Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Red Light District

Amsterdam’s Red Light District (aka De Wallen) has been a familiar haunt for pleasure seekers since the 14th century. Though certainly not an area for everyone, the Red Light District has more to offer than just sex and liquor. For underneath its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

funny and very interesting! My hostel was in the red light district and the tour was at the end of my trip so i thought i wouldn't learn much but it was seriously worth going! Learnt alot and the tour guide was a natural and made us all laugh!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed this tour, as a pair of young women we wanted to explore the red light district but weren't so keen on going for a wander on our own so this was a perfect way to be able to see it all, but have the comfort and security of a well-informed guide! The cruise itself was also fabulous, a bit more up market than the other evening cruises run by the same company which we went on another night. Selection of cheese, meats and nuts as well as a bottle of red and white wine on the table and it wasn't overbooked so we got a table to ourself which was nice. Also an outside area for taking good photos. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent way to see the red light district and understand it's history and operations without having to engage in it personally. Our guide was knowledgeable and moved the tour on at a good pace.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

GREAT NIGHT! i took the red light district pub crawl an it was great very blurred memories. However when it says free drinks they mean shots poured into your mouth! very good night

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We did this tour just 2 hours after arriving into Amsterdam and thoroughly enjoyed it! We felt like it was totally worth the price (not high to begin with) because it gave us some insight and history of the Red Light District....things we wouldn't have known by just walking around the District on our own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The meeting place for the river boat was conveniently located. The tour departed on time and was most enjoyable. Our narrator/guide spoke very clearly and did a good job of taking us around the red light district. He was most informative and offered to answer any questions that we may have had.
Wonderful tour!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

James S
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I wish I remembered the name of the woman who gave our tour, she was awesome. She grew up in Amsterdam and was very knowledgable about the history and politics of the area. The tour itself started right on time and took about 2 hours to complete- we had a very large group so smaller groups may do quicker. I highly recommend this tour if you have any interest in knowing about the Red Light District at all.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wow what a night! Absolutely fantastic. Met a really great group of people. The guides were brilliant, friendly and really looked after their group. The pubs and clubs we visited were full of great people. Highly recommend anyone to do one of these tours if you are unsure of the area. My friend and I visited Amsterdam on a girly weekend and felt completely safe going around the pubs in the red light district.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed this walking tour because our guide was informative, gave a really good insight into how the red light district operates, the measures taken by the council to regulate it, how the girls conduct business and that it is not all about sex and prostitutes and that other people live there and just go about their daily lives. The building were lovely and historical. Our guide was great, and answered all our questions. The only possibly?? down side was that it was Kings day next day and it was so busy and crowded, we would liked to have stayed in the city longer and had a drink but our hotel was in the suburbs and the trams etc. were stopping early so we took a taxi back to the hotel and had a drink there instead. So missed the atmosphere and the buzz unfortunately. Would definitely recommend it. I am sure the King had a lovely birthday anyway

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A marvellous trip to view the old Dutch houses along the canals by night. We appreciated the interiors of the houses and house-boats and were enchanted by the bridges and historic buildings along the way. The walk through the Red Light District was certainly different! The guide was excellent and showed us some quiet, refined gardens within the area as well as the more lively spots! We enjoyed the wine and snacks offered and would recommend the whole package.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely great tour! Might be the best way to learn about the red light district in a safe environment and discover many interesting facts that we would never have known otherwise. Guide was professional and helpful, albeit 25 euros may be slightly steep for a 2hour walking tour. Recommended !

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an amazing tour. Well worth the time and money. I had been to Amsterdam previously and walked around the Red Light district (as tourist do) and This tour opened up my eyes to a whole new perspective. Our guide was amazing and absolutely made the tour that much more fun. I can not recommend this tour enough. It's for everyone, not offensive or overly sexualized, just informative. The visit to the Prostitution Information Center with the Information Session is so important to understand what the Red Light District meant and means now. 5 stars FOR SURE!!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide and his Michael Jackson glove made this tour great!
The wine was awesome, the snacks were good too!
We learned about the canals and the homes, even the drunken houses! And houseboats!
The walking tour through the Red Light District was different. Amusing, and informative! Apparently prostitutes in Amsterdam get better remuneration and benefits than pilots in Newfoundland!
This tour showed many different areas and aspect to the daytime bus tour.
We also purchased a hop on hop off canal bus tour.....Don't, just grab a 24 or 48 hour bus pass. Much cheaper and more convenient!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We are so glad we booked this tour. Our guide was very informative and entertaining. It was the perfect way to visit the Red Light District for the first time. Our last stop was meeting with the former prostitute at the prostitute museum. She was very likable and encouraged any and all questions. Would we do it again - probably not. Are we glad we did it this time - definitely.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wow what an eye opener and a great way to see the Red Light District and learn about the history. Very interesting.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message