The Rijksmuseum, or National Museum, is the premier art museum of the Netherlands, and no self-respecting visitor to Amsterdam can afford to miss it. Though most of the building is closed for renovations until 2013, key paintings from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an excellent way to see two museums in one day. Our tour guide had a microphone, and we had radio ear pieces. She was extremely knowledgeable about both Van Gogh and the artists housed in the Rijksmuseum. The lunch cruise was a valuable break between museums. I had the wonderful fortune of learning so much more about Van Gogh, Rembrandt, Vermeer, etc than I have ever learned on one tour.
Bravo...this is a real winner. Our guide's name was Evelyn. After the Rijksmuseum, we stopped in the lovely café for a cheese plate and a few glasses of wine. The perfect day. RDP

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Russ
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We had a lovely guide who met us at the appointed time at the Rembrandt Museum and she let us set our own pace. We are fast walkers and we covered a lot of the city.
Evelyn was knowledgeable and pleasant company.
In the Rijksmuseum she took us to all the major areas so we could get an idea where to come after the tour and then took us to the Rembrandts.
Well worth doing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Overall my wife and I were very underwhelmed our guide was overtly uninterested in art, which is bizarre since this was a tour of the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum. His style was one of aggressive disinterest and dismissiveness, which while humorous and at timex baffling was not what I paid for. The main advantage of the tour is being able to skip the lines but other services can offer you this and perhaps they may have a guide available who is interested in Van Gogh's sunflowers beyond a statement of " I don't like it so were not going to talk about it". The canal boat ride was nice and the lunch was fine. Amsterdam is a great city with wonderful museums that you should visit just don't chose this tour, unless you don't like art then by all means this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is the way to see Amsterdam if you arrive on a cruise ship for an overnight. We bought the Holland Pass (2 golds/3 silvers) and used them for Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Lord of the Attic Church, Bike rental, and Canal Cruise. Also, used the 24 hour metro pass....fabulous....easy to pick up at the main train station. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour guide was excellent. She was very thoughtful and had a great style as she discussed all of the art and history surrounding Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. It is a MUST day when in Amsterdam, a high light of our short trip to Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great idea. Used our passes to skip the lines at both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. Both places were well worth a visit. Enjoyed seeing such beautiful art and exhibits. Also used the passes to visit the Resistance Museum, Diamond Museum and had an all day transport pass. Also great value. Amsterdam has much to see. Pity we werent in Holland longer to make better use of the passes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Have not been in Amsterdam for many years, with the Hop-off-hop -on ticket I could visit whatever I wanted and get back on. The Rijksmuseum was phantastic. I would do it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Amsterdam and Holland Pass was great and it saved us a lot of money. We used all of our gold and silver tickets and were happy to be able to skip the line at the Rijksmuseum. We also used our 24-hour tram ticket which was great to get around Amsterdam. It made it easy for us to quickly get from one place to the next and saved us a lot of time. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The directions for meeting the tour were incorrect. We meet at the diamond museum....not directly across the street from the Van Gogh Museum. Our tour guide must have been new. She was very pleasant but if she had art knowledge it wasn't shared with our group. The Canal Cruise was the highlight of the day. By the time we arrived at the Rijksmuseum we left the group and explored on our own. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed this tour very much. It was a great way to spend a day in Amsterdam. Our guide was very knowledgeable about both museums. Even though this was her first time to guide a tour through the Van Gogh Museum she was very familiar with the artist and had done her homework on the exhibits. The Rijksmuseum is very large and would take a long time to see it all, probably too much for one trip to the museum. Our guide took us through the 1600's exhibit floor and was very informed on that period. The mid-day canal cruise was a nice break to give the feet a rest in between the two museum tours. It was a great way to see the highlights of the old downtown Amsterdam area. The included box lunch was very good. Money well spent, and no line-ups!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We were very glad we bought this Citypass! We bought the 7 option and were happy with that choice. We just loved the museums and the beautiful sites! So great to be able to see more because we weren't waiting in long lines.

VERY IMPORTANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE PASSES (and we didn't): The passes are not all interchangeable within their color/type. One of the gold passes is expressly for the Rijksmuseum, and other gold passes cannot be interchangeably used there! This point is in super small print on one of the little passes, and we ddin't see that. Not knowing this limitation, we had used the Rijksmuseum pass at the Van Gogh museum (and the attendant had accepted it). Then when we went to the Rijksmuseum the attendant there rightfully would not take a different ticket, but he was very helpful in suggesting we return to the Van Gogh and exchange the general gold pass we had on hand for a Rijksmuseum pass they would have from accepting the wrong passes from other tourists. (He said this is a frequent problem.) We had been to Van Gogh the day before, but sure enough, when we went from the Rijkmuseum straight to the Van Gogh, the attendant quickly and easily exchanged passes for us. And since our passes were skip-the-line passes, we didn't have to wait to make the exchange. Still I hope this warning helps others!

While we loved the sites, we were a bit disappointed in the hop-on-hop off bus tour: such an old and interesting city, and there was hardly any information given on the recorded tourguide messages. Same for the 1 hr canal boat ride. There is so much to say about such a fascinating place, we couldn't figure out why the info was so sparse. Still the scenery was beautiful, the architecture stunning and the people very friendly at each venue.

Just a warning to families: it is impossible to tour even the "family friendly" parts of this city w/o children being exposed to inappropriate posters on buildings, storefronts even the airport. Just FYI.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Angela M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This pass was great for our trips on the Canal, Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. Van Gogh Museum being the best. Unfortunately when we tried to use the pass for a discount in a restaurant it was refused at first but when I brought out the book they eventually gave us our discount. Also we went to the Amsterdam Tourist Service Point who were very helpful, the shop was great. Overall the pass was well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

A longwinded process to obtain entrance to Rijksmuseum. From having to exchange the voucher bought on line and printed out (which surely is all that should be required) to actually entering the museum. Also while being able to 'skip the line' for entry there was no parallel facility to skip the queues for the cloakroom rendering the whole exercise fairly pointless.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Used this pass to go on a canal cruise, bus tour and see the Rijksmuseum. Definitely saves you money and the guidebook and city map that came with the pass was very useful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Anthony H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Be aware that the two free entrance tokens that come with this pass are not interchangeable - one is valid for almost all museums, the other only for smaller museums and attractions. The combined price of two admissions and a 24 hour public transport ticket is only marginally greater than the cost of the pass, so the pass is really only good value if you intend to visit multiple attractions and use the pass to obtain discounts. The other benefit adverised for the pass - preferential admission (skip the line) did not materialise at the museums/attractions that I visited. For example, at the Rijksmuseum it is still necessary to join a lengthy queue to enter and another to exchange your token for an admission ticket.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message