Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)

It is one of the 20th century's most compelling stories: a young Jewish girl forced into hiding with her family and their friends to escape deportation by the Nazis. The house Otto Frank used as a hideaway for his family kept them safe until close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

SAB
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We booked this tour whilst we was at home Australia and found it a great way to get to know Amsterdam The groups are small in numbers so it is easy to keep together and hear what the guid tells you whilst we saw where the main areas could be found across Amsterdam. We started with the old section of canals, to Anne Frank and finished at the red light district. We wasn't fans of the 'sit up and beg style bike' but they are all like that with no gears, but its flat anyway. Take rain coat with you as the weather can change. Worth booking and minimum fitness level is required. You do need to be able to ride a bike.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This is my 2nd Amsterdam Tour and I would recommend it. The Canal Cruise was a great way to end our day and relax. We chose a Wednesday thinking it would be less crowded - wrong - crazy tourism but oh so worth it! Favorite stop - Anne Frank House! I do prefer the tours with a real person talking and sharing info about stops as we come upon them. This tour was not always in sinc and we were either passing the building or couldn't tell which building they were talking about. It poured rain most of the day too - so keep that in mind with how I rated this.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

I have used this bus operator's tours many times and have always been impressed, but not this time. Amsterdam is a vibrant, exciting city with a lot of history, but the amount of information given was pathetically minimal. We passed by several buildings that looked unique in some way, but no information was shared. As a matter of fact, I gave this strong consideration the second day and paid very close attention to the information provided, thinking perhaps the first day I was just tired. Not so. It was disappointing to say the least.
Also, the guides seemed more intent on selling tickets to the various places we were to go (no on Anne Frank Haus, but yes to the others, many museums, the Diamond Factory, etc). Often, they would announce that we were coming up to stop # ___ for such and such and they had tickets to sell on the bus. While they were making the announcement, though, something was being said in the headset that you could not hear.
I was very disappointed and will think twice about booking a tour with this bus operator again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

we were really glad that we purchased this tour. we stayed in Amsterdam for only 1 day and this is what we booked to get around the city. The only thing that we didn't like is that the wait time for the buses is 25-30 minutes. we really got disappointed because it says that it's supposed to be only 15 minutes. The advantage in booking this tour is that it really goes around the city but you must make sure to manage your time properly when you go down in a certain area. It would be better if it really is a 15 minute interval. but overall, we still managed to see what we planned to see and we were still able to get on the canal cruise. All of this in 1 day is worth it but it could have been faster for us if the buses arrive on time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour is an excellent way of knowing your way around Amsterdam. Our guide Terry from Ireland is very knowledgeable. We learned a lot from him about the history of the city, the important structures and their history. The walking tour was quite long but we had a nice coffee break in between. The tour ended near Anne Frank House, so we had lunch in the area and went to Anne Frank House at 3 pm.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent tour. We were only in Amsterdam for two days and this tour allowed us to see and visit most of the sites, including the Anne Frank House and the Red Light District.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We booked a 3 hour walking tour to start at 10 a.m. We ended up being the only 2 people on the tour, we were grateful the tour was not cancelled. It was one of the most interesting walking tours we have taken in our travels. Our guide Sean was wonderful, he added energy to our tour, his personal touch was so informative. We started our tour at Dam Square and ended in the area near Anne Franks house. The 3 hours just flew by, Sean brought so much background history into everything we were visiting. We covered so much in 3 short hours. If you are a first time visitor to Amsterdam I strongly recommend you take this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an excellent tour. Guide gave us a very educational walk around the main part of the city. Even covered the red light district and took us to a nice cafe for coffee (not a coffee shop). He gave us a lot of good advice for our stay in Amsterdam. At the conclusion of our tour we were at Anne Franks house and our pre purchased tickets were for much later in the day, but our guides good advice was to ask now and they may let us in. Which was the case. Saved us coming back later.
This walking tour is a must do.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a highlight of our visit to Amsterdam. Our tour guide was excellent. We were impressed that he recognized us in a crowd and greeted us by name. He was well-informed, witty and a great story-teller. His itinerary and route were well-planned and well-paced. He was so engaging that our time with him seemed all too short.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I bought this tour for my husband and me. We landed in the early hours of a Saturday morning in February and rushed straight to Dam square for the tour. From start to finish, the tour was fantastic. We were visiting out of peak time, so our group was very small (there were just 5 of us) and Terry really catered to our every need. Terry who is originally from Ireland has been living in Amsterdam for a number of years and knew a huge amount about the city and and its history. He was willing to answer all manner of questions about all the areas we walked through. The tour allowed us to see all important areas of the city and meant that during our short stay there we felt confident to explore the city on our own during our stay. Great value for money- I would definitely recommend this!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I bought this tour for my husband and me. We landed in the early hours of a Saturday morning in February and rushed straight to Dam square for the tour. From start to finish, the tour was fantastic. We were visiting out of peak time, so our group was very small (there were just 5 of us) and Terry really catered to our every need. Terry who is originally from Ireland has been living in Amsterdam for a number of years and knew a huge amount about the city and and its history. He was willing to answer all manner of questions about all the areas we walked through.
The tour allowed us to see all important areas of the city and meant that during our short stay there we felt confident to explore the city on our own during our stay.
Great value for money- I would definitely recommend this!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Buy the tickets in advance and you save more money vs. purchasing it upon arrival. Please note the reduced hours in the winter time. There is not really a drop off/pick up sign. Just meet back at the same place you got dropped off at. We went to Amsterdam in January so it only ran from 10am until 230pm (except Saturdays.) We purchased the canal tour; however I do not feel it was really needed for what we wanted to do. The driver of the bus was very nice. If you buy the tours in advance. From Central station main exit, head towards the right pass the visitor center, cross over the bridge. There will be a bus lot by the canals and just look for the red double decker. The times were very accurate leaving Central Station and we just counted travel time to the other stops to figure out a round about pick up time. Ex. We got off at Anne Frank, It took us 15mins to get there from central station. So if the next bus leaves Central Station at 1:00pm, it should be there to pick us up around 1:15. I saw alot of complaints on Trip Advisor but Im not really sure why. Well worth the money

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Daz
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great tour riding through the city with the locals and tourists. Enjoyed our tour guide who was also a local urban town planner so had a lot of interesting knowledge about the city. Wanted to also do the country tour on offer by the same provider the following day but was cancelled due to bad weather.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

The Anne Frank House is a must see if you visit the city. It is a solemn and sobering experience, and one that is difficult to fully describe. Just seeing the small place where these two families lived and hid, places you in the center of a pivital part of our history.

As most reviewers will tell you - lines can be long so plan to arrive early or late inthe day - or better yet make sure to purchase your tickets in advance.

Alan W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The walking tour was a 360 degree area around Amsterdam where we saw ...Dam Square, Red Light District, Jordaan District, Rembrants House, Anne Frank's House, and much more. It was for a full 2 hours which gave you an in-sight into Amsterdam's History.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message