• USD ($)
  • English
Amsterdam might be most famous for its winding canals and pretty locks, but it’s the Amstel River that the city was first built around, even deriving its name from its early settlement at the ‘Amstel Dam’. Today the river runs through the center of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The best history lesson I have received in an hour. The narration was very engaging and informative. Must say though, the first ten minutes of the boat ride were quite distracting since our driver kept cleaning around his work area, pouring coffee, adjusting his seat non stop, while paying no attention to his surroundings. I am sure he has done it for many years and could probably do it with his eyes closed, but that took away almost everyone's attention from the buildings or the canals to him (obviously afraid of an impact) Other than that, we had the best time!

Doing what: Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

An interesting narrative, intriguing visit to diamond cutting establishment, most acommodating guide and driver.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was an excellent overview of the city with a great driver and a knowledegable tour guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

My husband has difficulty walking, so the tour was a perfect way for us to "get around" Amsterdam. The tour guide was excellent and kept everyone informed in three languages. Quite impressed with the driver, moving the bus around the streets and traffic. Overall it was great!

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We missed our city tour because of the traffic jam. However the tour operator issued us with a most rewarding river cruise as compensation without any fuss. Keukenhof is stupendous!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 1: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip and Amsterdam City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Multi-lingual tour guide with great personality. Excellent itinerary with super bus driver. thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

You get to see many dutch things near Amsterdam in just a few hours. Everything was smooth the guide and driver were nice and knowledgable. Keep in mind that it is only 5 hour tour so you wont have much time to spend on each place. Good option for those who do not want to spend a day travel by themselves to small cities.

Doing what: Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The one Viator voucher is exchanged at the excursion office for two tickets, one for the morning sightseeing trip and one for the afternoon trip. It is a busy office so arrive in plenty of time to exchange the voucher. Morning trip is as you expect and are dropped off near where you started leaving you plenty of time for your own lunch. The afternoon trip does what it says with ample stops etc. Excellent coach and driver, it may not happen in all cases but the guide was the same person on both trips.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Half-Day Trip to Delft and The Hague

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

I was confused as we thought we purchased the city tour and canal boat tour but the coupon we received said just the city tour. They sold us a pass for the canal boat for 5Euro and that was great as the canal boats are usually 10-15 euros. The tour was wonderful except they do the tour in 4 languages so you don't get a lot of whats this and that because he has to say it over in 4 languages. The motor coach was wonderful, the guide was great, the driver was great, and the people at the tour office were great. It's just the multiple languages. It would have been better to not have anything said as opposed to the multi language.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Nice open top bus, convenient headphones for narrative, friendly courteous guide and drivers. Good choice for 1st activity to get your bearings in the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

City tour was disappointing. Coach driver was excellent. Tour guide was poor. She seemed to have trouble keeping her place in her notes and her commentary did not connect with us. Way too much time was spent at the diamond factory leaving less time to see more of the city.
Keukenhof Gardens were spectacular even though we were too early for the tulips. The amount of time allowed was about right. The tour guide was better than the one we had on the city tour. However, we did not appreciate her repeated requests for tips for herself and the driver.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 1: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip and Amsterdam City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

We went early in the tourist season so the boat wasn't crowded. The driver/guide
contributed a story or two of his own but the taped tour just didn't have enough information about the city, the history, the engineering, the canal boats. It was a decent way to get an overview, but we wanted more information.

Doing what: Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

Moore
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The bus tour was not good. You do not see much on the bottom of a double decker bus. River cruise was great.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

The name of this tour would indicate that it is a full day tour, it turns out to be two part day tours where you have to return back to the original starting place in Amsterdam to catch a second bus in the afternoon. This process costs you two hours of wasted time in the middle of day. Too many destinations on tour seemed to be shopping related instead of information and sightseeing. Tours taken in Rome were full day and mostly devoted in sights and information. This tour receives a three star rating only because of the Keukenhof Gardens. The bus (Bakker) for this part of the tour had little if any air conditioning, even the driver was complaining.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 1: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip and Amsterdam City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Hot boat, disinterested driver basic our of. Anals

Doing what: Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message