Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Van Gogh Museum

Art lovers and Van Gogh fans must reward themselves with a visit to the Van Gogh Museum, one of Amsterdam's must-sees. The museum consists of about 200 paintings and 500 drawings by Van Gogh and his friends and contemporaries (Gauguin, Monet, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 320 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

THE Amsterdam Skip the Line Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum tour including Amserdam Cruise was excellent. Our guide unfortunately can't remember her name was ver personable and had a passion for the art in the museums. The cruise was a perfect break between museums. Would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Paul K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day . Tour guide Peter was excellent , certainly knew all there is to know about Van Gogh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Kate United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic! Pieter was our guide and he was extremely knowledgable, personable and funny. We learned so much about art history on this tour. It was just perfect for our group of 6 active American women in our 50s. The Canal tour part is a nice way to have a seat for a short respite. The lunch from the cafe in the Van Gogh museum is ok, but you're there for the art. Your lucky if you get Pieter as your guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Lauren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a great tour with Pieter, who took us through the Rijksmuseum and made it seem manageable in size, and then took us through the Van Gogh museum with a very well-done narrative about Vincent Van Gogh's life. Would recommend definitely!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Denesha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I loved this tour! I didn't have time to see the Van Gogh Museum but I did get to see the Rijksmuseum. I would definitely book it again.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour!!! Guide was an art major. She was very knowledgeable! It was a 7 hour tour that was perfect. Rijksmuseum 1st, then canal ride, lunch and Van Gogh last. Our 9 year old grandson loved it! Until the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower a week later on our final day, the Rijksmuseum seeing Nights Watch was his favorite part of Amsterdam, Antwerp, Brugge and Paris. A definite must went in Amsterdam!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Matthew T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I did this in January, so there were no lines...which I understand to be completely different in the summer, making the presale tickets even more valuable. This is a quick and easy tour of the city. I knew nothing about Van Gogh and learned a lot get the audio tour. I also went to the Rijks museum again, get the audio tour. Then I took the 90 minute canal tour which gave a nice flavor of the city while I slowly worked through my jet lag.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Vicki S H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome, I buy them in every city I go t0. No need for a car, the transportation system is awesome in Amsterdam. I got free entrance to the Van Gogh museum.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

zoetreaster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great tour. It condensed the museums and boat ride into just the one day that I was in Amsterdam. No museum lines and wasted time! Lunch in the Van Gogh museum was just enough. Our guide Pieter was very knowledgable and informative. A good guide!! Zoe Treaster, California

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

dwmartin37

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great guide. Just wish that Van Gogh's Potato Eaters painting had not been on loan so that we could have seen it too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent experience...took two more tours as a result.
Tour left on time, guide was informative, charming, organized. We did exactly as described....Van Gogh Museum no lines for us, canal tour, pleasant lunch, then Rijksmuseum. Schedule was reasonable and we kept to it. Highlights of museums seen and decribed.
Tour was exactly what we would have hoped for from all aspects.
Great surprise!!! Would definetely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Albert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour went exceptionally well from the check in and the boats and drivers.Having the prepaid Van Gogh museum voucher/ticket was most helpful. I went on both the green and orange lines and enjoyed every minute.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Larry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had the best experience with Victoria. She made Van Gogh come alive in her descriptions of his works..amazing

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam: Small Group Tour and Skip the Line Ticket

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Van Gogh museum very interesting. Keep in mind skip the line just means skip the ticket line for ticket purchase. You still have to wait in the fairly long line to get in about 35 minutes for us_.

Canal bus is ok, but fairly minimal narration. Our hotel proprieter said the blue boats were better for a canal tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We exchanged our voucher for the Holland Passes and tickets very easily at Travelex in Leidersplein. We used our two gold tickets at the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with only a very short queue at each. We decided to use our silver tickets at the Maritime and Diamond Museums which we both good. We opted for the 1 hour canal cruise which was lovely. We were only in Amsterdam for 2 full days otherwise I am sure we would have used the pass to get discount on more attractions but we were very pleased to gain entry to our selected attractions so easily.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

malinovskaia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Van Gogh Museum is a very beautiful museum, created with loving heart and pride of Vincent Van Gogh as a brilliant artist and honest, devoted to his brother Theo and his wife person- do not miss it if you have time in Amsterdam!
Canal bus was the best option to get acquainted with Amsterdam in one day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Frank T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Steven did an outstanding job of sharing his knowledge and enthusiasm for his city and it's art. We were able to quickly enter the museums and he was able to show us the highlights of both the Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. He was able to keep the group together and engaged and we were able to move right up front to get the best view of each masterpiece. The canal tour with lunch was a great break in the middle of the museum tours and the lunch was lovely and the canal cruise a delight. Great Tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Howard Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This card was fantastic. All the museums and other attractions accepted the coupons with no hesitation. We attended the Van Gogh, Rijks, Heineken, Stedjilke, Canal Cruise, and all-day transportation passes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Pamela E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This company met our expectations. Cruise was fun and informative and we had fast line tickets for both the Rijks and the Van Gogh museums. Please note that it is best to get a timed ticket for Van Gogh otherwise you stand in line for a long time even though you have a ticket. People purchasing tickets at the museum went in a lot faster than we did with our vouchers.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Kenneth H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour guide. She was very friendly. The group bypassed the long line to the Van Gogh Museum. Definitely worth the extra cost not to waste part of my holiday standing in line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

GARY H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. Van Gogh and Rijks museum were fabulous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent way to see Amsterdam. It meant we didn't have to worry about fares and having cash and for the Van Gogh museum we skipped a long line. What we really appreciated was that it saved us time as much as money.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Vovo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent, our guide highly trained in arts explained us Van Gogh's paintings and development as an artist, took us the the most renowned paintings in the Rijksmuseum and was an enjoyable companion during the canal cruise. Without his help we would have seen less and understand even lesser from Dutch art. Had we not taken this trip, we would have spent hours waiting in the queues in front of the museums. The canal trip was pleasant, the city center looks so much different from a boat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Michael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour for the money. Having the guide who was very knowledgeable, as well as being able to skip the lines, was great. The Van Gogh was good, but the Rijksmuseum was wonderful. The tour doesn't give you more than a snap shot of the Rijksmuseum, but that is understandable considering the amount of art there is. The canal cruise was nice and the lunch was good too. Nice sandwiches. No cold drink which would have been welcomed on the warm day. I would do this again, but next time I'd only the tour of the Rijksmuseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Stanley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Actually, 4 1/2 stars. The gathering point was near both our hotel and the museums so was very convenient. Our guide Tall Christina was very, very good. She negotiated through the crowds in both museums and got us to the major paintings with ease. Her knowledge of the a. Trusts and their paintings was very extensive. Both the Van Gogh and Rijks were spectacular. The Van Gogh was entirely doable on this tour, but the Rijks is too big. Must visit the Rijks again! The canal tour was OK with a decent box lunch, but did not see too much since we were talking to two fellow tourists most of the time. The canal tour longer than I expected.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message