With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful villages and countryside. Very professional guide and driver. Just the right amount of info, walking, sightseeing, and resting. Very good food.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, good value and great overview of the Netherlands. Nice amount of time in each place including some free time for shopping. Countryside and towns were beautiful to visit.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

there is a good variety and the wooden shoe making is particularly good. It is a lot fun.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best day I had in Netherlands. Ideal balance between free time and activities with group. Really worth to go. Good weather is quite important to be so satisfied as I am.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved everything about this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable. I felt like we got to see the real Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Beautiful trip. Nice to get away from the city.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful day and tour guides. Loved the stories about each individual door and the lovely communities we visited. It included everything I wanted to do in the country including a boat ride.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable trip, loved the wooden shoe shop in Marken, the boat trip to Volendam, the cheese shop and cathedral in Edam, and the windmills of Zanse Shans. Only negative was lunch in Volendam -- the soup as OK but the entrée was tough, inedible meat. Our guide was very good and accommodating-- since I use a walker, she arranged with the bus driver to drop us off closer to the cheese shop in Edam so I could avoid the 20 minute walk. The bus driver was wonderful - he took us on a personal guided trip through the cathedral and served us the cheese at the cheese shop.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our chance to see more out form Amsterdam, good choice

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Trip was interesting, but the Alkmaar was too crowded.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I greatly enjoyed the various cities we visited (Marken (clogs, boat), Volendam (more touristy town), Edam (cheese), and especially Zaanse Schans windmills. They were the highlights and adorable! The tour was conducted in two languages and our guide, Erik, tried his best to get through both in a timely manner.
Only thing keeping us from five stars is that we got very little history about the cities themselves and it was more color commentary than history. This is a preference thing though.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message