Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)

It is one of the 20th century's most compelling stories: a young Jewish girl forced into hiding with her family and their friends to escape deportation by the Nazis. The house Otto Frank used as a hideaway for his family kept them safe until close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

madison87

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was one of my favorite tours during this holiday. We start at Gassan Diamonds- NOTE: It is very tricky to find Gassan Diamonds if you don't use the Hop on Hop Off buses. Give yourself at least an hour and a half to get there using the Trams from your location to Centraal Station and then to Waterloo and then to walk near the Portuguese museum and over a few blocks. The tour of the diamond factory was great. The tour of the Portuguese museum was good. The Jewish Historical Museum is a must and very comprehensive there's a synagogue and several exhibits on the history of Jews in Amsterdam and a recent L. Freed collection. The showstopper was the visit to the Anne Frank House. Tour guides are not allowed in our tour guide Carla was amazing, but it's self guided. Powerful and moving. A must do while in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Susan E S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

We did not realize that this tour lasted 5 hours. We had to leave mid tour because we were scheduled to leave Amsterdam that day. Missed the Anne Frank House which was a disappointment.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Mindy W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

This tour could have been much better than it was. For starters, our group had English and Spanish speakers and our guide had to toggle back and forth between the two languages, which took up a lot of time. The tour was billed as a five-hour tour, but it was more like three hours -- that's a big difference, especially given what we paid for the tour. The Portuguese Synagogue was closed - a big disappointment - so we only saw the outside of the building. I knew that this was the case because I did my research, but if that news had been sprung on me mid-tour I might not have been so happy about it. The next two sites -- the Jewish Historical Museum and the Hollandsche Schaumburg, a theater that the Nazis used as a deportation center -- were important to see but we didn't need to pay for the tour to go there we could have gone on our own. So that leaves the Anne Frank House. It was definitely terrific that we didn't have to stand in a long line in order to gain access, but depending on your budget it might be preferable to wait in the line get your tickets online from the Anne Frank House as far in advance as possible.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Stuart C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The Diamond factory tour was a tad long.
All we WANTED was Anne Frank house, got much more. None of knew it was 6-7 hours in the chilly rainy weather. A tour of just Anne Frank at our own pace would have been much preferred.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Gia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a good tour, I mean I do give it 5 stars but I guess it got kind of boring towards the end its more about the jews than the holocaust like i thought it would be. Again interesting but is longer than it has to be. Also the anne frank museum was crazy packed.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Michael E K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I'm sure VIATOR needed to pay out heavily to get immediate access for participants entering the Anne Frank House. This assured the pricing for this tour would be overpriced relative to other Amsterdam tours. The Diamond Factory wasn't much more than a glorified sales pitch. The Jewish Historical Museum and Portuguese Synagogue were fine as fill-ins, but the strength of my rating is most all due to the emotional trip to the Anne Frank House. Amazing that all visitors walked slowly thru this unchanged interior in total silence, most assuredly out of respect to what took place back in the 40's.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

David N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed the Anne Frank house. Plan to spend a bit of time here. Make sure to either book a tour or purchase tickets online early as lines can be long.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Salam A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

the buses were in very good condition concerning the vehicles ,seats and cleanness ,the staff very helpful
also the tour takes to see most of the city besides it included a visit to a diamond factory ,we recommend this tour it is very nice and enjoyable

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Emily J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Knowing what I know now and the experience I had on this tour I would have gone on my own to these places and read the book I brought with me. There were Stumbling Blocks all over Amsterdam and I did not know what they were, our Tour Guide did not tell me what they were. In fact she was a real Grump. I would rather stand in line than go on this tour again. Half the Buildings were closed because of Holiday, so we could not go see them. We got tickets to go see them the next day but I was not going to be in Amsterdam the Next day So I paid for items that I did not get to see and did not have time to see. The sales pitch at the Glassen Diamonds factory came with Spirits and it was nice, but I just really wanted to go to the Jewish Museum and Anne Frank house. Find another tour or just get up early and get in line.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Frank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic in every aspect. Leaves you appreciating what we have as Anne frank house is a very moving experience

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Joel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very moving especially to see Anne's original diary in her own handwriting. The Portuguese Synagogue is breathtaking. Although the story is well known, there is always more to learn. Nicely done tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Hans B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great tour with guide Pieter. It was great to learn about the Jewish History in Amsterdam. It made the visit to Anne Frank's house much more interesting and emotional. Great tour, well organised.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Judy H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were required to meet at the diamond store, where we had some explanation about diamond cutting. This was followed by a short walking tour in the Jewish section. Later, we boarded a bus to be taken to the Anne Frank House. My only complaint about this tour is that another group we were somewhat traveling with, had the use of headsets and we did not. It is recommended that everyone read something about Anne Frank before doing the tour. If you have the basic knowledge, it makes that tour more meaningful, as your guide is not permitted to accompany you. The Frank museum at the end was very impressive. We had a knowledgeable guide. Just couldn't get over how she did it in high heels!!!! By the way, we did avoid the lines. The line was around the block and within minutes, we went straight in.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Luis Alberto P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Both the bus and the boat tours were a convenient way to have a general view of Amsterdam and stop at the points of interests. It is well planned and operated. The personnel was very gentle and helpfull. I would certainly recommend the service for any first-timer in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very enjoyable. Our guide was very knowledgeable and to gain immediate entry to the Anne Frank House was a real bonus as the queques were very lengthy.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Judy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Did it initially for the skip the line tickets to Anne frank, but ended up enjoying the entire afternoon. Our tour guide was great and all of the stops were very relavent to the Jewish history of Amsterdam. Worth the money.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Marilynne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was extremely good. The guide was knowledgeable and we saw everything that we wanted to see in Amsterdam. Having the final stop at the Anne Frank House was great as we missed lhe line ups and could stay as long as we wanted

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

wayne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was terrific...however I did not realize that it was 5 hours with a number of different stops involved. Anne Frank house should not be missed in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Ian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Anne frank house also as we did not have to wait in line.. A must do in Amsterdam

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Susie O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This rating is based on the fact that we got to skip the line at Anne Frank. The line is enormous ALL DAY long. I will say, the 1 hour tour of the Gassan Diamond factory should be taken out. I don't know what deal Gassan made with Viator but people who paid for a tour should not be subjected to a Diamond tour that is trying to sell their diamonds. Very unprofessional as far as that part goes.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

larry.ann

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

loved the Anne Frank house and the museum. the diamond tour was a bit long

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Dolores R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

YOU MUST SEE ANNE FRANK'S HOUSE. SKIP THE MUSEUM

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Janice-grabow

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The tour guide was great but only took this tour to skip the line to the Anne Frank House. The factory diamond tour was not great, the Jewish Historical Museum was fine, but the highlight was the Anne Frank House

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Vickie P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

I booked this tour for the skip the like ticket to Anne Frank House. Everything about the tour was good except too much time was spend at the Diamond place.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was well worth the time and expense. The lines to the Anne Frank house were horrendous and we truly did skip them. Seeing the Synagogue helped give perspective to the lives of Jewish people in Amsterdsm. However, I was very disappointed that the Gassin Diamond factory was ten minutes of talk and the remainder of the time was about buying their merchandise. I felt that this was not what was advertised. That being said, I would recommend it.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Anne Frank House and Jewish Historical Museum Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message