Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Albert Cuyp Market

Renowned as being Europe’s biggest outdoor market, the Albert Cuyp Market, named after the 17th-century painter of the same name, has existed since the late 19th century. With humble beginnings as a collection of street traders, the market was taken ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Low K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were picked up by our tour guide, Massimo from our hotel as promised. it was 4 hours of nice pace walking along the township of Amsterdam. Massimo enquired to see what we had done already to ensure no overlapping, which was very thoughtful. He took us along the canal areas of Jordan, explaining the key sites and always took any questions we had, walked to the museum area, saws he flower markets. The tour A took us through Chinatown, the red and blue light district. The tour also included an Amsterdam snack and tram ride. Whilst we chose not to use the tram ride, Massimo still gave us the ticket which we conveniently used at another time. If you are looking for a snap shot of Amsterdam, this is the tour to do, we were blessed with the great weather and a very good your guide, highly recommended !

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam City Walking Tour

william h

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This trip was not at all what we expected. There was so much of it that seem contrived. Some of the villages just appeared a little too phoney like some Disney concoction. And also there seemed to be a lot about it that was geared to marketing products i.e. selling cheese and diamonds etc. The whole trip seemed "touristy", fake and a marketing ploy.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

MAUREEN B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We could have bought this trip cheaper in Amsterdam, we fell asleep on the bus and got off when they went to the diamond factory, found our own way to the Rijksmuseum where there was a pond to paddle in or sit at with market stalls around.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Jean

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The country side tour was far better than the city trip. The trip to Voldenam ans boat ride to Marken through the picturesque settings, plus the recorded commentary made it very memorable. The Cheese factory visit was much more a marketing gimmick than any real information on cheese making, however, the shop was very well equipped. Overall, a thrilling country tour. The city tour was just average, and the most mysterious visit was to the diamond factory, where very sparse information was given, and we felt it was better avoided in this tour. How many people taking a bus tour are sudden,y going to whip out their shopping bags and buy diamonds ? Overall, the booking was smooth and trouble free, the agency easy to find, and the drivers and staff friendly.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Azrol S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

I found this tour really wonderful and I fully satisfied with it.
We went to all the said placeses and really enjoy the scenery and activity. The guy at Marken village and the Dutch girl at the Volendam cheese market are so funny and very friendly. Just need to make sure you are on time as the tour office are very particular on the time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Tania D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Fantastic and well worth it! Travelling alone to Amsterdam, this was a great way for me to get my bearings and first taste of this beautiful city. This tour helped me to later explore Amsterdam more indepth as it gave me an understanding of where certain things and places were. Other than the usual tourist attractions, I was able to find quaint little markets and other hidden gems. The tour guide was very informative and funny. The trip to the diamond factory was a great way to understand how the now famous diamond trade started in this part of the world. To top off the afternoon was a lovely canal cruise to see Amsterdam from its famous waterways. I fully recommend this tour to get you started on your exploration of Amsterdam, and to learn a few facts and history along the way.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Hsien Yaw C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

This was actually 2 trips in 1.

In the morning session, you'll start off touring around Amsterdam in a bus with maybe 30-40 other people. It did miss some of the interesting parts of Amsterdam like the Albert Cuyp market. Instead, we stopped for about 45 minutes at the Gassan diamond center, where some sales person tried very hard to sell some of diamonds to us, which frankly, didn't seem to cheap.

Then, you are off on your own for a 2 hour lunch and come back for the trip to Keukenhof Gardens. We only spent 2.5 hours in Keukenhof Gardens, which was basically not enough.

It would have been better if less time was spent in the diamond center but elsewhere, and also immediately after the City Tour, a quick lunch followed by Keukenhof Garden would be better.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip plus Amsterdam City Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

On time and excellent tour guides. Just need to give more info where is the cheapest place to do shopping. Should stop at the market where the tourist can experience the local shopping rather than at the diamond factory.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

LORRAINE H United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The tour guide was very good and clear speaking, however dissapointed did not see some of the places promised in the itinerary such as Albert Cuyp Market and the Skinny Bridge.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message