• USD ($)
  • English
Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken and its location - a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake – is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key tourist ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1709 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guides and bus driver were great! Very friendly. Lots to see.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We really are happy with the tour, We enjoyed Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken a lot. Clog shoe factory instructor tour was great. We were early in season for Keukenhof visit but was able to see a lot of tulips and other kind flowers in the garden. I would recommend this tour to everyone who is in Amsterdam for couple of days and want to see the country side or tulips.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour with excellent friendly tour guide (Marianna and Hans) and bus driver (Steve and Yoghst) who help us in taking our photos. The bus driver Steve also entertained us in the bus by teaching basic Dutch and singing a dutch love song. Everything were punctual.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A wonderful way to get out and see this country. It was short and sweet. The tour guides were wonderful. It rained and it was still a delight!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Trip was great way to see local areas near Amsterdam, although time was limited at each stop

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very nice change from Amsterdam. The tape on the bus was very informative especially about the history of polders.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was a well organized tour. Little fuzzy on the meeting places and sometimes a bit too much time
between events, an perhaps a bit short in Kuechenhof Gardens, but an excellent way to see so much
in one single day. We were very fortunate with weather. Guides were good, informative and pleasant.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Both the morning and afternoon trips were well organised. The Guide for Delft and Hague was very informative, lively and interesting.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

1st half of the day was superb. Danielle our guide did a fantastic job. The windmills, the clog factory, the cheese factory ..... All were a great experience.
However the 2nd half to kukenhof was realitively disappointing. One of the co- passengers banged his head while getting off the bus and started bleeding profusely. There was a first aid box on the bus, but the driver refused to open same saying it was new. Eventually the tour guide assisted in talking to the park authorities and first aid was eventually provided.

Our hotel was on the way back near the airport, however a request for a drop at the airport was refused and we were dropped off at AMS central. It took us over 90 mins more to reach the hotel, something that could have been achieved in 15 mins.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Very, very long day.
Volendam and Markem were very interesting and worth the visit.
The stop in Delft was too short and rushed.
The Hague portion was mostly all by bus. All the important buildings were pointed out but we could see little as the bus rushed past them.
Having the tour director speak in three or more languages really slows down the process. The buildings they are pointing out are either too far ahead to pick them out or just past by the time your language is spoken.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The trips themselves were good but the organisation was dreadful. The day starts with a scrum while everyone exchanges their printed paper voucher for real tickets and then the guides lead small groups to the tour buses. We were early and at the front of the first queue and were told to join the back of another queue. Once the bus had departed it was announced that the trip was to Keukenhof. We queried this with the guide who informed us that the Windmill trip was overbooked so without informing us they had changed our itinerary. Because we were at the back of the second queue there were limited seats available on the bus by the time we boarded and we had to sit on the lower deck. The "tour" bus had obscured windows so you could listen to the guide telling you what was outside but you could see nothing - I mean nothing! There is no point of a pretty, decorated bus when you can't see anything through the windows. (Later we found out the the bus works fine when it is dry, but it rains a lot in The Netherlands). For the return journey, in spite of the warning from the guide about punctuality, some travellers were late and slowly sauntered back to the bus. This made us late back into Amsterdam central, with no time to get food before the scheduled, afternoon departure to the Windmills. However, the bus for that trip was delayed coming back to Amsterdam so we were left waiting in the cold with no information, just a "wait there". By the time we got somewhere to get any food it was 5pm. That's from a breakfast at 8am! The return from Marken was also delayed because of waiting for the ferry boat (another wait in the cold!). We finally got back to Amsterdam at 8pm. All the guides were informed and friendly. The places were wonderful but it is ambitious to combine these two trips and if you want to do it you need to stick to the schedule.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was a little disappointing as they changed the garden tour to the morning instead of afternoon and it was very cold that morning. By the time we get to Volendam, it was really late and all the shops were closed and we only visit the cheese shop and have our dinner......Not very well planned.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message