With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really enjoyed our tour. It had a little bit of everything and our guide was fantastic. The only confusing part was where to meet the bus by the church. The stop was actually in front of the grocery store.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the trip! However, the cheese tasting was actually in Voldendam not Edam so you might want to change this in the title as its misleading... Windmills were fantastic.. Also, the guide did a great job of explaining everything in English and Spanish. I'd recommend the trip!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was SUCH a great tour - we had time in each location and our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent day trip. very well looked after by the driver and the Guide. Would recommend to anyone looking for day outside Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day was had visiting the small villages of Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam with tour guide Monique and bus driver Ari.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Kenneth H
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Terrific guide. She was very knowledgeable and entertaining. I recommend the trip.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an absolute fabulous time on this tour. It was organized and easy to meet up with the group. The directions were clear and precise. Astrid and David were an absolute delight to be on tour with. We loved all of the stops and everything from a timing perspective was well planned. We learned so much about each area we stopped at. Thank you this is a don't miss tour and be sure to try and do it with Astrid!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We really liked this tour the day was beautiful and the tour guide and the bus driver were great. I would have given it a 5 star rating but we didn't do any cheese tasting in the town of Edam. We did do a really nice wine and cheese tasting in Marken. They just need to change the description of the tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

loved it. Did not like the lunch as well. Had to pay if we wanted a glass of water. We assumed lunch was included and that would be the water also. Guide was wonderful. Sites that we stopped at were good

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Had a wonderful day with the knowledgeable Sonia as tour guide. She was very helpful and thoughtful. we had a nice 4 hours touring, first stop was the nice area seeing the windmills of Amsterdam, seeing how the make the wooden shoes, we had an hour in this area. we then made our way to the lovely own of Edam, it was a nice day strolling and seeing the wonderful gardens along the canals. we then headed towards the cheese factory, with lots of tasting and some nice purchases were made, This was followed by a stop to Vollendam sea side village. Sonia recommended a nice place for lunch of Kibbeling fried cod, locally sourced eel on a soft roll and prawns. It was delicious! All in all a great half day of touring on a small group 12 guests in a Mercedes's mini van. Only comment would be that the van could have cooler air con, but hey this is Europe.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The guide was knowledgeable and paced the tour well.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour guide was absolutely fantastic - very knowledgeable and friendly. As with some other reviews there was not quite enough time to have a proper lunch in Volerdam as we only had about 50 minutes there and whilst it was nice to go to the cheese market in Edam we were still expecting to go to a cheese factory and understand more about the cheese making - if you don't go on a Wednesday presumably you would still get this but it would have been nice to know. Overall really good day out and again the tour guide was great!!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This is a full-day tour and it covers a lot of ground however, there was ample time for lunch and walking around Zaanse Schans- an open-air museum where people live and work and there are lots of windmills. I loved seeing the countryside and enjoyed the cheese tasting and the very brief clog-making demonstration. This is a good tour if you're willing to commit to an entire day, with lots of stops, and some walking at all destinations. Our guide was great- very friendly and knowledgeable about all of the places we visited.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Very informative guide, told us lots about Amsterdam and the surrounding area. The cheese market was a let down, absolutely rammed with people so you couldn't really see anything, worth it for 5 minutes but we had to stay 2 hours. Timing was wrong for lunch as we left there at 12 o'clock would have been better to stay an hour then go to the windmill and stop for lunch somewhere before returning. The windmill stop was interesting and great to get inside and have a look around plus the film was interesting too. Half day trip was enough not much fun if you have very young children though I had a 10 and 13 year old which though it ok just a bit boring!

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is really worth the price. The tour guide Viola is knowledgeable and fun and each stop was fun and informative. It was a joy to see so much of the beautiful country. The highlight for me was the oil mill and the beautiful chocolate and cheese shops in that area. I recommend this!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Interesting how a cheese market was organised in Holland in the last centuries ! We also tasted the different types of cheese and indeed - very tasty ! The trip to the windmills was so full of important information about how the Dutch people fought and are still fighting for every square inch of land. We had no idea before that the windmills were used mainly for making polder , for running lakes dry, in our land mills are used for grinding corn.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was great. We saw a lot and our driver and guide were excellent. It was well worth it! We traveled with kids ages 8 and 12 and they really enjoyed it as well.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Astrid, was engaging, smart, fun, and full of interesting commentary during the tour. We felt the tour gave us a terrific sense of the local countryside and history. Very worthwhile.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip and great historical information from our travel guide.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a good way to see some of the countryside. Edam was a very peaceful and relaxed place, a complete contrast from Amsterdam itself.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent trip to know Holland country, just 50 kilometres from busy city of Amsterdam...half day full of traditions...it is amazing experience to see cheese trading! Really worth to go there. The g

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Jaime was awesome, very knowledgeable, very informative. It was so much fun definitely was of the highlights of our entire week in The Netherlands!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message