Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken, and thus, its location, a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake, is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 357 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicole M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. I recommend getting there about 30 minutes early to secure a decent seat we had a double-decker bus, or you're stuck facing the back with no view. There was a driver and a separate speaker/guide, as well as the headset system where you could pick your language for the times when the guide wasn't talking. Listening through the headphones was nice and clear and to be used when the guide wasn't speaking. The Dutch countryside is lovely, and the small fishing villages and windmills were really cool. Be sure to go to the top, well, just because you can and should. There wasn't really time for shopping or exploring in Zaanse Schans but that was fine with me. The boat ride from Volendam to Marken was really cool too - you could get food, snacks, and beverages including beer on the boat and that was neat. The cheese factory and clog-maker were really interesting as well. There are not too many places to eat in Marken but the guide recommended a place so everyone went there. You only get about 1 hour to explore there after the cheese factory, so in the interest of time, we walked a little bit down the way and picked a place that nobody else on the boat went to so we could get done faster and have a bit of extra time before meeting back to jump back on the bus. I definitely recommend this tour to get out of the city and see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Francois v

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great trip - would have loved more time to spend in Marken rather than waiting for the group having an early dinner

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Algis G

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

We particularly enjoyed the Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken part of this tour. Would rather spend a full day visiting these places and having more time there, than adding the city tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour had been the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. Our guide was knowledgeable and was engaging enough to keep our interest up. Of all the places we've visited, Zaanse Schans had to be the best since that's where the windmills are. With such an idyllic scenery, it was made for picture taking. Going up the windmill afforded us with an elevated 360 views of the surrounding area. Learning about the windmill's inner workings was fascinating. I do wish that we were allowed more time to meander around the neighborhood and check out the shops. I feel that an hour give or take wasn't nearly enough.

The other portion of the tour at Edam, Volendam and Marken were also interesting. The lunch in Marken was surprisingly good. Normally, lunches included in tours are nothing to write home about. However, our lunch was pretty good if I say so myself.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour as it gave us an experience that was something that's totally different from the big city feel of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Lamiaa S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

it was amazing tour, we had the chance to see the beautiful side of Holland country side, the windmills, the cheese factory, the Clogs factory in Marken and the sea food in Volendam was perfect.
we went on this tour in October 27th, although the weather was a little bit cold, but lucky for us it didn't rain and the day was amazing.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Noelene E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great tour of the windmills and fascinating how they work. Marken and Volendam were interesting. Had a great morning.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour - loved the windmills and being able to visit a working windmill. The area was so green and very pretty and guide was knowlegable and friendly. Loved walking through the streets of Marken and Volendam is so picturesque and beautiful. Visiting a clog factory was informative and the clog maker was very amusing in explaining how clogs are made and a demonstration followed. The tour was not too far from Amsterdam and the afternoon had perfect blue skies...just perfect!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jacqueline Anne Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The windmills of Marken and Volendam are absolutely splendid!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic coach. Great mix of activities. Kids loved the wooden shoe factory and windmill components. Boat ride to Marken and the lunch there were superb. Loved walking around Edam, visiting the cheese shop and other shops there. Viola was an excellent tour guide. Of the 10 or so tours we took in Europe, this one stood out.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Charles F B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great but we almost got left behind. We were in the gathering area 15 minutes before time but waited in the long line to use the one toilet. The group left three minutes early to walk to the bus. My husband asked if they could wait til appointed time but guide said we would have to catch up on our own. We almost lost track of the group as we ran in an effort to keep them in sight. This set a bad tone for us as the guide left earlier than the scheduled time. The best part was the Zaanse Schans Windmills. I would like to have spent more time there, skip the Marken visit and then go to Volendam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jonathan C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

I wish I could give a split star-rating for this tour, because I'd give 4 stars to the first half Zaanse Schans, Marken, Volendam and 1 star to the second half Delft and The Hague. The reason we signed up for this is because it combines two half-day tours for a small amount above what you'd pay for just one of the half-day tours. The first half takes you through some truly beautiful scenery, although I wish we had an extra hour each in Zaanse Schans and Volendam. I would have skipped Marken entirely -- the clog-making demonstration was just mildly interesting though the guy who demonstrated the machinery was quite funny! and there's not much else to see in that town. Having said that, the boat ride from Marken to Volendam was nice -- but only if the weather is nice. If you tried seeing these places on your own, especially as a tourist who doesn't know how to navigate the area efficiently, it would be really difficult, so this half-day tour was a great way to see these places efficiently. I don't recommend the 2nd tour Delft/Hague. The pottery factory would only be interesting to people who are extremely into that kind of thing, while there was really nothing interesting about The Hague, or at least the parts of the city we saw. The only good part about the 2nd tour is that we had a bit of free time in Delft, which is quite a pretty town -- but you could easily get there by train from Amsterdam on your own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Michal H Israel

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

We came 8 min before. The woman at the office said that the bus is not there anymore and the tour go! She changed it to the same tour later on the same day. That was a big bus with about 60-70 people. The guide went very fast. Arrive to Marken when it's dark so we didn't see anything except clogs!!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Oma

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

A poorly planned day. The first half was okay which for us was the Windmills, Volendam and Marken. But they then returned us to the city and left us for half an hour on a thin island on a very busy street waiting for another bus to take us on the City Tour, ugh! If I'd known we would have to switch buses I never would have booked this tour.

Also, both tours had way too many people for one guide. The next time I will look for tours for small groups, that cater to the customer's safety and comfort.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

m_robertson2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Guide was very informative. It covered the essence of Netherlands - windmills, cheese and clogs. Fascinating at Zaans Schans the working of the windmill. Volendam the cheese factory - choice was difficult and one could have your photo taken in local dress in a few shops on the waterfront. The fish was excellent here. Boat trip to Marken to lovely and seeing the clogs being made was very interesting. So whatever I dreamed of in Netherlands was covered in this tour, Unfortunately it was past tulip season, A definitely good trip

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Janet R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, lots to see and very very interesting. Guide was a lovely Spanish girl who spoke great English. But the tour involves listening to a commentary on the bus in various languages. You choose your own language. That too was very good as it gave you lots of information about the places you were going to and also about Amsterdam. The one thing I should warn people about is the amount of walking, especially if you are not as nimble on your feet as you once were. My mum is not as agile and mobile as she used to be since she broke her hip and had it replaced, so we had to take it very easy and slowly. But there are lots of places to rest. The windmills include a tour of a working mill which she wasn't able to do, the cheese factory involved going down stairs to listen to the lady talk about the cheese. And getting tot eh cheese factory involved quite a walk from the bus through the village to the actual cheese factory likewise from Marken pier to the clog place is a walk. All fine if you are able bodied and have no problems walking. yes she can walk but no one told us how much walking would be involved. The tour itself was great and I have no problems with it at all but just to warn anyone with mobility issues, you do need to walk quite far.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We highly recommend this tour. The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and the bus very comfortable. All parts of the tour were very good and we very much enjoyed the Zaans Schans Windmills. Volendam and Marken were also great places to visit.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Aarti W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The trip was good .the guide edgar was very good and driver Ryan was very sweet and helpful...both of them made our trip special.. The places were beautiful the windmills volendam and marken...we also saw delft and hague...they were nice...all in all good trip....

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Greg S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Tour was good but a bit more time on the walk through Marken would have been better.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Lisa F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful stops just outside Amsterdam but time at each stop was way to short. We barely had time to walk back from one of the windmills and go to the bathroom before we had to leave Zaanse Schans. Would've like to have visited the Pewter Factory on the grounds. Too short of a stop in Marken as well. We were rushed from place to place. This tour is 6.5 hours and should've been more like 8 hours. Otherwise we loved it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Charles H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, you get to see a lot of the countryside to and from. Only downside, we felt very rushed in Volendam and Marken. Cheese factory was ok, but nothing we couldn't find in Amsterdam. Clog store in Marken again was nothing remarkable, again, shoes were less expensive elsewhere. These 2 stops were nothing more than marketing. The towns were beautiful but we were swept right through to get to the shops and didn't get a chance to admire it. Really enjoyed the windmill village, plenty of time to walk around and take pictures. Delft and Hague were good too.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Rosemary M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Too rushed. Volendam more time. Enjoyed cheese factory demonstration, but little time for lunch and look around. Told not to buy souvenirs at Volendam as we could get them at Marken. Only time at Marken was at Clog Factory and then back to bus.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Runsammie

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

My experience was very different to the other reviewers. The tour operator would not accept my Viator voucher so I had to queue up to exchange it, 20 minutes later I was still waiting to be served and the tour left without me, I had to run to catch up with them at the bus I had arrived 30 minutes early for the tour but it was still not enough time! . The bus was an old double-decker coach. Other tour operators must have also sold this tour as our group took the last remaining empty seats. The trip to the windmills was quite rushed, whereas we had too much free time in Volendam. The guide wanted us to eat lunch at 3.30pm at an overpriced tourist restaurant, which most of us didn't. The visit to Marken was interesting. There was only 1 guide leading all 83 people and he was quite disorganised. He did not wait for people to catch up and so many missed what he was saying. He parroted off the information, no real enthusiasm for his work, which is a shame as many of the other reviewers have remarked how lovely and funny their guide was. Not our guide!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Christine United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It's a great short trip away from the city. Everything went smooth from start of the tour to finish. Our guide was amazing, even though there are a few people who doesnt seem to care to be right on time, he was still very patient and all smiling. The rest of the staff are also extremely friendly. The trip also is magnificent, you get to see the nearby Dutch countryside of Marken and Volendam. For the money we've spent its well worth the trip, even for a half day. I just wished we've had more time to explore by ourselves, nevertheless tour is still amazing!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message