• USD ($)
  • English

Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Heineken Experience

A visit to the old Heineken brewery is paramount to brew-worshipers and beer lovers. You will learn the history of the Heineken family, find out how the logo has evolved, and follow the brewing process from water all the way through to bottling. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

it was a blast the hop on hop off canal bus was superb and on time always and the heineken experience will blow your mind

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Worth doing once but probably wouldn't do it again, the canal cruise was great! I read a few reviews before and decided to go early in the morning to avoid a long wait. We waited about 5 mins and it was a nice cruise around the canal.
It was raining so all the windows for foggy. We didn't actually see anything until we got back on the following day when the weather had (luckily) cleared up.
The great thing about this bus was that it went to places you wouldn't normally see as a tourist without knowing the area (the Heineken experience etc).
We actually liked the tour of the diamond factory and it was fun to watch the process!
Overall - the Hop-On Hop-Off bus was ok but the Canal Criuise was worth the money we spent. A tip to others - only do this when you know the weather will be clear, don't waste your money for foggy windows!

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The Hop On Hop Off was inconvenient because it only ran every few hours or so and it was hard to manage in with our schedule. The Heineken Experience was fun and we really enjoyed that!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The canal bus hop on off could have been great in the right scenario; however, for us it left a little something to be desired. We only had one day in the city to get around to do our tourist stuff (on a layover back home). So the slower pace of the boat tour didn't end up fitting into our plans due to the slower nature of the boats. Had we had a few more days and been able to spend ample time on the boats viewing the architecture, that would have been ideal.

Heineken tour was awesome!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Heineken experience wasn't as good as I expected - was a little short, the 'ride' was ridiculous and the best bit was drinking the Heineken which I could've done anywhere!! Also I was expecting two free pints but it was actually two half pints. Glad I ticked it off the list though I guess.
The pizza cruise was lovely - helpful staff, great atmosphere, fab views and really nice food! Would definitely recommend this!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Heineken Experience was very touristy and crowded the day we were there, but good. Pizza cruise was relaxing. Booking ahead with Viator made the day seamless.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

S and D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good fun at the Heineken Experience and interesting too.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Heineken experience is awesome for anyone who loves beer,great tour. Don't do it with the pizza cruise. Definitely do a tour, but pizza is ordinary dominos quality, and they naturally stuffed the orders up.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

All the various tour guides were great. Very friendly and their English was awesome.
It was very nice to see the difference in todays process and from the past. The real difference is there are machines now that can work faster and more reliably than people. The beer is still the same. The " Brew You " ride was a pleasant surprise, I didn't even know it was part of the tour, sweet!
If you like Heineken, and you're from North America, or elsewhere, you will love it in Amsterdam. Fresh from the tap, filled to the center of the red star, and just enough head to reach the brim of the glass.
This tour was great. In every sense, it was great. There are games, and plenty of photo ops throughout the building. The bar at the end of the tour is great, perfect beer, perfect mood.
The gift shop was naturally NOT an option. You traverse through to get to the exit. I am glad, I saw a watch that just caught my eye, had to have it! Prices were more reasonable than you would think!
I think if you like beer, or if you like history, or if you're interested in an important part of Holland, you MUST do this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved the canals! Heineken experience was enjoyable, but long. Definitely worth the money to buy these together.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Good for people who are passionate about Heineken. A lot of effort and expense has gone into visual effects which are kind of cool, and the beer tasting and lounge are great for those who want to drink beer...staff seem to love their job at the factory which makes them more enthusiastic with there audience. Canal boat passes are good in nice weather and depending on how long you want to spend riding in the canals.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Heineken Experience was awesome!! The kids loved it too!! Pizza Canal Cruise was 7/10.....

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

Syyl
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

I bought the 24 hours day pass and it was a waste of money. You need a good 3-4 hours at Heineken And while there's four different lines on the hop on hop off bus, bear in mind that each only runs 30 mins to 1 hour per stop, so if you miss it, it's some time wasted. If you only have one day, then buy the Heineken ticket through other means (do it in advance to avoid lines). If you have two days, this is a good option. Spend a good half day at Heinken and the other day just on the bus tour (it has audio guides on board) and appreciate the canal round in Amsterdam. Keep in mind, the transport in Amsterdam is rididucously convenient, you could easily buy a day pass (or more) and hop on and off the tram to browse around the city. Obviously, canal bus will give you a different view of the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Heineken experience is five stars, I didn't utilise the canal pass that much, so that wasn't for me. Best to do heineken on it's own. However I'm not the one to judge canal pass.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Brilliant way to get around this gorgeous city. The Heineken Experience was great. I don't even drink beer, but still found the tour very enjoyable, fun, interactive and full of history. My husband was pleased, as he got to drink my share of the beer too!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message