For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 264 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Windmills, Volendem and Hague are definitely worth it. However, it would be great if we are given longer time at the windmill area, especially when my group has elderly who don't move around very fast. Delft was only good if you love pottery. I would recommend anyone to go Windmill, Volendam and Hague. Purchasing from Viator may not be the cheapest option. It is cheaper to purchase right at the Tours and Tickets shop in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Delft and The Hague Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had beautiful weather coupled with informative and entertaining guides and drivers. The windmills were truly amazing, as was Volendam and Marken. Absolutely spectacular is the only way I could describe the Keukenhof gardens tour, an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

WONDERFUL WONDERFUL, BUT DISAPPOINTED WE WERE ONLY THERE 2.5 HOURS. THOUGHT WE WOULD BE THERE MUCH MORE. i NEEDED TO PAINT. THAT WAS WHY WE WENT, BUT DIANA WA SUPERB AND WE LOVED ENTIRE DAY. VOLENDAM WAS SPECTACULAR
EVERYTHING WE HAD HOPED FOR IN A 10 HOUR TRIP.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A highly recommended tour. The ride on the bus is easy on the eyes and body. The tulip gardens were beautiful. A huge park to walk through.

The windmills are fantastic and 2 of them are atill being used. Markem was fun to see how the shoes are made and Volendam was secluded with great food.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved the Keukenhof gardens tour as the tulips and other flowers were magnificent. We were able to spend quality time walking the gardens and our guide was knowledgeable about the history of the gardens and the maintenance of the location. This was truly one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam.

The windmills were interesting and the information given by the owner of the one we visited was terrific. A very positive experience as we also enjoyed walking through the village. The clog factory in Marken was interesting but very short time was given to experience the process of making the clogs. Volendam and the cheese factory were a delightful experience, but we were misled about having dinner in one particular restaurant instead of being able to walk around more.

Our guide was fantastic and did allow for questions and comments.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my 21 and 23 year old daughters to Europe for a graduation present and they really enjoyed this portion of the trip. I typically do not take tours but given the short amount of time we had in Amsterdam, this was well worth it. The time we spent at Zaanse Schands Windmills, Volendam and Marken was just the right amount. The boat ride was a nice break from the bus. The tour director Diana was fantastic and did and excellent job keeping us on time and well informed. Keukenhof was the highlight, even though the fields were pretty much tapped out by the time were arrived May8. However the gardens did not disappoint and were in full bloom and beautiful. I am not a flower person but this was truly amazing and the 3 hours there flew by with little extra time and tons of amazing pictures. The only disappointment was that the free packet of bulbs we received had to be thrown away at reentry into the states. Apparently they did not have the proper certificate. Would have been nice to have planted them and had a little reminder year after year. Book the tour and enjoy!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my 21 and 23 year old daughters to Europe for a graduation present and they really enjoyed this portion of the trip. I typically do not take tours but given the short amount of time we had in Amsterdam, this was well worth it. The time we spent at Zaanse Schands Windmills, Volendam and Marken was just the right amount. The boat ride was a nice break from the bus. The tour director Diana was fantastic and did and excellent job keeping us on time and well informed. Keukenhof was the highlight, even though the fields were pretty much tapped out by the time were arrived May8. However the gardens did not disappoint and were in full bloom and beautiful. I am not a flower person but this was truly amazing and the 3 hours there flew by with little extra time and tons of amazing pictures. The only disappointment was that the free packet of bulbs we received had to be thrown away at reentry into the states. Apparently they did not have the proper certificate. Would have been nice to have planted them and had a little reminder year after year. Book the tour and enjoy!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour - a good mix of following a guide ours was great! and being able to explore - especially in Volendam and Zaanse Schans.

It would've been nice to spend a little more time but it was only a 5 hour tour so we were prepared for that.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My daughter 23 and I took this tour and just loved it. We were staying in Amsterdam and it was nice to go out of the city to see what it looks like. We met at a location near the Central Station and walked to the buses. After a short ride we first went to Zaanse Schans to see the Windmills, which was really interesting and so pretty. We got to see inside one windmill where they were grinding peanuts into peanut oil, then had a little time to look in various shops. Next we went to Marken and saw a small presentation in a cheese factory. Not a tour, but mainly a presentation where the speaker engaged small children in the audience talking about various kinds of cheese. Again, we had time to shop and eat at one of the local restaurants. Then we took a boat to Volendam, a very cute, picturesque town. Saw a demonstration of how to make a wooden shoe, had a little time to shop and headed back to Amsterdam. This tour was just the right length of time. Tour guide was great. We have taken many of the Viator tours in different European cities and I always like the tour guides. This was well worth the money which was actually quite reasonable.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great places to visit and loved the boat ride. That being said, there just wasn't enough time at each place. Zaanse Schans and Volendam needed at least one hour more. Would have liked to spend more time in each place perhaps not all in one tour. Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Slightly rushed on the Volendam route but the service and sharing of information has been great.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable. Everything felt a bit rushed in the Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken half day tour. Plenty of time to enjoy Kukenhof Gardens which were lovely.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a nice easy tour that was great for tired travelers. There really wasn't enough time at the windmill stop--it was less than an hour. Edam was a cute little village with much charm. We walked through the village fairly quickly. There is no cheese demonstration other than a film. Volendam was a cute seaside village, but was full of tourists and not much time to explore.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Zaanse Schans is the highlight and could be a 1/2 day tour on its own. Combined with Volendam it was nice. Marken was not nessesary.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a beautiful day for our trip, enjoyed everywhere we went, Zaanse Schans was very pretty but I felt it was also very commercialised , all for the mighty tourist dollar. We were rushed from one place to the next and given a deadline at each stop to be adhered to or you could be left behind, as I almost was on the ferry ! Would have liked to have had more time at Volendam Museum but only had 20 mins which included a toilet break for those who needed it, so much to see, we missed a lot. Then whizzed around to the cheese factory, where we spent ages ? And a fish and chip shop for an hours lunch at our expense , I think the guide was getting a kick back along the way ! The ferry trip was good and the clog factory interesting. Value for money but they need to organise the time better. A big downside was the dilapidated bus we were on. I was upstairs in prime position at the front only to find the windows absolutely filthy with a massive crack across 3/4 of it !! No chance of taking any photos , very disappointing. It also needed a good clean inside, very dirty and dusty with greasy hand marks etc on the insides of the windows. Lots of people complained about being so rushed, it put a dampener on our day.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very nice. Our tour left in the morning on a foggy day, which was still very pretty. Wish we had more time to shop in Volendam and Marken but there is only so much time.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. We were able to see a working windmill and hear a commentary about it. Also enjoyed the clog factory and the cheese factory at Volendam. Keukenhof was amazing! Good value for money.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great overall. We liked seeing how the windmill worked up close and the young man who showed us how he made wooden shoes gave a good demonstration. Both Keukenhof and Volendam were amazing but both could be improved by having better signs. It is easy to lose direction when in huge crowds.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This is a very comprehensive tour and you get to see a lot of the countryside outside of Amsterdam. Our guide was a lovely young man who was very knowledgeable and helpful wish I could remember his name. He was also very respectful to the peoples' homes we passed by in both Volendam and Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our only regret is that we didn't do a full day tour! The tour gave a great overview of the areas outside of Amsterdam. We traveled by bus and also by boat on Lake Isslmeer. We saw wonderful windmills and got a good overview of Marken and Volendam. and Marken. It was great to have time to have an excursion on Lake Isslmeer which gave an entirely different perspective than just a land tour. We enjoyed a great lunch...the fish was delectable. I think the highlight was seeing all the windmills and learning about how they work and the power that they generated in the past and into the present day.. It was great value for the price as it included a great deal in the half day tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The trip was good could have used a little more time at the windmills but it was the Kings Birthday and the bus left a little late because of traffic. Had to rush. Volendam was very nice and could have used a little more time there as well. Maybe next time will book a whole day trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful windmills however not enough time given to just take it all in before being rushed back to the bus. Volendam was very pretty, long lunch break and boat cruise to Marken was very nice, clog making interesting.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is an amazing tour! Our tour guide, Edgar, was very engaging, informative and humorous. He shared interesting details about all of the locations that we visited as well as everything in between. He kept us entertained the entire time. Although we were a. few weeks early to see ALL of the flowers in bloom at the Keukenhof, it was still so beautiful to see the early blooms. The Windmills were impressive as it was a very, very windy day and all of the mills were in action. The Wooden Shoe maker was also very entertaining. You'll need to make room in your luggage for the vast cheese selections at the factory in Volendam...You will end up taking some home!!! This is definitely one of the best tours we have experienced in all of our travels...

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was fantastic so well organised. The tour although booked as one was actually two separate trips but the change over was seem less. Both your guides were exceptionally knowledgable and helpful. I would highly recommend this trip as we had fantastic day out. Loved it all especially Volendam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Worth doing to see an actual windmill working and also the lovely villages of Volendam and Marken and some countryside outside of Amsterdam

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message