Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Red Light District

Amsterdam’s Red Light District (aka De Wallen) has been a familiar haunt for pleasure seekers since the 14th century. Though certainly not an area for everyone, the Red Light District has more to offer than just sex and liquor. For underneath its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The rating is due to guide Carlos who was informative and entertaining to the hilt! 2 hrs of going thru the alleys of Red Light District was amazing experience.!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The red light tour was great and our tour guide was funny.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is an excellent tour which I highly recommend. You will be taken to the heart of the Red Light district and get to hear all about it plus get to ask your questions. You will see the working girls in the windows. You will also be taken to a museum of prostitution. It's a fun and informative tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We did this walking your with Steve. He was fantastic very knowledgeable and entertaining. He also made you feel very safe. What he didn't know about red light district wasn't woth knowing.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Ive recently come back from Amsterdam and I have to say that the red light district cruise and walking tour was by far the best thing we done whilst we were there. Our tour guide and captain were the nicest guys, very friendly and made us giggle. There were two bottles of wine on our table one red and one white and a cheese/ham/nuts plateau which were very yummy. The views were amazing. So pretty at night. On the way back we asked if we were able to have another bottle of wine and they were happy to give to us free of charge. Such a lovely cruise and I would definitely recommend to anyone going to Amsterdam!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Definitely learnt alot about the Red Light District on this tour - a real eye opener - worth doing as it's safe, funny and informative.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Viator continues to deliver. We have now used your services in the US and Europe and have always been pleased. Our Red Light guide was knowledgeable and had a great personality. She shared her unique perspective on the world's oldest profession.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Red Light District walking tour was great! Learned a lot about that "industry" that was very interesting. Well worth the time - thanks Viator!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Steve was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour our group was kept in laughs and there was general cameraderie. The tour was an eye opener, if one can stomach the business of the Red Light District. Can tick it off as been there, done that.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Our lady tour guide was very well prepared and did a great job explaining various topics despite the fact that for a young woman many things had to be difficult to talk about. I am glad that we decided to visit the Red Light District by taking this well organized tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

funny and very interesting! My hostel was in the red light district and the tour was at the end of my trip so i thought i wouldn't learn much but it was seriously worth going! Learnt alot and the tour guide was a natural and made us all laugh!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed this tour, as a pair of young women we wanted to explore the red light district but weren't so keen on going for a wander on our own so this was a perfect way to be able to see it all, but have the comfort and security of a well-informed guide! The cruise itself was also fabulous, a bit more up market than the other evening cruises run by the same company which we went on another night. Selection of cheese, meats and nuts as well as a bottle of red and white wine on the table and it wasn't overbooked so we got a table to ourself which was nice. Also an outside area for taking good photos. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent way to see the red light district and understand it's history and operations without having to engage in it personally. Our guide was knowledgeable and moved the tour on at a good pace.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We did this tour just 2 hours after arriving into Amsterdam and thoroughly enjoyed it! We felt like it was totally worth the price (not high to begin with) because it gave us some insight and history of the Red Light District....things we wouldn't have known by just walking around the District on our own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The meeting place for the river boat was conveniently located. The tour departed on time and was most enjoyable. Our narrator/guide spoke very clearly and did a good job of taking us around the red light district. He was most informative and offered to answer any questions that we may have had.
Wonderful tour!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

James S
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I wish I remembered the name of the woman who gave our tour, she was awesome. She grew up in Amsterdam and was very knowledgable about the history and politics of the area. The tour itself started right on time and took about 2 hours to complete- we had a very large group so smaller groups may do quicker. I highly recommend this tour if you have any interest in knowing about the Red Light District at all.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed this walking tour because our guide was informative, gave a really good insight into how the red light district operates, the measures taken by the council to regulate it, how the girls conduct business and that it is not all about sex and prostitutes and that other people live there and just go about their daily lives. The building were lovely and historical. Our guide was great, and answered all our questions. The only possibly?? down side was that it was Kings day next day and it was so busy and crowded, we would liked to have stayed in the city longer and had a drink but our hotel was in the suburbs and the trams etc. were stopping early so we took a taxi back to the hotel and had a drink there instead. So missed the atmosphere and the buzz unfortunately. Would definitely recommend it. I am sure the King had a lovely birthday anyway

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A marvellous trip to view the old Dutch houses along the canals by night. We appreciated the interiors of the houses and house-boats and were enchanted by the bridges and historic buildings along the way. The walk through the Red Light District was certainly different! The guide was excellent and showed us some quiet, refined gardens within the area as well as the more lively spots! We enjoyed the wine and snacks offered and would recommend the whole package.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely great tour! Might be the best way to learn about the red light district in a safe environment and discover many interesting facts that we would never have known otherwise. Guide was professional and helpful, albeit 25 euros may be slightly steep for a 2hour walking tour. Recommended !

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an amazing tour. Well worth the time and money. I had been to Amsterdam previously and walked around the Red Light district (as tourist do) and This tour opened up my eyes to a whole new perspective. Our guide was amazing and absolutely made the tour that much more fun. I can not recommend this tour enough. It's for everyone, not offensive or overly sexualized, just informative. The visit to the Prostitution Information Center with the Information Session is so important to understand what the Red Light District meant and means now. 5 stars FOR SURE!!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide and his Michael Jackson glove made this tour great!
The wine was awesome, the snacks were good too!
We learned about the canals and the homes, even the drunken houses! And houseboats!
The walking tour through the Red Light District was different. Amusing, and informative! Apparently prostitutes in Amsterdam get better remuneration and benefits than pilots in Newfoundland!
This tour showed many different areas and aspect to the daytime bus tour.
We also purchased a hop on hop off canal bus tour.....Don't, just grab a 24 or 48 hour bus pass. Much cheaper and more convenient!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Cruise and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent tour. We were only in Amsterdam for two days and this tour allowed us to see and visit most of the sites, including the Anne Frank House and the Red Light District.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We are so glad we booked this tour. Our guide was very informative and entertaining. It was the perfect way to visit the Red Light District for the first time. Our last stop was meeting with the former prostitute at the prostitute museum. She was very likable and encouraged any and all questions. Would we do it again - probably not. Are we glad we did it this time - definitely.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Wow what an eye opener and a great way to see the Red Light District and learn about the history. Very interesting.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The tour was excellent and the guide was very good. The tour gave you a good insight into the Red Light District.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message