The Rijksmuseum, or National Museum, is the premier art museum of the Netherlands, and no self-respecting visitor to Amsterdam can afford to miss it. The collection includes some 8,000 paintings spread over 80 galleries, most importantly those ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ATLPrinces

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I highly recommend this private tour. My guide, Lia Kijzer, was terrific. She was on time, very personable and knowledgeable about the history of Amsterdam, Rembrandt, the places we should see, and the Rijksmuseum. It was such a pleasant day, like spending the day with a friend :-. It was a lot of walking and talking, and the four hours went very quickly. If you like walking, love history, and are interested in learning then this tour is for you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent experience...took two more tours as a result.
Tour left on time, guide was informative, charming, organized. We did exactly as described....Van Gogh Museum no lines for us, canal tour, pleasant lunch, then Rijksmuseum. Schedule was reasonable and we kept to it. Highlights of museums seen and decribed.
Tour was exactly what we would have hoped for from all aspects.
Great surprise!!! Would definetely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

M Shirley A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Seemless pickup of tickets from Central Station and entry to Rijksmuseum today. Canal boat trip a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

MISS JACQUELINE E

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Having taken two Viator walkiing tours in Rome last Autumn when each group consisted of more than 20 people, my husband and I were extremely surprised to find that we were the only two tourists to be walked around Amsterdam by Massimo. He was delightful, and we enjoyed his company for more than three hours, finishing in the Rijksmuseum. Perhaps his knowledge of Rembrandt and art in general were, by his own admission, only slightly less superficial than our own, but he worked extremely hard to keep us informed and entertained.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

sallyabrahamso

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

After spending about 30 minutes trying to find the correct canal boat, my husband went to the Rijksmuseum and was able to walk right in as there was no queue. Sadly, as our cruise was leaving early, we couldnt spend any time wandering around Amsterdam. The commentary on the boat was OK.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Frank T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Steven did an outstanding job of sharing his knowledge and enthusiasm for his city and it's art. We were able to quickly enter the museums and he was able to show us the highlights of both the Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. He was able to keep the group together and engaged and we were able to move right up front to get the best view of each masterpiece. The canal tour with lunch was a great break in the middle of the museum tours and the lunch was lovely and the canal cruise a delight. Great Tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We exchanged our voucher for the Holland Passes and tickets very easily at Travelex in Leidersplein. We used our two gold tickets at the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with only a very short queue at each. We decided to use our silver tickets at the Maritime and Diamond Museums which we both good. We opted for the 1 hour canal cruise which was lovely. We were only in Amsterdam for 2 full days otherwise I am sure we would have used the pass to get discount on more attractions but we were very pleased to gain entry to our selected attractions so easily.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Louise S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Happy with this item and enjoyed the hop on hop off bus tours. Still had to line up for 20mins at Van Gogh Museum and no wait at the Rijksmuseum. Didn't use my two silver passes as ran out of time. Good value.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Alfred L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was wonderful. It was raining very hard so we didn't want to do the walking tour. Our guide was willing to do anything we wanted. We opted just for the Rijksmuseum and she gave us a wonderful tour and was very interesting .

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Brenda R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A nice way to see Amsterdam. Rijksmuseum is wonderful!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Pauline T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Unfortunately, I thought I was buying the tickets to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museums to skip the long lines. But these passes don't get you into the museums, you still have to wait on line to turn the pass into a museum ticket. Better to just get to the museum early, buy your tickets and then visit the museum at your leisure. Plus the golden pass was the only full fare, the silver pass was not full fare. This was a waste of time/money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Susan L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent!! The best tour you could do. And a brilliant tour company conducting the tour. Lunch on the canal was great. The tour company, after we were caught in a dreadful storm, shouted the tour tea/coffee at the American Hotel lovely and organised buses to take us to Rijksmuseum. They did not have to do this. We were extremely impressed. The guide was brilliant, knew her stuff, and conducted the tour in the most time efficient way to get the most out of the two museums. We had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Odudu U

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Nice tour if you have the time to do it. It takes a while so plan accordingly. The Rijksmuseum was AMAZING!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Vovo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent, our guide highly trained in arts explained us Van Gogh's paintings and development as an artist, took us the the most renowned paintings in the Rijksmuseum and was an enjoyable companion during the canal cruise. Without his help we would have seen less and understand even lesser from Dutch art. Had we not taken this trip, we would have spent hours waiting in the queues in front of the museums. The canal trip was pleasant, the city center looks so much different from a boat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Jackie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a go at your own pace tour. It was great as you can hop on and hop off the canal boat and see more than just the Rijksmuseum. Just touring touring the canals was a great experience and exploring the things of interest. I also booked a ticket for Van Gough's museum on the same day as they were so close to each other only a 5 minute walk.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Cayce M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were more than 20 on our tour, like 28, which was interesting. Both at the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum we were stopped numerous times because of the size of our group. Other than that, I have no complaint. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable, she didn't stop talking which was great, I felt like we saw and learned so much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Trevor L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Canal trips wonderful and Rijksmuseum fabulous - well worth it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Michael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour for the money. Having the guide who was very knowledgeable, as well as being able to skip the lines, was great. The Van Gogh was good, but the Rijksmuseum was wonderful. The tour doesn't give you more than a snap shot of the Rijksmuseum, but that is understandable considering the amount of art there is. The canal cruise was nice and the lunch was good too. Nice sandwiches. No cold drink which would have been welcomed on the warm day. I would do this again, but next time I'd only the tour of the Rijksmuseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

PING W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The lady who took the tour for the Rijksmuseum was very good and knowledgeable, the lunch time cruise was average with a poor packed lunch on offer, in fact we left most of it as it was not very appealing and the space on the boat was too tight compared to others we saw. The gentleman who led the Van Gogh Museum was too opinionated and tried to foster these onto his captive audience. As such we as did quite a few others chose to leave this part of he tour and make our own way around.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Michael I

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Exactly what I expected. The fast pass was great for Van Gogh. We had no line at Rijksmuseum, but glad we didn't have to worry about getting in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Kathy P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The experiences on this day-long excursion were very worthwhile, but exhausting. Our guide for the Rijksmuseum walked very quickly and we struggled to keep up with her. She was very knowledgeable but not personable. Our guide for the Van Gogh Museum, on the other hand, was both extremely knowledgeable and personable. Every single one of those who lasted through the entire day gave him a tip. I thought that I was being smart for signing up for this since it included a break in the middle where we could relax on the cruise while eating our lunch. I didn't realize that we would have to walk quickly quite a long ways to the canal boat and then back after our cruise. We walked almost four miles that day, and were exhausted at the end. In fact, unless you are in very good shape, I would not recommend seeing both museums in one day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

homobetawi

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Rijksmuseum is very interesting and the canal boats offer a pleasant ride

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Anita P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Easy and convenient on-line purchase with nice tour of the canals. The Rijksmuseum was well worth the time and was located directly across the street from the canal tour stop.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

D T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A wonderful holiday - shame about the weather, but then you don't take a break in Northern Europe and hope for tropical sunshine.

What is worth mentioning is the usefulness of the City Pass - a real boon and such good value for money. We were using it all the time and still had some vouchers left over. Moreover the tram/bus/metro ticket were a real plus, not least because the trams are great fund and very efficient .........bring them back here at home is what I say!

The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum were spectacular, but what came as a first for us was the Stedelijk Museum for modern art and design. I cannot claim to be any sort of expert when it comes to modern art and much was beyond my understanding, but quite fascinating and well worth a visit, oh and the restaurant is first class to.

Yes a gret mini break and I look forward to going back soon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Virginia M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The pass did not allow us to skip any lines as we had to get a ticket for each museum. We also wanted to go back to the Rijksmuseum a second day and were unable to use other gold passes. You can only visit the Rijksmuseum once on one day with the pass.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message