• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Amman

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

This city of two million is graciously traditional, with steep and narrow side streets, small glasses of sweet mint tea, and flowing daytime fashions. Amman is also optimistically modern, with its skyscrapers, miniskirts, and some of the Middle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An amazing day away from Amman! Wadi Rum is so peaceful and relaxing, its the perfect getaway from the craziness of Amman. The camel ride was a perfect addition to the tour a true Bedouin experience.

Doing what: Private Full Day Tour to Wadi Rum

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Interesting tour. My wife and I are pretty spontaneous and this seemed like a unique twist on a basic tour. We were picked up on time from our hotel and driven via private car around Amman. We found out that our guide was actually not a tour guide, but rather the brother of the owner of the car and simply doing him a favor by driving us around the city. It felt more like a friend showing us around his city. Not much structure or history provided but this was fine with us. The dinner was absolutely fantastic. I advise you to skip lunch because there is a ton of amazing food. We also asked to start the tour at 5pm instead of 6pm because we wanted to see some of the sights during daylight. The Citadel was closing when we arrived but we were able to talk our way in for some beautiful pictures. Most of the remainder of the tour was driving around the upscale areas of Amman. I do not recall seeing the Radhadan palace but I may have forgotten. If you are interested in a laid back "tour" of the city with some great food, this would be good for you.

Doing what: Private Amman City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Arabic Meza Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The driver was very friendly and I can't say enough about the dinner which was amazing! The only disappointment was the cost. If the dinner wasn't as good as it was I wouldn't reccomend this tour. Cab rides are cheap (3JD to the citadel) it was just too expensive.

Doing what: Private Amman City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Arabic Meza Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Highly recommend! A little more training on the crew, on some info.
Amazing intro to key places of interest.

Doing what: Private Amman City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Arabic Meza Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Way too expensive. Driver was nice but made stop on way to Petra and way back to Amman at a tourist trap that hounded me incessant antsy to buy things! And the driver ate meals each time while I sat there.
Tour guide in Petra was knowledgable but tour was so expensive I had no money left to tip him.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an absolute magical experience! For anyone whom thinks this is a bit much to complete in one day, don't think that! Its definitely worth the time spent. In addition ask if you could have Muneer as driver. He is amazing, shares details you need info on. He is very knowledgeable yet never is intruding and really reads his customers and their needs well. Thanks Muneer for an absolutely amazing time and the ease of the trip which you made possible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Private car to Baptism site

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Madaba and Mount Nebo

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A pretty good tour. Madaba and Mount Nebo were worth seeing but swimming in the dead sea was definitely the highlight - even though it was winter.

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Madaba, Mount Nebo and The Dead Sea

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The Amman City part of this tour was not too great but Jerash made up for that. One of the better things to see in Jordan.

Doing what: Private Half Day Jerash and Amman City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My driver picked us up promptly and we had a very comfortable ride from Amman to Petra. Our driver was very conversational and we learned a lot about the country and the region on the way there. On the way back, we were exhausted and fell asleep for part of the ride. We were handed off to a local guide at Petra and he was equally interesting.

I'm glad we made these arrangements. We had limited time and limited knowledge about this part of the world. I feel we had a great experience and would recommend it.

Thirty years ago, I would have been more adventurous and would have done this for less money. For two women (one middle aged, one senior) travelling alone, this was ideal.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

This was a very pleasant evening, in a lovely restaurant but considering we had just done the four day tour of Jordan...probably an overkill.....but we did see some of Amman which we went back to explore the next day.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggfcnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

Rababa
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Absolutely amazing! Couldn't recommend this trip enough. If you are planning to visit Petra from Amman in one day, then this is the most convenient way. Our driver (who was amazing) picked us up and headed for Petra. We stopped for breakfast/coffee on the way, then got to Petra where he helped us get tickets and a tour guide (included in the price). He then left us to our own devices for a few hours before we headed back. You'll be exhausted by the end!

Note: Bring money for tipping the tour guide and for drinks (water...etc. is readily available at the entrance). Wear comfortable shoes and bring a hat because it gets VERY sunny. On the way in, you are descending therefore walking is easier - the further you go, the harder your ascent back to the entrance will be!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour driver Muneer was great. He was very informative, punctual and always asked us what we wish to do and was flexible to accommodate our requests. Thanks Muneer for making our tour interesting, pleasant and safe. Shoukran my friend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip from Amman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our tour driver Muneer was great. He was very informative, punctual and always asked us what we wish to do and was flexible to accommodate our requests. Thanks Muneer for making our tour interesting, pleasant and safe. Shoukran my friend.

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Madaba, Mount Nebo and The Dead Sea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message