The Rijksmuseum, or National Museum, is the premier art museum of the Netherlands, and no self-respecting visitor to Amsterdam can afford to miss it. Though most of the building is closed for renovations until 2013, key paintings from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent, our guide highly trained in arts explained us Van Gogh's paintings and development as an artist, took us the the most renowned paintings in the Rijksmuseum and was an enjoyable companion during the canal cruise. Without his help we would have seen less and understand even lesser from Dutch art. Had we not taken this trip, we would have spent hours waiting in the queues in front of the museums. The canal trip was pleasant, the city center looks so much different from a boat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a go at your own pace tour. It was great as you can hop on and hop off the canal boat and see more than just the Rijksmuseum. Just touring touring the canals was a great experience and exploring the things of interest. I also booked a ticket for Van Gough's museum on the same day as they were so close to each other only a 5 minute walk.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were more than 20 on our tour, like 28, which was interesting. Both at the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum we were stopped numerous times because of the size of our group. Other than that, I have no complaint. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable, she didn't stop talking which was great, I felt like we saw and learned so much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Canal trips wonderful and Rijksmuseum fabulous - well worth it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour for the money. Having the guide who was very knowledgeable, as well as being able to skip the lines, was great. The Van Gogh was good, but the Rijksmuseum was wonderful. The tour doesn't give you more than a snap shot of the Rijksmuseum, but that is understandable considering the amount of art there is. The canal cruise was nice and the lunch was good too. Nice sandwiches. No cold drink which would have been welcomed on the warm day. I would do this again, but next time I'd only the tour of the Rijksmuseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The lady who took the tour for the Rijksmuseum was very good and knowledgeable, the lunch time cruise was average with a poor packed lunch on offer, in fact we left most of it as it was not very appealing and the space on the boat was too tight compared to others we saw. The gentleman who led the Van Gogh Museum was too opinionated and tried to foster these onto his captive audience. As such we as did quite a few others chose to leave this part of he tour and make our own way around.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Exactly what I expected. The fast pass was great for Van Gogh. We had no line at Rijksmuseum, but glad we didn't have to worry about getting in.

Doing what: the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The experiences on this day-long excursion were very worthwhile, but exhausting. Our guide for the Rijksmuseum walked very quickly and we struggled to keep up with her. She was very knowledgeable but not personable. Our guide for the Van Gogh Museum, on the other hand, was both extremely knowledgeable and personable. Every single one of those who lasted through the entire day gave him a tip. I thought that I was being smart for signing up for this since it included a break in the middle where we could relax on the cruise while eating our lunch. I didn't realize that we would have to walk quickly quite a long ways to the canal boat and then back after our cruise. We walked almost four miles that day, and were exhausted at the end. In fact, unless you are in very good shape, I would not recommend seeing both museums in one day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Rijksmuseum is very interesting and the canal boats offer a pleasant ride

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Easy and convenient on-line purchase with nice tour of the canals. The Rijksmuseum was well worth the time and was located directly across the street from the canal tour stop.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A wonderful holiday - shame about the weather, but then you don't take a break in Northern Europe and hope for tropical sunshine.

What is worth mentioning is the usefulness of the City Pass - a real boon and such good value for money. We were using it all the time and still had some vouchers left over. Moreover the tram/bus/metro ticket were a real plus, not least because the trams are great fund and very efficient .........bring them back here at home is what I say!

The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum were spectacular, but what came as a first for us was the Stedelijk Museum for modern art and design. I cannot claim to be any sort of expert when it comes to modern art and much was beyond my understanding, but quite fascinating and well worth a visit, oh and the restaurant is first class to.

Yes a gret mini break and I look forward to going back soon.

Doing what: the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The pass did not allow us to skip any lines as we had to get a ticket for each museum. We also wanted to go back to the Rijksmuseum a second day and were unable to use other gold passes. You can only visit the Rijksmuseum once on one day with the pass.

Doing what: the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I like to take a local guide and again we were right! She was amazing: in Van Gogh Museum she guided us trough all most important paintings, she gave us perfect overview regarding his work and his life. In Rijksmuseum again we saw in short time the most important and powerful things with very professional and funny guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The Holland Pass (3 Gold, 4 Silver version) was great for getting into the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and Heineken Experience without lining up with the others. I was a bit disappointed with some of the silver tokens. I specially kept one for the Westkerk Church. The Holland Pass lists it as a saving of €8. In fact, entry is free anytime. It would be nice if this was corrected. It would be even better if the silver token allowed you to climb the Westkerk tower instead. As for the travel pass, you have to go to a Travelex office to exchange the token for a travel pass.

Doing what: the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an excellent way to see two museums in one day. Our tour guide had a microphone, and we had radio ear pieces. She was extremely knowledgeable about both Van Gogh and the artists housed in the Rijksmuseum. The lunch cruise was a valuable break between museums. I had the wonderful fortune of learning so much more about Van Gogh, Rembrandt, Vermeer, etc than I have ever learned on one tour.
Bravo...this is a real winner. Our guide's name was Evelyn. After the Rijksmuseum, we stopped in the lovely café for a cheese plate and a few glasses of wine. The perfect day. RDP

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Russ
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We had a lovely guide who met us at the appointed time at the Rembrandt Museum and she let us set our own pace. We are fast walkers and we covered a lot of the city.
Evelyn was knowledgeable and pleasant company.
In the Rijksmuseum she took us to all the major areas so we could get an idea where to come after the tour and then took us to the Rembrandts.
Well worth doing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Overall my wife and I were very underwhelmed our guide was overtly uninterested in art, which is bizarre since this was a tour of the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum. His style was one of aggressive disinterest and dismissiveness, which while humorous and at timex baffling was not what I paid for. The main advantage of the tour is being able to skip the lines but other services can offer you this and perhaps they may have a guide available who is interested in Van Gogh's sunflowers beyond a statement of " I don't like it so were not going to talk about it". The canal boat ride was nice and the lunch was fine. Amsterdam is a great city with wonderful museums that you should visit just don't chose this tour, unless you don't like art then by all means this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is the way to see Amsterdam if you arrive on a cruise ship for an overnight. We bought the Holland Pass (2 golds/3 silvers) and used them for Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Lord of the Attic Church, Bike rental, and Canal Cruise. Also, used the 24 hour metro pass....fabulous....easy to pick up at the main train station. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour guide was excellent. She was very thoughtful and had a great style as she discussed all of the art and history surrounding Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. It is a MUST day when in Amsterdam, a high light of our short trip to Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great idea. Used our passes to skip the lines at both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. Both places were well worth a visit. Enjoyed seeing such beautiful art and exhibits. Also used the passes to visit the Resistance Museum, Diamond Museum and had an all day transport pass. Also great value. Amsterdam has much to see. Pity we werent in Holland longer to make better use of the passes.

Doing what: the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Have not been in Amsterdam for many years, with the Hop-off-hop -on ticket I could visit whatever I wanted and get back on. The Rijksmuseum was phantastic. I would do it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Amsterdam and Holland Pass was great and it saved us a lot of money. We used all of our gold and silver tickets and were happy to be able to skip the line at the Rijksmuseum. We also used our 24-hour tram ticket which was great to get around Amsterdam. It made it easy for us to quickly get from one place to the next and saved us a lot of time. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The directions for meeting the tour were incorrect. We meet at the diamond museum....not directly across the street from the Van Gogh Museum. Our tour guide must have been new. She was very pleasant but if she had art knowledge it wasn't shared with our group. The Canal Cruise was the highlight of the day. By the time we arrived at the Rijksmuseum we left the group and explored on our own. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed this tour very much. It was a great way to spend a day in Amsterdam. Our guide was very knowledgeable about both museums. Even though this was her first time to guide a tour through the Van Gogh Museum she was very familiar with the artist and had done her homework on the exhibits. The Rijksmuseum is very large and would take a long time to see it all, probably too much for one trip to the museum. Our guide took us through the 1600's exhibit floor and was very informed on that period. The mid-day canal cruise was a nice break to give the feet a rest in between the two museum tours. It was a great way to see the highlights of the old downtown Amsterdam area. The included box lunch was very good. Money well spent, and no line-ups!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We were very glad we bought this Citypass! We bought the 7 option and were happy with that choice. We just loved the museums and the beautiful sites! So great to be able to see more because we weren't waiting in long lines.

VERY IMPORTANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE PASSES (and we didn't): The passes are not all interchangeable within their color/type. One of the gold passes is expressly for the Rijksmuseum, and other gold passes cannot be interchangeably used there! This point is in super small print on one of the little passes, and we ddin't see that. Not knowing this limitation, we had used the Rijksmuseum pass at the Van Gogh museum (and the attendant had accepted it). Then when we went to the Rijksmuseum the attendant there rightfully would not take a different ticket, but he was very helpful in suggesting we return to the Van Gogh and exchange the general gold pass we had on hand for a Rijksmuseum pass they would have from accepting the wrong passes from other tourists. (He said this is a frequent problem.) We had been to Van Gogh the day before, but sure enough, when we went from the Rijkmuseum straight to the Van Gogh, the attendant quickly and easily exchanged passes for us. And since our passes were skip-the-line passes, we didn't have to wait to make the exchange. Still I hope this warning helps others!

While we loved the sites, we were a bit disappointed in the hop-on-hop off bus tour: such an old and interesting city, and there was hardly any information given on the recorded tourguide messages. Same for the 1 hr canal boat ride. There is so much to say about such a fascinating place, we couldn't figure out why the info was so sparse. Still the scenery was beautiful, the architecture stunning and the people very friendly at each venue.

Just a warning to families: it is impossible to tour even the "family friendly" parts of this city w/o children being exposed to inappropriate posters on buildings, storefronts even the airport. Just FYI.

Doing what: the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message