• USD ($)
  • English
For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We really are happy with the tour, We enjoyed Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken a lot. Clog shoe factory instructor tour was great. We were early in season for Keukenhof visit but was able to see a lot of tulips and other kind flowers in the garden. I would recommend this tour to everyone who is in Amsterdam for couple of days and want to see the country side or tulips.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The bus was clean, the tour guide was friendly and informative. The windmills were amazing. The time spent in volendam was really nice. It was so lovely to see quaint holland away from the city.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This trip was full value for money. A big factor was both the tour guides for the morning and afternoon were excellent, knowledgeable and fun. The morning trip included visits to the cheese factory in Volendam with a very good presenter, followed by a highly entertaining clog making demonstrator on the island of Marken and then the visit to the picturesque windmills of Zaanse Schans.
The afternoon took us to the quaint village of Delft where we were given a very informative presentation of Delft Pauw's special pottery. We then toured through The Hague seeing important sites.Highly recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Unmissable , Morning time you can explore Amsterdam city , visiting a diamond factory in included also then lunch break for almost 2 hours , by 2:30 pm the second trip for the country side will start by visiting Windmill town secondly will visit Volendam town and got chance to teast different types of cheeses in a traditional chees factory , Finaly will take the boat to visit the Marken island where will visit a traditional wooden shose factory .. By 7:30 pm will reach again to Amsterdam central station ...

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We loved the tour but would like to offer the following comments: 1. There where too many different language groups on our tour and the guide was not always able to give as much commentry as we would have liked because he had to give commentry in too many languages. 2. The time allocated to lunch in Volendam was not sufficient for a group as large as ours and we had to leave before our meal was delivered. This was very dissapointing. This was however mostly the restaurants fault.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was memorable and worth its value.
The tour operator had ensured that we get to all the places mentioned and at the same
spend some time there as well.
Volendam Cheese making and Marken Clog Shoe making presentation were of highest
order.
The guide gave us a vivid description of the route, places and history of Netherlands.

We were happy to part of the trip and we enjoyed.

Hariharan KV

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Not enough time, not enough time to enjoy Volendam and Marken! Truly beautiful.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I would highly recommend this tour, the museum in Volendam is a perfect way to see how the people lived by the sea and what they wore. The only thing that is disappointing is not enough time at all in Zaanse Schans and it is a place where you would like to stay longer. It is beautiful to walk around.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guides were helpful and informative, especially the lady in the morning. The timing was great. We especially loved Marken and Volendam. A great way to see the countryside in a limited time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip is really great. Especially the seafood restaurant at Volendam is awesome.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide Edgar was fantastic,
The windmills are beautiful and Bart at the Clog Factory is highly entertaining. The clogs are very comfortable so make sure you buy a pair! Volendam was really nice and the guides' recommended lunch spot was definitely great value and good food. The cheese "factory" was a little disappointing but you get a quick overview of the process. There are equally as good places in the back alleys of Amsterdam. In Voldenam I'd recommend venturing past the meeting point and going to the other shops as there is more range and value than on the Main Street.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

There is certainly plenty of things to do on this trip and we enjoyed every minute, but our one complaint is that we felt we did not have sufficient time in each of the stops. Our tour guide was Louis, we had a lot of fun with Him. He is very personable and spent time chatting with everyone. We were very lucky with the weather and the boat tour to Volendam, was a special treat on such a glorious day. Rather than eating in Volendam, I'd suggest seeing the town instead, otherwise there is no time to see anything on your own.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Met the tour at the tour office. Left right on time on a double decker coach. Our guide (Diana?) was very informative both historically and geographically. First we drove over a dijk to Marken. Here we walked around houses in the small village, I did feel a bit uncomfortable as we were almost in their gardens. Then we went to the Clog factory and watched Bart make a clog. He too was very informative and funny. We spent time at the gift shop before walking down to the waterfront to catch the boat to Volendam. We were the last boat of the season to leave and this was an extra surprise as when booking the tour it said the day before was the last boat trip. The boat trip was quick, there are toilet and refreshment facilities on board. Volendam was beautiful I so wish we went in the summer and not on a windy, rainy November day. We went to the cheese factory and heard how cheese is made, I say heard as the lady just described the process however the woman in the room (behind glass) behind us was actually making cheese. We had about 3/4 hour free time hear to get lunch, there are numerous bars, restaurants and stalls selling food. We then walked to the coach and continued to Zaanse Schans. The first impression you get when you leave the coach is an overwhelming smell of chocolate !! There is a chocolate factory here. The first windmill is free to enter however you cannot climb up. There is a windmill that costs 3 eu and you can go to the top and outside. I will warn the steps are very steep. Here we had free time to walk around. There were plenty of photo opportunities. We then returned to Amsterdam. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Dianne
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Even though it rained a lot of the day, we enjoyed both the morning city tour and especially the afternoon tour of the Windmills, Marken and the picturesque village of Volendam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

More time was needed iat the windmills and Volendam

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message