Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Maison Descartes/Descartes' House

The one-time abode of French philosopher René Descartes, Maison Descartes has become a popular attraction for French tourists, housing the French consulate and the French institute, who organize a number of cultural events in the city.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was very informed and personable.He provided a good historical perspective but also included humorous anecdotes and stories. The tour was just the right length and very interesting.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour Including Dutch Snacks and Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide was very friendly and helpful

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our Irish tour guide, Terry, was informative and knowledgeable about Amsterdam's history and culture. He happily answered any questions our small group asked of him. Terry took us to sights that were significant in Amsterdam's history. The tour lasted 3 hours with one short break. This tour was a worthwhile way to get an introduction to the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Superb tour led by Terry O'Leary!! We saw many highlights and Terry was extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommend booking this tour which gives a geographical and historical overview of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Terry was excellent !! I think he's the only 1 guide who gives this tour. Ours was a group of 8 people. The tour started with a delay of 15 mins because an American mom-daughter were running a little late. Terry was patient enough to give them directionsthough it was simple as they were travelling via a car. Rest all were on time. He was also patient enough to let everyone click pics and also kept the group together in an impressive manner. He gave in-depth explanationeven about RLD about all places as well as answered all our questions of various kinds. The tour ended near Anne Fran House. At the end, he also gave other tips like where to stay, eat etc.
one advice to Viator : Next time, please don't mention 'Look out for Green T-shirt' around meeting point as it causes a lot of confusion to some people at least 3 people in my group were confused.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very excellent tour and a great way to see Amsterdam! Terry the tour guide was terrific giving us interesting information at a perfect walking pace. A tour all should do!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Always use Viator and yet again first class. Our Guide Terry spoke with the passion and humour only an Irishman living in Amsterdam could! He clearly knows the city very well having lived there for many years and we really enjoyed First Class thank you

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great experience. Our guide Terry made the morning go very quickly and wish it could have been longer. Highly recommend this tour to get a good overview of Amsterdam and it's history. Terry made it very interesting and highly enjoyable.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Terry, our guide was very Knowledgeable with many interesting stories. The tour covers many great Amsterdam land marks.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our walking tour of Amsterdam was excellent! Our guide Terry I think it was, was so knowledgeable, professional, and fun.
It was a cold icy day, but we thoroughly enjoyed learning the history of buildings, events, and people in Amsterdam. Since we had only one day in Amsterdam, during our travels, this was the perfect way to see the city and cover lots of ground in a short period of time. We stopped and enjoyed some hot mint tea in a small coffee shop during the tour, which was a nice break.

Terry was an outstanding guide and we highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Terry was extremely knowledgeable, friendly witty and the tour was wonderful. He was punctual and had a keen sense of humour and answered all our questions. Highly recommended

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We booked a walking tour with Viator and on the scheduled day we met up with our guide, Terry O'Leary. It was just my husband and I on the tour so we were able to cover a lot of ground. Terry is from Ireland and I think his perspective as a non Amsterdam native was very insightful. He took us to nooks and crannies of the city we would have never been able to discover on our own. The time we spent flew by and we went away from the tour understanding elements of Amsterdam's culture that we never would have known about.I would highly recommend Terry if you are going to be in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide-Terry-was wonderful. He was both knowledgeable and anecdotal. A very worthwhile investment in our time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We four Australians found our tour guide, Terry, extremely knowledgeable about Amsterdam. (and he was not a local). We started at the National Monument with bands in costumes pumping out tunes which gave our tour a jolly good start. We finished the tour with coffee and cake and were very pleased with what we had seen and learnt about this historical city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was excellent and very personal. Our guide, Terry, was very knowledgeable and friendly. The pace was just right. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, lots of attention to detail and very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good an knowledgable group leader. Learned a lot

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour Including Dutch Snacks and Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent walk around Amsterdam. Terry our guide was very informative and very knowledgeable about the history of Amsterdam. Highly recommend this walking tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The walking tour was extensive and fantastic - the guide was entertaining and informative about the history and attractions giving us a huge insight into Amsterdam. Loved it!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour Including Dutch Snacks and Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was great and very personal. It was informative and interesting and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Edgar our guide was excellent despite the cold wet weather. The tour covered everything considered to be necessary, plus some


We didn't really need the canal boat tour afterwards

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour Including Dutch Snacks and Optional Canal Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The walking tour in Amsterdam was extremely informative. Terry was very knowledgeable and professional. It was just the right amount of time and the stops were very interesting. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message