Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Palace (Koninklijk Paleis)

With its classical sandstone façade looming over Amsterdam’s central Dam Square, the 17th-century Royal Palace (Koninklijk Paleis) has been a firm favorite on tourist itineraries since becoming state property back in 1936. Designed by Jacob ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 698 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent way to see Amsterdam. Nice and relaxing especially in the sunshine. A trip that should not be missed.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam Canals Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great service. Very enjoyable - entertaing guide Sam. Can highly recommend.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The absolute best way to see Amsterdam. I am not a regular rider and had no trouble at all in a 3 hour ride.
Our girl guide mike was great.. I recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

IT was great

Doing what: Best Amsterdam City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

There's no better way to start your history lesson on Amsterdam than by taking a walking tour through the older parts of the city, starting at Dam Square. Our tour guide, originally from Texas, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and answered all of our questions. We were even able to slip into a pub near the Rembrandt Museum for some coffee when it decided to rain on us...bring good walking shoes and don't be afraid to ask questions!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A very romantic tour. Very well organize. We enjoy it !!!!!

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great tour lots to see

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excelent guide, very good experience....can only recommend!!!

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

lovely day nice people in our group great leader in Diego very informative new lots about Amsterdam first visit for us will not be the last so much to see and do.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting and enjoyable walking tour of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great morning with terry. A very cold morning to walk but terry made it worthwhile. The irish humour really shone. And boy does he know his amsterdam. Even the best coffee shop real coffee . If your in the city for a few days then book one of his walks. Tony Perth west australia.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was, by far, the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. What a great way to see the inside of the city. Only complaint was the weather it rained all day. And Mike's Bikes was about a 4k walk in the rain from our hotel we figured out how to take the tram back because we were soaked. Nevertheless, since everyone rides bikes in Amsterdam, we highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great guide. Personable and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very comprehensive tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very Knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

a slow bike ride with lots of repeated information from the hop on hop off bike tour. Not much new information Provided. Maria Theresa was a wonderful tour guide though, very patient with the members of the group not so comfortable riding a bike. I would have preferred a faster pace and seeing some different parts of Amsterdam but if you haven't had a good look around the place yet this tour would be a good first stop.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam City Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

a slow bike ride with lots of repeated information from the hop on hop off bike tour. Not much new information Provided. Maria Theresa was a wonderful tour guide though, very patient with the members of the group not so comfortable riding a bike. I would have preferred a faster pace and seeing some different parts of Amsterdam but if you haven't had a good look around the place yet this tour would be a good first stop.

Doing what: Best Amsterdam City Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

While the guide gave a good commentary, he did not check to make sure the group was together. Half way through the tour a truck was blocking a narrow alley. The group was lined up single file waiting to get out. When the truck moved, the guide rabbited off, and in the minute it took for us to get to the end of the alley, the group had disappeared. Instead of the group tour, I would recommend a private guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

While the tour went all over the city and it was great to see it, the tour guide's explanations were horrible. They combined the English, Dutch and Spanish tours on one bus so that the tour guide had to explain the sights in 3 languages the whole time. This meant he started explaining early. I still don't know which house was were Rembrandt last lived because it was so vague and we were still down the street when the tour guide started talking about it. I was ready to walk off of the tour 15 minutes into it it was 2.5 hrs long because it was so frustrating and I have been on many different tours in different countries.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour company is very easy to find from the Central Station, and the employees there were very friendly and helpful. The city tour was informative and fun because of the good nature of the guide. The gardens were beautiful and we spent just the right amount of time there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 1: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip and Amsterdam City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an awesome tour of lots of great sights along with informative, funny and interesting comments about the areas, structures, etc. It was a beautiful, chilly day! We all really enjoyed our Tour guide, Terry. He was great and Irish too!! Seems he's from Cork, Ireland-where all my ancestors came from! We would highly recommend taking this tour with Terry. Jay and Katie Miller Cerritos, CA USA!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best tour we did our entire two week trip to Paris, Amsterdam and Spain. Terry is AWESOME. Tour was fun and knowledgeable. All around excellent.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

To see the tulips was on my travel bucket list...and it did not disappoint! Using a tour is the easiest way. Be sure to get on the earliest as it only gets more crowded throughout the day.
Very well organized despite the crowds of tourists. Our guide one the bus, Andy, was very kind and helpful

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 1: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip and Amsterdam City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This has to be the best garden I have ever seen.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 1: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip and Amsterdam City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message