• USD ($)
  • English

Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Red Light District

Amsterdam’s Red Light District (aka De Wallen) has been a familiar haunt for pleasure seekers since the 14th century. Though certainly not an area for everyone, the Red Light District has more to offer than just sex and liquor. For underneath its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an amazing tour. Well worth the time and money. I had been to Amsterdam previously and walked around the Red Light district (as tourist do) and This tour opened up my eyes to a whole new perspective. Our guide was amazing and absolutely made the tour that much more fun. I can not recommend this tour enough. It's for everyone, not offensive or overly sexualized, just informative. The visit to the Prostitution Information Center with the Information Session is so important to understand what the Red Light District meant and means now. 5 stars FOR SURE!!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide and his Michael Jackson glove made this tour great!
The wine was awesome, the snacks were good too!
We learned about the canals and the homes, even the drunken houses! And houseboats!
The walking tour through the Red Light District was different. Amusing, and informative! Apparently prostitutes in Amsterdam get better remuneration and benefits than pilots in Newfoundland!
This tour showed many different areas and aspect to the daytime bus tour.
We also purchased a hop on hop off canal bus tour.....Don't, just grab a 24 or 48 hour bus pass. Much cheaper and more convenient!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We are so glad we booked this tour. Our guide was very informative and entertaining. It was the perfect way to visit the Red Light District for the first time. Our last stop was meeting with the former prostitute at the prostitute museum. She was very likable and encouraged any and all questions. Would we do it again - probably not. Are we glad we did it this time - definitely.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wow what an eye opener and a great way to see the Red Light District and learn about the history. Very interesting.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The tour was excellent and the guide was very good. The tour gave you a good insight into the Red Light District.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We met up with our guide for a very interesting tour around some of the streets we wouldn't have explored on our own. There was everything from the palace in Dam Square to the red light district, located strangely enough right next to where the port was. Our meanderings took us to Rembrandt’s house when he was at his most successful. We saw plenty of canals and found out that Singel, where our hotel room overlooked, was originally a moat and that all the canals are flushed every day by the use of dozens of locks. She told us stories behind the identification plaques on houses and the hidden churches from when Catholicism was outlawed. We both loved the hidden and very picturesque mews with its lovely houses and gardens, such a surprise in such a busy city. Our guide was excellent and really showed us a city we could never have found on our own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We arrived in Amsterdam on a Saturday afternoon, as first time visitors, and wandered the parks and streets for a few hours amidst all the crazy hustle and bustle, all the while dodging bikes, scooters, cars and trams! The next morning as we walked from our hotel to meet the tour - through streets thickly littered with empty bottles, rubbish and people who hadn't made it home from the night before - none of us was really sure what we thought of the city. By the end of the walking tour, however, we had all fallen in love with Amsterdam and just kept enjoying it more and more in the following days! Our guide was great - very informative, interesting, interested and witty! He really helped us to appreciate the diversity the city offers and to understand the history and nature of the place, including but not only the red light district and coffee shops. By the end of the tour we felt as though we knew so much more about Amsterdam and we were left really well equipped to make the very most of our days there. The coffee stop was relaxing and well chosen, the sites we visited really varied, and the tips given along the way of worthwhile places to spend some time - including several tucked away from the touristy areas - were very welcome. Thanks very, very much!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour! I would definitely recommend it. I was traveling alone and it was a great way to see the Red Light District without going on my own. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and answered any questions we had.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The Tour started on time. The tour guide was informative and gave a lot of commentary on the walk to and through the Red Light District... Definately got a good walk out of it!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I booked the Red Light District Pub Crawl for a group of 6 friends while we were in Amsterdam celebrating a friends 40th birthday. We were all new to the city and the pub crawl was a fab safe and friendly way of meeting new people and enjoying the pubs and clubs of the red light district :) 10/10

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a fantastic tour! I was traveling alone and wanted to experience the red light district, this was the perfect option for me. The discussion at the Prostitution Information Center was very informative and gave me a new perspective on the legality of prostitution. I recommend this tour to anyone who is curious!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was very entertaining and our guide was knowledgeable. I enjoyed this tour a lot. Our guide broke down how the system worked and showed us the different sections to the red light district and gave us a good history lesson on the area in general. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an excellent tour. Guide gave us a very educational walk around the main part of the city. Even covered the red light district and took us to a nice cafe for coffee (not a coffee shop). He gave us a lot of good advice for our stay in Amsterdam. At the conclusion of our tour we were at Anne Franks house and our pre purchased tickets were for much later in the day, but our guides good advice was to ask now and they may let us in. Which was the case. Saved us coming back later.
This walking tour is a must do.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Slightly overpriced, but the guide is excellent, worth every penny! Must do when in Amsterdam! Dont forget to see the show in the Red Light District in the building with the elephant, a lot of fun!!! Adults over 21 ONLY!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The guide was great and really knowledgeable of the city. Since the tour is in the morning, when you walk through the Red Light District it is not as busy as it would be at night so the shock factor for naive people like me was less. This is a really great way to see most of the city and its main attractions.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message