With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

You could probably get to Alkmaar via public transportation, but it was so relaxing to just get on a bus and let someone else worry about how to get there. The time allotted was just enough to check out the town. Don't miss the church. It was amazing. Loved the whole experience. The windmill stop was nice too. I would have preferred to spend a little less time there and a little more in Alkmaar, but others might feel opposite. The price of the trip was fine. The tour guide was just right. She gave us plenty of information without being annoying. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful tour. Great tour guide who was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It rained the whole day, and we still had a great time!!!! Beautiful trip. Nice guide. well worth it

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip and well worth the time and money. The Cheese Market is awesome and is much more than cheese. You can see wooden shoes being made, try eating some herring, and enjoy the mini pancakes. The trip to the windmills was also wonderful. we just enjoyed the trip through the countryside. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the tour guide was very knowledgeable about where we went. We had a great time on this tour. It would be helpful to have a bathroom on the bus.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Money again well spent! Do this tour, do not avoid it; get out of Amsterdam and see more that beautiful Holland has to offer - you won't regret it!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed this tour very much. It was the pleasure to see the countryside and the tour guide was excellent. The lunch that was arranged was excellent as well.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A great day outside of the city! Took many beautiful pictures. The villages were all very quaint and beautiful. This tour is low-key and quiet- kids may not enjoy it. You are given apple pie and coffee on the ferry to Volendam, the lunch provided was actually huge and tastey--choice of an appetizer and a large entree (for example: pork/fish, potatoes, and other veggies). One downfall is that the people in Markam were quite rude- our tour guide even expressed to us that they don't like tourists--this was unfortunate to learn.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide was wonderful. Great views and it was a full day. Still can't figure out what we were doing in Edam. I thought we would see a cheese factory. Volendam was great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way to see a little bit of everything of Holland country side. Just the right amount of time at each stop. Great lunch!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a day where the weather touched all of the seasons- rain, cold, sun, wind but we had the best time. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and was able to do the whole tour in 4 languages! We had enough time to look around and explore while getting a good tour experience of the towns. We learned so much about the country and its' history. We were in Holland for a week and this was one of the best days.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Enjoyed our day in the countryside where we visited four villages. We experienced seeing the windmills,
Watched a master shoemaker make a a pair of wooden shoes;ate a traditional Dutch meal.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Loved the sites visited, but very disappointed that our advertised "English speaking guide" also spoke 3 (sometimes 4) other languages on the same tour. Impressive, but made for laborious listening and a very disjointed, distracting (annoying) narrative. I felt sorry for the guide!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Trip worth it to see many 'iconic' Dutch cultural and scenic highlights in a day. Windmill visit ( peanut oil production) was highlight whilst perhaps a little too much time spent at commercial outlets associated with some of the stops( cheese shop / clogs etc). Walks through villages were interesting and something you wouldn't probably get to do on your own.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message