With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is really worth the price. The tour guide Viola is knowledgeable and fun and each stop was fun and informative. It was a joy to see so much of the beautiful country. The highlight for me was the oil mill and the beautiful chocolate and cheese shops in that area. I recommend this!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was a lot of fun. we had a very knowledgable tour guide who took us from place to place and described everything we were seeing. Lunch was delicious, and because we went to four different places, I thought it was worthwhile to do this as part of a tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our morning with Lia was excellent, the town of Edam was particularly charming. To get out of the city and enjoy the countryside was exactly what we were after. Our guide was very knowledgeable and her English was great. Being a local she shared her experiences which added to our value. The pace of the tour was gentle and relaxing.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an outstanding tour of the country side north of Amsterdam and I especially enjoyed the visit to the windmills and the tour inside to learn how the mill worked and the products that were produced peanut oil

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very well organised trip in luxury coaches. Thanks for the wonderful informative trip. A special mention to our guide who shared lot of information and made sure we got a vegetarian meal for lunch

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked this tour. I liked the countryside of amsterdam. Exposure of the Dutch culture is better seen in this kind of tour. I liked the different kinds of cheese esp. The red pepper cheese. Pastries and orher goodies were superb.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a really great day. We enjoyed our drive into the country side very much, and really loved seeing how they have dealt with all the water problems. The guide was wonderful, gave lots of information about the towns. We loved seeing the windmills.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was just what we were looking for! The countryside was beautiful and Sonia was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour, great guide. Worth doing in my opinion. Yes these towns are full of tourists, but they are delightful non the less. The clog-making experience was not the cheesy thing I thought it would be but was really quite entertaining and delightful. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent value for money well worth the time and money several hours spent in the gardens were fantastic great guide

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although our tour was called Charm of Holland rather than the above, it seems to be the same. We enjoyed visiting the countryside including Edam, Volendaam and Marken in addition to cheese tasting, visiting a clog making factory and a working windmill. All the above gave us a good overview of the countryside and we packed a lot into 8 hours. Most enjoyable
Kay and Alister

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a fantastic tour and I would highly recommend this to everyone. Very beautiful places, tour guide was very informative, friendly and had a pleasant time to go around these small towns.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was replete with Dutch charm: windmills in operation, even seeing how peanut oil is still cranked out by windmill a clogs factory with demonstration of how clogs are carved out over the water to Vollendam where we enjoyed a cheese-tasting and a walking tour through quaint Edam. Highly recommended for the whole family.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Interesting. Driver and guide were very friendly, personable. Enjoyed the excursion very much.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Comprehensive tour of North Holland. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a nice easy tour that was great for tired travelers. There really wasn't enough time at the windmill stop--it was less than an hour. Edam was a cute little village with much charm. We walked through the village fairly quickly. There is no cheese demonstration other than a film. Volendam was a cute seaside village, but was full of tourists and not much time to explore.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Dutch country side is just wonderful.....highly recommended

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the entire trip, my daughter and I. It was exactly as advertised, the guide was knowledgable and accommodating. We met several other visitors from around the world that added to the experience. We would recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The town was lovely. The cheese show was very touristy and so crowded that it was impossible to see what was happening. The visit to the windmill was interesting and the tour guide on the bus did a nice job.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message