Petra: highlight not just of Jordan but of the entire Middle East; sublime and mysterious city; incomparable jewel of ancient architecture. Petra was once an important stop on a Roman trading route, but was only assimilated into the empire in 106 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time! i recommend this tour highly. Our driver Shadi was friendly, knowledgeable and always helpful. You don't always have to stick to the tour you can go off-course and that's a luxury you don't usually get with group tours. I really preferred the privacy as well. We always felt safe even when we ventured out on our own so don't hold back. The only thing to critique is the hotel in Amman (regency palace) its a little aged and had small issues with the bathrooms. other than that great =)

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Even with the situation in GAZA this trip was well received an very pleasent. Ramsey was very knowlegdable and well prepared

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

We had a good day but the organisation was very poor. We received no reminder or final details about the trip until we made contact with the organisers ourselves. We assumed we would be picked up from our accommodation but found out we had to make our own way to the airport.
It was not very clear in all the information that we needed 500 shekels in cash at the Jordanian border. Luckily we just about had enough. The taxi driver from the airport to the border was very grumpy and moaned continually about the organisation. At the end of the day when he picked us up to take us back to the airport his air-conditioning had stopped working and we almost expired!!
We were not happy with the guide. We sat in a minibus for an hour and a half before he spoke to us. He did not even give us his name. We were hoping to find out a bit about Jordan and the area we were travelling through but we were given no information at all. I would have expected some "warning" about ensuring hats were worn and that we had plenty of water for the long walk to the old city.
We were guided through the old city satisfactorily.
Only two of us were travelling back to the airport that evening.We had been given no information about the time of our flight back and the guide seemed very keen to get us back to the airport as soon as possible. We arrived at the airport in time for a 6.50 flight but our official flight was at 9.45. Luckily we were given the last 2 seats on the earlier flight or we would have had a very long wait at Eilat airport. Our preference, however would have been to spend more time in Jordan and do the tour of Aqaba, which was part of the itinery. Unless we asked a question on the return journey we were totally ignored by the guide who conversed with the driver and an extra Jordanian person who we acquired after the lunch stop.
We tried to make the most of our first trip to Jordan, but the organisation was poor and very frustrating.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver from Amman to Petra was awesome. Probably one of the nicest people we met during the entire trip. His name was Hassan and if you're there I highly recommend him. He's very knowledgable about everything Jordan. Amazing experience overall. DO IT!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip.long day. But worth it. Flight, pick up and border crossing went smooth. And actual tour was very good and informative.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day trip to Petra, amazing driver Jemal, and very informative guide on site too - definitely recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The expedition was great. There was not enough time in Petra. Three hours was not enough time. the guide on the other side left us in a bus for almost half an hour while he sorted out accommodation problems in the town which could have been spent in Petra itself. The transport people on horse and buggies were extraordinarily aggressive, unpleasant and even threatening when demanding more money than we agreed upon for the ride up and would not even take us to the entrance. This absolutely needs to be addressed.It left a very bitter taste after a wonderful expedition.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour!!! totally a "no miss" if you come to Jordan! the tour guide was excellent! take a hat becasue the sun can be very tough at noon!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The only negative on this tour were the so-called 5-star hotels (which weren't). To be fair when we complained the tour company did switch us to another hotel (The Executive Hotel) which was fine but this hotel did not have the total facilities of a 5-star as it did not serve any alcoholic beverages, etc. The only true 5-star hotels are hotels such as Hyatt, etc. The only Movenpick hotel to go to in Petra is the Movenpick Spa Hotel which is opposite the site. We stayed there and it was lovely. Other than that it went wonderfully well and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Our driver, Shabi, was very conscientious and looked after us well.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good opportunity to see many aspects of Jordan, though starting at Aqaba and including Jerash would make this even better, with less travel and additional sight to see.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Is awsome, incredible, the best tour. Transport and organization in the Jordanian area is not so good, transportation is old.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

It was good tour but a little disorganized

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I enjoyed the Petra "Passage" for 40 minutes walking.
That is so tall and beautiful water passage,
At the end of the passage,
I found The Treasures in breathing!
Miko

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had the driver Munir he was excellent!!! I would recommend paying the additional $ to have him met you before the visa entry since the line was so slow the first time and so long the 2nd time. He drove us to Petra which was perfect, he is the BEST driver in Jordan we had several to compare him to. I would also recommend you plan to ride a horse when you get to Petra NOT the horse buggie which is NOT included in the price but dress appropriately for a short horse back ride and have good hiking shoes. I was not really prepared. I would also suggest you go for the candle lite night that is held 3 nights a week from 8.30-10.30 where they light hundreds of candles to see Petra by night. I would also recommend 3 days to see the entire thing or 6 hours for the short version of it. We had the BEST guide who was a professional photographer his name was Adnan Al Farajat. He was INCREDIBLE! The best hotel is the lower Movenpick since there are 2 properties a lower and an upper. We wish we had more time to drive by ways of the dead sea which is a 4 hour drive through the resort area and the mountains and had possibly spent some time there we were just so short on time. We should have planned more time in Jordan since it is clean, safe, incredible. The Four Seasons in Amann was Perfect too! I'd like to go back and stay when we have more time!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great tour, excellent and cooperative driver, great and knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message