With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A brilliant tour and a brilliant guide. we loved the tour

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed this tour. It was comprehensive with windmills, wooden shoe making and cheese making demonstrations that were interesting and informative and gave us a feel for Holland. The tour guide was knowledgeable and personable and the lunch was delicious. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent Tour and guide. Out tour guide - Carolyn was very good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The tour guide never got off the bus to pick me up, if the bus even went through. I've contacted viator support and never heard back. I absolutely do not recommend them.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very comfortable, enjoyable and friendly. More information please next time but guide quite new. Excellent choice!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was very enjoyable allowing about an hour in each of the 3 locations. There were only 5 people on the trip which meant that there were no delays during the day and it was easy to hear whst the excellent guide Eveline was saying.
Weather was great which added to the enjoyment.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip with superb guide.Timings about right at each location.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour of small villages, boat ride to Markaan, and the Dutch windmills. Wonderful tour guide. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide Ingrid was fantastic. The tour was well-planned, well-timed with enough time built in for people to roam and discover and take pictures and have fun, and very well-balanced, with wonderful exhibitions by craftspeople in the cheese factory, oil mill, and shoe factory. A lot of fun!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip outside of Amsterdam. Our guide Maryann was terrific. This tour was just the right amount of interesting things to see and do to get a feel for the Netherlands. Wonderful, we would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! As I can't drive this tour took me to places I would never have seen on a city break in amsterdam! Really enjoyed every place we visited and the chese factory and clog factory visit was great. Maybe if you can drive try doing it yourself to save money but you miss out on the great info!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Enjoyed the shoemaking shop and checking out the windmills. I wish the cheese making shop had more to show for the process as it was more cheese tasting and buying instead of the actually making of cheese.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Nice trip but destinations very touristy.Disappointed our booked morning tour switched to the afternoon meaning scheduled cheese stop closed so had to go elsewhere, Volendam shops closing when we arrived
and we missed the cheese market as only happens in the morning. If join g on this trip,only do the morning option.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We stood in the cold and rain for a hour after the meeting time waiting for our bus. We had no idea which bus was ours and had to ask every single bus if it was ours. We were disappointed with the trip as the windmills were closed by the time we got there as we left so late, no communication that the coach was going to be late and rushing the rest of the tour as it was starting to get late. The meal at the final stop was very disappointing. Overall we would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a super tour! It was such a great way to see the countryside and small towns and villages outside of Amsterdam! My main interest was in taking pictures, and I got wonderful shots of windmills, the wooden houses, the countryside, and many birds. On the tour, we got a combination of bus tour, walking tour, and a boat tour, with time to shop, and lunch at a great restaurant. I loved the visit to the cheese factory in Volendam, too. The one part of the tour I wasn't sure I'd enjoy was the shoe factory, but the presenter there was so entertaining that it turned out to be a really fun stop on the trip! It would be very hard to see as much and get the same level of information without taking an organized tour, so this really was a great tour package!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great! I'm very lucky because it was personalized. I had an accident and it's hard for me to walk. The bus driver and the guide helped in everything they could making my experience a wonderful one. Highly recommended and very professional

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful villages and countryside. Very professional guide and driver. Just the right amount of info, walking, sightseeing, and resting. Very good food.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, good value and great overview of the Netherlands. Nice amount of time in each place including some free time for shopping. Countryside and towns were beautiful to visit.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Our guide was great, and all of the activities were really interesting. Tour had to be slightly adjusted at times due to the very cold weather, but everything was great! Clogs, cheese, windmills, fishing villages, apple pie...

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

there is a good variety and the wooden shoe making is particularly good. It is a lot fun.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour. Eric our guide was very knowledgeable. Needed longer at the windmills as we only had limited amount of time at end of day. All in all very nice tour and way to spend the day. No cheese tasting in Edam, name needs to be changed. You do cheese taste, just not here.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best day I had in Netherlands. Ideal balance between free time and activities with group. Really worth to go. Good weather is quite important to be so satisfied as I am.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message