Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Red Light District

Amsterdam’s Red Light District (aka De Wallen) has been a familiar haunt for pleasure seekers since the 14th century. Though certainly not an area for everyone, the Red Light District has more to offer than just sex and liquor. For underneath its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 141 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

amypatrick24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was such an eye-opening experience and SO MUCH FUN! Martijn is the most enthusiastic tour guide ever and all-around nice guy. I don't know that we would have ventured into the heart of the Red Light District on our own at night but he made us feel like invited guests. His knowledge of the people, the policies, and the area's history makes anyone understand how this famouse part of town fits into Amsterdam's culture. Great value!

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Judee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Shontell was so fun! She made the red light district feel safe and she was so informative!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

libs627

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an incredible tour to kick off our first evening in Amsterdam. Our guide, Martijn, was both interesting and entertaining which made for a fun night in the famous Red Light District. Perfect guide for the tour!

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

bubbles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a fantastic guide by the name of Chantelle. She had excellent knowledge of the Red Light area, made the tour very entertaining, would definitely recommend,

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Leonell M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

First off the tour guide Steve was THE BEST! He had the group close and made sure that we understood how important it was to stay together. I was a single woman on this tour and I felt very safe. Steve gave the group an education of a life time. His since of humor was blended with well informed information about the Red Light DIstrict. It was a refreshing take on the life of the sex worker and the world that they work in. The tour inside the museum was also a very important piece of this tour. A MUST SEE!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. Martin was very knowledgeable and kept the group interested even managed to expertly shush a particularly noisy member of the tour group. Great way to explore the red light district. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Hope S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was really good. My friend and I went and were a little hesitant to go because we thought we could really just walk the red light district ourselves. This tour offered so much more. We were able to learn about the different parts of the red light district and the history of it. Very informative.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Jesse A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Only way to get the most out of a walk through the historic red light district! Our guide spoke English very well and knew the intimate history of the area. Our guide was also very engaging and fun!

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Matea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The most exciting tour with a lot of information, not only about Red Light district! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Kunal B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

While it sounds cheesy to take a walking tour of the red light district, it really is a lot fun, especially when you get a great tour guide. This tour company was excellent.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Dave Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Not for the prudish but highly recommended, we had a terrific guide who told it as it is and was. If you always wondered about the red light district do this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Gakbu Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide Steve was very friendly and knowledgeable. Would certainly recommend. He took good care of his group. Interesting Red Light District tour. The tour lasted slightly more than 2 hours.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

DEBBIE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tour guide was excellent, best way to see the red light district.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Bern

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful tour by Linda V. We really enjoyed hearing about the history of the Red Light District and Old Town Amsterdam. Linda was very open and honest about the happenings in this wonderfully unique city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Old Town and Red Light District Walking Tour with Optional Dutch Dinner

Karen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour guide very informative and looked after us well. Great tour gave us a massive insight and information into
the red light district!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Flames9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Was a great tour, especially due to our very entertaining guide Steven. It did take 2 hours and was well worth it. Learned a great deal about the Amsterdam red light area. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Leanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was such an interesting tour! I didn't realize how big the Red Light District actually is. Our guide was hilarious and said some things that made me a little uncomfortable but that was all part of the fun.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Kelty_1953

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The canal tour no longer provides the 1/2 hour red light district walking tour so we stayed on the boat ride the full two hours which was actually better. Great wine, snacks and commentary. It was very romantic and one guy actually proposed to his girlfriend just as it turned dark and the lights were coming on. Make the cruise even more special. Would really suggest this tour. Very relaxing after a long day.

Doing what: Guided Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Laura I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the best tours we have ever taken. Felt very comfortable and safe. Our tour guide was incredible and it was so interesting not only be in gin the red light district but understanding the history behind it, how it works, etc. it was me 51 yrs old, my daughter 21 yrs old and her best friend 22 yrs old. If you are really adventurous go to Casa Rosso! It was a blast and the tour company assisted in getting us tickets to that also. And women need not worry. The red light district has many woman and couples tourist. It's not just for men. We did not feel uncomfortable at all.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Marje

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So glad we signed up for this tour. I thought it would look odd joining a bunch of fellow tourists as we walked around the Red Light District, but our guide was very protective of the group, and made sure no other undesirables joined in beware of pickpockets!. Very informative we wouldn't have known half of the stuff had we just decided to walk around by ourselves. The Museum of Prostitution was a great bonus too. Definitely Rated R, as our guide spoke off the cuff with topics intended for mature audiences. Would definitely recommend this tour if you're planning to visit this area!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Nicole Boyle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you are interested in the red light district but a bit nervous about being there on your own we would definatly recoment this trip. We felt safe all the way and the guide was very good.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

bhclarke Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth taking this tour if you want some info or just a general tour of the red light district. Our tour guide was great he had an awesome sense of humour and made the experience of walking around a lot of fun. Great tour for a couple of hours.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Theresa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This ended up being a candlelight canal and harbor cruise as we never did get off the boat to go see the Red Light District. However, my husband and I had a great time and would book this again if ever in Amsterdam. The larger groups were loaded first so they were in the back of the boat. Us and another couple got the two front booths all to ourselves so we could easily hear the captain and tour guide. They were both informative and funny and we learned a great deal about the history of the area. The meat/cheese/snack platter was quite nice and our wine glasses were never empty for very long. Seeing the sun set over the canals and the lights sparkle on the harbor was a highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Guided Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

BobPez USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Steve, was very funny. He brought a real life to the tour with his bawdy commentary which initially surprised some of the older folk. They immediately understood the nature of the tour and started to laugh as well. It is the Red Light District after all. It was very crowded in the District but is was a Saturday night.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Shirley Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour, our guide Steve was fantastic, we learnt so much about the red light district.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message