Art lovers and van Gogh fans must reward themselves with a visit to the Van Gogh Museum, one of Amsterdam's must-sees. The museum consists of about 200 paintings and 500 drawings by Vincent and his friends and contemporaries (Gauguin, Monet, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

iAmsterdam Cards are great. Great idea and they are really useful for the trams and transport as you dont even need to think about buying a ticket. Gives you entry to some great attractions, but of course the most popular ones are really busy. Van Gogh museum is almost impossible to enter, but most others things are great. Warning the only place to activate your card is directly outside the central train station in Amsterdam. There is nowhere else in the city that is convenient to activate. So do the exchange when you get off the train and then use it when youre ready to, to save you the hassle of having to go back to the station.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful family pass. Van Gogh Museum is a must see. The canal bus is very easy to find. Many routes to take you anywhere in Amsterdam. I would recommend buying a time slot ticket for the Van Gogh Museum as the line is outrageously long even if you prebook a ticket. If not plan to wait in line for about 30-45 minutes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well, ya know, it was the Van Gogh Museum. It was incredible. Thanks to Viator, I got a decent discount, but more importantly, entered the museum with literally no wait. Fantastic!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Never really appreciated Van Gogh as much as I do now after learning so much about him and his art... Wonderful w the multi-media!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Ester S
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

As a family of 5 we enjoyed the Van Gogh museum very much. It is definitely the best to get to the museum before 10am, the queues for tickets get very long after that and the museum fill up quickly. It is definitely a must see in Amsterdam. Book your tickets long in advance.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amsterdam was wonderful. I especially enjoyed the Van Gogh. Glad I bought tickets in advance. The ticket line was hours long!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fantastic trip. Highly recommend the I amsterdam card as it let us plan some 'must do' visits but gave us the flexibility for some ad hoc stuff as well. The trams and buses are excellent and we only had to queue for the Van Gogh museum. Highly recommend the Eye Film institute and Lord in Attic.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We purchased our museum tickets easily through Viator. Enjoyed the art at our leisure - great way to enjoy Van Gogh - thanks Viator!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The Van Gogh museum has such an amazing collection of works. Wonderful paintings.
The canal pass was useful though the timetable is limited.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An absolute must while visiting Amsterdam. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Van Gogh Museum. We both learnt so much about the artists and his/their works, which were previously unknown to us. The Museum was spotlessly clean and was not crowded once inside. Beautiful gift shops inside were definitely worth a look.Was glad that we had pre-booked our tickets as queues were extremely long. Would recommend Viator for booking your trips and excursions.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a very good idea to book this tour, because we saved time at Van Gogh museum line. My advice for the tourists who want to buy this trip is to print the vouchers twice - because you get the entrance ticket to both attractions in exchange of the printed voucher (we didn't know and had to make a trip to the hotel for a second print). Van Gogh museum is absolutely fabulous, it definitely worths a visit (or more!). The boat tour is also very beautiful, but you depend too much on the weather and we had plenty of rain on the seond day. But it was a very nice tour of the city even so! So I highly recommend this tour. I love Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hop on hop off canal tour is a great way to see Amsterdam. You would miss most of the city if you didn't use a boat. Quiet, relaxing, the only way to go. Not having to wait at the Van Gogh saves an hour in line. That alone was worth the ticket price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a super way to learn more about Van Gogh the pictures were displayed beautifully. The staff were very helpful and we had time to relax with a coffee and a chat before starting on the other floors. The whole experience was magic.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on the hop on hop off canal boat and went to the Van Gogh museum which although busy was well worth seeing. It was great having the ticket in advance as saved a lot of queuing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Free canal tour was great, free access to Van Gogh museum is a once in a lifetime experience, discount to Rijksmuseum also a must do, and incredible access to free city transport. Buses and tram are running constantly so it was never a big wait for the next ride. The only issue was getting the I AM cards activated because many locals don't understand that this can ONLY be activated at airport and central station visitor center. Great adventure, no regrets.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing experience at Amsterdam. Endless green, green pastures with cow, sheep and horses. Beautiful city and boat houses on the water, very convenient transportation (train and bus). Above all, every one we met they are so kind and friendly. Everybody speak in English. We had a good experience to have Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day bus pass (tour) around city and Van Gogh Musuem. I recommend one restaurant in Volendan, "Smit Bokkum". I give FIVE STARS / Highly Recommended Amsterdam trip.
John Kim from Chicago
We would like to visit again someday.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We actually didn't need to have pre booked our tickets as it wasn't that busy on the Monday afternoon we were there. The exhibition is outstanding, such a privilege to see so many of van Gogh's paintings, and well displayed.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amsterdam was awesome! Would love to come back and take the canal bus hop on hop off again! Very convenient! Line to Van Gogh Museum was long so the skip the line pass was perfect! Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I like to take a local guide and again we were right! She was amazing: in Van Gogh Museum she guided us trough all most important paintings, she gave us perfect overview regarding his work and his life. In Rijksmuseum again we saw in short time the most important and powerful things with very professional and funny guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Four of us found this trip easy to get around Amsterdam and see the main sights. There was a small queue for th e fast track to Van Gogh but we thoroughLy enjoyed the visit and even better we gained faster entry. Don't have to choose a specific time this way for Van Gogh. Worth booking on viator.
Great with a canal ride which was much more fun than sitting on an ordinary bus. Like that you can book the trip and prepay before you leave home, so know how much you have to pay.
Easy to present the printed vouchers for tickets too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to see the city and get commentary on what you're seeing. Easy to use and a wonderful way to meet other people on the boats. Our skip the line ticket choice for Van Gogh got us past the 2 hour line outside the museum. Wonderful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an excellent way to see two museums in one day. Our tour guide had a microphone, and we had radio ear pieces. She was extremely knowledgeable about both Van Gogh and the artists housed in the Rijksmuseum. The lunch cruise was a valuable break between museums. I had the wonderful fortune of learning so much more about Van Gogh, Rembrandt, Vermeer, etc than I have ever learned on one tour.
Bravo...this is a real winner. Our guide's name was Evelyn. After the Rijksmuseum, we stopped in the lovely café for a cheese plate and a few glasses of wine. The perfect day. RDP

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Hop on hop off great way to see everything. Van Gogh very well done. In order of life and English captions helpful. Telly didn't need audio

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed sailing the various canals as i wished and the easy entry into the Van Gogh museum. Made the short time in Amsterdam much more pleasant.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour guide was excellent. She was very thoughtful and had a great style as she discussed all of the art and history surrounding Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. It is a MUST day when in Amsterdam, a high light of our short trip to Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message