• USD ($)
  • English
With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip and well worth the time and money. The Cheese Market is awesome and is much more than cheese. You can see wooden shoes being made, try eating some herring, and enjoy the mini pancakes. The trip to the windmills was also wonderful. we just enjoyed the trip through the countryside. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the tour guide was very knowledgeable about where we went. We had a great time on this tour. It would be helpful to have a bathroom on the bus.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way to see a little bit of everything of Holland country side. Just the right amount of time at each stop. Great lunch!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a day where the weather touched all of the seasons- rain, cold, sun, wind but we had the best time. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and was able to do the whole tour in 4 languages! We had enough time to look around and explore while getting a good tour experience of the towns. We learned so much about the country and its' history. We were in Holland for a week and this was one of the best days.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Enjoyed our day in the countryside where we visited four villages. We experienced seeing the windmills,
Watched a master shoemaker make a a pair of wooden shoes;ate a traditional Dutch meal.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Loved the sites visited, but very disappointed that our advertised "English speaking guide" also spoke 3 (sometimes 4) other languages on the same tour. Impressive, but made for laborious listening and a very disjointed, distracting (annoying) narrative. I felt sorry for the guide!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Trip worth it to see many 'iconic' Dutch cultural and scenic highlights in a day. Windmill visit ( peanut oil production) was highlight whilst perhaps a little too much time spent at commercial outlets associated with some of the stops( cheese shop / clogs etc). Walks through villages were interesting and something you wouldn't probably get to do on your own.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

VIP service in every aspect! This tour was called the Charms of Holland for a good reason. Ample time everywere, great guide, enoyed every single moment.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

The tour started off okay, travelling thru the fields was really picutesque.The working wooden shoe shop was interesting. The boat trip was nice, too bad it was very foggy so we couldn't see as much as we would have liked. The Fishing village was well..weird. We toured thru a resturant that had people eating at it, then went on a walking tour thru a neighbourhood where there were signs saying "get out" and "pictures 2 euos" very weird. Lunch was okay, no drinks of any kind included but the food was okay. Edam was another walk thru neighbourhood and then 10 minutes at the cheese place with a very very small tasting. The windmill were the highlight of the trip. Would not recomend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting trip. The event was unusual and memorable.
Alkmaar is well worth the visit.
The length of the time in Alkmaar could have been a little longer because there were so many shops that we didn't have time to check out. Just a bit rushed.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was fantastic; the pace was perfect. Everyone on the tour (of varying walking speeds and languages) was more than satisfied from the explanations, knowledge of the guide, and the lunch.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This wasn't a tour at all. It was a bus ride to Alkmaar where we had free time in a very very very crowded market and had to really fight to see anything. Then they drove us to a windmill where we watched a video. The guide didn't really tell us anything at all.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Alkmaar is a beautiful village and time there was extremely short. Due to the crowds that arrived prior to our tour bus it was difficult to see much. I would recommend the tour getting started earlier, enabling an earlier arrival and maximizing the experience.
The windmill portion of the trip was very informative, especially the ability to freely tour the inside of a working windmill.
The knowlegable guide's soothing voice lulled me to a restful place during the return commute which was great since traffic prohibited our return at the promised time. A rejuvinating nod was able to be captured during the ride back to de Dam which was great preparation for afternoon events. Glad we booked this tour!

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message