With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 167 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is really worth the price. The tour guide Viola is knowledgeable and fun and each stop was fun and informative. It was a joy to see so much of the beautiful country. The highlight for me was the oil mill and the beautiful chocolate and cheese shops in that area. I recommend this!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Interesting how a cheese market was organised in Holland in the last centuries ! We also tasted the different types of cheese and indeed - very tasty ! The trip to the windmills was so full of important information about how the Dutch people fought and are still fighting for every square inch of land. We had no idea before that the windmills were used mainly for making polder , for running lakes dry, in our land mills are used for grinding corn.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great. We saw a lot and our driver and guide were excellent. It was well worth it! We traveled with kids ages 8 and 12 and they really enjoyed it as well.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Astrid, was engaging, smart, fun, and full of interesting commentary during the tour. We felt the tour gave us a terrific sense of the local countryside and history. Very worthwhile.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip and great historical information from our travel guide.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a good way to see some of the countryside. Edam was a very peaceful and relaxed place, a complete contrast from Amsterdam itself.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent trip to know Holland country, just 50 kilometres from busy city of Amsterdam...half day full of traditions...it is amazing experience to see cheese trading! Really worth to go there. The g

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Jaime was awesome, very knowledgeable, very informative. It was so much fun definitely was of the highlights of our entire week in The Netherlands!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A very full and beautiful trip. Our guide was knowledgeable and charming however not everything was as advertised. Both the literature and guide promised pastries and coffee and this was not realized. Also the opportunity to dress in authentic clothing was not part of this trip. On the plus side, the bus was comfortable and the lunch and tours of the sites were quite nice.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was a lot of fun. we had a very knowledgable tour guide who took us from place to place and described everything we were seeing. Lunch was delicious, and because we went to four different places, I thought it was worthwhile to do this as part of a tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our morning with Lia was excellent, the town of Edam was particularly charming. To get out of the city and enjoy the countryside was exactly what we were after. Our guide was very knowledgeable and her English was great. Being a local she shared her experiences which added to our value. The pace of the tour was gentle and relaxing.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an outstanding tour of the country side north of Amsterdam and I especially enjoyed the visit to the windmills and the tour inside to learn how the mill worked and the products that were produced peanut oil

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very well organised trip in luxury coaches. Thanks for the wonderful informative trip. A special mention to our guide who shared lot of information and made sure we got a vegetarian meal for lunch

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked this tour. I liked the countryside of amsterdam. Exposure of the Dutch culture is better seen in this kind of tour. I liked the different kinds of cheese esp. The red pepper cheese. Pastries and orher goodies were superb.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really great day. We enjoyed our drive into the country side very much, and really loved seeing how they have dealt with all the water problems. The guide was wonderful, gave lots of information about the towns. We loved seeing the windmills.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was just what we were looking for! The countryside was beautiful and Sonia was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour, great guide. Worth doing in my opinion. Yes these towns are full of tourists, but they are delightful non the less. The clog-making experience was not the cheesy thing I thought it would be but was really quite entertaining and delightful. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent value for money well worth the time and money several hours spent in the gardens were fantastic great guide

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although our tour was called Charm of Holland rather than the above, it seems to be the same. We enjoyed visiting the countryside including Edam, Volendaam and Marken in addition to cheese tasting, visiting a clog making factory and a working windmill. All the above gave us a good overview of the countryside and we packed a lot into 8 hours. Most enjoyable
Kay and Alister

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a fantastic tour and I would highly recommend this to everyone. Very beautiful places, tour guide was very informative, friendly and had a pleasant time to go around these small towns.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message