With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 306 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert W R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For those who have only one or two days to experience a little of the Amsterdam countryside this tour has it all. The varied schedule, great guides in all places, the sumptuous lunch in Marken, the cheese tasting in pretty Edam, and then the visit to the windmills was great value for money. We had a fabulous day and would certainly recommend this tour.
Bob and Audrey Rogers, Perth Western Australia

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Lana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic opportunity to see the beautiful countryside in the Netherlands.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

ROBERTO R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Spectacular Tour!!! Great value and great places. We will make sure to use Viator a lot more in the future.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved this trip. Best way to get out of the city and see parts of the Netherlands that we never would have seen otherwise!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Sharon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were short on time in Amsterdam, so wanted a tour that covered a lot, and this tour delivered. Definitely recommend!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

DFur United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour of our entire trip 7 tours in 4 countries. The guide, Daniella, and bus driver were amazing. Enough time was given to all the visited locations, and extra effort was taken to ensure each visit was personalized with an individualized group tour exclusive windmill tour, exclusive cheese tour, exclusive wooden shoe tour, etc. Boat ride was beautiful. Lunch location was perfect - great service and excellent food. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an excellent tour. Juliette, our guide, was excellent. The bus driver, John, was cool, too. Juliette was especially accommodating in helping my wife and myself reschedule our tour. The Dutch countryside is beautiful. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

vtneri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I would like to thank the travel company for being so accommodating . My traveling companion missed the Wednesday bus but they put us on the next day. Great info and time to enjoy stops. I also liked that they didn and #39;t push touristy shopping on us! Professional and entertaining.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Shawn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was well worth the money. It was a short ride from Amsterdam to Alkmaar. Our tour guide was full of information and funny as well. Alkmaar was a cute little town to stroll once you saw the cheese market. The windmills were amazing to look at! Such history!

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cheri L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well paced and interesting tour. The area round Amsterdam is beautiful

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

david l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was great. Very well organized, on thine. Coach was clean. Everything was great!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Craig J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour of the small villages in the country side of the Netherlands was very refreshing and was a good change from the urban sights of Amsterdam. The villages of Edam and Marken were exceptionally picturesque. The villages had many small canals with stone bridges, water side trees, and cottages in the background. Almost at every turn, we were presented with a post card view. It was a thrill to climb up into the working windmills at Zaanse Schans and see the gears and screws turning. We had cheese tasting at Volendam and then took a boat ride to Marken where we had a great lunch and were given a demonstration on the making of Dutch shoes.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

melisaleunghx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely love the itinerary and the pace of the tour! Amazing Tour guide, Mary Ann is eloquent in spanish, english and french, provides interesting insights of Amsterdam history of the places covered. We have time for photos and shopping at each locations. Lunch at Marken was delicious and serves fast in good portions. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Duncan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent value for money with terrific professional guide and driver.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

kstove23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This countryside tour was really amazing. Worth the time and money. Tour guide was nice and knowledgable too. Very organized.
Wish, however, that we could have spent time exploring Edam rather than just walking through it.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Wto2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful tour of the countryside including Edem, a cheese factory and wooden shoe maker in Vilderdam, and windmills in Zaanse Schans. Very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Krista M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyable day. Knowledgeable guide. Interesting stops. Worth doing.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message