would recommend this tour! This is the second trip we have taken using Viator and highly recommend...

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Bruce H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome trip put together on very short notice a little over 24 hours, and even then they were flexible and able to make different arrangements for us. Great guides too!

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

James A C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

our driver was very good. We appreciated his flexibility in revising our schedule. The sights that we saw on our 3 night tour were outstanding.
Our tour guide in Petra was disappointing.
The hotel in Amman Warwick was a disappointment. Appreciate Zaid's flexibility in getting us into the Marriott for our 2nd night in Amman. Recommend that Zaid add a deluxe hotel option. The hotel in Petra was very good.
Appreciate Zaid's assistance in getting a Jordan visa at the Amman airport.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Sarah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was amazing!! I booked this tour months ago for myself, two sisters and my mum and all of it was better than I could have expected. It was so professional and organised from our arrival transfers to the tour guides, our super clean and luxurious accommodations and the friendly staff! Thanks

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Claudia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide, Emad was very knowledgeable and personable. Under difficult weather conditions he made the trip very enjoyable. We loved staying at the Bedouin camp- good food, fire and company.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really great tour. We spent the whole day in Petra and had a fantastic tour guide who told us a lot of history and information about local plants and was just an overall friendly guy to spend a day with. We declined the donkey ride at the beginning and the walk was not very far, so we felt like we made the right choice. We weren't able to pack a lunch, so had lunch at the Crowne Plaza restaurant in Petra not the cheapest option, but it was a buffet, so it was good value. We took an additional hike up one of the cliffs to see the view from above. It cost a bit extra, but was very much worth it.

The pick up and drop off was incredibly helpful and very flexible. We actually flew right into Amman, got picked up at the airport at 3am, drove straight to Petra and on the return, got dropped off at our hotel on the Dead Sea. The non-Amman pick up and drop off did cost extra, but not as much as hiring separate transport would have and the driver was fantastic driving so far at odd hours with us sleeping half the time.

Overall, with all the additional charges, it was not cheap, but considering this was the main highlight of our holiday and we had an incredible time there and everything went smoothly and easily, it was well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

alan b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up at the Queen Alia airport by our driver, and we were quite late. He zipped us through the purchase of visas and passport control and brought us to our hotel in downtown Amman. We opted for the tourist class and were not disappointed with cleanliness, food and free internet.
For the week we had another driver Shaedy. He was exceptional. Individual guides for Jerash, Petra and Wadi Rum. We ditched the guide in Petra as we wanted to go quickly to the Monastery and then do the rest slowly on the way back. We had 7 hours to explore and used it all up. We could not go the next day as Ms Obama was due to visit and it would be closed to the public. We had tea with a Bedouin family walking up the steps to the Monastery, saw many beautiful and amazing things.

The only negative and it so small is that i would have liked to do a bit more at Wadi Rum re the Lawrence of Arabia movie stuff, our guide did not speak enough English. The Pillars of Wisdom and the engravings were great though and so was the dune driving and climbing. Even the weather cooperated in the shoulder season early November.
Shirley C

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience if you have only a couple of nights in Jordan. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 2-Night Jordan Private Tour from Amman: Petra and the Dead Sea

l2k2 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I have taken 3 tours during my trip to Israel/Jordan and this is by far my favourite one. Petra is breathtaking ! Jerash is fantastic ! Our guide made the 2 days ! So much fun and learnt so much. Totally felt save the entire 2 days even with all the boarder crossings and check points! To me it was a trip I will never forget and I am so thankful for our guide Achmed! Thank you thank you !!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Grace A

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

I love this trip for a short period! Petra: knowledgable tour guide for 2.5 hrs walking tour, amazing site! Wadi
Rum: spectacular desert wilderness and see the Bedouin locals where they live. Dead Sea: don't see any
thing special except it is called the Dead Sea! It is just like a beach and everyone has to pay a fee of 31.00 USD per day/per person. I did not bother to buy any of the dead sea products because I don't believed the products just like every brand is trying to sell its products! Nothing special at the Dead Sea.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Robert D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

This was my first time and Jordan and I was very excited about this package. Sadly, the trip was disappointing. My group selected the premium hotel option. We were expecting a five star hotel as promised in Amman but it was obvious upon arrival that the hotel, Regency Palace, had seen better days. The service was poor and bordering on rude. We arrived around 10pm and did not get our bags, even after calling down twice. Around 1am I went down and found the bags myself and brought them to the room. Additionally, while our guide was nice enough he only stopped at extremely over priced and touristy locations for meals and rest. I'm sure he was receiving some sort of commission for these stops. When we asked about a more local venues he acted confused and did not stop. Petra itself was lovely and the Moevenpick hotel was up to expectations so that was nice. Unfortunately there was no information or option of what to where to go other then the hotel after our tour. All in all if you want a tour where you go straight from the hotel to the attraction with no local flavor this is the tour for you. If you desire more than that and/or a more authentic experience choose another venue.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

David D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Aiwan was a very friendly tour guide. The only negative was the tour bus, that was old and very uncomfortable for such a long journey.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I just returned from this trip and had the most amazing time. Anyone who is concerned about Jordan's proximity to middle east conflict zones should rest at ease, Jordan is extremely safe and very peaceful. My driver was friendly and very knowledgeable. Tour guides were extremely informed of history and up to date. I would recommend hotels in Amman near Circle One and Circle Two.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Jeoffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was our first time in Jordan and highly recommend the 6 night Best of Jordan tour. The sites are extraordinary, especially Petra and Wadi Rum but the package as a whole was well organised, planned and delivered. Shady pronounced Shar-dee, our driver, was exceptional - a pure gentleman who went out of his way to please. Shady provided plenty of bottled water to keep us hydrated during the heat wave of early August, plenty of extra stops for photo's and always gave us time to explore the various sights unlike some of the other middle eastern tours we did which felt rushed. His knowledge was good and general advice around local customs and practice was great, and always delivered in a friendly manner. We always felt safe with Shady by our side. We also went to Israel, Turkey, Egypt and the UAE but none could beat Shardy and the Best of Jordan tour. Geoff McD.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Richard M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My wife, daughter and I did a 2 day tour which if you ask you can do. Second day is on your own as is a hotel for that night and you return with the tour for that day.. The one day tour is a hard day leaving Tel Aviv at round 5:30am and returning late that same night. You could possibly do the trip on your own but the border crossing was all very smooth with our guide. All in all very good trip with all things going as planned. The one day tour gives you about 3 to4 hours in Petra which may be OK for some. .

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My very friendly driver picked me up at the hotel in Amman and drove the 3 hours to Wadi Musa/Petra. He organised my entry ticket and a guide and after I'd finished walking to Petra city and back, he was there to drive me back to Amman. All in all a very nice day where I didnt have to think about a thing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Erin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This past weekend my sister and I Canadian, early twenties decided to take this tour in Jordan. Before booking we were a little apprehensive to be travelling as two young women and had been warned about the safety of travelling in a country surrounded by countries that are experiencing conflict. If anyone is hesitant we can tell you, we had a fantastic time and at no point did we feel unsafe or at risk on our journey! Many people we met expressed how tourism is suffering in Jordan which is extremely unfortunate - a beautiful country with very welcoming people. Our guide Shadi was fantastic, he was very friendly and went out of his way to accommodate for our travel itinerary. We flew in late and he made sure that we could still get a meal at the hotel. As well, our flight home was in the evening on the last day so he adjusted our itinerary by taking us to the Dead Sea on the last day to give us more time and a more relaxed schedule - we really appreciated him thinking of this. All the guides we met throughout our trip in Petra and wadi rum spoke fantastic English and made sure we had an enjoyable time. Our guide Omar in Wadi Rum let us take the wheel on our desert excursion and showed us how locals like to drive through the sand dunes! Little things like that really made our experience in Jordan exceed expectations. There is quite a bit of driving on this tour, but if you want to see these three big attractions in a short time you have to be prepared for that. We would recommend this tour and really want to emphasize to anyone hesitant that as two young women travelling alone we felt completely comfortable and really appreciated having Shadi as our guide to show us around and ensure we were safe and sound throughout the entire tour. With a little more time we would definitely return to Jordan and keep exploring. Happy travels to those heading to this wonderful country!

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Kyra F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is fantastic and convenient if you are limited by time and would like to discover the capital city Amman, Petra and float in the Dead Sea.
I had a brilliant time. Shadi was my driver - he was kind, friendly and knowledgeable. He was a safe driver and the vehicle was maintained. Shadi chatted openly on a variety of topics and provided me with valuable insights into the Jordanian way of life.
I was impressed by the punctuality and professionalism of the company when replying to emails and meeting me at the airport.
If you are considering visiting Jordan - I highly recommend you do it!! The Jordanians are warm and welcoming people. I felt safe the entire time considering the bordering countries.

Doing what: 2-Night Jordan Private Tour from Amman: Petra and the Dead Sea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message