Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken, and thus, its location, a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake, is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 386 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert W R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For those who have only one or two days to experience a little of the Amsterdam countryside this tour has it all. The varied schedule, great guides in all places, the sumptuous lunch in Marken, the cheese tasting in pretty Edam, and then the visit to the windmills was great value for money. We had a fabulous day and would certainly recommend this tour.
Bob and Audrey Rogers, Perth Western Australia

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

wenstuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much to see and do in this tour, definitely a good one. Our guide was wonderful giving us pleanty of information. The windmills at Zaanse Schans was like stepping back in time so interesting and the atmosphere was peaceful. we could have spent a lot more time here but there was more to see. Next stop Volendam a fishing village, here we saw how cheese was made and had a chance to sample some. There was time here to have a wander and some lunch. Then onwards on a ferry this time to Marken a small village were we saw clogs being made. This was a great tour and would recommend it to all

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Craig J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour of the small villages in the country side of the Netherlands was very refreshing and was a good change from the urban sights of Amsterdam. The villages of Edam and Marken were exceptionally picturesque. The villages had many small canals with stone bridges, water side trees, and cottages in the background. Almost at every turn, we were presented with a post card view. It was a thrill to climb up into the working windmills at Zaanse Schans and see the gears and screws turning. We had cheese tasting at Volendam and then took a boat ride to Marken where we had a great lunch and were given a demonstration on the making of Dutch shoes.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

melisaleunghx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely love the itinerary and the pace of the tour! Amazing Tour guide, Mary Ann is eloquent in spanish, english and french, provides interesting insights of Amsterdam history of the places covered. We have time for photos and shopping at each locations. Lunch at Marken was delicious and serves fast in good portions. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Craig J South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a unique experience and an interesting tour well worth it. A truly Dutch experience windmills , cheese , clogs and Marken everything that we associate with the Netherlands.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cindy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of my favorite excursions. The tour guides were very pleasant. Quick bus tour with a ride on a boat to Marken. All 3 stops were so beautiful and wish we had more time to wonder around Volendam. Zaanse Schans with the windmills is amazing to see and Marken for the wooden shoes was awesome. I would totally recommend this tour. Windmills, cheese and wooden shoes - who could ask for more!! Volendam was probably my least favorite and the fishing museum was ok but you have the option to pass on it and go with the other tour guide. They were so lovely. Thank you for a memorable day.
The bus restroom did not work which was not fun. :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rob W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide for both the City Tour and the Zaanse/Voldendam/Marken trips were knowledgeable and helpful. There were plenty of toilet breaks, a good itinerary with sufficient free time. My only gripes are a little too much time devoted to gift shops, and a little bit of organizational confusion by the tour company it felt like there were loads of different combo tours, so everyone was quite confused about who was going where.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

gjgrabowski

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Very poor check-in at the local tour agency. Took more than a 1/2 hour to check-in paper copies of purchase receipts, to get another paper copy to go to the bus with. Don't understand why scanned copies of purchase documentation couldn't be used, along with wireless scanners, to speed up the process!! Also, very, very limited number of washrooms, for the volume of people. Zaanse Schans windmill stop was nice. Good to see authentic working windmill. Volendam cheese making was a waste of time. Only purpose was a front to sell cheese. The 'help' to lead us to the Viator approved restaurant seating for lunch was not necessary. Sort of overpriced. There are other available options. The boat ride to Marken was ok. It was a rainy day.. The Marken clog making demo was again only a front to corral everyone, in hopes to sell souvenirs. The afternoon trip to Keukenhof was ok. Remember that this is only a transfer to and from the gardens. The gardens themselves were good. Overall, not good value for what you spend!! Note to other travellers, please ensure when you are reviewing Viator reviews, to change from ' Traveler rating ' which gives all the great reviews first ' Most recent ' to get more of a balanced view of the product you are thinking of purchasing .

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

brenda.hutton33

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Not enough time st the windmills. By the time our group of 70! walked from the bus to the open windmill, we had 20 mins before we had to be back to bus. Let us walk around volendam without having to meet the guide every 40 mins. Was told to wait until marken to shop but everything was closed there

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

jagdish123 India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed these 2 half a day tours. In the morning tour, we visited the scenic Windmills - a must-see. The location was so picturesque, and the windmills were a learning experience for us. Then we went to Marken, witnessed the shoe making, and then took a nice ferry to Volendam. Here, we learnt quite a lot about dutch cheese making. Overall, a fun experience, further enhanced by our guide Edgar who was so witty and funny all through making the tour very memorable. We got dropped back at the Centraal station before we took the Kukenhof tour to see the tulips. This was our second visit to the Tulips garden and we enjoyed every bit again. Overall, recommend these tours. The only drawback I would say is that there was absolutely no time between these half a day tours for even a quick lunch.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Srikanth B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Firstly this is a 3.5 stars review, unfortunately cannot select half stars above.
The location of the office, easy to locate the office get there about 30mins before start as there is a bit of a queue to complete the formalities before boarding.
The tour itself is split into two sections.
Morning bus takes you to the windmill village, fishing village, boat ride to marken and the clog making factory. During the journey, they play an audio providing some nice information about netherlands which was nice.But we hated the windmill village part of the tour, not because it was not beautiful, actually it was absolutely amazing, but only because it was so rushed that it was almost not worth even going there like this.
Then at Volendam you go for a free cheese demonstration, which according to me was pretty useless, but you get some time to look at the local shops and buy some nice local made souvenirs here. We had some kibbeling and chips here at a local restaurant which was also very very nice.
Then a nice boat ride to Marken, which again a very beautiful village. Here you visit the local museum and also the clog making factory which was all memorable. Then you head back to Amsterdam.
We literally then got off this bus and got on to the next one for the Keukenhoff gardens, so if you are doing both these like us, I strongly suggest having lunch at Volendam.
Keukenhoff gardens tour, the guide was excellent, she kept telling us some very intersting facts throughout the journey to the gardens. The gardens itself are simply breathtaking and something everyone should see for once. You get three hours to roam around as you wish, which according to me was quite enough as you are by now very tired.
Overall a very worthwhile tour, maybe they just need to work on the windmill village part to give more time there and that would make this a perfect tour. Thanks.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

CLAIRE D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Really good tour, you see a lot in one day. Our guide Astrid was really knowledgeabe. We had a great time and loved Marken :

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

shalini_909

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Morning tour covering wind mills, Volendam and Marken was great as it gave you enough time to spend outdoors, have lunch enjoy the sites a little etc. The afternoon tour covering Delft, Hague and Madurodam was a little boring as most of your time was spent in the coach. Overall a great tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Andrew L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This is a whirlwind combined tour and you will see a lot of things taking the full day. It is a really great way to see a lot in a little time. We enjoyed the stops at Zaanse Schans and Marken the best, but everything was good overall. If your looking to spend a full day and see a lot, this tour is worth it. I would say that if you are deciding between the Zaanse Schans portion or the Delft portion I would choose Zaanse Schans.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Redentor M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The half day tour unfortunately seemed to be a little rushed. Particularly would have enjoyed a little more time in Marken, After the demonstration of clog making, there was barely time to shop so we ended up not buying anything from the store. The cheese factory tour in Volendam was great. Once again not much time to shop and dinner was somewhat rushed as well.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Todd C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I enjoyed everything that I saw on the tour I just didn't enjoy being rushed through everything that I saw on the tour. Also the so-called cheese making demonstration in Volendam was nothing more than a blatant attempt to sell the tour participants as much cheese as possible. The same goes for the clog making demonstration in Marken, though at least that presentation was somewhat interesting. In the future, I suggest you spend more time on fewer activities and that you offer your clients activities that are culturally and intellectually stimulating rather than a craven attempt to drain as much money from them as you and your partners can.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Caroline C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

It could have been a great itinerary but we stayed more than two hours in Volendam with limited things to do but focus on the fish street food and harbor view, aside from the cheese factory - which is really awesome! We then had to rush to go to Marken and then less than hour to rush in the Windmills as the tour guide said, Amsterdam tour is waiting for the rest of the tourists. We wanted to spend more time in Zaanse Schans, the weather didn't allow us to stay back. We could have done this trip using the awesome public transportation in the country while enjoying our free time for the half day.

Also, the number of tourists for this tour is huge for everybody's comfort.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Barbara Z

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Our guide was terrible. She didn't give us any additional information about the places as we traveled to them. She also had a monotone voice. She was always giving us very short times to visit the places so we had no time to enjoy the surrounding or wander around and meet people or go into any other stores other than the ones that she directed us into. Zaanse Schans the windmills were interesting, but no time to visit the other stores. The walk was long and took the entire time. My husband could not make it and stayed at the entrance and visited a wooden shoe maker who explained about all the different wooden shoes and had ones intricately carved. The hot chocolate at the first windmill was the best thing. In Volendam we were hustled into a small cheese factory where we heard a 10 minute lecture n cheese making and then were allowed to sample sever different cheeses. The cheese was very good....given only 15 minutes there, hustle hustle hustle. Next she wanted us to go to her restaurant of choice as they would serve us fast. My husband and I slipped away and had waffles and I bought a few trinkets. We met them in 50 minutes for the boat ride to Marken. Marken was one long walk. My husband had great difficulty keeping up and we gave up. To bad we never had time to explore the village or the shops. When we arrived the clog maker he showed us how he made wooden shoes with a machine and a mold...oh so interesting and then graciously let us buy thing in his shop. Before leaving I need to point out that they were double the price of the same items that I had bought in Volendam. When I showed him my coupon from the Amsterdam one book they were hesitant to honor it as I was with a group..but eventually they did. Also, bring change, he charges .50 to use bathroom. All in all I would not recommend the tour. To much to do in one day. You don't get to see anything but the tourist traps and we had the feeling that we were supporting their local friends.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jessica B W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family two adults, two children aged 6 and 8 really enjoyed this day trip. We were wowed by the windmills in Zaanse Schans, loved Volendam and its charm, the ferry ride to Marken and spending time on the island. We loved watching the clogs being made, the city tour was super informative and we opted for the canal ride as well, which was a nice, slower pace. All in all a great day, with a fantastic guide and would recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

reach.grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend anyone to go on this trip based on the fact that the places visited are so beautiful and definitely worth it.
Cons: This tour is broken into 2 parts - morning and afternoon. The morning section where we visited the windmills, volendam and market was too rush to me. If you have elders who are unable to walk fast, be warned that it is hard to keep up to the speed. The only way to do it is to have a headstart i.e. when given 10 minutes for souvenir shopping, don't even look and start walking. Too little time was given at the windmills as it was also a far walk to the windmill which we could enter and listen to a brief. As such, we did not have much time to visit other 'shops/windmills'. Also, too little time was given to see/buy souvenirs at the clogs-making workshop and had to rush for the boat to volendam which was a far walk away. When we come to the end of the morning tour, we had to do a far walk to the bus as well. As it was cold and very windy, most of us could not walk too quickly especially the elders where their legs are more or less stiff from the cold. Many were complaining as many of us were being rushed to quickly board the bus.
Probably the trip that breaks down Keukenhof into another day will be better as I supposed more time will be given to visit the windmills, volendam and marken which is to be completed in 1 day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

mylifecompleted

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a wonderful day this was! We had the unfortunate timing of arriving in Amsterdam moments after the Brussels attacks in 2016. This threw our entire vacation into chaos and things were very stressful. This trip gave us a few hours of peace and we loved every minute of it! Our guide was wonderful and very engaging. We headed to Zaanse Schans first thing in the morning and saw the beautiful Windmills. It was amazing getting to talk to the Miller and watch this mill work. He explained how he uses the mill to make oil and after allowed us to climb up to the top of the Windmill. The views were fantastic! We had some free time to take pictures around the Windmill and the little village. We headed back to the bus and made our way to Marken for our wooden shoe demonstration. The shoe maker was really funny and ran the machines to make a shoe for us. After we had a few minutes to try them on and shop before we took a beautiful walk through the village. We headed to a covered boat for a 30 minute ride to Volendam where we made our way into the cheese factory. We had a 5 minute demonstration followed by a TON of cheese tastings! We then took a little walk to our final meeting point and had about an hour to wander on our own. It was a beautiful town and we had a gorgeous day! The tour was the perfect length and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an awesome half day tour. It is a great way to see the countryside. In Zaanse Schans, we were able to go inside a working windmill and given a tour of how it works, and then given some free time to explore the small town and see all the windmills. In Volendam we were given a tour of the cheese making process and in Marken we watched a demonstration of clog making. Overall it was a great day and I would do it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Erin T

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was lovely, with a few exceptions. We would have liked more time at Zaanse Schans, because we practically had to run back to the bus and had no time to do anything except walk to the windmill and see a short demonstration and then walk back however, we spent too much time at the clog maker in Marken -- lots of standing around with no clear directions on what time we were leaving or where we should be. The tour guides/bus left a group at Zaanse Schans who were late, which made us very nervous about being on time, but at the very next location, we weren't given clear directions and we went to ask the guides, but they were on Facetime in the gift shop and seemed to be too busy to address us right away. We spent quite a long time in Voldendam, but were directed to a particular restaurant, and everything else in the town was closed because of the time. So, it seemed like the time should have been more evenly distributed throughout the rest of the tour, because all we could do at the end was sit around and drink a coffee, rather than seeing or doing something at one of the sites. Finally, the listing said we would receive a complimentary bulb plant, but that did not happen. I don't know when or where that was supposed to happen, but it was never offered to us, nor mentioned. All of these things aside, the sites were beautiful, the weather was better than expected, and we had a nice time!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Terrianne L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Keukenhof gardens were spectacular! Enjoyed the time spent there!
The Zaanse Schans Windmills - we walked to the last Windmill for a brief talk therefore had no time to look around the town. Volendam was a nice town and enjoyed free time walking around. Marken was a great site to visit. Never saw anything like it before

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Richard S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Good trip with much to commend it. However, not entirely as described on website as the trip was done in a different order to that described and timings were out. Left 0945, boat trip 1245 - drink at last but we had to pay for it (NO free coffee and pastry!!) and finally rushed lunch at Marken!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message