With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 267 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda D C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a relaxing day. Great way to see the area around Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

theclarkclan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Josie made the day excellent, she had a great sense of humour and was very knowledgable. It was a good way to find out about the 'real' Amsterdam. We got to visit many villages and even have a boat ride to a lovely restaurant with a superb meal at a very timely break. The wine and cheese tasting was also very good. Visiting windmills was very interesting. All the points of interest were well chosen. it gave me a great insight into Holland. there were lots of times out of the bus which was great. a concise informative fun tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kiana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a beautiful introduction to the Netherlands! I HIGHLY recommend this tour as it covers all the basics that we know and love about Holland. It is a beautiful drive out to the countryside and then walking tours through the most quaint little towns you will ever see. Trust me, you will want to move there immediately! There is also wine and cheese tasting which is delicious, a boat ride, a visit to a wooden shoe factory complete with demonstration of how they make klompen wooden shoes. The gal who did our demonstration was so funny! After the wooden shoe factory we were off to Zaans Schaans which is so beautiful with all the old windmills dotting the countryside. It is quintessential Dutch. If anything though, I do wish we would have had more time in Zaans Schaans. It was a full day but everything was excellent.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Ervira R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed so much the farms. Holland are so colorful, and beautiful. Breathtaking green farms, and a pleasant local people. Jaime was a very nice guide. We've seen a lot within one day, like almost seen the whole country. Great tour :

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Teresa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very interesting and fun tour of the Alkmaar cheese market - well worth the visit.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

noelmcgarry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A real sampling of The Netherlands experience visiting three towns in the country each with its own unique history. The tour included lunch, cheese tasting, wine, boat ride, windmills all showcasing Holland. Well worth the cost for a closer encounter with this country.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Peter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The guide and driver were great as was the scenery. Highly recommended

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day. Sun/Clouds/sleet did not affect our day.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Luis Esteban A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Increiblemente precioso, cada detalle los lugares y la administracion del tour, de los mejores que he hecho en mi vida!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Mona L B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent tour and the guide was very good and even though we went to three different locations, we still saw a lot and had lunch included. That was a bit rushed but the tour was well worth it.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Gauths Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The pace and timing was great, we had a wonderful guide and bus driver, and got our fill of 'traditional' Dutch. We even did a tacky tourist photo in Edam in traditional Dutch costume! Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a wonderful day full of new experiences which we really enjoyed. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Melinda C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was good. The first stop of Edam was not too appealing -- if they skipped this stop and gave you more time at the Windmills last stop it could have been better. Still very enjoyable!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Elizabeth P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Although you can't control the weather, it was very cold. Because we didn't have headsets it was sometimes difficult to hear the guide. Little towns were lovely. The bus driver was very fun and friendly and participated in the trip.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

june s

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

it was a good day .our tour guide was great as well as the driver.going to the cheese tasting was great but if you buy a lot of cheese it is a long way to carry it back to the bus.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Bridget L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a great trip. I expected the Windmills to be my favorite but they were anti-climactic. Edam is a gem made better by the information provided by Derrick, our guide. Volendam was also wonderful and a great introduction to a true Dutch vacation spot.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

CLAIRE D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Really good tour, you see a lot in one day. Our guide Astrid was really knowledgeabe. We had a great time and loved Marken :

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Luiz M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Not enough time on windmills. Didn't like the visit to wooden shoes! shop/factory.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

CesKa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This day trip was lovely and so was our guide Astrid... such a lovely and kind smart lady! the tour was very interesting and what we liked most is that we saw a number of places in 1 day! get wrapped up and wear tick clothing especially when visiting Zaanse Shanc as it is quite cold and very windy... Loved It!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Frederick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was definitely a good tour and our guide Tina was EXCELLENT!! Tina interacted with the people on the bus and did a very good job switching from English to French. Tina made sure she talked to everyone and spoke clearly and gave a lot of information on the places we visited. This was definitely a very good trip and we were happy to be able to see what we did. What a nice informed guide Tina was.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Ana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was great between the locations, time frame, price, and especially our guide and driver. I will highly recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Kenneth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour covering many aspects of typical Dutch life.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really wonderful day seeing the countryside with a delightful tour hostess and bus driver. Thank you both so much!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall- a great day trip outside the city of Amsterdam. Short visits to Edam, Volendam, and Maarken. You are taken on a short guided walk around the town of Edam. Cheese Tasting is not done in Edam-instead you visit a cheese factory in Volendam and have wine with various cheeses which was very nice. A lunch break is taken in Maarken good food. Visited a working sawmill windmill which was interesting but felt we would have used a little more time at the windmills to take it all in and take some more pictures.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message