Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken, and thus, its location, a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake, is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 370 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Redentor M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The half day tour unfortunately seemed to be a little rushed. Particularly would have enjoyed a little more time in Marken, After the demonstration of clog making, there was barely time to shop so we ended up not buying anything from the store. The cheese factory tour in Volendam was great. Once again not much time to shop and dinner was somewhat rushed as well.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Caroline C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

It could have been a great itinerary but we stayed more than two hours in Volendam with limited things to do but focus on the fish street food and harbor view, aside from the cheese factory - which is really awesome! We then had to rush to go to Marken and then less than hour to rush in the Windmills as the tour guide said, Amsterdam tour is waiting for the rest of the tourists. We wanted to spend more time in Zaanse Schans, the weather didn't allow us to stay back. We could have done this trip using the awesome public transportation in the country while enjoying our free time for the half day.

Also, the number of tourists for this tour is huge for everybody's comfort.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jessica B W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family two adults, two children aged 6 and 8 really enjoyed this day trip. We were wowed by the windmills in Zaanse Schans, loved Volendam and its charm, the ferry ride to Marken and spending time on the island. We loved watching the clogs being made, the city tour was super informative and we opted for the canal ride as well, which was a nice, slower pace. All in all a great day, with a fantastic guide and would recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

reach.grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend anyone to go on this trip based on the fact that the places visited are so beautiful and definitely worth it.
Cons: This tour is broken into 2 parts - morning and afternoon. The morning section where we visited the windmills, volendam and market was too rush to me. If you have elders who are unable to walk fast, be warned that it is hard to keep up to the speed. The only way to do it is to have a headstart i.e. when given 10 minutes for souvenir shopping, don't even look and start walking. Too little time was given at the windmills as it was also a far walk to the windmill which we could enter and listen to a brief. As such, we did not have much time to visit other 'shops/windmills'. Also, too little time was given to see/buy souvenirs at the clogs-making workshop and had to rush for the boat to volendam which was a far walk away. When we come to the end of the morning tour, we had to do a far walk to the bus as well. As it was cold and very windy, most of us could not walk too quickly especially the elders where their legs are more or less stiff from the cold. Many were complaining as many of us were being rushed to quickly board the bus.
Probably the trip that breaks down Keukenhof into another day will be better as I supposed more time will be given to visit the windmills, volendam and marken which is to be completed in 1 day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

mylifecompleted

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a wonderful day this was! We had the unfortunate timing of arriving in Amsterdam moments after the Brussels attacks in 2016. This threw our entire vacation into chaos and things were very stressful. This trip gave us a few hours of peace and we loved every minute of it! Our guide was wonderful and very engaging. We headed to Zaanse Schans first thing in the morning and saw the beautiful Windmills. It was amazing getting to talk to the Miller and watch this mill work. He explained how he uses the mill to make oil and after allowed us to climb up to the top of the Windmill. The views were fantastic! We had some free time to take pictures around the Windmill and the little village. We headed back to the bus and made our way to Marken for our wooden shoe demonstration. The shoe maker was really funny and ran the machines to make a shoe for us. After we had a few minutes to try them on and shop before we took a beautiful walk through the village. We headed to a covered boat for a 30 minute ride to Volendam where we made our way into the cheese factory. We had a 5 minute demonstration followed by a TON of cheese tastings! We then took a little walk to our final meeting point and had about an hour to wander on our own. It was a beautiful town and we had a gorgeous day! The tour was the perfect length and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an awesome half day tour. It is a great way to see the countryside. In Zaanse Schans, we were able to go inside a working windmill and given a tour of how it works, and then given some free time to explore the small town and see all the windmills. In Volendam we were given a tour of the cheese making process and in Marken we watched a demonstration of clog making. Overall it was a great day and I would do it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Erin T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was lovely, with a few exceptions. We would have liked more time at Zaanse Schans, because we practically had to run back to the bus and had no time to do anything except walk to the windmill and see a short demonstration and then walk back however, we spent too much time at the clog maker in Marken -- lots of standing around with no clear directions on what time we were leaving or where we should be. The tour guides/bus left a group at Zaanse Schans who were late, which made us very nervous about being on time, but at the very next location, we weren't given clear directions and we went to ask the guides, but they were on Facetime in the gift shop and seemed to be too busy to address us right away. We spent quite a long time in Voldendam, but were directed to a particular restaurant, and everything else in the town was closed because of the time. So, it seemed like the time should have been more evenly distributed throughout the rest of the tour, because all we could do at the end was sit around and drink a coffee, rather than seeing or doing something at one of the sites. Finally, the listing said we would receive a complimentary bulb plant, but that did not happen. I don't know when or where that was supposed to happen, but it was never offered to us, nor mentioned. All of these things aside, the sites were beautiful, the weather was better than expected, and we had a nice time!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Terrianne L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Keukenhof gardens were spectacular! Enjoyed the time spent there!
The Zaanse Schans Windmills - we walked to the last Windmill for a brief talk therefore had no time to look around the town. Volendam was a nice town and enjoyed free time walking around. Marken was a great site to visit. Never saw anything like it before

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Richard S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Good trip with much to commend it. However, not entirely as described on website as the trip was done in a different order to that described and timings were out. Left 0945, boat trip 1245 - drink at last but we had to pay for it (NO free coffee and pastry!!) and finally rushed lunch at Marken!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kwong P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Keukenhof and Windmills are good, but Volendam cheese factory and Marken clog maker has no good presentation for showing how to make cheese and clog. It's just offer a very very brief introduction and my concept is that the main purpose is asking you to shop and buy. Cheese factory didn't tell you the whole and detail process how to make cheese, just spent not more than 5 mins. to tell you the process and no real demo to show you. And for sure, it is not clear enough. Regarding the clog maker, they did show us how to make the shoes that's really a good show, but it would be nice if they tell us more like how to make the colour on the shoes etc etc.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Kwong P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Keukenhof and Windmills are good, but Volendam cheese factory and Marken clog maker has no good presentation for showing how to make cheese and clog. It's just offer a very very brief introduction and my concept is that the main purpose is asking you to shop and buy. Cheese factory didn't tell you the whole and detail process how to make cheese, just spent not more than 5 mins. to tell you the process and no real demo to show you. And for sure, it is not clear enough. Regarding the clog maker, they did show us how to make the shoes that's really a good show, but it would be nice if they tell us more like how to make the colour on the shoes etc etc.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Kwong P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Keukenhof and Windmills are good, but Volendam cheese factory and Marken clog maker has no good presentation for showing how to make cheese and clog. It's just offer a very very brief introduction and my concept is that the main purpose is asking you to shop and buy. Cheese factory didn't tell you the whole and detail process how to make cheese, just spent not more than 5 mins. to tell you the process and no real demo to show you. And for sure, it is not clear enough. Regarding the clog maker, they did show us how to make the shoes that's really a good show, but it would be nice if they tell us more like how to make the colour on the shoes etc etc.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Kwong P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Keukenhof and Windmills are good, but Volendam cheese factory and Marken clog maker has no good presentation for showing how to make cheese and clog. It's just offer a very very brief introduction and my concept is that the main purpose is asking you to shop and buy. Cheese factory didn't tell you the whole and detail process how to make cheese, just spent not more than 5 mins. to tell you the process and no real demo to show you. And for sure, it is not clear enough. Regarding the clog maker, they did show us how to make the shoes that's really a good show, but it would be nice if they tell us more like how to make the colour on the shoes etc etc.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Judit L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, great guides! Volendam and Marken are wonderful little towns, and the windmills are also very interesting. The guides and the driver were fantastic, we even had a little Dutch language lesson on the way back to A'dam. Highly recomment this tour to anyone. Dag-dag and tot ziens!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Nicole M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. I recommend getting there about 30 minutes early to secure a decent seat we had a double-decker bus, or you're stuck facing the back with no view. There was a driver and a separate speaker/guide, as well as the headset system where you could pick your language for the times when the guide wasn't talking. Listening through the headphones was nice and clear and to be used when the guide wasn't speaking. The Dutch countryside is lovely, and the small fishing villages and windmills were really cool. Be sure to go to the top, well, just because you can and should. There wasn't really time for shopping or exploring in Zaanse Schans but that was fine with me. The boat ride from Volendam to Marken was really cool too - you could get food, snacks, and beverages including beer on the boat and that was neat. The cheese factory and clog-maker were really interesting as well. There are not too many places to eat in Marken but the guide recommended a place so everyone went there. You only get about 1 hour to explore there after the cheese factory, so in the interest of time, we walked a little bit down the way and picked a place that nobody else on the boat went to so we could get done faster and have a bit of extra time before meeting back to jump back on the bus. I definitely recommend this tour to get out of the city and see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Francois v

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great trip - would have loved more time to spend in Marken rather than waiting for the group having an early dinner

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Algis G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We particularly enjoyed the Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken part of this tour. Would rather spend a full day visiting these places and having more time there, than adding the city tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour had been the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. Our guide was knowledgeable and was engaging enough to keep our interest up. Of all the places we've visited, Zaanse Schans had to be the best since that's where the windmills are. With such an idyllic scenery, it was made for picture taking. Going up the windmill afforded us with an elevated 360 views of the surrounding area. Learning about the windmill's inner workings was fascinating. I do wish that we were allowed more time to meander around the neighborhood and check out the shops. I feel that an hour give or take wasn't nearly enough.

The other portion of the tour at Edam, Volendam and Marken were also interesting. The lunch in Marken was surprisingly good. Normally, lunches included in tours are nothing to write home about. However, our lunch was pretty good if I say so myself.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour as it gave us an experience that was something that's totally different from the big city feel of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Lamiaa S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

it was amazing tour, we had the chance to see the beautiful side of Holland country side, the windmills, the cheese factory, the Clogs factory in Marken and the sea food in Volendam was perfect.
we went on this tour in October 27th, although the weather was a little bit cold, but lucky for us it didn't rain and the day was amazing.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Noelene E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great tour of the windmills and fascinating how they work. Marken and Volendam were interesting. Had a great morning.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour - loved the windmills and being able to visit a working windmill. The area was so green and very pretty and guide was knowlegable and friendly. Loved walking through the streets of Marken and Volendam is so picturesque and beautiful. Visiting a clog factory was informative and the clog maker was very amusing in explaining how clogs are made and a demonstration followed. The tour was not too far from Amsterdam and the afternoon had perfect blue skies...just perfect!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jacqueline Anne Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The windmills of Marken and Volendam are absolutely splendid!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic coach. Great mix of activities. Kids loved the wooden shoe factory and windmill components. Boat ride to Marken and the lunch there were superb. Loved walking around Edam, visiting the cheese shop and other shops there. Viola was an excellent tour guide. Of the 10 or so tours we took in Europe, this one stood out.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message