• USD ($)
  • English
With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting trip. The event was unusual and memorable.
Alkmaar is well worth the visit.
The length of the time in Alkmaar could have been a little longer because there were so many shops that we didn't have time to check out. Just a bit rushed.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Alkmaar is a beautiful village and time there was extremely short. Due to the crowds that arrived prior to our tour bus it was difficult to see much. I would recommend the tour getting started earlier, enabling an earlier arrival and maximizing the experience.
The windmill portion of the trip was very informative, especially the ability to freely tour the inside of a working windmill.
The knowlegable guide's soothing voice lulled me to a restful place during the return commute which was great since traffic prohibited our return at the promised time. A rejuvinating nod was able to be captured during the ride back to de Dam which was great preparation for afternoon events. Glad we booked this tour!

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Certainly recommend the tour but a massive let down was the womans voice - i know this sounds petty but after 4 hours of broken englsih from the tour guide, it starts to take away from the joys of the tour.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The company was not only disorganized, but by leaving Amsterdam so late, we were not able to view the Cheese Market exhibition. We left late (partly because the company was looking for more tourists to fill the bus), but even if we had left on time, we would have arrived way too late to see anything. There were already hundreds of people crowding the square.

On the bus, the guide rambled on and on. Not very interesting or engaging, I'm afraid. This is one tour to avoid.

The windmill stop was pleasant enough, but not enough to give the company more stars.

I'm usually very forgiving when it come to tours, but this one was really a waste of time.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

very well organized tour with alot of time to do activities on your own. was better than we expected

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great half day trip from Amsterdam. The cheese market was very interesting to see, only problem with the day we went was that it was a very cold, windy and wet day, so a bit miserable walking around the town. However, we were able to see how the cheese is sold, weighed etc.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The Cheese market was interesting but the time there was very short. I injoyed the day though.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was great, bus was comfortable and very organized despite the construction in Amsterdam. Will tour with your company again

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a wonderful side trip. The town was beautiful. Best shopping of the trip. The Schaun Windmills serene and beautiful. The tour guide and driver very good.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

took a canal cruise instead....very interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Since the cheese market is only open on Fridays, the market was so crowded you really couldn't see anything. I think every tour operator in and around Amsterdam was there. If you get lucky and see your way through the crowd, it was interesting to see how they sell their cheese.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very good but not enough time in alkmaar

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Far below expectations! Extremely crowded cheese market place, no time to see or do anything. If there is any possibility, drive there yourself, or share a cab, will have a lot more time and freedom, otherwise, pretty much a waste of time.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I wrote Viatour to find out if the tour stopped at a cheese farm in Edam and they told me that yes, the tour was of the market in Alkmaar, a stop at a windmill and then a cheese farm tour. Well, it was 1hr 15min in Alkmaar and an hour at the windmills. No stop in Edam. It advertised that you have time in Alkmaar for lunch. We had to be back to meet the bus at 11:55am - that's a really early lunch. If you want to go to Alkmaar take the train, it's far less expensive and very easy to get to. You'll also get to the market by 10am when it starts and not 10:50 when the tour arrives. There are windmills in Amsterdam proper that you can see.
I wrote via tour to find out why the product that they have described online does not match what the tour company (Lindberg) describes in their brochure and they never responded.
Final word: if you want a hurried look Alkmaar and an hour to look at 2 windmills then this is the tour for you. If you want time to see the town in depth (and it is pretty) then take the train and save yourself a lot of money.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Was very satisfied with the service and info received. Pity the cheese market is so busy and it s hard to see what s going on. But I would recommend this tour. I enjoyed immensely the Dutch windmills very well explained.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message