Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken and its location - a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake – is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key tourist ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very nice. Our tour left in the morning on a foggy day, which was still very pretty. Wish we had more time to shop in Volendam and Marken but there is only so much time.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It rained the whole day, but that was ok because the tour guide was very friendly and informative. She made it a good trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the perfect day trip to acquaint us with the best of Holland! The tulips were breathtaking! The wind mills and the shoe factory were so interesting and unique! Danielle was so enjoyable as our guide!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Things go wrong. You can't help it. Its how it's dealt with. We didn't get our tickets at the office as we should and then we got on the wrong bus without tickets. They made it work for us and we got to see wonderful Keukenhof and windmills and all --- best service ever.

Recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Diana, our tour guide was exceptional. She was very knowlegeable and made everything very interesting. We went at the right time of year. It was chilly but the flowers were in perfect bloom.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful and memorable day at all stops! Edgar, our tour guide did a great job explaining everything and was so gracious-many thanks!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed this tour. It was comprehensive with windmills, wooden shoe making and cheese making demonstrations that were interesting and informative and gave us a feel for Holland. The tour guide was knowledgeable and personable and the lunch was delicious. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was friendly and helpful. The stops were fascinating and informative. It was a great way to see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is great! Showed us more about what the Netherlands is all about. Vollendam was super charming. Loved the boat ride to Marken. Zaanse Schans is just picturesque. Guides were super helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

good tour guide. she was funny and helpful
you should put fun loving tour guide.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

samorah1973
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Too short time, it should be in full day trip but in general good to have this trip and to be in Amsterdam province

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The staff was really helpful, we enjoy the trip along the way.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip was wonderful! The tour guide was so friendly and knowledgeable. The working windmills were so interesting and you could go into the top floor for a great view. The village was cute with lots of fun shops. The gardens were highly memorable. So vibrant and fragrant. Lots of cute gifts available and you get free bulbs as a gift! Voldendam is cute, right out of a fairy tale book. Great architecture and fish and chips!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wa had a very pleasant trip, very well organized.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful Day. The gardens were spectacular, weather perfect. Could have spent more time at the gardens. Good to see windmills in action as well as having the opportunity to see The beautiful countryside and lakes. A good day all round

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

this trip was everything that I expected ...wonderful ! all of the stops allowed enough time for us to do our own thing as well. definitely a must do tour !

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

this is somewhat not so organized. I am a bit confused by the arrangement and you have to make sure go to ticket office to exchange for the real ticket before boarding the bus

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message