For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great overall. We liked seeing how the windmill worked up close and the young man who showed us how he made wooden shoes gave a good demonstration. Both Keukenhof and Volendam were amazing but both could be improved by having better signs. It is easy to lose direction when in huge crowds.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This is a very comprehensive tour and you get to see a lot of the countryside outside of Amsterdam. Our guide was a lovely young man who was very knowledgeable and helpful wish I could remember his name. He was also very respectful to the peoples' homes we passed by in both Volendam and Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our only regret is that we didn't do a full day tour! The tour gave a great overview of the areas outside of Amsterdam. We traveled by bus and also by boat on Lake Isslmeer. We saw wonderful windmills and got a good overview of Marken and Volendam. and Marken. It was great to have time to have an excursion on Lake Isslmeer which gave an entirely different perspective than just a land tour. We enjoyed a great lunch...the fish was delectable. I think the highlight was seeing all the windmills and learning about how they work and the power that they generated in the past and into the present day.. It was great value for the price as it included a great deal in the half day tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The trip was good could have used a little more time at the windmills but it was the Kings Birthday and the bus left a little late because of traffic. Had to rush. Volendam was very nice and could have used a little more time there as well. Maybe next time will book a whole day trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful windmills however not enough time given to just take it all in before being rushed back to the bus. Volendam was very pretty, long lunch break and boat cruise to Marken was very nice, clog making interesting.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is an amazing tour! Our tour guide, Edgar, was very engaging, informative and humorous. He shared interesting details about all of the locations that we visited as well as everything in between. He kept us entertained the entire time. Although we were a. few weeks early to see ALL of the flowers in bloom at the Keukenhof, it was still so beautiful to see the early blooms. The Windmills were impressive as it was a very, very windy day and all of the mills were in action. The Wooden Shoe maker was also very entertaining. You'll need to make room in your luggage for the vast cheese selections at the factory in Volendam...You will end up taking some home!!! This is definitely one of the best tours we have experienced in all of our travels...

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was fantastic so well organised. The tour although booked as one was actually two separate trips but the change over was seem less. Both your guides were exceptionally knowledgable and helpful. I would highly recommend this trip as we had fantastic day out. Loved it all especially Volendam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Worth doing to see an actual windmill working and also the lovely villages of Volendam and Marken and some countryside outside of Amsterdam

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

What a great way to spend a day. Going inside a windmill that has been around from the 1600's, tasting amazing Dutch Gouda cheese, watching a clog be made, and tiptoeing through the tulips if you go to Amsterdam, and want to get outside of Amsterdam, this is a good way to do it. The 1-year aged Gouda at the Volendam Cheese Factory was soooo good we brought some home the 2-year as well.

I think we were there maybe 2-3 weeks early to see the tulips in full bloom. Probably 1st week in May would have been ideal. But still very enjoyable.

There is a lot of walking on this tour bring good walking shoes!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The guide, Elna, was excellent - full of interesting information but did not overdo it. Coach was comfortable but should have been cleaned out beforehand I had a bag of banana skins hanging in front of me!. I am glad we took the longer trip as, in fact, we would have liked longer in Zaan and in Volendam. I wish we could have seen clog making elsewhere as Marken is no longer the old fashioned place it used to be and is not worth visiting. But on the whole very well done

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Bruges Tour was very nice, but wish we had more time to explore The half-day Windmills, Marken and Volendam was also very enjoyable - but wish this tour was offered as a full day option - very rushed throughout each of the three stops

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Bruges Day Trip plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a super tour! It was such a great way to see the countryside and small towns and villages outside of Amsterdam! My main interest was in taking pictures, and I got wonderful shots of windmills, the wooden houses, the countryside, and many birds. On the tour, we got a combination of bus tour, walking tour, and a boat tour, with time to shop, and lunch at a great restaurant. I loved the visit to the cheese factory in Volendam, too. The one part of the tour I wasn't sure I'd enjoy was the shoe factory, but the presenter there was so entertaining that it turned out to be a really fun stop on the trip! It would be very hard to see as much and get the same level of information without taking an organized tour, so this really was a great tour package!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great experience to explore The Windmills, Marken and Volendam even in Winter.
It is so beautiful.
We really enjoyed seeing the windmills, wooden shoe making, and learn how the cheese is made.
It was freezing, but everything went on as planned and so glad we chose this sightseeing.
The guide was friendly and gave many information throughout the journey .
We really enjoyed the "Dutch Countryside" and customs.
Would definitely recommend it to all my friends.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Vanzen
Uruguay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour! The bus trip is not very long and the guide was constantly giving us insight about the area before we arrived so it was very enjoyable.

The Windmills, Marken and Volendam are all great experiences. I liked the windmills the most but the rest was very good also. The cheese factory is a bit simple, they do not actually show you how they make the cheese but rather tell you about, its more like a sales pitch than an experience but it is good nonetheless.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The city tour was better than the hop-on-hop-off tour. The windmills, Marken and Volendam were all very scenic, even in December. Fourtunately, we were able to find a halal restaurant in Volendam to have dinner. It was located near the docking site.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Weather was very inclement, after a sunny day before and after this day-we got snow, wind, rain, and extremely cold temperatures.
the boat did not even run us to Volendam, but we took the bus.
Nevertheless Myarna [?] our stunning blonde dutch guide was bubbly, knowledgeable, and accommodating with helpful tips and information.
Sad i had my wife with me, as i would have asked her out to dinner she was that pleasant!! .:-]
we learnt a lot and saw a lot in the short time we had, so i rate this 4 out of 5.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

very good tour and the areas we visited were nice. Our tour guide was ok but was silent most of the times. The Volendam area was very nice..

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Any trip to Amsterdam can't be complete without visiting the windmills. This tour is the perfect way to see so much. It combines a city tour, the windmills, Volendam and Marken into one day trip. Our guide was very informative, cordial, and helpful - thanks Viator!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly Recommended, especially Volendam. Pity that 1 hour free and easy at Volendam too short. After you eat the fresh fishes (recommend the herring fish, Euro$2 per small fish), too short time to walk around.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Covered a lot in 6 hours
Loved the boat trip
Demonstrations very informative and fun
Tour guide pleasant
Would have liked to spend more time at the volendam museum

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

tuty
Macau

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent trip! Volendam was nice. Should spend more time there!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Superb. If only we have more time in Volendam before it gets dark it will be fulfilling.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Lucy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

You have just enough ime in eah of the places.
The guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. She spoke six languages.
The coach was very comfortable and included audio.
We loved volendam. It was so pretty. Even in the cold winter.
It does involve a bit if walking but it was worth it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

If you have 6+ hours to spare - DO THIS TOUR! Marken Island, Volendam harbor, immerse you in the dutch countryside. Our tour guides Alma was pleasant, gracious and informative. You get to walk through a lot of the little villages to get to your destinations, which is nice. Wish we had a little more time in Zaanse Schans, but it worked out perfectly in the end. Glad we picked the extended tour versus the shorter one.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Organized tour, great guide (Astrid). Meet up place easy to find.
Zaanse Schans and Volendam are worth it. Marken is small, not much too see and the ferry to go to Marken is boring. There was some background given about the windmills at the actual windmill site which reduced the time for picture taking. Although they don't prevent you from roaming around but you will get drawn to the discussion/demo and later you will realize you don't have much time left.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message