Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken and its location - a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake – is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key tourist ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2466 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was the perfect day trip to acquaint us with the best of Holland! The tulips were breathtaking! The wind mills and the shoe factory were so interesting and unique! Danielle was so enjoyable as our guide!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Things go wrong. You can't help it. Its how it's dealt with. We didn't get our tickets at the office as we should and then we got on the wrong bus without tickets. They made it work for us and we got to see wonderful Keukenhof and windmills and all --- best service ever.

Recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Diana, our tour guide was exceptional. She was very knowlegeable and made everything very interesting. We went at the right time of year. It was chilly but the flowers were in perfect bloom.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful and memorable day at all stops! Edgar, our tour guide did a great job explaining everything and was so gracious-many thanks!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed this tour. It was comprehensive with windmills, wooden shoe making and cheese making demonstrations that were interesting and informative and gave us a feel for Holland. The tour guide was knowledgeable and personable and the lunch was delicious. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was friendly and helpful. The stops were fascinating and informative. It was a great way to see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is great! Showed us more about what the Netherlands is all about. Vollendam was super charming. Loved the boat ride to Marken. Zaanse Schans is just picturesque. Guides were super helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

good tour guide. she was funny and helpful
you should put fun loving tour guide.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

samorah1973
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Too short time, it should be in full day trip but in general good to have this trip and to be in Amsterdam province

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The staff was really helpful, we enjoy the trip along the way.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very informative tour. The windmills and wooden clogs demonstration were great but the cheese was the best part.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Okay since this is two tours in one, I will rate as such. We did windmills in am and delft in pm

Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken, etc AN ABSOLUTE MUST during a trip to Amsterdam.
Epitomy of Dutch life. Absolutely loved.

Delta and the Hague . Complete disappointment. The Delft pottery tour was good, but mostly a rare shopping opportunity. We lost time in traffic etc so we only had 30 minutes in delft to wander.
The Hague was a joke as you drove by it was look at this and look at that as we drove by at 35 miles an hour. I believe that had it of not been the early evening it might have been better.

Note star rating is 5 for windmills and 3 stars being nice for afternoon

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a full day and a lot for the money - we did enjoy it very much.

BUT... the time at Keukenhof was too short, under 2.5hrs was not enough. We were traveling with an 18-month old and enjoyed all of it. It was a great day and a full 9-10 hours.

If Keukonhof was not an option for this tour, I would skip it... not worth it. The other stops windmills are neat are a little nothing village and touristy sea side stop where they try to sell you cheese and you can grab a friend fish dinner.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was great and very knowledgeable about the sites along the drive to Delft and Hague. Would have loved more time at the Windmills, but was really entertaining.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We loved the bus ride into the countryside. The boat ride was wonderful too. The towns were delightful and the guide knowledgeable and sweet but the 'cheese factory tour' was more like a commercial than 'tour'. Overall worth seeing the windmills and countryside !

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great overall. We liked seeing how the windmill worked up close and the young man who showed us how he made wooden shoes gave a good demonstration. Both Keukenhof and Volendam were amazing but both could be improved by having better signs. It is easy to lose direction when in huge crowds.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This is a very comprehensive tour and you get to see a lot of the countryside outside of Amsterdam. Our guide was a lovely young man who was very knowledgeable and helpful wish I could remember his name. He was also very respectful to the peoples' homes we passed by in both Volendam and Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour bus picked us up at our hotel--a big plus had to take a taxi back. Our tour guide was friendly and informative. The tour was well done. However, we had extremely little time at the 3 towns. If it had been a couple of hours longer, we would have enjoyed it more. But, nevertheless, we were able to see these towns, walk through them, and see demonstrations of the crafts.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message