Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)

It is one of the 20th century's most compelling stories: a young Jewish girl forced into hiding with her family and their friends to escape deportation by the Nazis. The house Otto Frank used as a hideaway for his family kept them safe until close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We throughly enjoyed Anne Frank House and the Jewish Community and would recommend everyone does this, however we felt the time at the Portuguese Synagogue was too long.Our tour left at 1.30 but we did not get to Anne Frank House until 5.30.We certainly recommend booking the tour to learn more and skip the line.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Started at the Diamond factory. Pity there was not enough time to look at the shop in the factory at the end.
Could have done with a bit more time at the Jewish Historical Museum. Was definitely worth the 'Skip the Line' at Anne Frank House.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I planned to visit the Anne Frank house only. I DID NOT expect to spend 31/2 hours of other tours before I got to the Anne Frank house, at an additional cost of more than 100.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was interesting and a good overview of the Jewish world in Amsterdam. We started at the Glasson diamond factory watching how diamonds get cut and how they end up in the beautiful jewelry that he factory has. Buy at this factory if you want to purchase a diamond. The stores in Amsterdam do not have what this factory has The museums were next and they were all great! The Portuguese synagogue was stunningly beautiful. Lastly, Anne Frank's house- this was overwhelming and emotional for any Jewish person. It was for us and our children, a wake up call as to what can happen to Jewish culture under the right set of circumstances with a dictator. It is a reminder not to forget.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing, informative, friendly and knowledgeable guides!! Really loved this tour and would happily recommend it to anyone...especially if you have limited time in this fine city. Gasson diamond factory was so detailed, all the Jewish areas were humbling but informative and of course no queue for Anne F

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was great. By the time we got to the Anne frank house we were exhausted and stayed for only a short time. Skipping the line was essential.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great purchase. When we arrived at Anne Frank House and saw the length of the queue we were so glad to be able to walk straight in with this purchase. The rest of the tour was interesting too. A little difficult to find the Gassan factory but eventually got there with no time to spare.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was an extensive walking tour, about 7 hours! We took it because it was the best way to see the Anne Frank House. However the Portugese Synagogue and museum were very nice too. Very informative tour but a little too long partly because our guide was very new.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed this trip, tour guide was lovely and easy to approach if needed. Kept entertained throughout the day. Anne frank house was amazing.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour started with a visit to a diamond dealer. NOT APPROPRIATE! If people want to buy diamonds, a Jewish tour is not the place for that.
The rest of the tour was interesting, leader was knowledgeable.
The visit to Anne Frank House was fascinating.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

All of the aspects were very interesting. There were however no efforts or understanding why the diamond factory? If the tour tried to explain that the diamond trade was operated by Jewish People and some survive today like Gasson that would have at least been an effort. When I asked the guide he had no idea why diamond factory then Saphardic temple. Fast pass into Anne Frank was awesome.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The tour guide did not do a good job of this tour. We started by spending over an hour at the Diamond factory. They tried to sell us on diamond jewelry for purchase. Then we went to the Jewish Museum. We spend another hour here and the tour guide DID NOT explain anything. It was go at your own pace. We then left to the Jewish Synagogue. Again... another hour. He DID NOT explain anything to us. Finally, we got to the Anne Frank House which you do on your own and the tour guide leaves. Honestly, if you are looking to do the Anne Frank House, you are better off not wasting half your day on all the other stuff and going to this on your own.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Terry was excellent !! I think he's the only 1 guide who gives this tour. Ours was a group of 8 people. The tour started with a delay of 15 mins because an American mom-daughter were running a little late. Terry was patient enough to give them directionsthough it was simple as they were travelling via a car. Rest all were on time. He was also patient enough to let everyone click pics and also kept the group together in an impressive manner. He gave in-depth explanationeven about RLD about all places as well as answered all our questions of various kinds. The tour ended near Anne Fran House. At the end, he also gave other tips like where to stay, eat etc.
one advice to Viator : Next time, please don't mention 'Look out for Green T-shirt' around meeting point as it causes a lot of confusion to some people at least 3 people in my group were confused.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

If this tour had in fact been only the Old Amsterdam Museum, the Jewish Historical Museum and the Anne Frank house, it would have been more focused. Instead we basically wasted an hour at the Diamond Factory, something of very little interest to us.

We would much have rather to be able to spend that recovered hour at the Jewish Historical Museum which we found very interesting.

A key advantage of this tour is the 'skip the line' aspect at the Anne Frank house -- without reservations, the line there can be VERY long and on a chilly day which is was the wait there would have been unfortunate.

The guide seemed quite knowledgeable, but there were times particularly as it was a rather chilly day that some of the explanation time could have been reduced to allow more time at the Synagogue, Museum, and Anne Frank House

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Really worth while doing the tour of Anne Franks house. The diamond merchant was ok and you got a glass of champagne. But would not have gone if not included in tour. The same applies to the Portuguese synagogue and the Jewish museum. The line up to Anne Frank house was very long and you could wait up to three house to get in, so it was good to walk to the front of the line and go in.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Once again there was an issue with Viator. We were told the guide was hurt so there was a fill in who had never done the tour. He was nice and tried however more of a chaperone than a guide. No historic information at all. There was a different lady once we got to the Anne Frank house.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The Anne Frank House was pretty amazing to see, especially after reading the book and seeing the film. The Jewish Quarter and Diamond Factory were also cool to see but the guide wasn't the best. She mis-counted the number of people in our group from the beginning so throughout the tour she would lose people or leave people behind. There was even a couple that came up to her after the Diamond Factory visit and yelled at her for leaving them behind. The overall tour was so so. I wouldn't do it again and I'd recommend just buying the Anne Frank House tickets way in advance if you can instead of resorting to this tour or standing in line for hours.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This is my 2nd Amsterdam Tour and I would recommend it. The Canal Cruise was a great way to end our day and relax. We chose a Wednesday thinking it would be less crowded - wrong - crazy tourism but oh so worth it! Favorite stop - Anne Frank House! I do prefer the tours with a real person talking and sharing info about stops as we come upon them. This tour was not always in sinc and we were either passing the building or couldn't tell which building they were talking about. It poured rain most of the day too - so keep that in mind with how I rated this.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

I have used this bus operator's tours many times and have always been impressed, but not this time. Amsterdam is a vibrant, exciting city with a lot of history, but the amount of information given was pathetically minimal. We passed by several buildings that looked unique in some way, but no information was shared. As a matter of fact, I gave this strong consideration the second day and paid very close attention to the information provided, thinking perhaps the first day I was just tired. Not so. It was disappointing to say the least.
Also, the guides seemed more intent on selling tickets to the various places we were to go (no on Anne Frank Haus, but yes to the others, many museums, the Diamond Factory, etc). Often, they would announce that we were coming up to stop # ___ for such and such and they had tickets to sell on the bus. While they were making the announcement, though, something was being said in the headset that you could not hear.
I was very disappointed and will think twice about booking a tour with this bus operator again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

we were really glad that we purchased this tour. we stayed in Amsterdam for only 1 day and this is what we booked to get around the city. The only thing that we didn't like is that the wait time for the buses is 25-30 minutes. we really got disappointed because it says that it's supposed to be only 15 minutes. The advantage in booking this tour is that it really goes around the city but you must make sure to manage your time properly when you go down in a certain area. It would be better if it really is a 15 minute interval. but overall, we still managed to see what we planned to see and we were still able to get on the canal cruise. All of this in 1 day is worth it but it could have been faster for us if the buses arrive on time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour is an excellent way of knowing your way around Amsterdam. Our guide Terry from Ireland is very knowledgeable. We learned a lot from him about the history of the city, the important structures and their history. The walking tour was quite long but we had a nice coffee break in between. The tour ended near Anne Frank House, so we had lunch in the area and went to Anne Frank House at 3 pm.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent tour. We were only in Amsterdam for two days and this tour allowed us to see and visit most of the sites, including the Anne Frank House and the Red Light District.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We booked a 3 hour walking tour to start at 10 a.m. We ended up being the only 2 people on the tour, we were grateful the tour was not cancelled. It was one of the most interesting walking tours we have taken in our travels. Our guide Sean was wonderful, he added energy to our tour, his personal touch was so informative. We started our tour at Dam Square and ended in the area near Anne Franks house. The 3 hours just flew by, Sean brought so much background history into everything we were visiting. We covered so much in 3 short hours. If you are a first time visitor to Amsterdam I strongly recommend you take this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an excellent tour. Guide gave us a very educational walk around the main part of the city. Even covered the red light district and took us to a nice cafe for coffee (not a coffee shop). He gave us a lot of good advice for our stay in Amsterdam. At the conclusion of our tour we were at Anne Franks house and our pre purchased tickets were for much later in the day, but our guides good advice was to ask now and they may let us in. Which was the case. Saved us coming back later.
This walking tour is a must do.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message