Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Van Gogh Museum

Art lovers and Van Gogh fans must reward themselves with a visit to the Van Gogh Museum, one of Amsterdam's must-sees. The museum consists of about 200 paintings and 500 drawings by Van Gogh and his friends and contemporaries (Gauguin, Monet, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 348 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Henry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful. A little confusing about which line to use at Van Gogh museum. For Ann Frank house have to make online reservations to see it between 9 and 3 we were told that if we couldn't do that to show up around 6, which is what we did and only had to stand in line for about 30minutes. Also boat reverses course at one of the stops which you need to plan around. It's shown on the map but you have to look for it and plan around it. It was a wonderful experience!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Ron A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the hop on hop off canal boats. They were very conveniently located and a great way to see the city. We liked the Riks Museum much better than the Van Gogh Museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Wesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

canal cruise plus tickets to 2 museums. the canal cruise was very good. the tickets for both museum has extended expiry dates so you don't have to do everything in one day.
the Rijksmuseum ticket can be used as it. the Van Gogh museum ticket must be exchanged at cashier before used. However there is a special line for the exchange so it's much shorter than the regular line. it's worth it!

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Jeannette T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great way to see Amsterdam! The stops were easy to find and the Skip the line to the van gogh Museum was well worth it.
A wonderful excursion inAmsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

cyndipoeggel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Van Gogh Museum was a must see- simply breathtaking, but make sure you have enough time if you are an art lover to see it all. The cruise was really good too- definitely recommend others to take advantage of this.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Canal Cruise and Van Gogh Museum

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Paola was an excellent tourguide for our exploration of the Van Gogh museum. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam: Small Group Tour and Skip the Line Ticket

John E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are limited on time and want a truly memorable day in Amsterdam then this tour is for you. Both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are a must if in Amsterdam. This tour allows you to move past the long lines with your guide and enter the museums directly. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable with a sense of humor. Lunch was very light-- however, you have the option of purchasing additional food if you want. The canal cruise provided some much needed time off your feet and was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Mary Ellen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Pieter was passionate and extremely knowledgeable about Rembrandt and Van Gogh. He made the paintings come alive for us! We loved the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

travelingsenior United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The 3-day city pass was a terrific bargain and timesaver. It provided a free canal ride, free public transportation, and free admission to many museums. It saved me possibly an hour in entering the Van Gogh Museum as I could stand in the express line instead of the long queue for buying tickets.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Charles V W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great way to skip the lines and see the best museums. We saw the Rijks Museum and Van Gogh museums in the same day. Those two alone are worth the price of the Holland pass.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Monika M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My boyfriend and I thought the canal cruise was a great way to get a taste for the city. The combination ticket was very helpful as we did not have to wait in line to enter the Van Gogh Museum! The museum was worth the hours we spent inside-both the main exhibits and the pop up exhibit were wonderful!

Doing what: Amsterdam City Canal Cruise and Van Gogh Museum

Catherine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour - skipping the line at Van Gogh is a huge benefit of this tour as the date we were there, the line was very long. Our tour guide Marjorie I believe did a great job taking us to see key pieces of art at each museum. She was assertive to get our group a good view and shared great information about the pieces. Great way to spend the day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

eric t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great introductory cruise to see the canals and highlight spots to go visit. The Rijksmuseum was fantastic. The Van Gogh museum was meh. The Starry Night isn and #39;t there nor is there a single piece of merchandise for it, but there were plenty of other Van Gogh paintings.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Judy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Having a timed entry into the Van Gogh Museum was excellent. The opportunity to rent listening devices was one we took advantage of. I enjoyed hearing more background information on the why and how of Vincent's choices to create the works hung there. We needed about 90 minutes to travel through the complete exhibit. Just about right so my husband wouldn't get antsy and want to leave before we were done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Early Access to Van Gogh Museum with Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Optional Canal Cruise

Kathleen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny! Pieter was an incredible guide for information, subject matter, passion about his city, knowledge about the art and artists, and entertaining as well. We gathered at the 'Tours and Tickets' signs you see around the city. Follow the voucher directions - easy to find starting point. Started the day buy leaving backpack at the desk at the meeting point. Security measures will make taking bags into museums difficult, so we opted to lighten the load and follow his suggestion. They provide a whisper phone earpiece so you can hear the guide in the museum setting without being too close to others. We learned about the history of the Rijksmuseum, the architecture, the plaza, and some of the politics of allowing bicycles to pass through. All very, very interesting. The art highlights in both musuems were just right, especially as a first time visitor. You couldn't see everything, so having Pieter made our visit efficient and purposeful. His storytelling is dynamic and so very interesting, His passion comes through and added value to the tour. The walk to the boat ride is brief. It was an interesting cruise through the canals. You listen to a prerecorded tour guide, and Pieter serves a little snack and drink. It was a nice break sitting and viewing the city. The lunch was fresh and delicious in the Van Gogh museum. We had a community table all set for our group as we arrived from our walk back from the boat cruise. Not rushed at all, pacing was pleasant. I would highly recommend this tour and the high cost does have value. We learned a great deal and were so happy with our experience, it was one of the tours we talked most about when we returned home.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Lara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

THE Amsterdam Skip the Line Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum tour including Amserdam Cruise was excellent. Our guide unfortunately can't remember her name was ver personable and had a passion for the art in the museums. The cruise was a perfect break between museums. Would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Paul K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day . Tour guide Peter was excellent , certainly knew all there is to know about Van Gogh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Kate United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic! Pieter was our guide and he was extremely knowledgable, personable and funny. We learned so much about art history on this tour. It was just perfect for our group of 6 active American women in our 50s. The Canal tour part is a nice way to have a seat for a short respite. The lunch from the cafe in the Van Gogh museum is ok, but you're there for the art. Your lucky if you get Pieter as your guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Lauren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a great tour with Pieter, who took us through the Rijksmuseum and made it seem manageable in size, and then took us through the Van Gogh museum with a very well-done narrative about Vincent Van Gogh's life. Would recommend definitely!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Denesha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I loved this tour! I didn't have time to see the Van Gogh Museum but I did get to see the Rijksmuseum. I would definitely book it again.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour!!! Guide was an art major. She was very knowledgeable! It was a 7 hour tour that was perfect. Rijksmuseum 1st, then canal ride, lunch and Van Gogh last. Our 9 year old grandson loved it! Until the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower a week later on our final day, the Rijksmuseum seeing Nights Watch was his favorite part of Amsterdam, Antwerp, Brugge and Paris. A definite must went in Amsterdam!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Matthew T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I did this in January, so there were no lines...which I understand to be completely different in the summer, making the presale tickets even more valuable. This is a quick and easy tour of the city. I knew nothing about Van Gogh and learned a lot get the audio tour. I also went to the Rijks museum again, get the audio tour. Then I took the 90 minute canal tour which gave a nice flavor of the city while I slowly worked through my jet lag.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Vicki S H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome, I buy them in every city I go t0. No need for a car, the transportation system is awesome in Amsterdam. I got free entrance to the Van Gogh museum.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

zoetreaster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great tour. It condensed the museums and boat ride into just the one day that I was in Amsterdam. No museum lines and wasted time! Lunch in the Van Gogh museum was just enough. Our guide Pieter was very knowledgable and informative. A good guide!! Zoe Treaster, California

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

dwmartin37

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great guide. Just wish that Van Gogh's Potato Eaters painting had not been on loan so that we could have seen it too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message