With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved everything about this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable. I felt like we got to see the real Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Beautiful trip. Nice to get away from the city.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

You could probably get to Alkmaar via public transportation, but it was so relaxing to just get on a bus and let someone else worry about how to get there. The time allotted was just enough to check out the town. Don't miss the church. It was amazing. Loved the whole experience. The windmill stop was nice too. I would have preferred to spend a little less time there and a little more in Alkmaar, but others might feel opposite. The price of the trip was fine. The tour guide was just right. She gave us plenty of information without being annoying. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful tour. Great tour guide who was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a gr8 day out . Maryanne our guide was wonderful . Highly recommend it :-)

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a gr8 day out . Maryanne our guide was wonderful . Highly recommend it :-)

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It rained the whole day, and we still had a great time!!!! Beautiful trip. Nice guide. well worth it

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant tour. Entertaining guide. Many many beautiful sights to see. Loved it all - the clog maker, the boat trip, Vollendum, Edam, and especially the windmills. We actually went inside the windmill and up onto the outside first level. Spectacular. Very generous lunch. Good value for money.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was very very good. The Countryside is just beautiful

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see a lot in a limited time. Excellent guide and timing.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a lovely trip and one I would recommend. It was bought for me and I was a little concerned of going on my own but I needn't have worried as I soon had people to share the day with. The only downside to the day was the weather, however we did everything that we excepted to do.
For me the best part was walking through the villages- so picturesque ( even better if it wasn't from underneath a brolly).
The talks were short but informative and you had opportunities to buy things from each stop we made. The meal was included and was good.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This tour has potential. We enjoyed the visit to the windmills, the villages and the cheese tasting but found the trip got dragged down by some of the participants. It is very hard to make a tour appropriate for very young children as well as less mobile seniors. I guess the group is just the "luck of the draw" and it was not our lucky day. Content was interesting, tour guide worked hard to meet the needs of all the participants but we found ourselves standing around waiting a lot.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip and well worth the time and money. The Cheese Market is awesome and is much more than cheese. You can see wooden shoes being made, try eating some herring, and enjoy the mini pancakes. The trip to the windmills was also wonderful. we just enjoyed the trip through the countryside. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the tour guide was very knowledgeable about where we went. We had a great time on this tour. It would be helpful to have a bathroom on the bus.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message