Art lovers and van Gogh fans must reward themselves with a visit to the Van Gogh Museum, one of Amsterdam's must-sees. The museum consists of about 200 paintings and 500 drawings by Vincent and his friends and contemporaries (Gauguin, Monet, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 289 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour for the money. Having the guide who was very knowledgeable, as well as being able to skip the lines, was great. The Van Gogh was good, but the Rijksmuseum was wonderful. The tour doesn't give you more than a snap shot of the Rijksmuseum, but that is understandable considering the amount of art there is. The canal cruise was nice and the lunch was good too. Nice sandwiches. No cold drink which would have been welcomed on the warm day. I would do this again, but next time I'd only the tour of the Rijksmuseum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

You need to have reservations ahead of time to avoid long lines. We were so happy a friend told us that before we left so made all reservations before we left.Van Gogh was great crowded but so glad we had reservations.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very short line outside on Friday evening. Museum provided excellent narrative regarding Van Gogh's
struggles to attain recognition, his family support and relationships and his life.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Actually, 4 1/2 stars. The gathering point was near both our hotel and the museums so was very convenient. Our guide Tall Christina was very, very good. She negotiated through the crowds in both museums and got us to the major paintings with ease. Her knowledge of the a. Trusts and their paintings was very extensive. Both the Van Gogh and Rijks were spectacular. The Van Gogh was entirely doable on this tour, but the Rijks is too big. Must visit the Rijks again! The canal tour was OK with a decent box lunch, but did not see too much since we were talking to two fellow tourists most of the time. The canal tour longer than I expected.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were more than 20 on our tour, like 28, which was interesting. Both at the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum we were stopped numerous times because of the size of our group. Other than that, I have no complaint. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable, she didn't stop talking which was great, I felt like we saw and learned so much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was an eye opener to see the various stages of Van Gogh's painting career. So very different from what one usually sees.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. She was able to paint pictures in our minds about the lives of Van Gogh and Rembrandt. We went on a Friday. The lines were out the doors. When we passed by on Saturday, the lines had tripled and were a block long. The skip the line feature was wonderful. No waiting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide really was wonderful for Van Gogh ... really passionate in sharing in depth stories,

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

iAmsterdam Cards are great. Great idea and they are really useful for the trams and transport as you dont even need to think about buying a ticket. Gives you entry to some great attractions, but of course the most popular ones are really busy. Van Gogh museum is almost impossible to enter, but most others things are great. Warning the only place to activate your card is directly outside the central train station in Amsterdam. There is nowhere else in the city that is convenient to activate. So do the exchange when you get off the train and then use it when youre ready to, to save you the hassle of having to go back to the station.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful family pass. Van Gogh Museum is a must see. The canal bus is very easy to find. Many routes to take you anywhere in Amsterdam. I would recommend buying a time slot ticket for the Van Gogh Museum as the line is outrageously long even if you prebook a ticket. If not plan to wait in line for about 30-45 minutes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well, ya know, it was the Van Gogh Museum. It was incredible. Thanks to Viator, I got a decent discount, but more importantly, entered the museum with literally no wait. Fantastic!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Never really appreciated Van Gogh as much as I do now after learning so much about him and his art... Wonderful w the multi-media!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Ester S
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

As a family of 5 we enjoyed the Van Gogh museum very much. It is definitely the best to get to the museum before 10am, the queues for tickets get very long after that and the museum fill up quickly. It is definitely a must see in Amsterdam. Book your tickets long in advance.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amsterdam was wonderful. I especially enjoyed the Van Gogh. Glad I bought tickets in advance. The ticket line was hours long!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fantastic trip. Highly recommend the I amsterdam card as it let us plan some 'must do' visits but gave us the flexibility for some ad hoc stuff as well. The trams and buses are excellent and we only had to queue for the Van Gogh museum. Highly recommend the Eye Film institute and Lord in Attic.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We purchased our museum tickets easily through Viator. Enjoyed the art at our leisure - great way to enjoy Van Gogh - thanks Viator!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The Van Gogh museum has such an amazing collection of works. Wonderful paintings.
The canal pass was useful though the timetable is limited.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An absolute must while visiting Amsterdam. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Van Gogh Museum. We both learnt so much about the artists and his/their works, which were previously unknown to us. The Museum was spotlessly clean and was not crowded once inside. Beautiful gift shops inside were definitely worth a look.Was glad that we had pre-booked our tickets as queues were extremely long. Would recommend Viator for booking your trips and excursions.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a very good idea to book this tour, because we saved time at Van Gogh museum line. My advice for the tourists who want to buy this trip is to print the vouchers twice - because you get the entrance ticket to both attractions in exchange of the printed voucher (we didn't know and had to make a trip to the hotel for a second print). Van Gogh museum is absolutely fabulous, it definitely worths a visit (or more!). The boat tour is also very beautiful, but you depend too much on the weather and we had plenty of rain on the seond day. But it was a very nice tour of the city even so! So I highly recommend this tour. I love Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hop on hop off canal tour is a great way to see Amsterdam. You would miss most of the city if you didn't use a boat. Quiet, relaxing, the only way to go. Not having to wait at the Van Gogh saves an hour in line. That alone was worth the ticket price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a super way to learn more about Van Gogh the pictures were displayed beautifully. The staff were very helpful and we had time to relax with a coffee and a chat before starting on the other floors. The whole experience was magic.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on the hop on hop off canal boat and went to the Van Gogh museum which although busy was well worth seeing. It was great having the ticket in advance as saved a lot of queuing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Free canal tour was great, free access to Van Gogh museum is a once in a lifetime experience, discount to Rijksmuseum also a must do, and incredible access to free city transport. Buses and tram are running constantly so it was never a big wait for the next ride. The only issue was getting the I AM cards activated because many locals don't understand that this can ONLY be activated at airport and central station visitor center. Great adventure, no regrets.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing experience at Amsterdam. Endless green, green pastures with cow, sheep and horses. Beautiful city and boat houses on the water, very convenient transportation (train and bus). Above all, every one we met they are so kind and friendly. Everybody speak in English. We had a good experience to have Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day bus pass (tour) around city and Van Gogh Musuem. I recommend one restaurant in Volendan, "Smit Bokkum". I give FIVE STARS / Highly Recommended Amsterdam trip.
John Kim from Chicago
We would like to visit again someday.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We actually didn't need to have pre booked our tickets as it wasn't that busy on the Monday afternoon we were there. The exhibition is outstanding, such a privilege to see so many of van Gogh's paintings, and well displayed.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message