With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolina Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Definitely a five stars tour! The guide was excellent and even though it was raining we had a great time. The meal was good, the cheese and wine tasting was good, too. The tour was well organized and we had free time in every place we visited, which was very good.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Tara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was great to go out and experience the countryside. I felt like I really learned a lot about the history and culture of the Netherlands.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Samara Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

great tour....great insight into dutch history and culture! absolutely loved it.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour ,both of my children aged 12 and 14 also enjoyed the day .

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was really great. I highly recommend this tour. Our Guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I learned a lot about The Netherlands, much more than I thought I would. The bus was comfortable too. The tour included lunch which was very tasty. As well as a nice desert. There was a wide variety of stops on this tour, something for everyone.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

madison87

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This was a nice tour. The weather was awful, but I had a great time anyway. We went to Zannse Schaan to see the windmills and learn a brief history of them and their current status in Holland we then walked around the town and had a great lunch at the restaurant of choice. I would recommend the fish soup the tomato basil was okay, but you're near the water so get the fish soup and the fish dish. The food was delicious. We then went to do cheese tasting you can do something similiar in Amsterdam, but this was fun. We then went took a short ferry ride see a clog making demonstration. Very nice and educational. Kids would love it, but the adults there also had a great time. Was a very pleasant tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Santosh M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour guide in Ms. Juliet to give you an overview of Holland's history. Thoroughly enjoyed the half a day tour walk on the dyke, cheese making and the oil extraction process in windmills balanced by the countryside lifestyle Edam and Volendam.
What stood out most during the tour was the clog manufacturing process in Zaanse Schans and to finally get my hands on an authentic black forest wooden cuckoo clock!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

YONG CHUAN L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great, relaxing tour to see the country side of Amsterdam. But if you like something more intense and interesting, this might not be that suitable.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Genevieve B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely loved this tour. Juliet was a wonderful and informative guide. Chantal, the driver, was very nice with helping us with our double buggy at each stop. The towns are very tranquil and beautiful. We enjoyed the cheese shop, windmills, and the walks throughout the small towns. You definitely don't want to miss this half day excursion!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Kaye M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a perfect day! A little bit of everything that is so typically Dutch, and with a local who could explain what we were experiencing. A great way to see outside of the city centre and understand the waterways of the Lowlands.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour had been the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. Our guide was knowledgeable and was engaging enough to keep our interest up. Of all the places we've visited, Zaanse Schans had to be the best since that's where the windmills are. With such an idyllic scenery, it was made for picture taking. Going up the windmill afforded us with an elevated 360 views of the surrounding area. Learning about the windmill's inner workings was fascinating. I do wish that we were allowed more time to meander around the neighborhood and check out the shops. I feel that an hour give or take wasn't nearly enough.

The other portion of the tour at Edam, Volendam and Marken were also interesting. The lunch in Marken was surprisingly good. Normally, lunches included in tours are nothing to write home about. However, our lunch was pretty good if I say so myself.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour as it gave us an experience that was something that's totally different from the big city feel of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour of the country. The towns, the windmills, the cheese, wine, lunch were all great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

long day but totally worth it. cheese tasting was great. plenty of opportunities for shopping but not much free time.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

rob

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was fantastic. The Dutch countryside was beautiful. Highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Gino C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

worth doing, get to see lots of places in one day, value for money

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Georgios A

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Wasn't what we expected for the price and disappointing lunch, was not advise drinks not included food could be getter.Tour guide was just okay.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Norma Diane S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Very poor beginning. Confusion on being picked up. Our group waited an hour and a half to be picked up and driven to the bus for the tour. We were not informed of what was going on. The people on the bus were not pleased that our group had kept them waiting! The rest of the day was rushed because of the pick up problem? The tour guide did not clarify what caused the mix up. The tour guide could have cared less about the people on the tour. I could not recommend this tour company. Very disappointing for the price. I suggest going to the small towns around Amsterdam on your own!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our family of four 2 adults, 2 kids ages 11 and 14 enjoyed a great half day on this tour. We enjoyed the windmills, the cheese, and everything about it. Our guide was especially knowledgeable, had a really good sense of what we might be interested in, and gave us options at every turn. We would have loved another 30-40 minutes at Zaanse Schans, but everything else was great!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic coach. Great mix of activities. Kids loved the wooden shoe factory and windmill components. Boat ride to Marken and the lunch there were superb. Loved walking around Edam, visiting the cheese shop and other shops there. Viola was an excellent tour guide. Of the 10 or so tours we took in Europe, this one stood out.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

vlhogan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a wonderful tour. It was extremely well organized and great value for the cost. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it, and our tour guide was excellent. What a great way to see the Netherlands countryside.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message