Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Van Gogh Museum

Art lovers and van Gogh fans must reward themselves with a visit to the Van Gogh Museum, one of Amsterdam's must-sees. The museum consists of about 200 paintings and 500 drawings by Vincent and his friends and contemporaries (Gauguin, Monet, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I did this in January, so there were no lines...which I understand to be completely different in the summer, making the presale tickets even more valuable. This is a quick and easy tour of the city. I knew nothing about Van Gogh and learned a lot get the audio tour. I also went to the Rijks museum again, get the audio tour. Then I took the 90 minute canal tour which gave a nice flavor of the city while I slowly worked through my jet lag.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Vicki S H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome, I buy them in every city I go t0. No need for a car, the transportation system is awesome in Amsterdam. I got free entrance to the Van Gogh museum.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

zoetreaster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great tour. It condensed the museums and boat ride into just the one day that I was in Amsterdam. No museum lines and wasted time! Lunch in the Van Gogh museum was just enough. Our guide Pieter was very knowledgable and informative. A good guide!! Zoe Treaster, California

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Paul O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent experience...took two more tours as a result.
Tour left on time, guide was informative, charming, organized. We did exactly as described....Van Gogh Museum no lines for us, canal tour, pleasant lunch, then Rijksmuseum. Schedule was reasonable and we kept to it. Highlights of museums seen and decribed.
Tour was exactly what we would have hoped for from all aspects.
Great surprise!!! Would definetely recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Albert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour went exceptionally well from the check in and the boats and drivers.Having the prepaid Van Gogh museum voucher/ticket was most helpful. I went on both the green and orange lines and enjoyed every minute.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

rlcadima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great museum, a must see for Van Gogh fans.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Cameron L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great museum. Van Gogh was an amazing character worth knowing.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a very popular museum, where one must queue for a long time to buy a ticket, then again to gain entry. To have a ticket already cuts the wait enormously. The permanent museum is amazing as a study of Van Gogh, but the way the special exhibition, comparing Van Gogh with Edvard Munch, was organised was brilliant.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Larry F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had the best experience with Victoria. She made Van Gogh come alive in her descriptions of his works..amazing

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam: Small Group Tour and Skip the Line Ticket

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Van Gogh museum very interesting. Keep in mind skip the line just means skip the ticket line for ticket purchase. You still have to wait in the fairly long line to get in about 35 minutes for us_.

Canal bus is ok, but fairly minimal narration. Our hotel proprieter said the blue boats were better for a canal tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Barbara H W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amsterdam is a wonderful town to visit. The Van Gogh was incredible. So was the Rijks

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

There has been an expansion of the galleries and this time there was a very provocative and excellent exhibit comparing the tortured lives and ensuing works of Van Gogh and Munch. Worth the short wait in line to change my voucher to a ticket

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We exchanged our voucher for the Holland Passes and tickets very easily at Travelex in Leidersplein. We used our two gold tickets at the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with only a very short queue at each. We decided to use our silver tickets at the Maritime and Diamond Museums which we both good. We opted for the 1 hour canal cruise which was lovely. We were only in Amsterdam for 2 full days otherwise I am sure we would have used the pass to get discount on more attractions but we were very pleased to gain entry to our selected attractions so easily.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

malinovskaia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Van Gogh Museum is a very beautiful museum, created with loving heart and pride of Vincent Van Gogh as a brilliant artist and honest, devoted to his brother Theo and his wife person- do not miss it if you have time in Amsterdam!
Canal bus was the best option to get acquainted with Amsterdam in one day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Frank T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Steven did an outstanding job of sharing his knowledge and enthusiasm for his city and it's art. We were able to quickly enter the museums and he was able to show us the highlights of both the Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. He was able to keep the group together and engaged and we were able to move right up front to get the best view of each masterpiece. The canal tour with lunch was a great break in the middle of the museum tours and the lunch was lovely and the canal cruise a delight. Great Tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Howard Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This card was fantastic. All the museums and other attractions accepted the coupons with no hesitation. We attended the Van Gogh, Rijks, Heineken, Stedjilke, Canal Cruise, and all-day transportation passes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Jonathan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of my time in Europe. It was a great opportunity to have access to the largest collection of original pieces of Van Gogh's Art. The museum was laid out nicely and facilitated foot traffic. The option to purchase tickets online also worked out very well as there was a long line of people waiting to buy tickets. This was also one of the more affordable attractions in Amsterdam so I can assure you that you won't be disappointed with this museum.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Kenneth H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour guide. She was very friendly. The group bypassed the long line to the Van Gogh Museum. Definitely worth the extra cost not to waste part of my holiday standing in line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

scourabout

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful time at the museum. Having the tickets through Viator shortened the queue by over an hour.
The museum was well organized out and the audio description is highly recommended. I have a new appreciation and respect for Van Gogh, and will return to the museum on my next Amsterdam visit.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Every visitor to Amsterdam should see this museum and buying tickets in advance saved much time. I know little about art but I now appreciate Van Gogh from a historical and art perspective.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

GARY H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. Van Gogh and Rijks museum were fabulous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Mary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent way to see Amsterdam. It meant we didn't have to worry about fares and having cash and for the Van Gogh museum we skipped a long line. What we really appreciated was that it saved us time as much as money.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Moyra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were delighted to have a voucher ahead of time so did not have long to wait to get in. Also, we were lucky that the museum was not overly crowded. When we got tired of being on our feet we went to the very nice cafe where the food was excellent. Learned so much about Van Gogh's life that we had never known before.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Gary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Saw Van Gogh's Sunflowers. Awesome! Was nice to have tickets ahead of time so we did not have to wait in line!!

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum Ticket in Amsterdam

Vovo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent, our guide highly trained in arts explained us Van Gogh's paintings and development as an artist, took us the the most renowned paintings in the Rijksmuseum and was an enjoyable companion during the canal cruise. Without his help we would have seen less and understand even lesser from Dutch art. Had we not taken this trip, we would have spent hours waiting in the queues in front of the museums. The canal trip was pleasant, the city center looks so much different from a boat.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canals Lunch Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message