With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved everything about this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable. I felt like we got to see the real Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Beautiful trip. Nice to get away from the city.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful day and tour guides. Loved the stories about each individual door and the lovely communities we visited. It included everything I wanted to do in the country including a boat ride.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Trip was interesting, but the Alkmaar was too crowded.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I greatly enjoyed the various cities we visited (Marken (clogs, boat), Volendam (more touristy town), Edam (cheese), and especially Zaanse Schans windmills. They were the highlights and adorable! The tour was conducted in two languages and our guide, Erik, tried his best to get through both in a timely manner.
Only thing keeping us from five stars is that we got very little history about the cities themselves and it was more color commentary than history. This is a preference thing though.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

You could probably get to Alkmaar via public transportation, but it was so relaxing to just get on a bus and let someone else worry about how to get there. The time allotted was just enough to check out the town. Don't miss the church. It was amazing. Loved the whole experience. The windmill stop was nice too. I would have preferred to spend a little less time there and a little more in Alkmaar, but others might feel opposite. The price of the trip was fine. The tour guide was just right. She gave us plenty of information without being annoying. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful tour. Great tour guide who was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a gr8 day out . Maryanne our guide was wonderful . Highly recommend it :-)

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a gr8 day out . Maryanne our guide was wonderful . Highly recommend it :-)

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It rained the whole day, and we still had a great time!!!! Beautiful trip. Nice guide. well worth it

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant tour. Entertaining guide. Many many beautiful sights to see. Loved it all - the clog maker, the boat trip, Vollendum, Edam, and especially the windmills. We actually went inside the windmill and up onto the outside first level. Spectacular. Very generous lunch. Good value for money.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was very very good. The Countryside is just beautiful

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great way to see a lot in a limited time. Excellent guide and timing.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a lovely trip and one I would recommend. It was bought for me and I was a little concerned of going on my own but I needn't have worried as I soon had people to share the day with. The only downside to the day was the weather, however we did everything that we excepted to do.
For me the best part was walking through the villages- so picturesque ( even better if it wasn't from underneath a brolly).
The talks were short but informative and you had opportunities to buy things from each stop we made. The meal was included and was good.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message