Insider's Guide to Amman

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Petra: highlight not just of Jordan but of the entire Middle East; sublime and mysterious city; incomparable jewel of ancient architecture. Petra was once an important stop on a Roman trading route, but was only assimilated into the empire in 106 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Oct 6th,2014. Flew from Tel Aviv at 6:30 in the morning and landed in Eilat where I was picked up to travel the 2 km to the border. The crossing into Jordan went smoothly. A bit of a wait for everybody else in the tour to get there. The tour was very good and the guide was as well. Had a lunch that was included and was good, but not great. After the day of touring made our way back to the border and crossed again, no problem. I flew back to Tel Aviv and was back at the hotel at 10:00 pm. A long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! The local guide was excellent, and very knowledgeable. A must when in Jordan!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! The local guide was excellent, and very knowledgeable. A must when in Jordan!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

Franky66
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. Everybody should have seen it. Unbelievable beautiful and huge. We spend almost 5 hours there, because we wanted to see all, even the biggest building "The Monastery" 800 steps up and back down. Unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a must-do if you visit Jordan! All 3 destinations were breathtaking in their own way. Be sure to pack good walking shoes and sunscreen. We had an amazing private driver who was super friendly, professional and accommodating to our needs too!

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I just returned from this trip and had the most amazing time. Anyone who is concerned about Jordan's proximity to middle east conflict zones should rest at ease, Jordan is extremely safe and very peaceful. My friend and I traveled together (2 women) from the US and UK. We had a private driver for the whole week, Shadi, who spoke excellent English and was helpful throughout the trip. The cost was inclusive of accommodation with breakfast and dinner at the hotels including days of arrival/departure, and included entrance fees to excursion sites, and local guides at Jerash, Madaba, Mount Nebo, Petra and Wadi Rum. Jordan has something for everyone, it is absolutely beautiful. The hotel in Amman was well appointed and there were plenty of food options. The hotel in Petra was on a ridge in Wadi Musa, the staff were friendly and there was a nice pool complex to relax in. This trip definitely packs in the highlights in 5 full days of excursions. If you enjoy hiking, you may consider adding an extra day in Petra to really explore more of the trails. If you enjoy being in the desert. you may also like to extend your trip with an overnight camping stop at Wadi Rum. On the whole, there was enough time at each of the sites to cover the main features. Jerash is on hill and can be quite windy so take a wind breaker and covered walking shoes (~3 hours). Mount Nebo is spectacular (also windy). The Dead sea resort we visited was fairly basic, but the resort area had adequate changing facilities, a pool and chairs if you want to make a day of it. At Petra, make sure to attend Petra by night, a candlelit experience not to be missed- comfortable closed walking shoes are essential. I would definitely recommend 2 full days in Petra as I love to take pictures and would want to explore more. It is breathtakingly beautiful. The people in Jordan are very welcoming and friendly, and unlike some places, as 2 women we were not hassled at any time. Highly recommended destination.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

nice day trip.
things to do better: 1) the voucher more clear, more details, flight company, plan....thanks 2) better place to have lunch, not very good. too touristic and average food quality
other things good....nice guy who guided us through Petra!

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Valerie P
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Worth doing but don't expect to see much.
I was expecting to see a lot more of the buildings on this site as it is in such a large area and took us a while to get to from Tel Aviv, but the guide spent so much time hanging about souvenir shops and "rest" breaks that we didn't get to see much at all!!! We had 25/30 mins precious time hanging around the Treasury when we could have moved on to some of the other buildings. Then we ended up in a jewellery shop in Aquaba when we could have stayed longer in Petra.
This tour needs to stick more to the reason people want to see this Heritage site as it is very expensive to end up seeing so little. The lunch was very nice though.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time! i recommend this tour highly. Our driver Shadi was friendly, knowledgeable and always helpful. You don't always have to stick to the tour you can go off-course and that's a luxury you don't usually get with group tours. I really preferred the privacy as well. We always felt safe even when we ventured out on our own so don't hold back. The only thing to critique is the hotel in Amman (regency palace) its a little aged and had small issues with the bathrooms. other than that great =)

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Even with the situation in GAZA this trip was well received an very pleasent. Ramsey was very knowlegdable and well prepared

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

To start we had a great guide/driver who picked us up from the air port and drove us around to take care of some business matters before heading to the hotel , Kempinski, with out any fuss, by the way what a great hotel.
The tour to Petra from the Dead Sea took about 3 hours by road with a couple of breaks on the way.
Once there be ready for a bit of walking and it can be hot and dusty but what a place and worth the time, about 4 hours. The guide once there is not your driver but a local guide, good but they really don't know much about the place and ditch you at the end to make your own way back which is pretty easy.
Look out for the guys who will take you back to the entrance once you finished by horse and cart, they should only charge $20 per couple, they try and charge each.
The return trip, another 3 hours by a different route, gave us the chance to see more of the country
Be ready to tip every one as part of the deal here but what a great place.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

We had a good day but the organisation was very poor. We received no reminder or final details about the trip until we made contact with the organisers ourselves. We assumed we would be picked up from our accommodation but found out we had to make our own way to the airport.
It was not very clear in all the information that we needed 500 shekels in cash at the Jordanian border. Luckily we just about had enough. The taxi driver from the airport to the border was very grumpy and moaned continually about the organisation. At the end of the day when he picked us up to take us back to the airport his air-conditioning had stopped working and we almost expired!!
We were not happy with the guide. We sat in a minibus for an hour and a half before he spoke to us. He did not even give us his name. We were hoping to find out a bit about Jordan and the area we were travelling through but we were given no information at all. I would have expected some "warning" about ensuring hats were worn and that we had plenty of water for the long walk to the old city.
We were guided through the old city satisfactorily.
Only two of us were travelling back to the airport that evening.We had been given no information about the time of our flight back and the guide seemed very keen to get us back to the airport as soon as possible. We arrived at the airport in time for a 6.50 flight but our official flight was at 9.45. Luckily we were given the last 2 seats on the earlier flight or we would have had a very long wait at Eilat airport. Our preference, however would have been to spend more time in Jordan and do the tour of Aqaba, which was part of the itinery. Unless we asked a question on the return journey we were totally ignored by the guide who conversed with the driver and an extra Jordanian person who we acquired after the lunch stop.
We tried to make the most of our first trip to Jordan, but the organisation was poor and very frustrating.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver from Amman to Petra was awesome. Probably one of the nicest people we met during the entire trip. His name was Hassan and if you're there I highly recommend him. He's very knowledgable about everything Jordan. Amazing experience overall. DO IT!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip.long day. But worth it. Flight, pick up and border crossing went smooth. And actual tour was very good and informative.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message