• USD ($)
  • English
The Rijksmuseum, or National Museum, is the premier art museum of the Netherlands, and no self-respecting visitor to Amsterdam can afford to miss it. Though most of the building is closed for renovations until 2013, key paintings from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We were very glad we bought this Citypass! We bought the 7 option and were happy with that choice. We just loved the museums and the beautiful sites! So great to be able to see more because we weren't waiting in long lines.

VERY IMPORTANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE PASSES (and we didn't): The passes are not all interchangeable within their color/type. One of the gold passes is expressly for the Rijksmuseum, and other gold passes cannot be interchangeably used there! This point is in super small print on one of the little passes, and we ddin't see that. Not knowing this limitation, we had used the Rijksmuseum pass at the Van Gogh museum (and the attendant had accepted it). Then when we went to the Rijksmuseum the attendant there rightfully would not take a different ticket, but he was very helpful in suggesting we return to the Van Gogh and exchange the general gold pass we had on hand for a Rijksmuseum pass they would have from accepting the wrong passes from other tourists. (He said this is a frequent problem.) We had been to Van Gogh the day before, but sure enough, when we went from the Rijkmuseum straight to the Van Gogh, the attendant quickly and easily exchanged passes for us. And since our passes were skip-the-line passes, we didn't have to wait to make the exchange. Still I hope this warning helps others!

While we loved the sites, we were a bit disappointed in the hop-on-hop off bus tour: such an old and interesting city, and there was hardly any information given on the recorded tourguide messages. Same for the 1 hr canal boat ride. There is so much to say about such a fascinating place, we couldn't figure out why the info was so sparse. Still the scenery was beautiful, the architecture stunning and the people very friendly at each venue.

Just a warning to families: it is impossible to tour even the "family friendly" parts of this city w/o children being exposed to inappropriate posters on buildings, storefronts even the airport. Just FYI.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Angela M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This pass was great for our trips on the Canal, Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. Van Gogh Museum being the best. Unfortunately when we tried to use the pass for a discount in a restaurant it was refused at first but when I brought out the book they eventually gave us our discount. Also we went to the Amsterdam Tourist Service Point who were very helpful, the shop was great. Overall the pass was well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

A longwinded process to obtain entrance to Rijksmuseum. From having to exchange the voucher bought on line and printed out (which surely is all that should be required) to actually entering the museum. Also while being able to 'skip the line' for entry there was no parallel facility to skip the queues for the cloakroom rendering the whole exercise fairly pointless.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Used this pass to go on a canal cruise, bus tour and see the Rijksmuseum. Definitely saves you money and the guidebook and city map that came with the pass was very useful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Anthony H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Be aware that the two free entrance tokens that come with this pass are not interchangeable - one is valid for almost all museums, the other only for smaller museums and attractions. The combined price of two admissions and a 24 hour public transport ticket is only marginally greater than the cost of the pass, so the pass is really only good value if you intend to visit multiple attractions and use the pass to obtain discounts. The other benefit adverised for the pass - preferential admission (skip the line) did not materialise at the museums/attractions that I visited. For example, at the Rijksmuseum it is still necessary to join a lengthy queue to enter and another to exchange your token for an admission ticket.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Skip the line in Van Gogh museum was great; but for the Rijksmuseum, you still have to join a long queue even with the pass, and another longer queue when you get in to the museum and exchange the ticket, then some shorter queue for the different part of the museum that you wish to visit...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a great way to see Amsterdam. We went in peak season and on a hot day, so expected massive crowds, but still the canal boats coped and we were always able to get a seat whenever we hopped on at a stop around the city. Choose your colour as there are 4 different routes. The green and red are best and stay onboard first time, for the whole journey, so you get a feel as to what there is to see, then pick you places to visit and get on and off at those. Rijksmuseum is superb stop. The local markets are excellent too. Anne Frank House gets busy so for most of the day, the lines outside are too long and the canal boat takes you right to it, so if you see long lines, stay on the boat and see something else, and try and see Anne Frank House in the morning early when it opens as crowds are less then. The whole 48 hours we had the tickets, we went everywhere and great value for money and when the weather is nice,unbeatable way to see Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We didn't actually have a tour as such, but the possibility to swap vouchers for entrance to museums and so forth. In general this worked well. We arrived at the Rijksmuseum so early there was no queue to skip, but I could imagine that this would be a very useful feature later in the day.
Given the excellent weather, we enjoyed our time in Amsterdam very much. We just need some replacement feet!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Skip the line was a blatant lie; We had to wait an hour and a half to get into the Van Gogh Museum on a special line for "skip the line" while people with no tickets got in before us, and inside we had to wait on line with them to exchange these viator tickets for actual tickets.
Nowhere was it stated that there are 2 levels of museums. Both the Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum required tulip level, but the 2 museum city pass gave 1 tulip and one windmill level. The Rijksmuseum wouldn't even give a discount with the card. The insolent people we spoke with there said "You should have read the booklet", but we only received the booklet after we picked up the Holland pass.
Of course, extra time was spent finding a place to pick up the pass. When we tried to use the card for free public transportation, the driver said it was useless.
We also booked a pizza canal cruise. When we got to the pier listed, there was no pier there. We spent an hour trying to find the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We're sorry to hear that this tour did not live up to your expectations. We wanted to write and address some of the issues you brought up in your review.

Unfortunately, we're not always able to guarantee that general admission lines are going to be very long on the days that you attend your tour. With Skip the Line access, that can always be a gamble - some days it will be very long, and some days it will be very short.

There is a selection process for the museums and attractions you can visit, based on the level of pass you purchase, and the options available at the time. Please see our "What you can expect" section for complete details - unfortunately, there's too much information there to paste here.

We hope this information helps you, and future travelers in selecting the tour that is best for you and your travels.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We made almost full use of the city pass, visiting in Amsterdam, the Rijksmuseum (front of the line was fabulous), Van Gogh's Museum ( front of the line), the Canal Tour, and the Reypanaer Cheese Tasting; also the Speelklok Museum in Utrecht.
The only unknown was how to use our free transit pass. It doesn't work using the buses.
May vendors, Like the Tea house in the Vondelpark, did not know about their promotions. We picked up our silver wooden shoe charm at the Coster Diamonds too.
The Pancake Boat Amsterdam was not reachable by phone.
Definitely worth getting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very slight discount since only one part of the pass offers free entry to one museum (the ohers a light discount) and did not go to head of line.... but so enjoyed visiting the Rijksmuseum, the VanGogh Museum and the Stedelijk Museum that I was ultimately satisfied with this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

It is great to to see the city from the water and as a single boat journey it was good but the boats are too limited on their routes and spaced too far apart to be really useful as a hop on hop off option. we found it quicker and more flexible to walk between the sites. There were no queues at the Rijksmuseum so I cannot comment on if on a busier day it would have helped as skip the line.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

There should be a more detailed or more visible online explanation of the City Pass. It should state how many of each type of coupon the particular pass contained and which museums accepted only a certain type of coupon. I was not aware when I purchased it online that it contained different "windmill" and "tulip" coupons, that some museums would accept only the coupon type of greater value for free admission, and that the Rijksmuseum would not give a discount to pass holders. If I had known this information, I would have taken the discount at the Stedlijk Museum and used the coupon which I had used for free admission to that museum for free admission to the Rijksmuseum instead. It is insufficient that this information may be in the booklet which is given out with the pass when it is picked up by the traveler in Amsterdam. I had no time to read the whole booklet due to my short stay in Amsterdam and I might have chosen to purchase a different type of pass if I had known about the coupon issue before I bought it online.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

The tour might have been great but I was able to book it online for Queens day but it was not running. Also the Rijksmuseum Ticket was not available for the day we booked for the King/Queen had a reception there. Viator should not be booking tours when they are not available! SO I CAN'T RATE IT ...it was disappointing.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

This was not a good idea for a short -2 day trip. We had to find the office in Schipol then queue at the bus station to get the travel part. We had to queue at Rijksmuseum(which we had expected to get in)but we also had to queue to get actual tickets.The "Skip the Line" title is false and we regretted buying this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message