Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken, and thus, its location, a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake, is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 320 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. Wonderful to visit the Windmills, clog and cheese making stores and Marken. Excursion not too long.
A must visit.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had beautiful weather coupled with informative and entertaining guides and drivers. The windmills were truly amazing, as was Volendam and Marken. Absolutely spectacular is the only way I could describe the Keukenhof gardens tour, an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved the Keukenhof gardens tour as the tulips and other flowers were magnificent. We were able to spend quality time walking the gardens and our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the gardens and the maintenance of the location. This was truly one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam.

The windmills were interesting and the information given by the owner of the one we visited was terrific. A very positive experience as we also enjoyed walking through the village. The clog factory in Marken was interesting but very short time was given to experience the process of making the clogs. Volendam and the cheese factory were a delightful experience, but we were misled about having dinner in one particular restaurant instead of being able to walk around more.

Our guide was fantastic and did allow for questions and comments.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time on this tour and enjoyed all of the stops. My only complaint would be I would have liked more time to explore the windmill area and Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my 21 and 23 year old daughters to Europe for a graduation present and they really enjoyed this portion of the trip. I typically do not take tours but given the short amount of time we had in Amsterdam, this was well worth it. The time we spent at Zaanse Schands Windmills, Volendam and Marken was just the right amount. The boat ride was a nice break from the bus. The tour director Diana was fantastic and did and excellent job keeping us on time and well informed. Keukenhof was the highlight, even though the fields were pretty much tapped out by the time were arrived May8. However the gardens did not disappoint and were in full bloom and beautiful. I am not a flower person but this was truly amazing and the 3 hours there flew by with little extra time and tons of amazing pictures. The only disappointment was that the free packet of bulbs we received had to be thrown away at reentry into the states. Apparently they did not have the proper certificate. Would have been nice to have planted them and had a little reminder year after year. Book the tour and enjoy!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my 21 and 23 year old daughters to Europe for a graduation present and they really enjoyed this portion of the trip. I typically do not take tours but given the short amount of time we had in Amsterdam, this was well worth it. The time we spent at Zaanse Schands Windmills, Volendam and Marken was just the right amount. The boat ride was a nice break from the bus. The tour director Diana was fantastic and did and excellent job keeping us on time and well informed. Keukenhof was the highlight, even though the fields were pretty much tapped out by the time were arrived May8. However the gardens did not disappoint and were in full bloom and beautiful. I am not a flower person but this was truly amazing and the 3 hours there flew by with little extra time and tons of amazing pictures. The only disappointment was that the free packet of bulbs we received had to be thrown away at reentry into the states. Apparently they did not have the proper certificate. Would have been nice to have planted them and had a little reminder year after year. Book the tour and enjoy!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a fun day! We had a lot of rain and wind, but the experience of seeing windmills, watching a cheese making demonstration, and seeing a wooden clog be made outweighed the weather. Our guide was great and informative, and it was fun to grab lunch right by the spot where we got on the boat to Marken! I'd recommend this tour very highly. I think older kids would enjoy it, too!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although our tour was called Charm of Holland rather than the above, it seems to be the same. We enjoyed visiting the countryside including Edam, Volendaam and Marken in addition to cheese tasting, visiting a clog making factory and a working windmill. All the above gave us a good overview of the countryside and we packed a lot into 8 hours. Most enjoyable
Kay and Alister

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My daughter 23 and I took this tour and just loved it. We were staying in Amsterdam and it was nice to go out of the city to see what it looks like. We met at a location near the Central Station and walked to the buses. After a short ride we first went to Zaanse Schans to see the Windmills, which was really interesting and so pretty. We got to see inside one windmill where they were grinding peanuts into peanut oil, then had a little time to look in various shops. Next we went to Marken and saw a small presentation in a cheese factory. Not a tour, but mainly a presentation where the speaker engaged small children in the audience talking about various kinds of cheese. Again, we had time to shop and eat at one of the local restaurants. Then we took a boat to Volendam, a very cute, picturesque town. Saw a demonstration of how to make a wooden shoe, had a little time to shop and headed back to Amsterdam. This tour was just the right length of time. Tour guide was great. We have taken many of the Viator tours in different European cities and I always like the tour guides. This was well worth the money which was actually quite reasonable.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable. Everything felt a bit rushed in the Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken half day tour. Plenty of time to enjoy Kukenhof Gardens which were lovely.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The windmills were great along with Marken and Voldenham. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

kkbookmom
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour. Was nice to get out of the city and see the countryside. Would go back to Voles dam again, though probably on our own to allow time. We were told by guide not to worry about shopping for souvenirs in Vole dam but to wait until we got to Marken. Glad I didn't listen. Nothing to buy in Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very good guide. The highlight for us though was the windmill tour. The mill owner/manager did the presentation and he was clear speaking and interesting. There was a visit to a cheese outlet, with a clever presentation by one of the women. The making of clogs visit was okay and others enjoyed trying on clogs and sme buying them. Finally we enjoyed the ride across the lake to Marken. During all of this we gained a good understanding of how the canal/polder system works. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Zaanse Schans is the highlight and could be a 1/2 day tour on its own. Combined with Volendam it was nice. Marken was not nessesary.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We had a nice time on this tour. The tour guides and bus driver were very nice. The problem with the tour is how many people are on it. At times it seemed like we were 100 people walking through small towns, being led like cattle. I wish we had more free time at both Marken and Volendam. You get to see some really lovely, quaint places that are away from Amsterdam that you might not get to on your own.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It was interesting and informative but the only place worth seeing is the Zaanse Schans Windmills. There is a little village and cute shops but and enjoyable walk around. Volendam and Marken are tourest towns not worth you time unless you like nic naks.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The trip was well organized but you could have skipped the cheese factory tour. That was just a gimmick to buy cheese. I Liked the Windmills and Marken part of the tour. Volendam should have just been free time. It is a lovely town and we could have used the extra time to wonder around. Also the museum in Volendam was pretty lame and you could have skipped that also. Overall I would give it a 3 out of 5 stars.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was a bit too guided. Our guide was very knowledgeable but we felt a bit more "free time" would have been nice. Also there was only one store and one restaurant open on Marken. Lastly our "English " tour was given in Englush and Spanish by our HEAVILY accented Columbian guide.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour itself is nice, esp. Volendam and Marken but the problem is they packed too many people in the tour esp. In a double decker bus and if you're a couple at the end of the line there's no available seats together. You sit far apart from each other. I don't recommend this tour company that viator uses, Linderhof tours, they're more for money rather than comfort of the tourists.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

David V
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Let's start at the beginning we walk to the bus and it is a full double decker with 1 guide on finding seats it is evident that despite the bus being parked in the sun the air conditioning is not on so until we set off it is stifling until the bus is moving
Then schans windmills the front window is cracked in 2 places which I am sure is illegal but lest continue we arrive at the windmills and whilst the tour clearly states no wheelchair access it says nothing about the distance to walk unaided to the windmill we are here to see
On this long walk the guide was at the front of the line with 80 odd people in single file behind having no clue about anything on the way
Then the long walk back and time to be back on the bus with no time to see the museum, oh yes the bus had been parked in the sun and once again is hot and as we have 3 people who return late we have 80 odd people sitting on a stifling bus, how guard is it run the motor and keep it cool
Off to the next stop volendam and the museum, with instructions to return at a set time of 2.25 we are all there at the set time but no sign of the guide she is inside chatting away until 2.29
Off for a walk through the streets of a pretty town, again with only 1 guide those not in the front 10 have no idea where they are going or what the commentary is, arrive at the cheese factory and again the talk is downstairs with no lift, also ther. Insufficient seats for the size of the group we leave the people to it and take a walk ourselves returning at the set time d then we are taken to a fish cafe for lunch if we want it, this is now 3.30 pm we are to be back at the cafe for a set time and 5 minutes after the set time the guide is inside chatting away
to Marken and again a fair amount of walking with no concept of what we are supposed to be looking at as guide is 50m ahead on top of all this the clock on the bus shows 1.22 at 5.54 overall poor

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

It is an easy way to go and see the windmills and shoe factory. The cheese factory 'tour' is laughable. They take you basically to a cheese store and 'explain' in a very, very basic way how they make cheese. The boat ride from Volendam to Marken is very long.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very nice. Our tour left in the morning on a foggy day, which was still very pretty. Wish we had more time to shop in Volendam and Marken but there is only so much time.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is great! Showed us more about what the Netherlands is all about. Vollendam was super charming. Loved the boat ride to Marken. Zaanse Schans is just picturesque. Guides were super helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Okay since this is two tours in one, I will rate as such. We did windmills in am and delft in pm

Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken, etc AN ABSOLUTE MUST during a trip to Amsterdam.
Epitomy of Dutch life. Absolutely loved.

Delta and the Hague . Complete disappointment. The Delft pottery tour was good, but mostly a rare shopping opportunity. We lost time in traffic etc so we only had 30 minutes in delft to wander.
The Hague was a joke as you drove by it was look at this and look at that as we drove by at 35 miles an hour. I believe that had it of not been the early evening it might have been better.

Note star rating is 5 for windmills and 3 stars being nice for afternoon

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This is a very comprehensive tour and you get to see a lot of the countryside outside of Amsterdam. Our guide was a lovely young man who was very knowledgeable and helpful wish I could remember his name. He was also very respectful to the peoples' homes we passed by in both Volendam and Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message