Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Keukenhof Gardens

Covering some 79 acres (32 hectares), the Keukenhof Tulip Gardens is the world’s largest flower garden. Come springtime, the meandering, wooded gardens are visited by some 800,000 flower-lovers, who come to soak up the blaze of color that envelops ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 388 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Interesting stop at the bulb farm prior to going to Keukenhof. The gardens were absolutely fantastic and even the heavy rain on the way there couldn't diminish our enjoyment.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Keukenhof Gardens Tour and Tulip Farm Visit from Amsterdam

patricia l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

a good guide with a lot of information on Holland and keukenhof

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Dorothy E T T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good, met my expectations. A bit of confusion in the offices about what time we would go because there was a festival in Keukenhof. Would have been helpful to let us know in advance that there was a festival on same day. Thoroughly enjoyed it all the same - when we got there eventually. Traffic was at a standstill due to the festival so it took a very long time to get there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip plus Amsterdam City Tour

Kathleen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you are in Amsterdam during tulip/daffodil season, this is a MUST DO! We gathered at the tours and tickets' store front, which houses many different tour groups. The meeting point is very close to Central Station and easy walk from Dam Square. You will gather on a large double-deck bus in US think a Megabus. We were initially concerned about getting seats as the group could be a little pushy walking to the bus pick up point, but were able to find seats on the bottom. The ride is rather long, almost an hour one way. We slept for some, as we had landed from our overnight flight that morning. We were able to land, leave our luggage, and make it to the 1:30 departure no problem - this tour was the perfect way to prevent jet-lag and still get in some beautiful sight-seeing with low demand for alertness/focus like a museum tour or something to think about. Our guide narrated some of the ride and explained about the industry. The farm tour was worth it. The 'field tour' would be a drive-by experience, and we are so happy we chose this tour with getting out of the bus and actually walking through the fields of daffodils - there were acres and acres of blossoms! The farmer explained a great deal about the farming of bulbs. I learned why my tulips at home fizzle out! Now I now how to plant them and keep them coming back year after year. You view a short movie about the other seasons of the farming of tulip bulbs, and end with a visit to a quaint store filled with examples of blooms you can order and have shipped to your home. I ordered some and while the cost may be a little higher than I usually spend, I am happy with knowing my hard earned money will go to another hard working family. The Keukenhof gardens are everything people say and more. Absolutely breath taking, something unlike anything I've seen here in New England... fields and fields of artistically placed bulbs. Artwork in the landscape really. There were demo greenhouse and more... Don't hesitate - Just go!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Keukenhof Gardens Tour and Tulip Farm Visit from Amsterdam

Jay K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great!
It was a little early for the outdoor tulips at Keukenhof, but there were plenty inside!

Tulip Farm visit was amazing..
This was the highlight of the trip!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Keukenhof Gardens Tour and Tulip Farm Visit from Amsterdam

rmbheritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I thoroughly recommend this unforgettable tour to the Keukenhof Gardens which was greatly enhanced by an informative and amusing guide on the coach to and from the venue. Our tour took place on 5 April at 11.45am but unfortunately we did not note his name. Three hours at the gardens seemed a long time when we first arrived but there is so much to see it was just about right.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Janice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great way to spend a day in Amsterdam and see so many sights. It was nice to get out of the crowds of Amsterdam and see the beautiful country side. I would have liked more time at Zaanse Schans Windmills. I felt we were rushed thru. But, I understand we had a lot to fit in one day. Twice our bus driver was late getting back to the bus, so this did take away from our sight seeing time. I would still highly recommend this tour. We had plenty of time at Keukenhof to enjoy the beautiful flowers.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

bamberyc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A special tour. Unfortunately due to a late winter, a lot of the tulips hadn't flowered but there were still some and plenty of hyacinths, tulips and orchids. Keukenhof is a beautiful park with plenty to occupy the time provided.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Martha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very much enjoyed visit to Haarlem and the bulb farm. Tour guide was excellent. Keukenhof Gardens were terrific.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Keukenhof Gardens, Haarlem and Holland Bulb Farm Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rex S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

not to be missed I think you need more time at Keukenhof there is so much to see.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

reach.grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend anyone to go on this trip based on the fact that the places visited are so beautiful and definitely worth it.
Cons: This tour is broken into 2 parts - morning and afternoon. The morning section where we visited the windmills, volendam and market was too rush to me. If you have elders who are unable to walk fast, be warned that it is hard to keep up to the speed. The only way to do it is to have a headstart i.e. when given 10 minutes for souvenir shopping, don't even look and start walking. Too little time was given at the windmills as it was also a far walk to the windmill which we could enter and listen to a brief. As such, we did not have much time to visit other 'shops/windmills'. Also, too little time was given to see/buy souvenirs at the clogs-making workshop and had to rush for the boat to volendam which was a far walk away. When we come to the end of the morning tour, we had to do a far walk to the bus as well. As it was cold and very windy, most of us could not walk too quickly especially the elders where their legs are more or less stiff from the cold. Many were complaining as many of us were being rushed to quickly board the bus.
Probably the trip that breaks down Keukenhof into another day will be better as I supposed more time will be given to visit the windmills, volendam and marken which is to be completed in 1 day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Gerdina v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Visiting Keukenhof was a wonderful experience! It is a magnificent place with so much beauty around. The tour left right on time and the guide was very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Sunny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What's not to like about the gardens! The 3000 or so variants of tulips and the amazing arrangement of the gardens was a sight to behold. I wish I had more than the 3 hours to walk around and enjoy seeing everything! From what the guide mentioned, the arrangement of the flowers is different every year.

There are only 2 criticisms that I have: 1 It would have been nice to stop by the side of the road of one of the tulip farms and get some good shots of a farm of tulips. We were only able to get pictures while the coach was in motion. 2 While I appreciate the organization to the Keukenhof Gardens and 15 min of background information about the gardens, I felt that self arrangement of the transportation would have been better however, the guide mentioned that public transport to the gardens can be difficult. If you can arrange your own ride and get tickets in advance, it may be better.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Lesley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour guide. Helpful and patient with some of her over enthusiastic visitors. Diversion to the tulip farm was very informative and of course Keukenhof Park was magnificent. This trip is for the real gardeners, no stupid stops at clog factories or cheese shops. Buy all that in Amsterdam if you must, Spend more time out with the bulbs and flowers!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Keukenhof Gardens Tour and Tulip Farm Visit from Amsterdam

llindabrand69

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The bus was punctual in both directions. Our hostess and driver looked after us very well. We had a very enjoyable day at Keukenhoff.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Marci-Beth M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, Pieter, was quite entertaining and shared interesting info as we drove to and for Keukenhof. Traveling with our two sons, we all enjoyed our time on this trip.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Vincent T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was pretty much as advertised. Overall, we enjoyed it very much. The tour guide Daniella and the driver were very professional and tried very hard to accommodate our needs. The duration of the tour to Keukenhof was about right. However, the tour to Zaanse Schans was a little rushed 15 minutes more of free time at each stop would be nice for us to take more pictures.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Barbara L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The coach was comfortable and the driver, guide were pleasant and friendly. The commentary was in 4 different languages. I think German English French and Spanish. It was interesting to learn about the bulb fields, but you only see them from a distance on this tour. Keukenhoff Gardens were absolutely amazing. I would love to go again in a couple of weeks!

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Terrianne L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Keukenhof gardens were spectacular! Enjoyed the time spent there!
The Zaanse Schans Windmills - we walked to the last Windmill for a brief talk therefore had no time to look around the town. Volendam was a nice town and enjoyed free time walking around. Marken was a great site to visit. Never saw anything like it before

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

RAJESH D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Main advantage is visit to the Farm, but if more farm are covered better so that we can see various colours of Tulip also. Little 1/2 hour time should be more for Keukenhof Gardens

Doing what: Skip the Line: Keukenhof Gardens Tour and Tulip Farm Visit from Amsterdam

Susan C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Keukenhof Gardens in April are amazing. Must see! Pavilion displays are very creative, too. The Canal Cruise was disappointing. The audio was hard to hear and very little said. Took another cruise in Paris with a live person narrating the tour and this was MUCH better. The Van Gogh museum is also terrific and skipping the lines is so helpful.

Doing what: Amsterdam Combo: Skip-the-Line Keukenhof Gardens and Van Gogh Museum with Canal Cruise

BarryOD Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The coach was very comfortable, and it left Amsterdam on time. The guide was a delight: he spoke in English, German, French and Spanish, and managed to be funny in all of them. Notice that he announced on departure that he assumed the native Dutch on board could all follow what he was saying in at least one foreign language - imagine saying that to the English, Americans or French!
His only problem was that his microphone was over modulated and his voice sounded distorted in all four languages.

The Keukenhof itself was its usual wondrous self, though perhaps a little less colorful than usual for the time of year, due to cold weather delaying the blooms.

Altogether, a lovely half-day trip.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The time at Keukenhof was awesome. The gardens are beautiful and we had the right amount of time to visit everything. I think I took 300 photos! As far as Zaanse, it was a little disappointing. We had to travel all the way back to Amsterdam and let some people off the bus and then go back out to Zaanse. Zaanse itself was pretty but nothing that I would do again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Day-Trip Combo: Keukenhof Gardens and Zaanse Schans Windmill Village

JackClements

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Keukenhof is an experience of a lifetime. Its beauty cannot be imagined, you must see it.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Theodora T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Easy way to get to the Keukenhof Gardens. HIGHLY recommended. We had perfect weather for this trip and the guide was excellent. Allow it to be a main event for your day in Amsterdam!

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulip Fields Tour from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message