Insider's Guide to Amman

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Shuttling between archaeological sites, an inevitable component of any Jordan trip, may have you longing for those haunting, limitless expanses of desert you’ve glimpsed from car windows. If so, head south for Wadi Rum, which offers spectacular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a must-do if you visit Jordan! All 3 destinations were breathtaking in their own way. Be sure to pack good walking shoes and sunscreen. We had an amazing private driver who was super friendly, professional and accommodating to our needs too!

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I just returned from this trip and had the most amazing time. Anyone who is concerned about Jordan's proximity to middle east conflict zones should rest at ease, Jordan is extremely safe and very peaceful. My friend and I traveled together (2 women) from the US and UK. We had a private driver for the whole week, Shadi, who spoke excellent English and was helpful throughout the trip. The cost was inclusive of accommodation with breakfast and dinner at the hotels including days of arrival/departure, and included entrance fees to excursion sites, and local guides at Jerash, Madaba, Mount Nebo, Petra and Wadi Rum. Jordan has something for everyone, it is absolutely beautiful. The hotel in Amman was well appointed and there were plenty of food options. The hotel in Petra was on a ridge in Wadi Musa, the staff were friendly and there was a nice pool complex to relax in. This trip definitely packs in the highlights in 5 full days of excursions. If you enjoy hiking, you may consider adding an extra day in Petra to really explore more of the trails. If you enjoy being in the desert. you may also like to extend your trip with an overnight camping stop at Wadi Rum. On the whole, there was enough time at each of the sites to cover the main features. Jerash is on hill and can be quite windy so take a wind breaker and covered walking shoes (~3 hours). Mount Nebo is spectacular (also windy). The Dead sea resort we visited was fairly basic, but the resort area had adequate changing facilities, a pool and chairs if you want to make a day of it. At Petra, make sure to attend Petra by night, a candlelit experience not to be missed- comfortable closed walking shoes are essential. I would definitely recommend 2 full days in Petra as I love to take pictures and would want to explore more. It is breathtakingly beautiful. The people in Jordan are very welcoming and friendly, and unlike some places, as 2 women we were not hassled at any time. Highly recommended destination.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time! i recommend this tour highly. Our driver Shadi was friendly, knowledgeable and always helpful. You don't always have to stick to the tour you can go off-course and that's a luxury you don't usually get with group tours. I really preferred the privacy as well. We always felt safe even when we ventured out on our own so don't hold back. The only thing to critique is the hotel in Amman (regency palace) its a little aged and had small issues with the bathrooms. other than that great =)

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The only negative on this tour were the so-called 5-star hotels (which weren't). To be fair when we complained the tour company did switch us to another hotel (The Executive Hotel) which was fine but this hotel did not have the total facilities of a 5-star as it did not serve any alcoholic beverages, etc. The only true 5-star hotels are hotels such as Hyatt, etc. The only Movenpick hotel to go to in Petra is the Movenpick Spa Hotel which is opposite the site. We stayed there and it was lovely. Other than that it went wonderfully well and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Our driver, Shabi, was very conscientious and looked after us well.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good opportunity to see many aspects of Jordan, though starting at Aqaba and including Jerash would make this even better, with less travel and additional sight to see.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I enjoyed the Petra "Passage" for 40 minutes walking.
That is so tall and beautiful water passage,
At the end of the passage,
I found The Treasures in breathing!
Miko

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An amazing day away from Amman! Wadi Rum is so peaceful and relaxing, its the perfect getaway from the craziness of Amman. The camel ride was a perfect addition to the tour a true Bedouin experience.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Trip to Wadi Rum from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic tour! Everything went like clockwork thanks to our special driver, Shadi. He was all you could want in terms of service, helpfulness and very friendly manner. In addition he provided all the information you would normally expect from a tour guide. The full itinerary was a great way as the title says to see the best of Jordan. Highly recommended!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful experience as we had a limited time in Jordan and we certainly got to see as much as possible in the time we had. We had a great driver who spoke very good English, drove very well and balanced perfectly the correct amount of info, conversation and peace and quiet we wanted during our trip. The hotels were very good. Petra exceeded my expectations, it was amazing! We also got to do horse riding. Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea were also great. The food that was included was excellent and we had perfectly timed comfort stops. Jordan is a great country and don't be put off by the problems in Syria. It's the best time to visit at the moment. We were two women travelling together and felt comfortable and safe at all times. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour! I was traveling with a friend of mine. Being that we are two female twenty somethings - it was especially nice to have the added security with a private driver. We LOVED our driver Mahmoud (sp?)!! He had only been with the company a couple weeks but he was awesome. We only wish that he could have stayed with us for our entire trip. Unfortunately the main office called him back towards the end of our trip due to a scheduling issue with another driver. Things happen that are unforseen so we understood. However, for our own feeling of security - we would have liked to have Mahmoud with us the entire time. The tour company was very accomodating and even helped us manage changes to our booking last minute. We added a tour to the citadel and amphitheater in Amman and requested to stay the night in the dead sea on our last day. Mahmoud even took us to a local desert place off the beaten path in Amman. No tourists - just locals. It was awesome. We would recommend this tour again for sure!

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Had a fantastic time,great way as the title says to see the best of Jordan,Zaid travel were so organised,can't fault it as it exceeded my expectations for the "unknown",Viator organised my extra nights at Amman hotel,good food,great guide,fantastic holiday,hi lights Petra,Dead Sea and Jerash,recommend

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Had a fantastic time,great way as the title says to see the best of Jordan,Zaid travel were so organised,can't fault it as it exceeded my expectations for the "unknown",Viator organised my extra nights at Amman hotel,good food,great guide,fantastic holiday,hi lights Petra,Dead Sea and Jerash,recommend

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had an exceptional time on this tour. Our driver (Shady) was all you could want in terms of his service , hospitality and manner, in addition to providing all the information you would normally expect from a tour guide. We were expecting to be in a group but ended up having what amounted to a personal tour so the above was very important. The hotels were good (except the functionality and condition of the bathroom in the Amman hotel - Regency Palace). The meals provided, especially in Amman, were outstanding and the staff very polite and friendly. The tour successfully brought together the best sights to be seen in Jordan very well with just enough time at each site to take it all in and formulate an impression of the magnificence of what this country has to offer. Bearing in mind the relatively short time and distances which had to be covered the tour was also not exhausting. The only advice I would give to anyone about to take this tour is that the facilities at the dead sea resort are very basic (just a beach shared with locals and other tourists a long walk down and up and a badly maintained changing room with cold showers). That aside, all the other tours were amazing experiences and extra tours offered when time was available. If you get the chance the Baptism Site extra tour combined with the Dead Sea day is very well worth doing. Thanks for an experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Petra, Wadi Rum and Dead Sea are top tourist attractions. However, very disappointing in Jordan is the hotel star quotation system. Official 4 stars are not at all corresponding with international standards. Therefore, not enough value for money.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

This tour has a lot of potential, but the accommodations are terrible. Our driver/guide was fantastic. He spoke great English and was friendly, safe, and courteous. Knowing we got a late start due to a late arriving aircraft, he immediately offered some alternative sites that would cut down on the time in the car and maximize our sight-seeing. He even went above and beyond when we wanted to make an unscheduled stop and do some “local” shopping by taking us to his neighborhood to make sure we got the best deals. He was the only saving grace of this tour.

After reading some of the reviews on this site, I made sure to upgrade to the “4 star” hotels. I am not a hotel snob, traveling all around the world, and these are NOT 4 star hotels. Both Amman and Petra hotels were removed from the central city centers and made it feel like you were being held against your will instead of part of the great cities we were visiting. The rooms were dirty, barren, and cold. The bathrooms were dirty and gross. The “restaurants” were a joke, with bad food and not much of it. Even though the dinner was included, we decided to take a taxi and eat elsewhere since the hotel restaurant looked no better than the last hotel.

I would strongly recommend this company to hire a driver/guide, but you can do much better making the accommodation plans on your own.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message