Art lovers and van Gogh fans must reward themselves with a visit to the Van Gogh Museum, one of Amsterdam's must-sees. The museum consists of about 200 paintings and 500 drawings by Vincent and his friends and contemporaries (Gauguin, Monet, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 307 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Kenneth H
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour guide. She was very friendly. The group bypassed the long line to the Van Gogh Museum. Definitely worth the extra cost not to waste part of my holiday standing in line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful time at the museum. Having the tickets through Viator shortened the queue by over an hour.
The museum was well organized out and the audio description is highly recommended. I have a new appreciation and respect for Van Gogh, and will return to the museum on my next Amsterdam visit.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Every visitor to Amsterdam should see this museum and buying tickets in advance saved much time. I know little about art but I now appreciate Van Gogh from a historical and art perspective.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. Van Gogh and Rijks museum were fabulous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent way to see Amsterdam. It meant we didn't have to worry about fares and having cash and for the Van Gogh museum we skipped a long line. What we really appreciated was that it saved us time as much as money.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were delighted to have a voucher ahead of time so did not have long to wait to get in. Also, we were lucky that the museum was not overly crowded. When we got tired of being on our feet we went to the very nice cafe where the food was excellent. Learned so much about Van Gogh's life that we had never known before.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Saw Van Gogh's Sunflowers. Awesome! Was nice to have tickets ahead of time so we did not have to wait in line!!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent, our guide highly trained in arts explained us Van Gogh's paintings and development as an artist, took us the the most renowned paintings in the Rijksmuseum and was an enjoyable companion during the canal cruise. Without his help we would have seen less and understand even lesser from Dutch art. Had we not taken this trip, we would have spent hours waiting in the queues in front of the museums. The canal trip was pleasant, the city center looks so much different from a boat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour for the money. Having the guide who was very knowledgeable, as well as being able to skip the lines, was great. The Van Gogh was good, but the Rijksmuseum was wonderful. The tour doesn't give you more than a snap shot of the Rijksmuseum, but that is understandable considering the amount of art there is. The canal cruise was nice and the lunch was good too. Nice sandwiches. No cold drink which would have been welcomed on the warm day. I would do this again, but next time I'd only the tour of the Rijksmuseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You need to have reservations ahead of time to avoid long lines. We were so happy a friend told us that before we left so made all reservations before we left.Van Gogh was great crowded but so glad we had reservations.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very short line outside on Friday evening. Museum provided excellent narrative regarding Van Gogh's
struggles to attain recognition, his family support and relationships and his life.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Actually, 4 1/2 stars. The gathering point was near both our hotel and the museums so was very convenient. Our guide Tall Christina was very, very good. She negotiated through the crowds in both museums and got us to the major paintings with ease. Her knowledge of the a. Trusts and their paintings was very extensive. Both the Van Gogh and Rijks were spectacular. The Van Gogh was entirely doable on this tour, but the Rijks is too big. Must visit the Rijks again! The canal tour was OK with a decent box lunch, but did not see too much since we were talking to two fellow tourists most of the time. The canal tour longer than I expected.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were more than 20 on our tour, like 28, which was interesting. Both at the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum we were stopped numerous times because of the size of our group. Other than that, I have no complaint. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable, she didn't stop talking which was great, I felt like we saw and learned so much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was an eye opener to see the various stages of Van Gogh's painting career. So very different from what one usually sees.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. She was able to paint pictures in our minds about the lives of Van Gogh and Rembrandt. We went on a Friday. The lines were out the doors. When we passed by on Saturday, the lines had tripled and were a block long. The skip the line feature was wonderful. No waiting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide really was wonderful for Van Gogh ... really passionate in sharing in depth stories,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

iAmsterdam Cards are great. Great idea and they are really useful for the trams and transport as you dont even need to think about buying a ticket. Gives you entry to some great attractions, but of course the most popular ones are really busy. Van Gogh museum is almost impossible to enter, but most others things are great. Warning the only place to activate your card is directly outside the central train station in Amsterdam. There is nowhere else in the city that is convenient to activate. So do the exchange when you get off the train and then use it when youre ready to, to save you the hassle of having to go back to the station.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful family pass. Van Gogh Museum is a must see. The canal bus is very easy to find. Many routes to take you anywhere in Amsterdam. I would recommend buying a time slot ticket for the Van Gogh Museum as the line is outrageously long even if you prebook a ticket. If not plan to wait in line for about 30-45 minutes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well, ya know, it was the Van Gogh Museum. It was incredible. Thanks to Viator, I got a decent discount, but more importantly, entered the museum with literally no wait. Fantastic!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Never really appreciated Van Gogh as much as I do now after learning so much about him and his art... Wonderful w the multi-media!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Ester S
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

As a family of 5 we enjoyed the Van Gogh museum very much. It is definitely the best to get to the museum before 10am, the queues for tickets get very long after that and the museum fill up quickly. It is definitely a must see in Amsterdam. Book your tickets long in advance.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amsterdam was wonderful. I especially enjoyed the Van Gogh. Glad I bought tickets in advance. The ticket line was hours long!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fantastic trip. Highly recommend the I amsterdam card as it let us plan some 'must do' visits but gave us the flexibility for some ad hoc stuff as well. The trams and buses are excellent and we only had to queue for the Van Gogh museum. Highly recommend the Eye Film institute and Lord in Attic.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We purchased our museum tickets easily through Viator. Enjoyed the art at our leisure - great way to enjoy Van Gogh - thanks Viator!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The Van Gogh museum has such an amazing collection of works. Wonderful paintings.
The canal pass was useful though the timetable is limited.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message