Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Red Light District

Amsterdam’s Red Light District (aka De Wallen) has been a familiar haunt for pleasure seekers since the 14th century. Though certainly not an area for everyone, the Red Light District has more to offer than just sex and liquor. For underneath its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The canal tour no longer provides the 1/2 hour red light district walking tour so we stayed on the boat ride the full two hours which was actually better. Great wine, snacks and commentary. It was very romantic and one guy actually proposed to his girlfriend just as it turned dark and the lights were coming on. Make the cruise even more special. Would really suggest this tour. Very relaxing after a long day.

Doing what: Guided Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the best tours we have ever taken. Felt very comfortable and safe. Our tour guide was incredible and it was so interesting not only be in gin the red light district but understanding the history behind it, how it works, etc. it was me 51 yrs old, my daughter 21 yrs old and her best friend 22 yrs old. If you are really adventurous go to Casa Rosso! It was a blast and the tour company assisted in getting us tickets to that also. And women need not worry. The red light district has many woman and couples tourist. It's not just for men. We did not feel uncomfortable at all.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So glad we signed up for this tour. I thought it would look odd joining a bunch of fellow tourists as we walked around the Red Light District, but our guide was very protective of the group, and made sure no other undesirables joined in beware of pickpockets!. Very informative we wouldn't have known half of the stuff had we just decided to walk around by ourselves. The Museum of Prostitution was a great bonus too. Definitely Rated R, as our guide spoke off the cuff with topics intended for mature audiences. Would definitely recommend this tour if you're planning to visit this area!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you are interested in the red light district but a bit nervous about being there on your own we would definatly recoment this trip. We felt safe all the way and the guide was very good.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth taking this tour if you want some info or just a general tour of the red light district. Our tour guide was great he had an awesome sense of humour and made the experience of walking around a lot of fun. Great tour for a couple of hours.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This ended up being a candlelight canal and harbor cruise as we never did get off the boat to go see the Red Light District. However, my husband and I had a great time and would book this again if ever in Amsterdam. The larger groups were loaded first so they were in the back of the boat. Us and another couple got the two front booths all to ourselves so we could easily hear the captain and tour guide. They were both informative and funny and we learned a great deal about the history of the area. The meat/cheese/snack platter was quite nice and our wine glasses were never empty for very long. Seeing the sun set over the canals and the lights sparkle on the harbor was a highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Guided Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Steve, was very funny. He brought a real life to the tour with his bawdy commentary which initially surprised some of the older folk. They immediately understood the nature of the tour and started to laugh as well. It is the Red Light District after all. It was very crowded in the District but is was a Saturday night.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour, our guide Steve was fantastic, we learnt so much about the red light district.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The rating is due to guide Carlos who was informative and entertaining to the hilt! 2 hrs of going thru the alleys of Red Light District was amazing experience.!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The red light tour was great and our tour guide was funny.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is an excellent tour which I highly recommend. You will be taken to the heart of the Red Light district and get to hear all about it plus get to ask your questions. You will see the working girls in the windows. You will also be taken to a museum of prostitution. It's a fun and informative tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We did this walking your with Steve. He was fantastic very knowledgeable and entertaining. He also made you feel very safe. What he didn't know about red light district wasn't woth knowing.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Ive recently come back from Amsterdam and I have to say that the red light district cruise and walking tour was by far the best thing we done whilst we were there. Our tour guide and captain were the nicest guys, very friendly and made us giggle. There were two bottles of wine on our table one red and one white and a cheese/ham/nuts plateau which were very yummy. The views were amazing. So pretty at night. On the way back we asked if we were able to have another bottle of wine and they were happy to give to us free of charge. Such a lovely cruise and I would definitely recommend to anyone going to Amsterdam!

Doing what: Guided Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Definitely learnt alot about the Red Light District on this tour - a real eye opener - worth doing as it's safe, funny and informative.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Viator continues to deliver. We have now used your services in the US and Europe and have always been pleased. Our Red Light guide was knowledgeable and had a great personality. She shared her unique perspective on the world's oldest profession.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Red Light District walking tour was great! Learned a lot about that "industry" that was very interesting. Well worth the time - thanks Viator!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Steve was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour our group was kept in laughs and there was general cameraderie. The tour was an eye opener, if one can stomach the business of the Red Light District. Can tick it off as been there, done that.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Our lady tour guide was very well prepared and did a great job explaining various topics despite the fact that for a young woman many things had to be difficult to talk about. I am glad that we decided to visit the Red Light District by taking this well organized tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

funny and very interesting! My hostel was in the red light district and the tour was at the end of my trip so i thought i wouldn't learn much but it was seriously worth going! Learnt alot and the tour guide was a natural and made us all laugh!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed this tour, as a pair of young women we wanted to explore the red light district but weren't so keen on going for a wander on our own so this was a perfect way to be able to see it all, but have the comfort and security of a well-informed guide! The cruise itself was also fabulous, a bit more up market than the other evening cruises run by the same company which we went on another night. Selection of cheese, meats and nuts as well as a bottle of red and white wine on the table and it wasn't overbooked so we got a table to ourself which was nice. Also an outside area for taking good photos. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Guided Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent way to see the red light district and understand it's history and operations without having to engage in it personally. Our guide was knowledgeable and moved the tour on at a good pace.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We did this tour just 2 hours after arriving into Amsterdam and thoroughly enjoyed it! We felt like it was totally worth the price (not high to begin with) because it gave us some insight and history of the Red Light District....things we wouldn't have known by just walking around the District on our own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The meeting place for the river boat was conveniently located. The tour departed on time and was most enjoyable. Our narrator/guide spoke very clearly and did a good job of taking us around the red light district. He was most informative and offered to answer any questions that we may have had.
Wonderful tour!

Doing what: Guided Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

James S
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I wish I remembered the name of the woman who gave our tour, she was awesome. She grew up in Amsterdam and was very knowledgable about the history and politics of the area. The tour itself started right on time and took about 2 hours to complete- we had a very large group so smaller groups may do quicker. I highly recommend this tour if you have any interest in knowing about the Red Light District at all.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed this walking tour because our guide was informative, gave a really good insight into how the red light district operates, the measures taken by the council to regulate it, how the girls conduct business and that it is not all about sex and prostitutes and that other people live there and just go about their daily lives. The building were lovely and historical. Our guide was great, and answered all our questions. The only possibly?? down side was that it was Kings day next day and it was so busy and crowded, we would liked to have stayed in the city longer and had a drink but our hotel was in the suburbs and the trams etc. were stopping early so we took a taxi back to the hotel and had a drink there instead. So missed the atmosphere and the buzz unfortunately. Would definitely recommend it. I am sure the King had a lovely birthday anyway

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message