Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken and its location - a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake – is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key tourist ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2386 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very fun outing. Excellent guide. Particularly enjoyed Vollendam cheese tasting and having a beer in a very picturesque cafe on the waterfront.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is an amazing tour! Our tour guide, Edgar, was very engaging, informative and humorous. He shared interesting details about all of the locations that we visited as well as everything in between. He kept us entertained the entire time. Although we were a. few weeks early to see ALL of the flowers in bloom at the Keukenhof, it was still so beautiful to see the early blooms. The Windmills were impressive as it was a very, very windy day and all of the mills were in action. The Wooden Shoe maker was also very entertaining. You'll need to make room in your luggage for the vast cheese selections at the factory in Volendam...You will end up taking some home!!! This is definitely one of the best tours we have experienced in all of our travels...

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A good way to get away from Amsterdam city and see some Dutch countryside and hear about the importance of water management.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was fantastic so well organised. The tour although booked as one was actually two separate trips but the change over was seem less. Both your guides were exceptionally knowledgable and helpful. I would highly recommend this trip as we had fantastic day out. Loved it all especially Volendam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. Totally worth it. The guide was very knowledgeable and sweet. Great experience.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautiful! The guide was awesome. The tours were great! Highly Recommend this. You could use more time at the gardens but well worth it!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very comfortable, enjoyable and friendly. More information please next time but guide quite new. Excellent choice!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The Tour was very nice, guide was very helpful and funny.
I would recommend it for everyone

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wunderschönen Ausflug! Erlebnisreich! Sehr zum Empfehlen!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was great. Beautiful sites, good trip. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I booked this tour for my parents both aged 60 and they really enjoy the day out. The pace and activity levels suited them fine.

However a point to be noted about Viator as a booking agent is that we didn't get sent the vouchers by email as expected. It was the night before the trip that my parents realised they didn't have the address of the assembly point so it cause some panic logging back into Viator account yo download the voucher. The feedback is that Viator should email the vouchers to the buyer.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

visiting the windmill as the first stop of the trip is not the best arrangement as its foggy, luckily the sun n wind blow away the fog before we left and get to see the view better. Its interesting though to see it in the fog as the landscape feels like a fairy tale land. The cheese and clog production introduction was interesting to see too. The guide did a great job in detail description of the man-made landscapes and canals

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message