Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Canal Ring

The first image one conjures up when thinking of Amsterdam is its tranquil canals. Three rings of canals, lined by elaborately decorated merchants' residences and warehouses built in the 17th century, the Dutch "Golden Age", give the city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide. Personable, knowledgeable. Was very good time allotment for each segment and the box lunch on the canal tour was quite tasty and sufficient.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lovely cruise of the canal. Commentary as we travelled. Several beers and wines had! Food was great. No problems with children. Overall value for money! New Zealand visitors!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very effective way of visiting widely different parts of the city and at the same time seeing canal-side life. Useful information from the (presumably) recorded narrative about what you're passing although it sometimes got out of synch with the locations.
The best guide was from a young female pilot who gave an amusing alternative narrative and some excellent insights from the point of view of an Amsterdame. Have recommended it and will use it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The family loved this event and we would recommend this to everyone as a great way to start a visit to Amsterdam. You exchange your voucher for tickets at the Holland International Canal Crusies office (blue and white building right by the bus drop off area-opposite Central Station). I would suggest getting there about 20 minutes early as there were a number of cruises going on and some of the folks had long detailed questions about tours that slowed down the line to get your tickets. After you board you will be taken to a table and given a form to pick out the type of pizza and ice cream you want. The cruise begins and the all you can drink beverages start to flow as you see the sights from the canal. About half way into the tour the boat makes a short stop to pick up the pizzas-each person gets one pizza that was just the right size and should fill you up. After pizza they bring around small containers of Ben and Jerry's ice cream to finish off the night. The two ladies who looked after the passengers had perfect timing all night long and showed up just as you were ready for a refill, needed food or your table cleaned. A very enjoyable and relaxing evening for all in our party.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent time. The food was great, the sights were interesting and the commentary was good. Got a pretty good view of the city and the canals and how they worked. Forgot about the canal boathouses. Next time I want to stay in one of them instead of a hotel. Great time. My son wants to move to the Netherlands.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise Including Dinner and Onboard Commentary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

a must have in Amsterdam and allows you to see the city from a different perspective. Convenient as well as it allowed you to use the canal instead of so much walking which was a great advantage. Overall would defiantly recommend having this option.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This excursion was so much fun. It was a great way to see the city from the canals while relaxing in your seat. The pizzas were hot and the ice cream was frozen. Unlimited wine, beer, soda and water was also available and readily refilled without asking. Highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This canal and harbor cruise package is a great way to see the sights of Amsterdam in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Canal Cruise plus Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent Tour. Guide was very knowlegable and a very interesting person to spend the day with. Her social skills and English were exceptional. Time managment was excellent with the right amount of time at both museums and the lunch canal cruise. The two museums are very different but equally excellent. The pick up point was clearly designated. Throughly recommend this tour and special thanks to our guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Russ
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A fantastic way to see Amsterdam on Del Amstel and the six in our party recommend this tour.
Our guide and captain, Hans, took us where we wished to go and spent time in areas that interested us.
Hans also suggested some interesting canals.
The drinks and nibblies were included and made the tour extra special.
Hans' commentary and knowledge was excellent. Well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Canals Sightseeing Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour if you're looking for a good way to do a meal out. The pizza was delicious, wine kept coming, and individual ice creams to end. Great meal! The tour down the canal was very nice but didn't get much info on the sites since the staff was always serving drinks and dinner. Was a great time for something to do at night.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I were thrilled with the quality of the tour for the 2 museums. The guide was very knowledgeable, engaging and open to questions. With only 11 in our group, it was very appreciative. Of course the museums were crowded, but she did her best to manage the crowd, so we could see and experience as much as possible. A little disappointed in the canal tour. Length and coverage of the canals was great, but the ability to understand the recorded information was not good. Because we were provided lunch, we were designated specific spots and those were not outside. So disappointed we couldn't see and photograph better. Also too tight of seating.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

An excellent way to see the wonderful canal side buildings of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Well organized. Staff on the boat were efficient and friendly. They made sure to seat groups together. I was concerned about the boat being too full but there was plenty of space. Pizza orders were brought onto the boat at a stop on the canal and was excellent.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great and fun way to explore Amsterdam as the canal hop on hop off boat goes to or near all tourist destinations. However note the pick up times on the schedule are not correct. The canal boat can be early, late or not show up at all. I would still recommend having at least one day to explore the city by canal.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message