For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 320 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We booked this trip for me, my husband, and our 7 year old son to go to Zaanse Schans and Volendam. The tour description was not exactly what we wanted but, figured it would be ok. After talking to Jaime, our guide, about we really wanted, he modified our trip a little and made it exactly what we wanted. Jaime was so friendly, so relaxed, great driver, extremely patient, flexible, and so informative. If there were 10 stars we would give him 10. He not only gave us a lot of general facts about Zaanse Schans and the other places we went but, gave us a lot of facts about The Netherlands/Dutch history and current events. Our tour was all in English also. On top of that, he helped us get skip the line tickets for a museum that our son wanted to the next day and drove us to pick them up. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this company to anyone who wants a great, personalized tour. Thank you Jaime for a great day!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d8476384-r369311439-Guiarte_Tours-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html

Doing what: Private Day Trip to Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken from Amsterdam

Teresa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A beautiful village with working windmills. The Volendam museum provided great insight into the Dutch history. The Clog factory was very interesting. Overall a fun and pleasant tour - well worth it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Philip G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A full day of great sites.
Wish we had more time at Windmills and Volendam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Susan S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Overall the tour was awesome. However, there is no mention on the extensive walking on this tour. I had noted we had limited mobility. Long walk to windmills and Volendam - guide was walking at a fast pace and we were left at the end. They did ask the bus driver to walk with us so we wouldn't get lost. Really enjoyed the windmills, Volendam, lunch, ferry ride. Guide informed folks to wait until Markel to do shopping, but no time was provided. The next segment was beautiful - enjoyed the Delft pottery factory, but very short time in the town itself. The ride around town of The Hague was very interesting. We would have preferred a longer visit in Delft than time spent at Madurodam - not sure why we stopped here considering the average age of the group. All of the guides and bus drivers were friendly and informative. I thoroughly recommend this tour to all - - but warn about the walking. Most places are not wheel chair accessible.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Srikanth B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Firstly this is a 3.5 stars review, unfortunately cannot select half stars above.
The location of the office, easy to locate the office get there about 30mins before start as there is a bit of a queue to complete the formalities before boarding.
The tour itself is split into two sections.
Morning bus takes you to the windmill village, fishing village, boat ride to marken and the clog making factory. During the journey, they play an audio providing some nice information about netherlands which was nice.But we hated the windmill village part of the tour, not because it was not beautiful, actually it was absolutely amazing, but only because it was so rushed that it was almost not worth even going there like this.
Then at Volendam you go for a free cheese demonstration, which according to me was pretty useless, but you get some time to look at the local shops and buy some nice local made souvenirs here. We had some kibbeling and chips here at a local restaurant which was also very very nice.
Then a nice boat ride to Marken, which again a very beautiful village. Here you visit the local museum and also the clog making factory which was all memorable. Then you head back to Amsterdam.
We literally then got off this bus and got on to the next one for the Keukenhoff gardens, so if you are doing both these like us, I strongly suggest having lunch at Volendam.
Keukenhoff gardens tour, the guide was excellent, she kept telling us some very intersting facts throughout the journey to the gardens. The gardens itself are simply breathtaking and something everyone should see for once. You get three hours to roam around as you wish, which according to me was quite enough as you are by now very tired.
Overall a very worthwhile tour, maybe they just need to work on the windmill village part to give more time there and that would make this a perfect tour. Thanks.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Bridget L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a great trip. I expected the Windmills to be my favorite but they were anti-climactic. Edam is a gem made better by the information provided by Derrick, our guide. Volendam was also wonderful and a great introduction to a true Dutch vacation spot.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Katherine W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed the sites - the windmills, the cheese factory, the wooden shoe factory, the ferry ride, etc. Thought we had a bit too much time in Volendam. We would recommend this trip! Very nice to enjoy 3 different towns in one day!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jessica B W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family two adults, two children aged 6 and 8 really enjoyed this day trip. We were wowed by the windmills in Zaanse Schans, loved Volendam and its charm, the ferry ride to Marken and spending time on the island. We loved watching the clogs being made, the city tour was super informative and we opted for the canal ride as well, which was a nice, slower pace. All in all a great day, with a fantastic guide and would recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

reach.grace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend anyone to go on this trip based on the fact that the places visited are so beautiful and definitely worth it.
Cons: This tour is broken into 2 parts - morning and afternoon. The morning section where we visited the windmills, volendam and market was too rush to me. If you have elders who are unable to walk fast, be warned that it is hard to keep up to the speed. The only way to do it is to have a headstart i.e. when given 10 minutes for souvenir shopping, don't even look and start walking. Too little time was given at the windmills as it was also a far walk to the windmill which we could enter and listen to a brief. As such, we did not have much time to visit other 'shops/windmills'. Also, too little time was given to see/buy souvenirs at the clogs-making workshop and had to rush for the boat to volendam which was a far walk away. When we come to the end of the morning tour, we had to do a far walk to the bus as well. As it was cold and very windy, most of us could not walk too quickly especially the elders where their legs are more or less stiff from the cold. Many were complaining as many of us were being rushed to quickly board the bus.
Probably the trip that breaks down Keukenhof into another day will be better as I supposed more time will be given to visit the windmills, volendam and marken which is to be completed in 1 day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

mylifecompleted

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a wonderful day this was! We had the unfortunate timing of arriving in Amsterdam moments after the Brussels attacks in 2016. This threw our entire vacation into chaos and things were very stressful. This trip gave us a few hours of peace and we loved every minute of it! Our guide was wonderful and very engaging. We headed to Zaanse Schans first thing in the morning and saw the beautiful Windmills. It was amazing getting to talk to the Miller and watch this mill work. He explained how he uses the mill to make oil and after allowed us to climb up to the top of the Windmill. The views were fantastic! We had some free time to take pictures around the Windmill and the little village. We headed back to the bus and made our way to Marken for our wooden shoe demonstration. The shoe maker was really funny and ran the machines to make a shoe for us. After we had a few minutes to try them on and shop before we took a beautiful walk through the village. We headed to a covered boat for a 30 minute ride to Volendam where we made our way into the cheese factory. We had a 5 minute demonstration followed by a TON of cheese tastings! We then took a little walk to our final meeting point and had about an hour to wander on our own. It was a beautiful town and we had a gorgeous day! The tour was the perfect length and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall- a great day trip outside the city of Amsterdam. Short visits to Edam, Volendam, and Maarken. You are taken on a short guided walk around the town of Edam. Cheese Tasting is not done in Edam-instead you visit a cheese factory in Volendam and have wine with various cheeses which was very nice. A lunch break is taken in Maarken good food. Visited a working sawmill windmill which was interesting but felt we would have used a little more time at the windmills to take it all in and take some more pictures.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour. My partner described it as the Netherlands in a day and we definitely covered a lot of ground. The windmills area was very atmospheric and seeing a windmill producing oil was interesting. I loved the visit to Delft and we had an excellent lunch in Volendam at the restaurant suggested by the guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an awesome half day tour. It is a great way to see the countryside. In Zaanse Schans, we were able to go inside a working windmill and given a tour of how it works, and then given some free time to explore the small town and see all the windmills. In Volendam we were given a tour of the cheese making process and in Marken we watched a demonstration of clog making. Overall it was a great day and I would do it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Terrianne L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The Keukenhof gardens were spectacular! Enjoyed the time spent there!
The Zaanse Schans Windmills - we walked to the last Windmill for a brief talk therefore had no time to look around the town. Volendam was a nice town and enjoyed free time walking around. Marken was a great site to visit. Never saw anything like it before

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Jay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was well worth the cheap price. First stop at Wind Mills and demo of Clog making, then free time to explore the site. Then to walk around cute little village of Edam. Next stop cheese making and tasting. Last stop in Volendam, which is pretty much a boardwalk along the ocean. Lots of food carts to try different things and shopping. Tour guide and driver were great and gave good info.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Judit L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, great guides! Volendam and Marken are wonderful little towns, and the windmills are also very interesting. The guides and the driver were fantastic, we even had a little Dutch language lesson on the way back to A'dam. Highly recomment this tour to anyone. Dag-dag and tot ziens!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

David A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Dutch countryside seeing the windmills at Zaanse Schans, the cheese factory and shops in Volendam, and the wooden shoe factory in Market. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was very friendly. Tour was punctual but could have had a little more time at the windmills. Boat trip to Volendam was good.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Nicole M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. I recommend getting there about 30 minutes early to secure a decent seat we had a double-decker bus, or you're stuck facing the back with no view. There was a driver and a separate speaker/guide, as well as the headset system where you could pick your language for the times when the guide wasn't talking. Listening through the headphones was nice and clear and to be used when the guide wasn't speaking. The Dutch countryside is lovely, and the small fishing villages and windmills were really cool. Be sure to go to the top, well, just because you can and should. There wasn't really time for shopping or exploring in Zaanse Schans but that was fine with me. The boat ride from Volendam to Marken was really cool too - you could get food, snacks, and beverages including beer on the boat and that was neat. The cheese factory and clog-maker were really interesting as well. There are not too many places to eat in Marken but the guide recommended a place so everyone went there. You only get about 1 hour to explore there after the cheese factory, so in the interest of time, we walked a little bit down the way and picked a place that nobody else on the boat went to so we could get done faster and have a bit of extra time before meeting back to jump back on the bus. I definitely recommend this tour to get out of the city and see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An excellent value! In about 5 1/2 hours, we really saw a lot. A very personable guide that spoke fluent English and Spanish. We got to go inside one of the windmills that is used for sawing lumber and see how it operated. Also, we visited the factory where the wooden shoes are made and watched the process. On to Volendam next by ferry where we visited a cheese factory and watched cheese being made. Then had lunch at a nearby restaurant. The bus ride and commentary were also nice and informative, especially for a first time visitor like myself.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Elissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great way to experience the country side and get out of Amsterdam for a while. Zaanse Schans was adorable but my favorite town was Volendam! Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Santosh M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour guide in Ms. Juliet to give you an overview of Holland's history. Thoroughly enjoyed the half a day tour walk on the dyke, cheese making and the oil extraction process in windmills balanced by the countryside lifestyle Edam and Volendam.
What stood out most during the tour was the clog manufacturing process in Zaanse Schans and to finally get my hands on an authentic black forest wooden cuckoo clock!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Alfian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

had a great day, wished it could be one hour longer at least for a proper lunch and walk about at Volendam.
Diana was a great tour guide! She kept the crowd entertained throughout the ride, and also ensured that everyone returns to their own seats to prevent unhappiness. I would definitely recommend this for anyone new or even revisiting Amsterdam :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message