With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

CesKa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This day trip was lovely and so was our guide Astrid... such a lovely and kind smart lady! the tour was very interesting and what we liked most is that we saw a number of places in 1 day! get wrapped up and wear tick clothing especially when visiting Zaanse Shanc as it is quite cold and very windy... Loved It!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Frederick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was definitely a good tour and our guide Tina was EXCELLENT!! Tina interacted with the people on the bus and did a very good job switching from English to French. Tina made sure she talked to everyone and spoke clearly and gave a lot of information on the places we visited. This was definitely a very good trip and we were happy to be able to see what we did. What a nice informed guide Tina was.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Ana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was great between the locations, time frame, price, and especially our guide and driver. I will highly recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Kenneth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour covering many aspects of typical Dutch life.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really wonderful day seeing the countryside with a delightful tour hostess and bus driver. Thank you both so much!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall- a great day trip outside the city of Amsterdam. Short visits to Edam, Volendam, and Maarken. You are taken on a short guided walk around the town of Edam. Cheese Tasting is not done in Edam-instead you visit a cheese factory in Volendam and have wine with various cheeses which was very nice. A lunch break is taken in Maarken good food. Visited a working sawmill windmill which was interesting but felt we would have used a little more time at the windmills to take it all in and take some more pictures.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Gary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gorgeous variety of locations! would highly recommend it

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Randy P United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very nice trip. Our guide Jamie was very knowledgeable and made the trip very interesting. Was hoping to see some more Tulips but that is ok this is a worthwhile trip. Recommended.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Alkmaar is very interesting and something you should see as I think this is unique to Holland. However- it gets quite crowded. You may have to push your way to the front if you want to take pictures. Done in the outdoors- so be prepared for bad weather as you won't be covered. Town is quite nice with outdoor vendors, cheese tastings, and modern shopping. Made a quick stop around 50 minutes-1 hour to a windmill museum. This was plenty of time- you were able to get up close to the windmill and take some great pictures. Was able to climb to the top of the windmill to see how the windmill turns.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Richard S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Good trip with much to commend it. However, not entirely as described on website as the trip was done in a different order to that described and timings were out. Left 0945, boat trip 1245 - drink at last but we had to pay for it (NO free coffee and pastry!!) and finally rushed lunch at Marken!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was well worth the cheap price. First stop at Wind Mills and demo of Clog making, then free time to explore the site. Then to walk around cute little village of Edam. Next stop cheese making and tasting. Last stop in Volendam, which is pretty much a boardwalk along the ocean. Lots of food carts to try different things and shopping. Tour guide and driver were great and gave good info.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

JOHN V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fabulous way to spend a day, such a varied program with interesting visits, and food and drink at more than one of the venues. Each stop was full of unique aspects of Dutch life, past and present. Well worth giving yourself a day away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome trip...Diana was fabulous.
Windmills were so interesting and beautiful...great photo op!
So enjoyed the clog making demonstration.
Cheese samples were delicious.
Vollendam was gorgeous and free time and lunch was so fun.
Quick ride

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Brittany H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed our tour! Edgar was a fantastic tour guide, and he was able to keep both the Spanish and English guests informed. He was able to be both inclusive and efficient, which we found very impressive. The four towns each had their own atmosphere, and there was time to explore in each. Plus food to try at all four stops! This was a highlight of our Amsterdam vacation!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic day with a range of great experiences. Expert. knowledgeable hostess. Comfortable coach

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Carolina Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Definitely a five stars tour! The guide was excellent and even though it was raining we had a great time. The meal was good, the cheese and wine tasting was good, too. The tour was well organized and we had free time in every place we visited, which was very good.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was great to go out and experience the countryside. I felt like I really learned a lot about the history and culture of the Netherlands.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Samara Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

great tour....great insight into dutch history and culture! absolutely loved it.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Virginia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent Tour. Our Tour Guide was incredible!!! We enjoyed very much this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Areca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was pretty awesome. We met them at the ticket office which is maybe a 5 minute walk from the train station, cashed in our e ticket and awaited our group to be called. We visited four locations. I recommend this your to anyone who is also interested in learning about Dutch history!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Fransisca L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour and must have this tour if you want to know more about Holland. Love the view of windmills in countryside, And I enjoyed cheese tasting in Edam. I will recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour ,both of my children aged 12 and 14 also enjoyed the day .

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message