The Rijksmuseum, or National Museum, is the premier art museum of the Netherlands, and no visitor to Amsterdam can afford to miss it. The collection includes some 8,000 paintings spread over 80 galleries, most importantly those by Dutch and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

canal cruise plus tickets to 2 museums. the canal cruise was very good. the tickets for both museum has extended expiry dates so you don't have to do everything in one day.
the Rijksmuseum ticket can be used as it. the Van Gogh museum ticket must be exchanged at cashier before used. However there is a special line for the exchange so it's much shorter than the regular line. it's worth it!

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

John E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are limited on time and want a truly memorable day in Amsterdam then this tour is for you. Both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are a must if in Amsterdam. This tour allows you to move past the long lines with your guide and enter the museums directly. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable with a sense of humor. Lunch was very light-- however, you have the option of purchasing additional food if you want. The canal cruise provided some much needed time off your feet and was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Barbara G M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed the museums. Wish we had taken more time to go through, so much to see.
Had a nice snack/lunch at Rijksmuseum.
The Canal Cruise was very nice, enjoyed all the information with provided earphones. Liked the enclosure but the overhead frame gets in the way for photos.
Would love to do the dinner cruise.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

eric t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great introductory cruise to see the canals and highlight spots to go visit. The Rijksmuseum was fantastic. The Van Gogh museum was meh. The Starry Night isn and #39;t there nor is there a single piece of merchandise for it, but there were plenty of other Van Gogh paintings.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Kathleen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny! Pieter was an incredible guide for information, subject matter, passion about his city, knowledge about the art and artists, and entertaining as well. We gathered at the 'Tours and Tickets' signs you see around the city. Follow the voucher directions - easy to find starting point. Started the day buy leaving backpack at the desk at the meeting point. Security measures will make taking bags into museums difficult, so we opted to lighten the load and follow his suggestion. They provide a whisper phone earpiece so you can hear the guide in the museum setting without being too close to others. We learned about the history of the Rijksmuseum, the architecture, the plaza, and some of the politics of allowing bicycles to pass through. All very, very interesting. The art highlights in both musuems were just right, especially as a first time visitor. You couldn't see everything, so having Pieter made our visit efficient and purposeful. His storytelling is dynamic and so very interesting, His passion comes through and added value to the tour. The walk to the boat ride is brief. It was an interesting cruise through the canals. You listen to a prerecorded tour guide, and Pieter serves a little snack and drink. It was a nice break sitting and viewing the city. The lunch was fresh and delicious in the Van Gogh museum. We had a community table all set for our group as we arrived from our walk back from the boat cruise. Not rushed at all, pacing was pleasant. I would highly recommend this tour and the high cost does have value. We learned a great deal and were so happy with our experience, it was one of the tours we talked most about when we returned home.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Lara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

THE Amsterdam Skip the Line Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum tour including Amserdam Cruise was excellent. Our guide unfortunately can't remember her name was ver personable and had a passion for the art in the museums. The cruise was a perfect break between museums. Would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Lauren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a great tour with Pieter, who took us through the Rijksmuseum and made it seem manageable in size, and then took us through the Van Gogh museum with a very well-done narrative about Vincent Van Gogh's life. Would recommend definitely!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

amypatrick24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing and worth every penny! Victoria will tell you everything you ever wanted to know about the Rijksmuseum, its architecture, and its collection of Dutch masters. She is a Vincent VanGough groupie and has amazing insight and perspective on the works on display at the Van Gough Museum. If you want to spend most of the day immersed in beautiful art complimented with intelligent commentary, then look no further than this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

Denesha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I loved this tour! I didn't have time to see the Van Gogh Museum but I did get to see the Rijksmuseum. I would definitely book it again.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour!!! Guide was an art major. She was very knowledgeable! It was a 7 hour tour that was perfect. Rijksmuseum 1st, then canal ride, lunch and Van Gogh last. Our 9 year old grandson loved it! Until the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower a week later on our final day, the Rijksmuseum seeing Nights Watch was his favorite part of Amsterdam, Antwerp, Brugge and Paris. A definite must went in Amsterdam!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

M Shirley A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Seemless pickup of tickets from Central Station and entry to Rijksmuseum today. Canal boat trip a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent experience...took two more tours as a result.
Tour left on time, guide was informative, charming, organized. We did exactly as described....Van Gogh Museum no lines for us, canal tour, pleasant lunch, then Rijksmuseum. Schedule was reasonable and we kept to it. Highlights of museums seen and decribed.
Tour was exactly what we would have hoped for from all aspects.
Great surprise!!! Would definetely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

ATLPrinces

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I highly recommend this private tour. My guide, Lia Kijzer, was terrific. She was on time, very personable and knowledgeable about the history of Amsterdam, Rembrandt, the places we should see, and the Rijksmuseum. It was such a pleasant day, like spending the day with a friend :-. It was a lot of walking and talking, and the four hours went very quickly. If you like walking, love history, and are interested in learning then this tour is for you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We exchanged our voucher for the Holland Passes and tickets very easily at Travelex in Leidersplein. We used our two gold tickets at the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with only a very short queue at each. We decided to use our silver tickets at the Maritime and Diamond Museums which we both good. We opted for the 1 hour canal cruise which was lovely. We were only in Amsterdam for 2 full days otherwise I am sure we would have used the pass to get discount on more attractions but we were very pleased to gain entry to our selected attractions so easily.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Frank T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Steven did an outstanding job of sharing his knowledge and enthusiasm for his city and it's art. We were able to quickly enter the museums and he was able to show us the highlights of both the Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. He was able to keep the group together and engaged and we were able to move right up front to get the best view of each masterpiece. The canal tour with lunch was a great break in the middle of the museum tours and the lunch was lovely and the canal cruise a delight. Great Tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Susan L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent!! The best tour you could do. And a brilliant tour company conducting the tour. Lunch on the canal was great. The tour company, after we were caught in a dreadful storm, shouted the tour tea/coffee at the American Hotel lovely and organised buses to take us to Rijksmuseum. They did not have to do this. We were extremely impressed. The guide was brilliant, knew her stuff, and conducted the tour in the most time efficient way to get the most out of the two museums. We had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Jackie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a go at your own pace tour. It was great as you can hop on and hop off the canal boat and see more than just the Rijksmuseum. Just touring touring the canals was a great experience and exploring the things of interest. I also booked a ticket for Van Gough's museum on the same day as they were so close to each other only a 5 minute walk.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Jean A K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was wonderful! She provided pertinent background information that put the Dutch masterpieces in the Rijksmuseum into the context of the life and times of seventeenth century Amsterdam. Besides the paintings, she showed us other museum highlights, like the beautiful library and fantastic dollhouses.
At the Van Goth Museum, we walked past the huge line of about 200 people and right into the museum. Our guide gave us an insight into Van Goth's turmoil and explained his artistic development. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

Vovo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent, our guide highly trained in arts explained us Van Gogh's paintings and development as an artist, took us the the most renowned paintings in the Rijksmuseum and was an enjoyable companion during the canal cruise. Without his help we would have seen less and understand even lesser from Dutch art. Had we not taken this trip, we would have spent hours waiting in the queues in front of the museums. The canal trip was pleasant, the city center looks so much different from a boat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Michael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour for the money. Having the guide who was very knowledgeable, as well as being able to skip the lines, was great. The Van Gogh was good, but the Rijksmuseum was wonderful. The tour doesn't give you more than a snap shot of the Rijksmuseum, but that is understandable considering the amount of art there is. The canal cruise was nice and the lunch was good too. Nice sandwiches. No cold drink which would have been welcomed on the warm day. I would do this again, but next time I'd only the tour of the Rijksmuseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Trevor L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Canal trips wonderful and Rijksmuseum fabulous - well worth it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Cayce M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were more than 20 on our tour, like 28, which was interesting. Both at the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum we were stopped numerous times because of the size of our group. Other than that, I have no complaint. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable, she didn't stop talking which was great, I felt like we saw and learned so much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Anita P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Easy and convenient on-line purchase with nice tour of the canals. The Rijksmuseum was well worth the time and was located directly across the street from the canal tour stop.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Branislav S Slovakia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I like to take a local guide and again we were right! She was amazing: in Van Gogh Museum she guided us trough all most important paintings, she gave us perfect overview regarding his work and his life. In Rijksmuseum again we saw in short time the most important and powerful things with very professional and funny guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

nbcushman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an excellent way to see two museums in one day. Our tour guide had a microphone, and we had radio ear pieces. She was extremely knowledgeable about both Van Gogh and the artists housed in the Rijksmuseum. The lunch cruise was a valuable break between museums. I had the wonderful fortune of learning so much more about Van Gogh, Rembrandt, Vermeer, etc than I have ever learned on one tour.
Bravo...this is a real winner. Our guide's name was Evelyn. After the Rijksmuseum, we stopped in the lovely café for a cheese plate and a few glasses of wine. The perfect day. RDP

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message