Insider's Guide to Amman

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

This city of two million is graciously traditional, with steep and narrow side streets, small glasses of sweet mint tea, and flowing daytime fashions. Amman is also optimistically modern, with its skyscrapers, miniskirts, and some of the Middle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! The local guide was excellent, and very knowledgeable. A must when in Jordan!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! The local guide was excellent, and very knowledgeable. A must when in Jordan!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

Franky66
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. Everybody should have seen it. Unbelievable beautiful and huge. We spend almost 5 hours there, because we wanted to see all, even the biggest building "The Monastery" 800 steps up and back down. Unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

What a great way to see many of the city's landmarks in just half a day! Excellent lunch location for some authentic Arabic food too.

Doing what: Private Amman City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Arabic Mezze Lunch and Turkish Bath

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

driver showed up on time.the castles were wonderful to explore. however, the itinerary says 'admissions to the castles' under the 'inclusions' section, but the driver kept asking me to pay for the castle entrance ticket. According to the tour description the entrance to the castles were included. So why did the driver ask me to pay for the entrance tickets? Either the tour inclusions were wrong or the driver tried to make me pay. because of this, i'm rating this tour just a 3 stars. if not because of this, it would have been a 5.

Doing what: Private Tour: Desert Castle Tour of Eastern Jordan from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

To start we had a great guide/driver who picked us up from the air port and drove us around to take care of some business matters before heading to the hotel , Kempinski, with out any fuss, by the way what a great hotel.
The tour to Petra from the Dead Sea took about 3 hours by road with a couple of breaks on the way.
Once there be ready for a bit of walking and it can be hot and dusty but what a place and worth the time, about 4 hours. The guide once there is not your driver but a local guide, good but they really don't know much about the place and ditch you at the end to make your own way back which is pretty easy.
Look out for the guys who will take you back to the entrance once you finished by horse and cart, they should only charge $20 per couple, they try and charge each.
The return trip, another 3 hours by a different route, gave us the chance to see more of the country
Be ready to tip every one as part of the deal here but what a great place.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our driver from Amman to Petra was awesome. Probably one of the nicest people we met during the entire trip. His name was Hassan and if you're there I highly recommend him. He's very knowledgable about everything Jordan. Amazing experience overall. DO IT!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day trip to Petra, amazing driver Jemal, and very informative guide on site too - definitely recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Both of these sites were very interesting and very different. There is a lot of walking on the Jerash tour so one needs to be able-bodied. The site itself is vast.

Doing what: Private Tour: Jerash and Umm Qais Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience!! our driver, Ehsam, was great and took us many places for us to see. Jordanian people are very warm and welcoming. Remeber to take bathing suit and flip flops for the dead sea!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mount Nebo, Madaba and The Dead Sea Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour!!! totally a "no miss" if you come to Jordan! the tour guide was excellent! take a hat becasue the sun can be very tough at noon!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had the driver Munir he was excellent!!! I would recommend paying the additional $ to have him met you before the visa entry since the line was so slow the first time and so long the 2nd time. He drove us to Petra which was perfect, he is the BEST driver in Jordan we had several to compare him to. I would also recommend you plan to ride a horse when you get to Petra NOT the horse buggie which is NOT included in the price but dress appropriately for a short horse back ride and have good hiking shoes. I was not really prepared. I would also suggest you go for the candle lite night that is held 3 nights a week from 8.30-10.30 where they light hundreds of candles to see Petra by night. I would also recommend 3 days to see the entire thing or 6 hours for the short version of it. We had the BEST guide who was a professional photographer his name was Adnan Al Farajat. He was INCREDIBLE! The best hotel is the lower Movenpick since there are 2 properties a lower and an upper. We wish we had more time to drive by ways of the dead sea which is a 4 hour drive through the resort area and the mountains and had possibly spent some time there we were just so short on time. We should have planned more time in Jordan since it is clean, safe, incredible. The Four Seasons in Amann was Perfect too! I'd like to go back and stay when we have more time!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour! This reminded me of Pompeii, but in the middle of the dessert! great tour guide!

Doing what: Private Half-Day Jerash and Amman City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An amazing day away from Amman! Wadi Rum is so peaceful and relaxing, its the perfect getaway from the craziness of Amman. The camel ride was a perfect addition to the tour a true Bedouin experience.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Trip to Wadi Rum from Amman

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message