Petra: highlight not just of Jordan but of the entire Middle East; sublime and mysterious city; incomparable jewel of ancient architecture. Petra was once an important stop on a Roman trading route, but was only assimilated into the empire in 106 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 109 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver from Amman to Petra was awesome. Probably one of the nicest people we met during the entire trip. His name was Hassan and if you're there I highly recommend him. He's very knowledgable about everything Jordan. Amazing experience overall. DO IT!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip.long day. But worth it. Flight, pick up and border crossing went smooth. And actual tour was very good and informative.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The expedition was great. There was not enough time in Petra. Three hours was not enough time. the guide on the other side left us in a bus for almost half an hour while he sorted out accommodation problems in the town which could have been spent in Petra itself. The transport people on horse and buggies were extraordinarily aggressive, unpleasant and even threatening when demanding more money than we agreed upon for the ride up and would not even take us to the entrance. This absolutely needs to be addressed.It left a very bitter taste after a wonderful expedition.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour!!! totally a "no miss" if you come to Jordan! the tour guide was excellent! take a hat becasue the sun can be very tough at noon!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The only negative on this tour were the so-called 5-star hotels (which weren't). To be fair when we complained the tour company did switch us to another hotel (The Executive Hotel) which was fine but this hotel did not have the total facilities of a 5-star as it did not serve any alcoholic beverages, etc. The only true 5-star hotels are hotels such as Hyatt, etc. The only Movenpick hotel to go to in Petra is the Movenpick Spa Hotel which is opposite the site. We stayed there and it was lovely. Other than that it went wonderfully well and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Our driver, Shabi, was very conscientious and looked after us well.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good opportunity to see many aspects of Jordan, though starting at Aqaba and including Jerash would make this even better, with less travel and additional sight to see.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Is awsome, incredible, the best tour. Transport and organization in the Jordanian area is not so good, transportation is old.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

It was good tour but a little disorganized

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I enjoyed the Petra "Passage" for 40 minutes walking.
That is so tall and beautiful water passage,
At the end of the passage,
I found The Treasures in breathing!
Miko

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had the driver Munir he was excellent!!! I would recommend paying the additional $ to have him met you before the visa entry since the line was so slow the first time and so long the 2nd time. He drove us to Petra which was perfect, he is the BEST driver in Jordan we had several to compare him to. I would also recommend you plan to ride a horse when you get to Petra NOT the horse buggie which is NOT included in the price but dress appropriately for a short horse back ride and have good hiking shoes. I was not really prepared. I would also suggest you go for the candle lite night that is held 3 nights a week from 8.30-10.30 where they light hundreds of candles to see Petra by night. I would also recommend 3 days to see the entire thing or 6 hours for the short version of it. We had the BEST guide who was a professional photographer his name was Adnan Al Farajat. He was INCREDIBLE! The best hotel is the lower Movenpick since there are 2 properties a lower and an upper. We wish we had more time to drive by ways of the dead sea which is a 4 hour drive through the resort area and the mountains and had possibly spent some time there we were just so short on time. We should have planned more time in Jordan since it is clean, safe, incredible. The Four Seasons in Amann was Perfect too! I'd like to go back and stay when we have more time!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great tour, excellent and cooperative driver, great and knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed the trip but it made for a long day of travel, particularly since we had a 2 hour flight delay returning to Tel Aviv.

One issue that we experienced is that no one met us at either Tel Aviv airport or Eilat. Fortunately we were able to figure out which airline our tickets were booked on in Tel Aviv, and another tour company also taking passengers to Petra called the tour company to alert them that we needed an airport pickup.

-Gita

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic tour! Everything went like clockwork thanks to our special driver, Shadi. He was all you could want in terms of service, helpfulness and very friendly manner. In addition he provided all the information you would normally expect from a tour guide. The full itinerary was a great way as the title says to see the best of Jordan. Highly recommended!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful experience as we had a limited time in Jordan and we certainly got to see as much as possible in the time we had. We had a great driver who spoke very good English, drove very well and balanced perfectly the correct amount of info, conversation and peace and quiet we wanted during our trip. The hotels were very good. Petra exceeded my expectations, it was amazing! We also got to do horse riding. Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea were also great. The food that was included was excellent and we had perfectly timed comfort stops. Jordan is a great country and don't be put off by the problems in Syria. It's the best time to visit at the moment. We were two women travelling together and felt comfortable and safe at all times. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Easily a 3 - 3 1/2 hour drive from Amman. An awesome site to see and not miss. Again Basel (driver) was a great asset to have during the drive, our stay, and our education. Provided key knowledge of key sights, things to do, and helped us to get around in Jordan. The tour was awesome and worth the money. The entry into Petra is (50 JD per person), so the trip and the costs associated with hiring through Viator makes the trip instead of relying on public transportation. (April 2014) (* Beware of the taxi drivers)

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message