Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)

It is one of the 20th century's most compelling stories: a young Jewish girl forced into hiding with her family and their friends to escape deportation by the Nazis. The house Otto Frank used as a hideaway for his family kept them safe until close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was well worth the time and expense. The lines to the Anne Frank house were horrendous and we truly did skip them. Seeing the Synagogue helped give perspective to the lives of Jewish people in Amsterdsm. However, I was very disappointed that the Gassin Diamond factory was ten minutes of talk and the remainder of the time was about buying their merchandise. I felt that this was not what was advertised. That being said, I would recommend it.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful tour, from the Gussons diamond factory, to the synagogues, museums and the Anne Frank House. Cecilia the tour guide was a wealth of knowledge. We would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Kenneth H
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent guide, enjoyed his commentary. We by passed a very long line to the Anne Frank House. Definitely worth the extra money not to waste part of a day standing in line.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The lines were unbelievable and we went right in and words are not adequate to describe the experience once in the Anne Frank House.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

great tour! Really worth the skip the line at the Anne Frank House, but 5 hours a little long.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The skip the line for Anne Frank was great. The Portuguese Synogogue was also excellent and also the Jewish museum. The diamond visit at the very beginning was a complete waste off time and was nothing more than a selling job for jewelery. Eliminate that hour of this tour and it will be a great 4 hour tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our tour was good. Our guide was new to his job, so he couldn't answer all of the questions because I think he said this was his first Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum tour. I have done a food tour in Rome with Via for and thought it was the best experience I could have, and this didn't compare as well. Again, I think it was our guide. I'm sure he'll get much better with each tour that he does. Just wish it hadn't been ours. Thank You.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Tour was overpriced and too lengthy. The diamond factory consisted of sales pitches. It was difficult to understand the tour guide, so we weren't really sure about the significance of the Jewish synagogue. The Jewish museum was ok, it was informative through videos on the 2nd floor. The Anne Frank house was a great experience, it was nice being brought to the front of the line. However all through the house you are walking in a straight line from room to room, from floor to floor. It would have been nice to explore the house without walking in a line.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We throughly enjoyed Anne Frank House and the Jewish Community and would recommend everyone does this, however we felt the time at the Portuguese Synagogue was too long.Our tour left at 1.30 but we did not get to Anne Frank House until 5.30.We certainly recommend booking the tour to learn more and skip the line.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Started at the Diamond factory. Pity there was not enough time to look at the shop in the factory at the end.
Could have done with a bit more time at the Jewish Historical Museum. Was definitely worth the 'Skip the Line' at Anne Frank House.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I planned to visit the Anne Frank house only. I DID NOT expect to spend 31/2 hours of other tours before I got to the Anne Frank house, at an additional cost of more than 100.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was interesting and a good overview of the Jewish world in Amsterdam. We started at the Glasson diamond factory watching how diamonds get cut and how they end up in the beautiful jewelry that he factory has. Buy at this factory if you want to purchase a diamond. The stores in Amsterdam do not have what this factory has The museums were next and they were all great! The Portuguese synagogue was stunningly beautiful. Lastly, Anne Frank's house- this was overwhelming and emotional for any Jewish person. It was for us and our children, a wake up call as to what can happen to Jewish culture under the right set of circumstances with a dictator. It is a reminder not to forget.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing, informative, friendly and knowledgeable guides!! Really loved this tour and would happily recommend it to anyone...especially if you have limited time in this fine city. Gasson diamond factory was so detailed, all the Jewish areas were humbling but informative and of course no queue for Anne F

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was great. By the time we got to the Anne frank house we were exhausted and stayed for only a short time. Skipping the line was essential.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great purchase. When we arrived at Anne Frank House and saw the length of the queue we were so glad to be able to walk straight in with this purchase. The rest of the tour was interesting too. A little difficult to find the Gassan factory but eventually got there with no time to spare.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was an extensive walking tour, about 7 hours! We took it because it was the best way to see the Anne Frank House. However the Portugese Synagogue and museum were very nice too. Very informative tour but a little too long partly because our guide was very new.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed this trip, tour guide was lovely and easy to approach if needed. Kept entertained throughout the day. Anne frank house was amazing.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour started with a visit to a diamond dealer. NOT APPROPRIATE! If people want to buy diamonds, a Jewish tour is not the place for that.
The rest of the tour was interesting, leader was knowledgeable.
The visit to Anne Frank House was fascinating.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

All of the aspects were very interesting. There were however no efforts or understanding why the diamond factory? If the tour tried to explain that the diamond trade was operated by Jewish People and some survive today like Gasson that would have at least been an effort. When I asked the guide he had no idea why diamond factory then Saphardic temple. Fast pass into Anne Frank was awesome.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The tour guide did not do a good job of this tour. We started by spending over an hour at the Diamond factory. They tried to sell us on diamond jewelry for purchase. Then we went to the Jewish Museum. We spend another hour here and the tour guide DID NOT explain anything. It was go at your own pace. We then left to the Jewish Synagogue. Again... another hour. He DID NOT explain anything to us. Finally, we got to the Anne Frank House which you do on your own and the tour guide leaves. Honestly, if you are looking to do the Anne Frank House, you are better off not wasting half your day on all the other stuff and going to this on your own.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Terry was excellent !! I think he's the only 1 guide who gives this tour. Ours was a group of 8 people. The tour started with a delay of 15 mins because an American mom-daughter were running a little late. Terry was patient enough to give them directionsthough it was simple as they were travelling via a car. Rest all were on time. He was also patient enough to let everyone click pics and also kept the group together in an impressive manner. He gave in-depth explanationeven about RLD about all places as well as answered all our questions of various kinds. The tour ended near Anne Fran House. At the end, he also gave other tips like where to stay, eat etc.
one advice to Viator : Next time, please don't mention 'Look out for Green T-shirt' around meeting point as it causes a lot of confusion to some people at least 3 people in my group were confused.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

If this tour had in fact been only the Old Amsterdam Museum, the Jewish Historical Museum and the Anne Frank house, it would have been more focused. Instead we basically wasted an hour at the Diamond Factory, something of very little interest to us.

We would much have rather to be able to spend that recovered hour at the Jewish Historical Museum which we found very interesting.

A key advantage of this tour is the 'skip the line' aspect at the Anne Frank house -- without reservations, the line there can be VERY long and on a chilly day which is was the wait there would have been unfortunate.

The guide seemed quite knowledgeable, but there were times particularly as it was a rather chilly day that some of the explanation time could have been reduced to allow more time at the Synagogue, Museum, and Anne Frank House

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Really worth while doing the tour of Anne Franks house. The diamond merchant was ok and you got a glass of champagne. But would not have gone if not included in tour. The same applies to the Portuguese synagogue and the Jewish museum. The line up to Anne Frank house was very long and you could wait up to three house to get in, so it was good to walk to the front of the line and go in.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Once again there was an issue with Viator. We were told the guide was hurt so there was a fill in who had never done the tour. He was nice and tried however more of a chaperone than a guide. No historic information at all. There was a different lady once we got to the Anne Frank house.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message