For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 305 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Dutch countryside seeing the windmills at Zaanse Schans, the cheese factory and shops in Volendam, and the wooden shoe factory in Market. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was very friendly. Tour was punctual but could have had a little more time at the windmills. Boat trip to Volendam was good.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Nicole M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. I recommend getting there about 30 minutes early to secure a decent seat we had a double-decker bus, or you're stuck facing the back with no view. There was a driver and a separate speaker/guide, as well as the headset system where you could pick your language for the times when the guide wasn't talking. Listening through the headphones was nice and clear and to be used when the guide wasn't speaking. The Dutch countryside is lovely, and the small fishing villages and windmills were really cool. Be sure to go to the top, well, just because you can and should. There wasn't really time for shopping or exploring in Zaanse Schans but that was fine with me. The boat ride from Volendam to Marken was really cool too - you could get food, snacks, and beverages including beer on the boat and that was neat. The cheese factory and clog-maker were really interesting as well. There are not too many places to eat in Marken but the guide recommended a place so everyone went there. You only get about 1 hour to explore there after the cheese factory, so in the interest of time, we walked a little bit down the way and picked a place that nobody else on the boat went to so we could get done faster and have a bit of extra time before meeting back to jump back on the bus. I definitely recommend this tour to get out of the city and see the countryside.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An excellent value! In about 5 1/2 hours, we really saw a lot. A very personable guide that spoke fluent English and Spanish. We got to go inside one of the windmills that is used for sawing lumber and see how it operated. Also, we visited the factory where the wooden shoes are made and watched the process. On to Volendam next by ferry where we visited a cheese factory and watched cheese being made. Then had lunch at a nearby restaurant. The bus ride and commentary were also nice and informative, especially for a first time visitor like myself.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Elissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great way to experience the country side and get out of Amsterdam for a while. Zaanse Schans was adorable but my favorite town was Volendam! Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Santosh M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour guide in Ms. Juliet to give you an overview of Holland's history. Thoroughly enjoyed the half a day tour walk on the dyke, cheese making and the oil extraction process in windmills balanced by the countryside lifestyle Edam and Volendam.
What stood out most during the tour was the clog manufacturing process in Zaanse Schans and to finally get my hands on an authentic black forest wooden cuckoo clock!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Alfian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

had a great day, wished it could be one hour longer at least for a proper lunch and walk about at Volendam.
Diana was a great tour guide! She kept the crowd entertained throughout the ride, and also ensured that everyone returns to their own seats to prevent unhappiness. I would definitely recommend this for anyone new or even revisiting Amsterdam :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour had been the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. Our guide was knowledgeable and was engaging enough to keep our interest up. Of all the places we've visited, Zaanse Schans had to be the best since that's where the windmills are. With such an idyllic scenery, it was made for picture taking. Going up the windmill afforded us with an elevated 360 views of the surrounding area. Learning about the windmill's inner workings was fascinating. I do wish that we were allowed more time to meander around the neighborhood and check out the shops. I feel that an hour give or take wasn't nearly enough.

The other portion of the tour at Edam, Volendam and Marken were also interesting. The lunch in Marken was surprisingly good. Normally, lunches included in tours are nothing to write home about. However, our lunch was pretty good if I say so myself.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour as it gave us an experience that was something that's totally different from the big city feel of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jennah R United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This tour overall was very nice. The windmills were so amazing and it was so cool to get to go inside one and all the way to the top. The town is so nice and quaint, I could have spent the whole day there! I wish we had more time to go into the shops and see the windmill. The town Volendam was very cool, but I could have done without the cheese factory, pretty much a scheme to get you to buy the cheese from there, you don't really learn much about making cheese. The last stop was nice but you have no time at all in that city. You walk straight to see how the clogs are made then have about 20 min to get what you want if you want anything and get on the bus. Also, our tour guide was nice but if you weren't right at the front of the line when he got to where he was going you completely missed what he said and he didn't repeat it. Also the place we had lunch in Volendam was not very good so you should venture out on your own to somewhere else. Overall, I would do it all over again and would recommend it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Lamiaa S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

it was amazing tour, we had the chance to see the beautiful side of Holland country side, the windmills, the cheese factory, the Clogs factory in Marken and the sea food in Volendam was perfect.
we went on this tour in October 27th, although the weather was a little bit cold, but lucky for us it didn't rain and the day was amazing.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

David J

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Bus was nice. Got to see windmills, hear about how they worked and walked around the grounds briefly. Not much time to get souvenirs, though. Next the wooded shoe maker demonstrated how shoes are made using modern tools. Still pretty neat and the shoemaker was very funny. Next we got onto a ferry that went to Volendam. Pretty postcard town with lots of interesting shops. Saw a brief cheese demonstration and we bought some cheese there. Guide to us to a nice lunch spot to get lunch. Prices were reasonable. Took our bus back to meeting spot. Kinda rushed but saw lots of neat things.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Delwyn B New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The company organisation of this trip was commendable. So many buses and people to organise but left on time and kept to schedule. The guide was friendly and informative.
Loved getting out of the city into the countryside. Zaanse Schans was a highlight - so much to see here but not enough time. Would have preferred more time here and less for lunch in Volendam. Plenty of variety on the trip: countryside windmills clog making cheese making town wanders. Well worth it for the price

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Noelene E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great tour of the windmills and fascinating how they work. Marken and Volendam were interesting. Had a great morning.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour - loved the windmills and being able to visit a working windmill. The area was so green and very pretty and guide was knowlegable and friendly. Loved walking through the streets of Marken and Volendam is so picturesque and beautiful. Visiting a clog factory was informative and the clog maker was very amusing in explaining how clogs are made and a demonstration followed. The tour was not too far from Amsterdam and the afternoon had perfect blue skies...just perfect!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jacqueline Anne Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The windmills of Marken and Volendam are absolutely splendid!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Brad Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Bruges was a wonderful place would like to visit again. And the 2nd day to the windmills and Volendam was a great day out.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Bruges Day Trip plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Charles F B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great but we almost got left behind. We were in the gathering area 15 minutes before time but waited in the long line to use the one toilet. The group left three minutes early to walk to the bus. My husband asked if they could wait til appointed time but guide said we would have to catch up on our own. We almost lost track of the group as we ran in an effort to keep them in sight. This set a bad tone for us as the guide left earlier than the scheduled time. The best part was the Zaanse Schans Windmills. I would like to have spent more time there, skip the Marken visit and then go to Volendam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Kate B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved this tour - it included Zan schans, volendam and edam plus a stop at a cheese farm. Our tour Carlin was kind, friendly, informative and professional - it was a very pleasant and well organised half day tour. Perfect tour for those looking to explore the most beautiful parts of the countryside. Highly recommended

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Gary a

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I would have liked to be in Zane schans longer. I did not get a chance to all the exhibits there. Less time at volendam. But I feel if your tour guide is top notch then your day trip will be a success. To me it is ll the history and info that the guide tells you to learn regarding the area that makes it interesting.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

DebraS

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We would love to have more time in Zaanse Schans and Edam--skip Volendam

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Christopher W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Excellent half day trip seeing the traditional windmills, cheese and clog making combined with lunch at the 'lakeside' resort of Volendam. The extended tour combined this with a 3 hour trip around Amsterdam in the afternoon.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Kim M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The day we did this tour it rained constantly and was cold but despite this we had a great day! The guide was lovely and so knowledgeable about every thing we were seeing. Seeing how clogs are now made was very interesting and Edam would have to be one of the prettiest villages we have ever seen. Don't miss the cheese tasting, yum! Volendam would be a great place on a sunny day although we still enjoyed the rather damp visit. We couldn't be tempted to try the herring sandwiches! Great to wander through the little streets of fisherman's cottages, plenty of photo opportunities around every corner.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

m_robertson2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Guide was very informative. It covered the essence of Netherlands - windmills, cheese and clogs. Fascinating at Zaans Schans the working of the windmill. Volendam the cheese factory - choice was difficult and one could have your photo taken in local dress in a few shops on the waterfront. The fish was excellent here. Boat trip to Marken to lovely and seeing the clogs being made was very interesting. So whatever I dreamed of in Netherlands was covered in this tour, Unfortunately it was past tulip season, A definitely good trip

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message