Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Maison Descartes/Descartes' House

The one-time abode of French philosopher René Descartes, Maison Descartes has become a popular attraction for French tourists, housing the French consulate and the French institute, who organize a number of cultural events in the city.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 256 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide. Personable and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great morning with terry. A very cold morning to walk but terry made it worthwhile. The irish humour really shone. And boy does he know his amsterdam. Even the best coffee shop real coffee . If your in the city for a few days then book one of his walks. Tony Perth west australia.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Jose was a great tour guide. Even though this particular tour was in both Spanish and English he was thorough and answered all questions.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour Including Dutch Snacks and Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting and enjoyable walking tour of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Terry was just superb with his knowledge and friendliness.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best walking tour we have ever had! We learned more with Terry in 3 hours than we did in 5 days on our previous trip to Amsterdam several years ago. Terry tailored the tour to fit our interests. He is a wealth of information and has a great Irish sense of humor. Would highly recommend this tour - you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Terry was so knowledgeable, interesting and engaging the time just flew by.One of the best walking tours we have been on.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was knowledgable and humorous and the gave a very good overview of Amsterdam, I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide was great and was well informed about both history and current events. Best tour on our vacation.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an awesome tour of lots of great sights along with informative, funny and interesting comments about the areas, structures, etc. It was a beautiful, chilly day! We all really enjoyed our Tour guide, Terry. He was great and Irish too!! Seems he's from Cork, Ireland-where all my ancestors came from! We would highly recommend taking this tour with Terry. Jay and Katie Miller Cerritos, CA USA!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Great guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best tour we did our entire two week trip to Paris, Amsterdam and Spain. Terry is AWESOME. Tour was fun and knowledgeable. All around excellent.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very good tour. We had a very good tour of Amsterdam with a very good tour guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was very informed and personable.He provided a good historical perspective but also included humorous anecdotes and stories. The tour was just the right length and very interesting.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour Including Dutch Snacks and Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide was very friendly and helpful

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our Irish tour guide, Terry, was informative and knowledgeable about Amsterdam's history and culture. He happily answered any questions our small group asked of him. Terry took us to sights that were significant in Amsterdam's history. The tour lasted 3 hours with one short break. This tour was a worthwhile way to get an introduction to the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Superb tour led by Terry O'Leary!! We saw many highlights and Terry was extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommend booking this tour which gives a geographical and historical overview of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Terry was excellent !! I think he's the only 1 guide who gives this tour. Ours was a group of 8 people. The tour started with a delay of 15 mins because an American mom-daughter were running a little late. Terry was patient enough to give them directionsthough it was simple as they were travelling via a car. Rest all were on time. He was also patient enough to let everyone click pics and also kept the group together in an impressive manner. He gave in-depth explanationeven about RLD about all places as well as answered all our questions of various kinds. The tour ended near Anne Fran House. At the end, he also gave other tips like where to stay, eat etc.
one advice to Viator : Next time, please don't mention 'Look out for Green T-shirt' around meeting point as it causes a lot of confusion to some people at least 3 people in my group were confused.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very excellent tour and a great way to see Amsterdam! Terry the tour guide was terrific giving us interesting information at a perfect walking pace. A tour all should do!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Always use Viator and yet again first class. Our Guide Terry spoke with the passion and humour only an Irishman living in Amsterdam could! He clearly knows the city very well having lived there for many years and we really enjoyed First Class thank you

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great experience. Our guide Terry made the morning go very quickly and wish it could have been longer. Highly recommend this tour to get a good overview of Amsterdam and it's history. Terry made it very interesting and highly enjoyable.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Terry, our guide was very Knowledgeable with many interesting stories. The tour covers many great Amsterdam land marks.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message