Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken and its location - a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake – is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key tourist ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour .Gave us the opportunity to see three different locations .Trip was very well organised and the staff involved were very friendly fun and informative.We went on the longer trip so we had plenty of time at each place .The windmills were wonderful .Go on this trip you ill love it .

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A wonderful tour! My husband thought we'd spend all day on a bus, but he was delighted as well!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved everything about this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable. I felt like we got to see the real Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A must when in amsterdam, very beautiful places to see and take photos, the guide explained everything but we had very limited time to explore by ouselves

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Duration: 5.5 hours (9 AM - 2:30 PM)
Boarding: Opposite Amsterdam Centraal (also de-boarding)
Locations: Countryside - Volendam (Fishing village, Cheese museum), Marken (ferry ride, Cloggs shop) and Zaanse Schans (Wind mills)
Transport: Double decker, 2X2 Vanhool bus, Comfortable enough. Could leave stuff in the bus while checking out places
Schedule: Daniela managed the timetable pretty well, without hurrying us
Languages spoken: She's a polyglot! English, Italian, French and I think German too. We got to learn some Dutch words too.
Do we get food on the trip: we stopped at Volendam for 30 - 45 mins for tea / coffee / food (no, not complementary in the tour)
Price: EU 40 per head
Can you leave anything out: would recommend no. a longer tour will be even better :-)
Would I recommend the tour: Absolutely, without question!
Suggestion: Understandably, its a pleasure tour. I would have loved even more if there was more information available (even in written format) on where we are going - history, local information. This is strictly for the lazy travellers, which I became in this trip :(

Have to mention the tour guide - Daniela, who was absolutely engaging and uber-sweet! We loved you :-)

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fun. Enjoyed seeing the windmills and cheese tasting.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really loved this tour ,lots of variety beautiful scenery and a cheerful and helpful tour guide.we would recommend to friends in Australia and New Zealand.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Beautiful trip. Nice to get away from the city.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I liked the tour and was very nice to see Amsterdam in 1 whole day I would recommend it. This is better than doing it yourself.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The attractions we visited were excellent, the windmills, cheese factory, clog factory in the morning and Delft and The Hague in the afternoon. The morning trip was good, cheese factory was interesting, lunch was nice although fish and chips at 10.30ish in morning was early. Boat trip was good although no explanation as to where we were going. The windmills were good although we only got a short time at one windmill. Not all the people actually got into the windmill to hear the guide talk. Half the people that got into the windmill were unable to hear the guide as he was on the other side and windmill was working and noisy. The afternoon trip rushed. we spent considerable time waiting for people to return to bus so we could move on. Tour of Delft factory was rushed and we didnt get to see much of the factory. Even the Delft guide was a bit embarrassed. The Hague was rushed even more , with very little commentary. We had booked an English speaking tour and while guide did speak English he was also required to speak in too many other Languages which meant no-one really got enough of any commentary. There was a lot of time that there was no commentary. Often what we were to look at was well passed before the guide got to the English commentary. There was little time to get any food after 10.30 lunch and no availability for toilet stops. I asked guide where i could buy a piece of fruit in Delft and he said he did not know. overall a bit disappointed that we didnt have as good of trip and guide that the attractions warranted

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful trip. Perfect for us and our grandchildren, ages 7 and 9.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Enjoyed the tour. Good value for the price. Our tour guide for the Windmills, Volendam and Marken Trip was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message