This picturesque mountain town of Besalú is well known for its ancient Catholic monestaries and iconic Romanesque architecture, in particular a photogenic 12th century bridge that has become the symbol of the town. In the Middle Ages, it was a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 232 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Any trip to Amsterdam can't be complete without visiting the windmills. This tour is the perfect way to see so much. It combines a city tour, the windmills, Volendam and Marken into one day trip. Our guide was very informative, cordial, and helpful - thanks Viator!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly Recommended, especially Volendam. Pity that 1 hour free and easy at Volendam too short. After you eat the fresh fishes (recommend the herring fish, Euro$2 per small fish), too short time to walk around.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Covered a lot in 6 hours
Loved the boat trip
Demonstrations very informative and fun
Tour guide pleasant
Would have liked to spend more time at the volendam museum

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent trip! Volendam was nice. Should spend more time there!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Superb. If only we have more time in Volendam before it gets dark it will be fulfilling.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Lucy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

You have just enough ime in eah of the places.
The guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. She spoke six languages.
The coach was very comfortable and included audio.
We loved volendam. It was so pretty. Even in the cold winter.
It does involve a bit if walking but it was worth it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

If you have 6+ hours to spare - DO THIS TOUR! Marken Island, Volendam harbor, immerse you in the dutch countryside. Our tour guides Alma was pleasant, gracious and informative. You get to walk through a lot of the little villages to get to your destinations, which is nice. Wish we had a little more time in Zaanse Schans, but it worked out perfectly in the end. Glad we picked the extended tour versus the shorter one.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Organized tour, great guide (Astrid). Meet up place easy to find.
Zaanse Schans and Volendam are worth it. Marken is small, not much too see and the ferry to go to Marken is boring. There was some background given about the windmills at the actual windmill site which reduced the time for picture taking. Although they don't prevent you from roaming around but you will get drawn to the discussion/demo and later you will realize you don't have much time left.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very well organised trip,every experience is to be cherished from this tour whether it be the zaanse schans windmills,marken or volendam,the fishing village was beautiful and the fish and chips restaurant was great all of us had some sumptous fish dish which was their speciality.The learning experience at shoe factory and cheese factory was also a visual treat,me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful 6 hours out in the countryside. Zaanse Schans is lovely. We stopped there for about an hour which is just about right. Took lots of photos and bought souvenirs. Volendam is just about 30-40 minutes away. We visited the Volendam fishing museum which is small and not really very much to see. Then we took a walk to the 'town' to the cheese shop. We had a lady show us how cheese is made. We got to sample different cheeses after that. We then had a late lunch on our own. Next was a boat ride to Marken. Picturesque. We visited a clog place and saw how clogs are made.
We need to mention our guide Edgar. The tour could have been just so-so but Edgar put fun and character into the program. It was obvious that he enjoys his work and he is really good at it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was Jaime who was very helpful and we enjoyed our tour very much. I think if you are in Amsterdam for a visit it really isn't complete without the windmills and that adorable town Volendam. Very fascinating place and you learn a lot about how instrumental the windmills were in early European economy.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Informative commentary and plenty of visits to interesting locations packed into an afternoon. Very grateful for the time to enjoy lunch and a quiet drink at Volendam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip we both enjoyed it immensely, informative and fun although maybe to long at Volendam. The cheese factory did not make cheese only showed a video and lunch may have been better in Amsterdam. It was a fairly long walk from meeting spot to the bus in Amsterdam. Both guides were good. Windmills the highlight and worth going on this tour.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

What a wonderful way to experience the beauty of the region! You get to see all the "touristy" things that perhaps locals only take visiting family to see. Loved the Zaane Schans tour, and walking in Volendam, the boat ride was chilly but delightful, and the orator in Marken was a hoot - happy birthday to the lathe!! Our tour guide spoke so many languages it was fun just listening! Thank you so much!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Zaanse Schans, Marken, and Volendam were picturesque and not worth missing while on your vacation. During the bus ride to each location a pre-recorded audio tour plays via headphones and was available in many different languages. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. The tour group is large - a packed coach bus - and at times it was difficult to stay ahead of the pack to hear the tour guide. At times during the tour we felt rushed and not able to completely take in the scenery or visit the many shops at each location. The Volendam Cheese Factory and the clog factory felt like tourist traps but were interesting and informative nonetheless. Overall, this tour is a great way to experience the countryside If you don't have the time and/or means of transportation while visiting Amsterdam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message